Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
1answer
61 views

Can you use Arcane Bond to cast a spell with a long casting time?

The Drain Bonded Item action says: During your turn, you gain the ability to cast one spell you prepared today and already cast (Core 205) Does this mean that you cannot use this to cast any ...
5
votes
1answer
109 views

Does the Abjurer have to activate the Projected Ward before or after damage is rolled?

Does the Abjurer have to activate the Projected Ward before or after damage is rolled? For example, if another player is at 10hp, can the wizard wait to see if 10hp damage is done before choosing to ...
2
votes
1answer
51 views

Can a multiclassed Wizard enchant an arcane bonded weapon by qualifying with a second casting class?

Suppose that I want to have a first-level wizard school ability, and that I took an arcane bond with a weapon. Say that for whatever reasons, I take the rest of my levels in a different casting class. ...
5
votes
1answer
145 views

Can a multiclass Warlock/Wizard add spells known from Warlock to the Wizard spellbook?

I have a Pact of the Chain Warlock/Evocation Wizard character. All of my current Warlock spells are also on the Wizard spell list, except Eldritch Blast of course. I've found a related question ...
17
votes
1answer
729 views

Can a wizard cast Blink, then Polymorph into a TRex to become a blinking TRex?

Blink is a non-concentration spell, so you can easily have both up. Does anything prevent you from using blink, then Polymorph and continue to blink? The blink effect isn't a class feature like rage, ...
10
votes
1answer
343 views

Why Does Necromancer's Undead Thralls grant Animate Dead?

So Undead Thralls adds Animate Dead to your spellbook if it isn't already there, at level 6. You can get a free spell by holding off on Animate Dead until level 6, but why would the Necromancy school ...
-1
votes
1answer
82 views

DnD 5E Cleric Multi-Classing [closed]

If a cleric (or a wizard) multi classes in another spellcasting class, would it be fair for them to be able to swap out their secondary class spells? I'm guessing "no", but I feel like there's an ...
1
vote
1answer
134 views

Is the Chronomancer Wizard's Rewind feature triggered if their spell is counterspelled?

The Chronomancer wizard archetype gains the ability to reclaim ineffective spells using the Rewind feature: As an immediate action after losing a spell due to a failed concentration check or after ...
5
votes
2answers
154 views

Can a Necromancy wizard raise a Spawn of Kyuss?

Are there any spells out there that would allow a necromancy school Wizard to specifically raise a Spawn of Kyuss? Or would controlling one only be achievable through turning it?
1
vote
1answer
81 views

UA Psionic Wizard Subclass: Thought Form interactions

UA Psionic Wizards get a special ability called Thought Form where they become beings of pure psionic energy. While you are carrying your psionic focus, you can use a bonus action to magically ...
2
votes
2answers
67 views

Does UA Psionic Wizard's Though Form let you ignore non-consumed material components with a cost?

UA Psionic Wizards get a special ability called Thought Form where they become beings of pure energy. Part of that ability is Psionic Spellcasting. Thought Form Psionic Spellcasting. When ...
1
vote
1answer
96 views

Shadow Blade and UA Psionic Wizard

From new Psionic Wizard subclass: Psionic Focus 2nd-level Psionics feature When you roll psychic or force damage for any of your wizard spells, you can reroll any of those damage ...
17
votes
2answers
3k views

Do wizards' spells gained per level just appear in their spellbook?

I understand that a wizard gains 2 free spells to add into their Spellbook when they gain a level (pg. 178). What isn't clear is if they have to pay to inscribe the spell or take the time to put the ...
7
votes
1answer
237 views

Can a transmuter wizard own multiple transmuter's stones, i.e. keeping the ones produced by his simulacra?

Are there proscriptions in AL to prevent a transmuter wizard from owning multiple transmuter's stones? The idea is to keep the ones producted by his simulacra and keeping them also in different ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Would a person affected by Hypnotic Gaze scream for help?

The level 2 Wizard Enchantment tradition feature, Hypnotic Gaze, does the following: Starting at 2nd level when you choose this school, your soft words and enchanting gaze can magically enthrall ...
2
votes
1answer
132 views

Can the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature be used to make food or potions?

Can the School of Illusion wizard’s Illusory Reality feature be used for self-sustainment and healing? Illusory Reality specifies that “you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of ...
11
votes
2answers
972 views

If a cleric wrote a scroll of a spell that a wizard can learn, could a wizard learn the spell?

When a cleric would write a scroll of a spell that a wizard could cast like Protection from Evil and Good, would the wizard be able to learn the spell from the Cleric scroll?
10
votes
3answers
321 views

Is this homebrew Weaver Wizard subclass balanced?

