Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
11
votes
1answer
841 views

Can more than one wizard copy a spell from a spellbook?

In the PLAYER'S HANDBOOK you can copy a spell into your own spellbook. In the DMG (p200) if a spell is copied from a scroll, the scroll is destroyed. If a spell is copied from a spellbook however, ...
31
votes
2answers
2k views

Dueling Portents

I have a player with a Divination School Wizard. He has used his Portent ability upon the Big Bad several times to great effect. My Big Bad is a smart person however, and is seeking to hire a rival ...
3
votes
1answer
70 views

How can a high level mythic wizard “bond” items to be usable only by himself?

My party has reached the end of our campaign and my level 20 mythic wizard has crafted a few things to help complete his "final form" so to speak. A ring, a cloak, and some legendary bracers. My ...
6
votes
3answers
174 views

Can non-wizards decipher a wizard's spellbook?

In the wizard's class description, it says that When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Using Portent on Initiative Rolls

Say 4 goblins ambush a level 2 party, everyone is surprised but the Wizard decides to use his Portent feature to influence the initiative roll of the enemy. One of his portents is a natural 1, and he ...
6
votes
2answers
15k views

Can a wizard ever use a shield?

What ways are there for a wizard in D&D 5e to use a shield? The only option I could think of was multiclassing which does not seem worth it.
4
votes
2answers
350 views

How many spells can a level 1 wizard learn?

I’m kind of new to the game and I want to make a wizard, but I can’t understand the part of the hero’s handbook (pg.29) where it says: “Pick a number of spells from this page equal to 3 + INT” I have ...
-1
votes
1answer
61 views

If I multiclass a Wizard and a Sorcerer with Arcane Bloodline, can I choose a familiar for both?

If I multiclass a Wizard and a Sorcerer with Arcane Bloodline, can I choose a familiar for both? Or can I have a familiar from one class and a bonded object from the other?
5
votes
3answers
181 views

Can you use Bladesong while you’re Wildshaped and Vice-a-Versa?

Looking over the Bladesinging wizard subclass, I came to realize that the Bladesong feature (SCAG, p. 142) doesn’t list any requirements outside of a Bonus Action. Starting at 2nd level, you can ...
7
votes
2answers
256 views

Can a Simulacrum of a wizard use the wizard's spellbook?

Suppose a wizard casts Simulacrum on their self, creating a duplicate who has all the same spells prepared and has all the same spell slots (minus the 7th level slot used to cast Simulacrum, of course)...
-1
votes
0answers
42 views

How do prepared and known spells work for a multiclassed Eldritch Knight 7 / Wizard 2-3? [duplicate]

I generally understand the multiclassing spell rules, but multiclassing a 1/3rd-caster class with a wizard is making me scratch my head. I know I have 5 spells for EK at level 7, and 2 cantrips, both ...
1
vote
1answer
141 views

What are the options for animated undead for a Necromancer?

I have just moved to 5e from 3.5e. I've read up about the Necromancy Wizard subclass in 5e, and from what I have seen so far there are only three possible undead that they can possibly animate: ...
6
votes
1answer
159 views

If a Contingency spell has been cast on a creature, does the Simulacrum spell transfer the contingent spell to its duplicate?

Simple premise: If I cast simulacrum on an entity that has a contingency spell cast on it, does that contingency transfer to the simulacrum?
1
vote
1answer
212 views

Is there a balancing issue giving a Wizard a wand capable of casting Illusory Script once per day?

Wizard expressed a desire for a magical wand that could cast the ritual spell Illusory Script without burning a spell slot/ritual slot. I though about giving a wand that can cast the spell once per ...
3
votes
2answers
190 views

If a dragon under my control uses Change Shape to turn into an Evoker, can I choose the Evoker's race, and benefit from its racial traits?

Nuanced questions about True Polymorph and spellcasting: I have a wizard who has a simulacrum. Wizard TP's the sim into an adult bronze dragon, which can then Change Shape into a humanoid or beast of ...
6
votes
1answer
119 views

For a multiclassed Wizard/Sorcerer, do the Wizard school features benefit sorcerer spells?

If I'm primarily a sorcerer and multiclass into a wizard of the school Evocation/Admixture, with this effect: Versatile Evocation (Su): When you cast an evocation spell that does acid, cold, ...
15
votes
2answers
826 views

Can a 14th level Theurgy Wizard with the Arcana Domain cast their 8th/9th level spells after picking up three levels in another Full Caster class?

