Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

-8
votes
1answer
40 views

Can a Wizard gain more spell slots by having multiple spell books?

Can a Wizard gain more spell slots by having multiple spell books? If I had two or more spell books each with different spells, does that increase the spell limit?
1
vote
1answer
44 views

Can you conjure a small version of a vehicle with Minor Conjuration and use Enlarge/Reduce to grow it into a copy of the original vehicle?

Say your friend allowed you to take apart and see the internal workings of a nice SUV you liked. If you studied everything outside and inside the car intensively, could you create a hotwheels-esque ...
8
votes
2answers
998 views

Is it possible to prohibit all prohibitable schools of magic with a single character?

It is well known there are seven prohibitable schools of magic, of which the Focused Specialists can prohibit three. I'm unsure of how these stack (in other words, can you ban the same school twice?), ...
13
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a Wizard identify the spells in another spellbook without copying them into their own?

If a Wizard finds the spellbook of the evil Wizard they discovered, how does the process of finding out which spells are in the spellbook work? (Assume the evil Wizard didn't simply write the spells' ...
6
votes
1answer
606 views

Can a wizard copy a spell without first identifying it?

Let's say a Wizard finds a trove of spell scrolls. Rather than spending an hour per scroll identifying and then additional time and money copying it into their spellbook, can they simply copy the ...
18
votes
2answers
4k views

Why does the Starter Set wizard have six spells in their spellbook?

One of the characters in the Starter Set is a 1st-level high elf wizard with an Int mod of +3. How does this character have 6 spells? I understand that one is a ritual, but it has 5 more and not 4? ...
16
votes
5answers
23k views

Does a multiclass Sorcerer/Wizard have something that a single-class Wizard or Sorcerer doesn't have?

I have a character concept (for roleplaying reasons primarily) of a Sorcerer who started to study the Arcane in an intellectual way and gained a few levels as a Wizard. He is Sorcerer 3 / Wizard 3 now....
3
votes
1answer
138 views

Do Artificers, Archivists, and similar classes have any way to exploit the transmuter's Spell Versatility?

From Unearthed Arcana, specialist transmuters can gain the following: Spell Versatility (Ex) A 5th-level transmuter using this variant can adapt magic of other schools to his own style of ...
7
votes
1answer
190 views

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spell book?

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spell book? First, I’m thinking that copying a spell from a scroll is similar to copying a spell from my ...
15
votes
1answer
140 views

What happens if the Intelligence of an undead affected by the Necromancy wizard's Command Undead feature changes after it gets controlled?

This question asked about the impact of Feebleminding an undead before using the School of Necromancy wizard's Command Undead feature; it seems that this would be an effective tactic for making an ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

If a spell is cast using a higher-level spell slot, can it be overchanneled by an Evocation wizard?

If my level 14 Evocation wizard were to cast a fireball using a seventh level spell slot, would he be able to maximise the damage with overchannel despite the overchannel feature indicating that the ...
23
votes
4answers
7k views

How does the Evocation wizard's Potent Cantrip feature interact with an enemy rogue's Evasion feature?

A 7th-level Evocation wizard hits a 7th level rogue with a cantrip that requires a Dex saving throw, like acid splash. The wizard has the Potent Cantrip feature that means any creature that succeeds ...
22
votes
3answers
29k views

What is the value of a low-level Necromancer in a party?

I'm having difficulty understanding how Necromancers (as in the Wizard subclass) can pull their weight at lower levels. Necromancy spells are few, vary in ranges (often require melee range), provide ...
1
vote
2answers
630 views

Can a wizard's bonded object be a sheathed weapon?

In Pathfinder, wizards are often required to have a bonded item which is in the form of a amulet, ring, staff, wand or weapon. I was reading a guide to wizards which lamented about the loss of the ...
6
votes
1answer
236 views

How would the UA Theurgy wizard's Channel Arcana: Divine Arcana feature work for a concentration spell?

The UA Theurgy Wizard can the apply their Divine Arcana Channel Arcana option to grant themselves a +2 to the attack roll or spell save throw DC of a spell. If they apply Divine Arcana to a ...
22
votes
2answers
6k views

Does whether a Wizard can maintain the spell Polymorph upon themselves depend on the form they change into?

The level 4 spell Polymorph requires concentration to maintain. The subject retains their personality and alignment, but they have the mental statistics of the new form, which must be a beast and ...
25
votes
5answers
22k views

How does the Evocation wizard's Empowered Evocation feature work with the Magic Missile spell?

