Skip to main content

Questions tagged [wild-shape]

For questions about Wild Shape, the ability of D&D and Pathfinder Druids to turn themselves into a variety of animals. It is a shapeshifting effect that allows Druids to become more in tune with nature, allowing them to do things they normally could not or to become more fearsome in battle.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
68 votes
2 answers
40k views

Does Power Word Kill kill druids in wild-shape?

Power Word Kill is a 9th level spell that "compel[s] a creature to die" as long as it has less than 100 hit points. If this is cast on a druid in wild-shape form with less than 100 HP, does the druid ...
Premier Bromanov's user avatar
65 votes
10 answers
22k views

As a DM, how can I handle my Druid spying on everything with Wild shape as a spider?

I GM Lost Mines of Phandelver. My player's level 2 (soon 3) Druid has discovered that while in Wild Shape in spider form, they are almost impossible to catch, especially since in caves etc. they "fit ...
Hobbamok's user avatar
  • 1,839
54 votes
8 answers
22k views

How much damage can a druid Wild Shaped into a spider take without dying instantly?

A human druid Wild Shapes into a spider and now has 1 maximum hit point. As a spider she gets bitten by a hungry lizard that deals 2 damage. Does the druid die from Instant Death (PHB p. 197), or ...
SevenSidedDie's user avatar
38 votes
6 answers
28k views

Can a druid use Wild Shape to take the form of a specific, individual beast?

The rules for the 5E druid's Wild Shape ability simply say: you can use your action to magically assume the shape of a beast that you have seen before This previous question asks if you can go ...
mattdm's user avatar
  • 30k
37 votes
5 answers
61k views

Does unlimited Wild Shape make Circle of the Moon archdruids virtually unkillable?

Page 67 of the PHB states that druids gain all the hit points of whatever creature they become when using Wild Shape, and when that shape drops to 0hp, only the excess damage carries over to the druid'...
Liesmith's user avatar
  • 3,482
35 votes
2 answers
25k views

Can a druid wildshape again whilst still in animal form?

I am trying to determine if a druid can use wildshape to turn into a dire wolf then use it again immediately to transform into a small snake. Can they just transform directly into the new animal form,...
Vrayth Falrinth's user avatar
35 votes
4 answers
4k views

How easy is it to make the distinction between a druid in beast form and a normal animal?

Short Version: If a druid knows what animals are local to an area, and changes into something that wouldn't cause immediate suspicion (e.g., changing into a polar bear in the middle of the desert) ...
Purple Monkey's user avatar
33 votes
9 answers
10k views

Do removed parts of a Druid's Wild Shape form persist after said Druid exits Wild Shape?

A player wanted to use Wild Shape as an unlimited supply of feathers for our ranger to make his own arrows with and it sparked a discussion on whether or not parts of a Druid that are removed from ...
Daniel's user avatar
  • 2,230
33 votes
4 answers
15k views

Can my Dragonborn Druid use their breath weapon in wild shape?

I have a Dragonborn Druid character in the works, and I was wondering if I can use my breath weapon while transformed by Wild Shape. Like, if I'm in the shape of a dire wolf, can I still shoot a 15 ...
Michael Claunch's user avatar
32 votes
4 answers
63k views

Does natural armor stack with unarmored defense?

In D&D 5E, does natural armor stack with Unarmored Defense? We have a level 2 player character who wild shaped into an animal. The player said they could stack its natural armor with Unarmored ...
newbie 5e thats me's user avatar
31 votes
2 answers
35k views

Do the Alert and Lucky feats carry over when in Wild Shape?

I'm wondering if the Alert and Lucky feats carry over when a druid assumes a Wild Shape. PHB p.67 stipulates: Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the beast... So I would tend to ...
Maadiah's user avatar
  • 3,977
31 votes
2 answers
10k views

Can Polymorph be used to give a druid new Wild Shape forms?