The Theurgy Wizard from UA: Wizard Revisited gets to choose a Cleric Domain at 2nd level. At 14th level they get the Arcane High Priest feature, which grants them the 17th-level benefits associated ...
7
votes
2answers
38k views

Optimizing a Wizard that does no direct damage in D&D 5e [closed]

I've thought of building a wizard who emphasizes supporting the team instead of just picking all the spells that do damage. And I want to take that a step further: no direct damage. Flavor-wise, he ...
1
vote
1answer
150 views

What spells are available to a low-level Wizard to deal with intelligent undead?

What spells are available to low level Wizards (8th or lower) to deal with intelligent undead? Black Tentacles is great, but it is great against everything corporeal and not too large Direct damage ...
3
votes
1answer
102 views

Can the Versatile Spellcaster feat be used to cast Wizard spells?

Every time Ultimate Magus is mentioned on a forum, someone adds that Versatile Spellcaster would be great with it. I do not see how. The Versatile Spellcaster feat (Races of the Dragon, p. 101) says: ...
7
votes
4answers
1k views

What Good-aligned wizarding factions are there?

I play a 10th level neutral good gnome wizard. The majority of my party (barbarian, arcane trickster, warlock, Ranger, and druid) are part of factions in game. I've been trying to find a group in the ...
8
votes
1answer
139 views

How much time does the “Restore Life” property of a Transmuter's stone take?

Transmutation Wizards get the Master Transmuter feature at 14th level. You can use your action to consume the reserve of transmutation magic stored within your transmuter's stone in a single burst. ...
2
votes
2answers
210k views

Calculating Wizard spell casting ability and spell attack bonus

How do you determine the Spellcasting ability and the spell attack bonus? I've tried searching for it in the player's handbook and searched for answers here, but I haven't found anything.
28
votes
7answers
5k views

How to destroy a spellbook when the wizard dies?

I would like to use a wizard as the enemy. I've done that before but this time is different: his class level will be above the group's level. As with any other wizard in the world he has to use a ...
21
votes
4answers
3k views

Could you replicate a spell book using minor conjuration?

The Minor Conjuration ability given to Conjuration Wizards allows you to replicate non-magical object you have seen, so could you theoretically create your own spellbook, or even the spellbook of a ...
15
votes
2answers
4k views

How can the Starter Set wizard have five skills?

I ran out of time making my own Elven character, so I grabbed the pre-made one from the starter set. Then I realized that the skill selection is impossible. The included High Elf Wizard comes with ...
41
votes
4answers
20k views

Can a multiclass Wizard copy any Wizard spell they find into their spellbook?

The Wizard includes the following feature: Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Is a 10th-level Transmutation wizard considered a shapechanger for the purpose of effects such as Moonbeam?

Spells such as Moonbeam specifically affect creatures with the "Shapechanger" tag, such as lycanthropes. As per this previous question, the ability to change one's shape through class features is not ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

To what extent would a wizard be able to combine feats to learn to mimic unknown spells?

Searching for how to give a rogue I'm building a sort of eidetic memory, I came across many posts throughout the net about using the feat Keen Mind as a way for wizards to negate having to worry about ...
16
votes
3answers
352 views

How does the Melf's Minute Meteors spell interact with the Evocation wizard's Sculpt Spells feature?

The evoker wizard feature Sculpt Spells is worded thusly: Beginning at 2nd level, you can create pockets of relative safety within the effects of your evocation spells. When you cast an ...
4
votes
1answer
249 views

Can a UA Lore Mastery wizard use the Spell Secrets or Alchemical Casting features to modify spells cast through wands or staffs?

My friends and I are playing D&D 5e. Our DM has allowed me to use the Arcane Tradition of Lore Mastery from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard. I have a question regarding its Spell Secrets ...
4
votes
1answer
161 views

Can a wizard use the spell Levitate on a target and shoot him with attacking spells that don't require concentration?

Can a wizard use the spell Levitate on a target and shoot it with attacking spells that don't require concentration or can somebody else shoot the target?
2
votes
0answers
60 views

Can an Arcane Trickster/Wizard multiclass write down AT spells into its spellbook? [duplicate]

It is said, AT are half-wizards who know their spells so well they don't need a spellbook to cast them. Wizards can read and write down spells, make Scrolls or copy them. Can these perfect entities ...
5
votes
3answers
321 views

How many spells does my Bard 6/Wizard 1 know? [duplicate]

This is my first time multiclassing a character. I wanted to multiclass my bard with something, and I wanted to make sure I have the rules for multiclassing correct - because with my understanding, ...
3
votes
0answers
1k views

At level up, can a sorcerer learn spells of a level granted by slots he has from any class? [duplicate]

The sorcerer's spells known feature says: You know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the sorcerer spell list. The Spells Known column of Table: The Sorcerer shows when you learn more ...
10
votes
1answer
936 views

Can a wizard delay learning new spells from leveling up, and instead learn different spells later?