The Evocation wizard's Empowered Evocation feature (PHB 177) reads: Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to the damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast I have ...
22
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the time required to copy a spell into a spellbook have to be consecutive, or is that just the cumulative time required?

I was unclear from the 5e PHB if the time needed to copy a spell into my spellbook needed to be consecutive (like my character sat down and just dug in), or if he could practice a little here and a ...
14
votes
4answers
2k views

Can a creature tell when it has been affected by a Divination wizard's Portent?

Consider the following situation (from my perspective as the DM): One of my PCs casts a spell on an NPC (or monster etc.) which forces the target to make, say, a Wisdom save, or else be frightened. ...
8
votes
3answers
16k views

Does copying a spell from a scroll into your spellbook consume the scroll?

The text on page 32 of the Basic Rules that talks about copying spells does not explicitly state that the process consumes the scroll. Does it?
9
votes
1answer
741 views

How does the Necromancy wizard's Inured to Undeath feature work with the Death Curse in the Tomb of Annihilation adventure?

I am running Tomb of Annihilation for a group of players. They all wanted to bring in older characters (levels 9-11) from another campaign we had run a while back. I did not allow the players to look ...
-4
votes
1answer
271 views

Can a wizard cast the same spell twice simultaneously?

Could a wizard cast the same spell (utility, non-combat [Tiny Servant]) twice at the same time? Using, obviously, both slots, just dual-cast to save a minute or two? I assume the Somatic components ...
22
votes
5answers
6k views

Can a character use a luck point to affect a roll that was replaced by Portent?

When a divination wizard character uses their Portent ability: Starting at 2nd level when you choose this school, glimpses of the future begin to press in on your awareness. When you finish a ...
15
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a Wizard take the Magic Initiate feat and select spells from the Wizard list?

If a Wizard takes the Magic Initiate feat (PHB, p. 168), can he select 2 cantrips and a level 1 spell from the Wizard list? Or does he have to take them from a different class?
5
votes
2answers
169 views

Would the Life Transference spell be unbalanced if it ignored resistance and immunity?

I want to create a Abjuration wizard (PHB, p. 115-116) that uses the Life Transference spell (XGtE, p. 160) and the Arcane Ward feature to heal people, but I've heard people saying Life Transference ...
21
votes
6answers
2k views

Should a wizard buy fine inks every time he want to copy spells into his spellbook?

PHB says that Wizards should use 'fine inks' for 50 gp for every levels of the spell he want to copy into his spellbook. The problem is that there are no any 'fine inks' in the PHB goods list, just ...
25
votes
3answers
35k views

Counterspelling a counterspell

My party went up against two wizards. Wizard NPC 1 cast a spell, and Wizard PC used their reaction to Counterspell to try to block it. Wizard NPC 2 counterspelled Wizard PC. I have two questions about ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How many spell slots should my level 1 wizard/level 1 fighter have?

I am working on making a wizard fighter multiclass character where the wizard is the original class. How many spells should I have in my spellbook if I am a level 1 wizard and level 1 fighter? I have ...
3
votes
2answers
907 views

How to summon risk free with Gate

Related: Does Mordenkainen's Private Sanctum block summoning? I am attempting to create a scenario where a single wizard of 20th level with no special items can summon a creature of great strength (...
10
votes
1answer
215 views

If I fail the check to copy a spell from a scroll, is the gold needed to copy the spell spent anyway?

I am playing a wizard. I was reading the PHB and saw that you could copy spells into your spellbook for a cost (50 gp + 2 hours of work, per spell level). My question regards when copying the spell ...
4
votes
2answers
240 views

How would it imbalance gameplay to allow a multiclassed wizard/sorcerer to copy wizard spells in a spellbook for which one has spell slots?

Background I'm playing an eladrin wizard in a homebrew game of a friend. After hitting level 6 I'm thinking of multiclassing into sorcerer, because it fits thematically. I'm an accidental traveler ...
1
vote
1answer
106 views

Can a Simulacrum regain health from class features?

My proposed question comes from the School of Necromancy wizard's Grim Harvest feature (PHB, p. 118): Grim Harvest At 2nd level, you gain the ability to reap life energy from creatures you ...
6
votes
1answer
156 views

Which source or sources expand the elementalist wizard's spell lists?