After my group's last session, it was pointed out that Polymorph does not require the caster to have ever seen the creature they are attempting to transform the person into. This has spawned a ...
Baron's user avatar
  • 5,857
30 votes
2 answers
26k views

What happens when Wild Shape/Polymorph runs out in a space that's too small?

So in a 5e campaign I'm running, the party Druid has recently been doing some scouting of the local monster caves in spider form to avoid notice. I've also described how the goblins and kobolds who ...
Nomad731's user avatar
  • 1,587
30 votes
4 answers
10k views

What values do I recalculate when I Wild Shape?

When I Wild Shape, I take a beast's STR, DEX, and CON scores. I keep my proficiency bonus and my INT, WIS, and CHA scores. I will focus this question on the assumption I'm proficient in Athletics, and ...
BlueMoon93's user avatar
  • 46.7k
30 votes
1 answer
3k views

If PC with Great Weapon Master reduces a polymorphed creature to 0 hp, can they attack again?

The feat Great Weapon Master (PHB, pg. 167) includes the following benefit: On your turn, when you score a critical hit with a melee weapon or reduce a creature to 0 hit points with one, you can ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.3k
29 votes
3 answers
8k views

In which editions of D&D have druids been able to Wild Shape into owlbears?

In the trailer for the movie Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves, we see a druid character use the Wild Shape ability to turn into an owlbear (timestamped link to trailer). Notably, this ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
29 votes
3 answers
22k views

Are druids considered "shapechangers" and thus unaffected by the Polymorph spell?

The description of the polymorph spell states that "A shapechanger automatically succeeds on this saving throw". (Later printings state instead that "The spell has no effect on a ...
keithcurtis's user avatar
  • 32.2k
29 votes
4 answers
43k views

Do a druid's uses of the Wild Shape feature recharge if they take a short rest while still in Wild Shape?

Do the druid's uses of the Wild Shape feature recharge while still in Wild Shape? Say a 10th-level Circle of the Moon Druid spends two uses of Wild Shape to transform into an Air Elemental, whose ...
Pitzy's user avatar
  • 3,491
28 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can a bunch of druids wild-shape into a creature that can swarm, then form a swarm with other wild-shaped druids?

Related to these questions: Can a druid wild shape into a cranium rat and use telepathy? Can a Druid Wild Shape into a Swarm or “Giant”? The Cranium Rat question establishes that the full stat ...
user avatar
27 votes
4 answers
4k views

Is the shapeshifting druid an original D&D invention?

The Dungeons & Dragons druids have been largely defined by their ability to change into an animal form in every edition, e.g. through the Wild Shape ability in Dungeons & Dragons 5e. Is the ...
kviiri's user avatar
  • 54.1k
26 votes
4 answers
17k views

If a druid in Wild Shape swallows a creature whole, then turns back to her normal form, what happens?

Our goblin druid posed a question today which made our DM bluescreen: "If I turned into a giant toad, swallowed a Medium-sized creature whole, and then turned back, what happens?" The goblin druid ...
thatgirldm's user avatar
  • 22.6k
26 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use Wild Shape to meld a Bag of Holding into your Wild Shape form while creatures are inside the Bag of Holding?

My players are planning a heist. Two of the players each have a Necklace of Adaptation and do not need to breathe. They want to go inside a bag of holding (which is allowed from what I know), then ...
Alan Busca Pe Huynh's user avatar
26 votes
3 answers
2k views

When a wildshaped Druid is affected by a Ghost's Horrifying Visage, which form ages?

So this came up in yesterday's game; the Druid, while Wildshaped into a dinosaur, rolled a 1 on his save against a Ghost's Horrifying Visage and then aged 20 years. There was some confusion about ...
Erik's user avatar
  • 81.6k
25 votes
1 answer
11k views

Does using wild shape allow extra movement?

If a human druid (30 ft/round), in combat/initiative, uses all their movement speed, than wild shapes into a brown bear (40 ft/round), do they get to move again? If not, what is the formula for their ...
Nicholas's user avatar
  • 2,348
25 votes
3 answers
5k views

How does resistance/vulnerability/immunity interact with carryover damage after reducing a Polymorphed (or Wild Shaped) form to 0 HP?

