Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
41
votes
4answers
20k views

Can a multiclass Wizard copy any Wizard spell they find into their spellbook?

The Wizard includes the following feature: Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you ...
30
votes
3answers
16k views

How loud/obvious is a wizard casting a spell?

Some spells have somatic and vocal components, that's well known. How loud must a wizard talk? How obvious/wide should his gestures be? Some spells that would be awesome would be fairly limited if ...
27
votes
3answers
41k views

Counterspelling a counterspell

My party went up against two wizards. Wizard NPC 1 cast a spell, and Wizard PC used their reaction to Counterspell to try to block it. Wizard NPC 2 counterspelled Wizard PC. I have two questions about ...
41
votes
3answers
47k views

What Wizard schools are best to specialize in? Which schools are best to sacrifice? [closed]

The Wizard gains the ability to specialize in a school of spells, gaining a bonus spell slot per level that must be used to prepare spells of that school. In exchange, he must ban two other schools; ...
41
votes
4answers
31k views

Can a spell be prepared once and cast multiple times?

Our group had some confusion about preparing spells for a Wizard and Cleric. The rules say that you prepare a number of spells from your list and that you tick off spell slots when you cast a spell. ...
46
votes
3answers
176k views

How does wizard & cleric spell preparation and casting work? [closed]

In 3.X wizards had spellbooks, while clerics had their entire spell list, but they both memorized/prepared spells every day from those lists, and had a certain number of slots for preparing spells in. ...
23
votes
3answers
5k views

Can a Specialist Wizard multiclass to cast spells from his prohibited schools?

I've had DMs rule both ways on this..I haven't seen any official RAWs on this so I was hoping someone here could point me in the right direction? If a Wizard specializes (giving him 1-2 prohibited ...
28
votes
5answers
25k views

How does the Evocation wizard's Empowered Evocation feature work with the Magic Missile spell?

The Evocation wizard's Empowered Evocation feature (PHB 177) reads: Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to the damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast I have ...
21
votes
2answers
14k views

Can Wizards, Tome Warlocks, and those with the Ritual Caster feat use spells from each other's books?

How compatible are the spellbook used a Wizard, the ritual book of a character with the Ritual Caster feat, and the Book of Shadows used by a Pact of the Tome Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets ...
38
votes
11answers
16k views

Way to prevent teleportation

My party (average level 10) just had a pre-boss fight. That was an opportunity for me to make them spend some of their resources, because they thought that was actually the big bad boss fight. So we ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a wizard using an arcane focus quarterstaff and a shield still cast somatic component spells?

If there is a wizard that, by some means, has acquired proficiency in the use of shields, can said wizard use his shield in one hand and his arcane focus quarterstaff in the other and still cast ...
10
votes
5answers
5k views

From what items can a wizard learn his spells?

I'm now wondering after googling for a while, what are the different sources a Wizard can learn his spells from? Is it only limited to scrolls and tomes, or can a Wizard learn spells from other magic ...
63
votes
6answers
16k views

How are Fighters Linear but Wizards Quadratic?

The phrase "Linear Fighters, Quadratic Wizards" gets bandied about a lot, but I've found I don't have a good way to explain it to newer players. The tier system post has some examples of how wizards ...
17
votes
3answers
12k views

How does a Wizard achieve a very cheap spellbook full of spells?

At 1 page per spell level and 100gp ink per page scribing spells gets extremely expensive, and I have to spend money on spells instead of magical items. Assuming aggressive spell research, what's the ...
48
votes
5answers
13k views

Can one enter Leomund's Tiny Hut from below?

In a session today we were camped out in a Leomund's tiny hut and the DM determined that since it is described as a dome, the bad guys (Wraiths, so they are incorporeal) could enter the area from ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

How does a wizard read another wizard's spellbook?

To prepare spells from another wizard's spellbook you have to be able to read it. Since there is no read magic spell (like in previous editions), how does a wizard read another wizard's spellbook?
22
votes
2answers
7k views

Does whether a Wizard can maintain the spell Polymorph upon themselves depend on the form they change into?

The level 4 spell Polymorph requires concentration to maintain. The subject retains their personality and alignment, but they have the mental statistics of the new form, which must be a beast and ...
18
votes
9answers
36k views

How to allow cantrips to be changed

The wizard in my game has requested the ability to change out his cantrips similarly to his higher level spells. His justification is that every other wizard spell is memorizable, so having fixed ...
17
votes
4answers
7k views

Can the wizard in our group prepare a spell from the spellbook of an NPC wizard?