The Advanced Player Guide introduced Wizard Elemental Schools, along with spell lists associated with those schools. For example, for the Air School, the following level 1 spells are given: Alter ...
7
votes
3answers
669 views

Can a Bladesinger Wizard use Bladesong with a Hand Crossbow? [closed]

I am asking for research to determine many class options and how I want to build a potential character. This concept has interested me for a while and I'd like to know. However, I could not help but ...
5
votes
1answer
98 views

Spells that belong to multiple schools

The new arcane elemental schools mention nothing about what spells belong to what schools. So in the case where a spell appears in both your elemental focus school and the opposition school, how are ...
11
votes
3answers
3k views

What is the purpose of the Evocation wizard's Potent Cantrip feature?

The School of Evocation wizard's Potent Cantrip feature (PHB, p. 117) says: Starting at 6th level, when a creature succeeds on a saving throw against your cantrip, the creature takes half the ...
2
votes
2answers
219 views

Can someone with vulnerability to necrotic damage benefit from resistance, in regards to the Evocation wizard's Overchannel feature?

Overchannel (Evocation Wizard feature) states that the necrotic damage it deals ignores immunities or resistances to its damage - but something like vulnerabilities would still be applied. If I am ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I permanently raise the dead before reaching wizard level 5?

I have been searching for a way to get Animate Dead or similar sooner than level 5 on a wizard. I am playing in a game where we level quite slowly and I want to play a necromancer but with how ...
1
vote
1answer
148 views

What are all the ways wizards can learn more spells per level?

I'm trying to find any and every way I can to get a Wizard in Pathfinder to learn more spells every time they level up. I remember quite a few from D&D 3.X but I don't know any for Pathfinder.
45
votes
5answers
12k views

Can one enter Leomund's Tiny Hut from below?

In a session today we were camped out in a Leomund's tiny hut and the DM determined that since it is described as a dome, the bad guys (Wraiths, so they are incorporeal) could enter the area from ...
5
votes
1answer
316 views

Does gaining an extra domain increase a wizard's spell slots?

Complete Divine on Extra Domains says that when a creature that casts arcane spells gains a domain then If she is a spellcaster who keeps a spellbook as a wizard does, then she must find or ...
4
votes
1answer
316 views

When a wizard copies a new spell into his spellbook, it costs 50 gp. Where does that money go?

When a wizard copies a new spell into his spellbook, it costs 50 gp. Where does that money go? According to PHB p. 114: For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp. ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a controlled ghast be a leader of a pack of ghouls?

I'm creating a necromancer wizard player character and searching for the most optimal amount of undead to control. I searched for the lore of the monsters, and found that Ghasts tend to be leaders in ...
5
votes
1answer
893 views

Does a Grease spell affect the caster?

Does a grease spell affect where the caster is standing, or the caster in general when cast on itself? I've read of some rules about AOE spells not affecting the point of origin or something... but ...
15
votes
6answers
3k views

How does nondetection interact with School of Divination's Portent?

As the title suggests, me and some friends had a disussion on this. First, here is the RAW from PHB on Portent (PHB 116): Starting at 2nd leel when you choose this school, glimpses of the future ...
8
votes
1answer
341 views

Do these spellcasting foci from Xanathar's Guide to Everything have to be held in a hand?

I see that, for example: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it ...
1
vote
2answers
374 views

Can a wizard research an existing spell of a higher level than they can currently cast?

TL;DR - Can a 6th level wizard research (not cast) an existing 4th level spell? As a wizard of the 13th circle, I have a need for some spells of the 4th tier. I have been unable to find scrolls for ...
2
votes
0answers
59 views

Does your character possess a magic aura as a wizard while you are incapacitated? [duplicate]

My character was incapacitated (0 HP, passed my death saving throws). My party went on head to the next room without me after failing to revive me. Little did they know the next room was the boss room ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Of what use is Arcane Recovery to an Elf Wizard?

My reading of this Q&A is that elves recover spell slots after a 4-hour long trance. However, if that is the case, then what good is Arcane Recovery to an Elf Wizard?
0
votes
2answers
13k views

Can a wizard cast a prepared spell more than once? [duplicate]

For the purposes of this question, I'll be comparing Wizards and Sorcerers, ignoring Warlocks and Divine spellcasters. So the main differences are that Sorcerers can cast anything they know so long ...