A caster casts polymorph on another creature. Let's say the polymorphed creature has 10 HP in its new form, but takes 30 piercing damage and its current form is reduced to 0 HP. This causes it to ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 50.1k
24 votes
3 answers
42k views

Can a Druid Wild Shape into a Swarm or "Giant"?

The Players handbook has a list of creatures in the back which are designed for use by the players. Various tweets and materials have said that the players handbook has creatures that players need to ...
GMNoob's user avatar
  • 33k
24 votes
4 answers
44k views

Does a Druid in Wild Shape add their own Proficiency Bonus to the physical attribute of the Beast for Skills?

The PHB entry on Wild Shape states: "You also retain all of your skill and saving throw proficiencies, in addition to gaining those of the creature." Does this mean you add the character's ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,555
24 votes
3 answers
4k views

Can a druid get out of wild shape to avoid an opportunity attack?

Suppose a druid is shapeshifted into a beast of large size and adjacent (within 5 ft) of an enemy with a reach of 5ft. On the druid's turn, he reverts to humanoid form, reducing his size from large ...
Sdjz's user avatar
  • 36.5k
24 votes
6 answers
52k views

Can a Druid/Monk make unarmed strikes while Wild Shaped?

Can a Druid/Monk who is Wild Shaped perform Unarmed Strikes?
Evo's user avatar
  • 373
24 votes
3 answers
4k views

Is your proficiency bonus a class feature?

The shapechange spell question has raised a difference in opinion on whether or not the proficiency bonus is a class feature. The crux of the issue is that shapechange allows the character to retain ...
illustro's user avatar
  • 28.4k
24 votes
3 answers
3k views

What happens when a druid is wild shaped and then is petrified?

If a druid is wild shaped into an animal when they are hit by an effect that imposes the petrified condition, are they: A. A petrified version of the animal they turned into. B. A petrified version of ...
Andrew A DeMarco's user avatar
23 votes
3 answers
10k views

Does Wild Shape count as a spell?

I just started playing a druid, hit level 2 and chose Circle of the Moon. This gives me the ability to use Wild Shape as a bonus action. A situation came up where I wanted to cast a spell, and then ...
Linx790's user avatar
  • 257
23 votes
1 answer
21k views

Can a Circle of the Moon Druid still use Wild Shape as an action?

The rules for the Circle of the Moon Druid state: you gain the ability to use Wild Shape on your turn as a bonus action, rather than as an action Is this intended to replace the ability to use ...
Sdjz's user avatar
  • 36.5k
23 votes
1 answer
7k views

Can truesight see through a druid's Wild Shape?

The rules for truesight state: A creature with truesight can (..) perceive the original form of a shapechanger or a creature that is transformed by magic A druid player argued that since the druid ...
Sdjz's user avatar
  • 36.5k
22 votes
3 answers
3k views

Being the best animal I can: How to successfully convince NPCs as a wild-shaped druid?

I'm a relatively new player with D&D 5th Ed. and chose to play a druid. I'm still learning quite a bit about how the game mechanics and spells work. In one encounter so far, where I was wild-...
JYelton's user avatar
  • 410
22 votes
2 answers
4k views

If a centaur druid Wild Shapes into a Giant Elk, do their Charge features stack?

The Centaur player race has a "Charge" feature (GGtR, p. 16): If they move 30 feet, the Centaur can attack against the target with its hooves as a Bonus Action. The Giant Elk beast has a similar "...
Merudo's user avatar
  • 2,800
22 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can a Druid Goblin use Nimble Escape while Wild Shaped into a non-agile animal form?

Can a Goblin Druid use its Nimble Escape ability while Wild Shaped? Nimble Escape. You can take the Disengage or Hide action as a bonus action on each of your turns. and, for Wild Shape: You ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 10.2k
22 votes
2 answers
7k views

Can I employ Relentless Endurance while in Wild Shape?