I've made a subclass for Wizard, hoping to make a sort of spellmancer (manipulating and changing spells). I wanted to capture some of the feelings of Sorcerer and their Metamagic, but repurposed for ...
14
votes
3answers
896 views

Which absorbs damage first: temporary hit points or Arcane Ward?

Suppose I am an abjuration wizard with 3 temporary hit points and 5 hit points on my Arcane Ward. If I take damage, which hit points absorb damage first? For example, what will be my status after ...
8
votes
2answers
540 views

Can the Mage Hand Spell do somatic components if the person who cast it doesn't have a free hand?

A wizard casts the Mage Hand spell. They then pick up a short sword and a shield. They then want to cast Burning Hands against an opponent. Can they use the active Mage Hand to provide the somatic ...
3
votes
4answers
312 views

What's the least resource-intensive way for a wizard/sorcerer to cast a Persistent Time Stop spell?

This question made me curious: How does a wizard/sorcerer (with or without prestige class (related to Wizard/sorcerer)) can cast Persistent Time Stop? To my knowledge (assuming non-epic and no ...
5
votes
1answer
159 views

Can an Abjuration wizard with the Martial Adept feat use the Parry maneuver before their Arcane Ward absorbs damage?

If a Wizard of the School of Abjuration takes the Martial Adept feat and chooses the Parry combat maneuver, how will it interact with their Arcane Ward? Can the Wizard parry and reduce the need for ...
4
votes
2answers
99 views

Does the UA Lore Mastery wizard's Master of Magic feature create a prepared spell?

According to the wording of the UA Lore Mastery wizard's capstone, it says: At 14th level, your knowledge of magic allows you to duplicate almost any spell. As a bonus action, you can call to mind ...
6
votes
1answer
155 views

Is this proposed change to the Transmutation Wizard's Master Transmuter class feature balanced for a setting without resurrection? [Version 2]

In my previous iteration of this question, I proposed a replacement for the Master Transmuter option Restore Life. the feedback I received identified that it was too powerful, so I have a new, much ...
3
votes
2answers
144 views

What happens when you target a creature attuned to a cursed magic item with something that removes curses?

The remove curse spell states: At your touch, all curses affecting one creature or object end. If the object is a cursed magic item, its curse remains, but the spell breaks its owner's attunement ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a wizard learn spells written in an unfamiliar language using the Comprehend Languages spell?

If a wizard finds a spell book in an unfamiliar language, which he can understand via the Comprehend Languages spell (but not otherwise), can he transcribe these spells in his own spell book?
4
votes
1answer
213 views

Is this proposed change to the Transmutation Wizard's Master Transmuter class feature balanced for a setting without resurrection?

The School of Transmutation wizard archetype has a feature at level 14 called Master Transmuter. It can allow such a wizard to, once per long rest, destroy their transmuter's stone and do one of a ...
4
votes
1answer
270 views

Can a multiclassed Evocation wizard/rogue use the Overchannel feature on the Shadow Blade spell and maximize Sneak Attack dice as well?

A level 14 Evocation Wizard with 3 levels in Rogue, uses their Overchannel ability on a 5th level Shadow Blade spell and lands an attack against a creature dealing 4d8 + Dexterity modifier + 2d6 sneak ...
9
votes
3answers
958 views

Would the Life Cleric's Disciple of Life feature work with the Necromancer Wizard's Grim Harvest feature?

The Life Domain cleric's Disciple of Life feature (PHB, p. 60) says: Also starting at 1st level, your healing spells are more effective. Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher to restore ...
11
votes
2answers
701 views

Can Hypnotic Gaze be used through Resilient Sphere?

Can the Enchantment Wizard's level 2 ability Hypnotic Gaze be used through a Resilient Sphere? The ability seems to only required the Wizard to see the target, and the target to see or hear the ...
8
votes
2answers
243 views

Can I use the Enchantment wizard's Instinctive Charm feature after seeing the die roll?

Multiple abilities can be used "after seeing the roll, but before knowing whether it hits or misses" (examples: a Lore bard's Cutting Words or a Valor bard's Combat Inspiration). However, in the case ...
6
votes
1answer
577 views

Can a wizard copy a wizard spell into their spellbook that they aren't high enough level to cast?

In 5e D&D, can a wizard discern and copy a wizard spell into their spellbook that they aren't high enough level to cast? If they found a dead archmage's book, or stole their own master's, prior to ...
33
votes
3answers
3k views

Does a resurrected wizard remember their prepared spells?