Can a wizard delay learning new spells from leveling up, and instead learn different spells later? For example, can a 2nd-level wizard choose to skip adding two new spells to their spellbook from ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a multiclassed wizard start with a spellbook?

If I multiclass into Wizard, do I automatically begin with a spellbook? I'm looking for support within the written rules. Designer intent is a consideration, but their intent should be well supported ...
3
votes
1answer
90 views

How to learn Wizard spells without increasing Spellcraft?

I am about to build a Jade Phoenix Mage (Tome of Battle), with Wizard as the base spellcasting class. Wizards need Spellcraft to learn new spells, but it is not a class skill for JPM. I would like to ...
7
votes
1answer
270 views

Does my multiclassed Eldritch Knight fighter/War wizard now have to prepare his spells as an Eldritch Knight?

I am building an Eldritch Knight fighter/War wizard multiclass character for D&D 5e. The eldritch knight has a limited pool of spells known, but does not have to prepare them; the wizard, on the ...
14
votes
1answer
722 views

How does the Divination wizard's Expert Divination feature work when you upcast a divination spell?

The School of Divination for a wizard has the feature Expert Divination at level 6 (PHB, p. 116): Expert Divination When you cast a divination spell of 2nd level or higher using a spell slot, ...
3
votes
2answers
151 views

Is it possible for a wizard to learn a spell from a bard (or other classes) if it is on the wizards spell list? [duplicate]

I know it isn't possible to learn a spell through words alone, it has to come in a written form. So would it be possible for a Bard to create a spellscroll and then let the wizard learn it? Assuming ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens to a wizard's magic when they are swallowed by a tarrasque?

I was watching this video about the Tarrasque when I saw that its stomach fluids strip magic. I was wondering if a Wizard is swallowed by a Tarrasque, does the wizard lose his innate magic or is it ...
18
votes
1answer
2k views

Can someone break into a Leomund's Tiny Hut via the Ethereal Plane?

I've got players who rely heavily on Leomund's Tiny hut for a "safe" night time rest. I'm alright with them using it to help, but it gets irritating having a wrench thrown into my nighttime attacks. ...
16
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a fluid substance (a beer), created with Minor Conjuration, disappear from one's body after drinking it when this class feature is used again?

Context In our game my wizard frequently casts Minor Conjuration to create a beer (in a mug) for our dwarf barbarian, as a friendly gesture. Every six seconds I would do the same thing, and he would ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Can “Minor Conjuration” be used to create food?

Let's say a wizard of second level has gotten themselves out in the middle of nowhere with no sources of food. Could they use minor conjuration to summon a loaf of bread, or a cookie? Or would taking ...
4
votes
0answers
51 views

What happens if two Divination Wizards try to affect a roll? [duplicate]

Does this interact like Lucky, wherein both Portent rolls cancel each other out and the original, untampered roll is used, or would the diviner that replaces the roll later, override the other that ...
54
votes
4answers
4k views

Would forcing armour on a wizard using an illusion spell and Illusory Reality 'harm' them?

A wizard wearing armour that they are not proficient in is unable to cast spells. Would it be possible to force a wizard into armour using a combination of Illusion and Illusory Reality? For example, ...
9
votes
1answer
379 views

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spellbook?

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spellbook? First, I’m thinking that copying a spell from a scroll is similar to copying a spell from my ...
8
votes
1answer
157 views

If I animate a corpse made real by the Illusory Reality ability, does it become an illusion after 1 minute?

To better explain my question, the process follows as such step by step (assuming the caster is of a level to cast and use all proposed abilities): Spellcaster casts Major Image to create a corpse on ...
7
votes
3answers
806 views

Arcane Tradition and Cost Efficiency: Learn spells on level-up, or learn them from scrolls/spellbooks?

Each Wizard's Arcane Tradition subclass gives them a "Savant" feature: Beginning when you select this school at 2nd level, the gold and time you must spend to copy a [school] spell into your ...