As a Half-Orc I have Relentless Endurance: Relentless Endurance When you are reduced to 0 hit points but not killed outright, you can drop to 1 hit point instead. You can't use this feature again ...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k
22 votes
4 answers
6k views

Can a druid Wild-Shaped into a raven speak using the Mimicry trait?

The description of the druid's Wild Shape feature says, in part (PHB, p. 67): You can’t cast spells, and your ability to speak or take any action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of ...
FenrirG's user avatar
  • 4,817
21 votes
7 answers
47k views

Can a druid's 2 uses of wild shape be used consecutively?

A druid in my game recently obtained the Wild Shape skill, and chose the Circle of the Moon to follow. This effectively turned him into a Dire Wolf tank, since the CR of the animal he can turn into is ...
Besty's user avatar
  • 7,297
21 votes
6 answers
43k views

Can a druid use a focus to cast beast spells while in wild shape?

As a level 18+ druid I may use a Druidic Focus, may assume a Wild Shape, and may cast Beast Spells. May I do all three at the same time? Can a druid use a focus to cast beast spells? Druidic Focus: A ...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k
21 votes
4 answers
23k views

Is there a lower limit to the size of creature a druid can wild shape into?

In the last few sessions, our druid has been using the tactic of transforming into a spider or other bugs and scouting out entire floors of dungeons by slipping under doors and remaining unseen. Is ...
Peeps's user avatar
  • 1,691
21 votes
1 answer
56k views

How does Rage interact with Wild Shape?

If I'm a Barbarian 1/Druid 2, can I rage while in Wild Shape? I can't find anything that would prevent this. Conversely, can I Wild Shape while raging? And finally, does the Rage Damage bonus apply ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 145k
21 votes
3 answers
7k views

If a Lizardfolk druid is in Wild Shape, and uses his Hungry Jaws trait, does he use the damage from the beast's bite or the lizardfolk's bite?

Lizardfolk have a feature that gives them natural weapons in the form of their jaws. This bite deals 1d6+Str damage. Hungry Jaws. In battle, you can throw yourself into a vicious feeding frenzy. As ...
tetraphobia's user avatar
21 votes
1 answer
9k views

How does a druid in Wild Shape interact with the Dominate Beast spell?

I believe it is clear that a druid in Wild Shape is a beast and therefore1 a valid target for the dominate beast spell: You attempt to beguile a beast that you can see within range. I am having ...
Sdjz's user avatar
  • 36.5k
21 votes
2 answers
16k views

How do I determine if a racial trait applies while a druid is in Wild Shape?

The description for the druid's Wild Shape feature says, in part: You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable ...
Robbie's user avatar
  • 3,061
21 votes
4 answers
6k views

Is a druid hit by Feeblemind able to use wild shape?

In the description of feeblemind, it states that a creature that fails the saving throw cannot cast spells, use magic items or communicate. But a druid's wild shape is none of those. Would a druid ...
Sir Whiteout's user avatar
20 votes
5 answers
6k views

Would a druid Wild Shaped into a horse be competitive in a horse race?

If a low level druid used wild shape to turn into a horse, does it make sense for that character to be able to compete against race horses in a race? As a DM how would you rule that? Personally, I ...
Jex's user avatar
  • 435
20 votes
2 answers
3k views

Does a Goliath's carry weight bonus work in wildshape?

I had a silly idea for a group of gnomes to team up with a Goliath who shifts into a bear to serve as a battle platform for them to ride and attack with lances/shoot bows/cast from. Maybe mount a ...
mrdudemanguy's user avatar
20 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can a druid use Wild Shape in mid-air to survive being dropped?

Our group is all relatively new to D&D. Let's say that an aarakocra picks up a dragonborn druid, and carries her up to an altitude of 125 feet. It would take her ~2.5 seconds to hit the ground ...
TyJacq's user avatar
  • 301

1
2 3 4 5
9