Imagine that a wizard died in a fire, and their spellbook burned, too. They were in the afterlife for about a month and after that resurrected. They no longer have a spellbook. Do they remember ...
0
votes
0answers
35 views

Arcane Trickster(9)/Wizard(2) Multiclass Unlocked Spell Levels [duplicate]

This is something that came up at my last game, hoping someone can set the record straight. I'm a Lvl 9 AT Rogue who has just dipped 2 lvls in Wizard. According to the Multiclassing spell slot rules,...
2
votes
0answers
63 views

Can a wizard with cleric levels scribe wizard spells he had prepared from the cleric class in his spellbook? [duplicate]

There's been a debate on a D&D discord server that's caused me a lot of trouble. Here is the question: if a wizard 2/cleric 2 has a wizard spell prepared from being a cleric, rather than from ...
2
votes
0answers
47 views

3.5 D&D Mystic Theurge Specialist Wizard banned spells [duplicate]

If one is playing a Mystic Theurge in 3.5 and the Wizard side has school specialization, would the banned schools also be affected on the cleric side. If you had banned Enchantment and Illusion would ...
2
votes
1answer
63 views

Does multiclassing into Specialist Wizard need you to pick at character level 1 or wizard level 1?

Okay, I want to create a Mystic Theurge in 3.5, going Cleric/Wizard 3/3. I would start with 3 levels of Cleric and then do 3 levels of Wizard. On the Wizard side I also want to be a Wizard with ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens to a Bladesinger reincarnated as a Human?

The Bladesinging subclass (Sword Coast Adventurer Guide, p. 141) of the Wizard class is restricted to Elves. If a High-Elf with 4 levels in the Wizard (Bladesinging) class dies and is reincarnated in ...
7
votes
2answers
263 views

Does a familiar count as an ally? [duplicate]

If a hobgoblin wizard had a familiar summoned, would that familiar count as an ally, thus boosting the Saving Face ability? Saving Face: Hobgoblins are careful not to show weakness in front of ...
-1
votes
1answer
184 views

Haunted Heroes Pact Wizard may cause a favored spell combo to be even more broken?

I've been looking at the Pact Wizard archetype from Haunted Heroes Handbook and noticed a feature they pick up at 10th level that states that when metamagic feats are applied to spells learned via ...
16
votes
3answers
915 views

How does an Evocation Wizard's Overchannel ability interact with Chaos Bolt?

With the release of Guildmaster's Guide to Ravnica, characters were given new background options. Some of these options add spells to a character's spellcasting classes. One of these is the Izzet ...
4
votes
1answer
180 views

Is the 2nd-level ability of a transmutation wizard under-powered when compared to other wizard subclasses' 2nd-level abilities?

The text for the transmutation wizard's Minor Alchemy feature (PHB, p. 119) is as follows: Starting at 2nd level when you select this school, you can temporarily alter the physical properties of ...
26
votes
4answers
5k views

How can I curtail abuse of the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature?

I'd like to know some methods of curtailing the abuse of the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature in a game. Right now I have a player here running roughshod over the other GMs in the group by ...
8
votes
2answers
210 views

Can a wizard transcribe prepared spells from multiclassing? [duplicate]

Say you're a 1st-level wizard and also a 1st-level druid. Could you, as a druid, prepare spells that both classes have, like Detect Magic and Ice Knife, then, since they're now "prepared" for you, ...
3
votes
2answers
250 views

8th-level drow wizard got Wild Talent—what can I do with it?

So basically my DM gave my 8th-level drow wizard the Wild Talent feat after meeting some old elven dudes and communicating with them via telepathy. I'm wondering if I can make something cool out of ...
0
votes
0answers
48 views

Can you True Polymorph your simulacrum into your original self? [duplicate]

It's pretty much all up there in the question... But just to clarify, You (a wizard of great power): Make a simulacrum of yourself. Cast True Polymorph on it to make it a real human/elf/whathaveyou. ...
0
votes
0answers
118 views

Can I embed a spellcasting focus into a shield, like a paladin or cleric? [duplicate]

I want to multiclass either cleric/wizard or paladin/wizard and I was wondering whether i can use my holy symbol as a spellcasting focus for my wizard spells and if not, can I embed my arcane focus ...
2
votes
3answers
541 views

Can I make an exact copy of myself and my equipment using True Polymorph on a simulacrum?

More wizard shenanigans! If I create a simulacrum of myself and true polymorph the sim into me, assuming the simulacrum has the same CR/level as I do, can I essentially create an exact copy of myself ...
1
vote
1answer
126 views

If a wizard has a familiar and the feat Eldritch Heritage for the Arcane bloodline, what level do you use to determine the powers of the familiar?

If a wizard has a familiar and the feat Eldritch Heritage for the Arcane bloodline, what level do you use to determine the powers of the familiar? The bloodline grants: ...you gain an arcane bond, ...
1
vote
0answers
115 views

Does a simulacrum'd creature's statblock include its personality and knowledge/memories? [duplicate]

Basis: In the clone spell, it states clearly that The clone is physically identical to the original and has the same personality, memories, and abilities, but none of the original’s equipment. ...

1 2 3 4 5 12