Whether the players killed a mage and got his spellbook(s) or they met with a nice wizard who let him or her learn a spell from his spellbook, can a player prepare a spell from a spellbook that isn't ...
24
votes
1answer
2k views

Do Arcane Ward's starting hit points include the INT modifier once or twice?

An abjuration wizard's Arcane Ward states: [...] The ward has hit points equal to twice your wizard level + your Intelligence modifier. So how many hit points is this supposed to be? \$ (2 \times ...
42
votes
5answers
39k views

To What Extent Can The Keen Mind Feat Replace a Wizard's Spellbook?

Some of the feats in D&D 5e are seemingly less useful or otherwise not always as reliable relative to the other feats, although they are very flavorful. Keen Mind is one such feat, granting your ...
29
votes
1answer
2k views

Dueling Portents

I have a player with a Divination School Wizard. He has used his Portent ability upon the Big Bad several times to great effect. My Big Bad is a smart person however, and is seeking to hire a rival ...
23
votes
5answers
6k views

Can a character use a luck point to affect a roll that was replaced by Portent?

When a divination wizard character uses their Portent ability: Starting at 2nd level when you choose this school, glimpses of the future begin to press in on your awareness. When you finish a ...
14
votes
3answers
2k views

Are Illusionists subject to their own illusions?

In general, does the caster of a visual illusion experience the full effect of that illusion? For example, Minor Illusion can create an un-moving illusory object that seemingly everyone can see. Would ...
23
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a wizard delay spell preparation?

My wizard has just woken from a long rest and is thinking about what spells to prepare for a new day of adventuring. The PHB says on p.114: You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available ...
16
votes
2answers
11k views

What can a wizard take instead of a familiar at 1st level?

The familiar is brilliant feature for a wizard, but not for a prestige multiclassing one. Such a wizard stops upgrading his familiar once getting off the main road. So if he still wants to utilize his ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a wizard use his familiar's senses to enlarge his “you can see” area?

I am thinking about a wizard who has a rat familiar (from the find familiar spell), and has the misty step spell prepared. Can he use his familiar's senses to teleport into another room (where the ...
32
votes
3answers
17k views

Can a Wizard cast Shield in reaction to a stealth attack?

Scenario: Rogue is hidden and sneaks up on a Wizard. Rogue attacks and hits the wizard with 1 above his AC. Can the wizard take his reaction to Shield from it? Shield's casting time is 1 reaction, ...
25
votes
1answer
16k views

What can a wizard do without a spellbook?

So I have been reading through the 5e PHB section on wizards and a couple of things surprised me and I'm not sure if I am missing something. I was under the impression that Wizards required their ...
16
votes
6answers
13k views

Creating a Wizard at high levels: How many Spells should he know?

I have looked all over this site & Google but I can't seem to get a good answer to this. When creating a Wizard over level 1, how many spells should he have in his spellbook? I'm speaking in ...
16
votes
2answers
1k views

How often can a creature be damaged in one turn with Wall of Fire?

Question 1: During a creature's movement, he moves into more than one fire space. Does he take the damage for each square? Question 2: Using Forced movement (push/pull/slide) does the creature take ...
13
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a wizard use wands and scrolls of spells from his prohibited schools of magic?

Can a wizard use wands and scrolls of spells from his prohibited schools of magic? i.e: Can an abjurer who banned evocation and enchantment use a wand or scroll of fireball (an evocation spell) ...
12
votes
3answers
6k views

Is a long rest required between uses of Arcane Recovery?

The wizard class feature Arcane Recovery can be used "once per day." Arcane Recovery You have learned to regain some of your magical energy by studying your spellbook. Once per day when you ...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a multi-class Bard/Wizard write spells known from Bard, into Wizard spellbook?

Can a multi-class Bard/Wizard write spells known from their Bard class, into their wizard spellbook? e.g. they know the Comprehend Languages as a Bard spell, and want to write it directly into their ...
10
votes
6answers
4k views

Can a glass eye be an Arcane focus?

Let's say a player's wizard character has lost their eye in some event and replaced it with a glass eye. Would they be able to use that glass eye for an Arcane focus while it is in their head?
9
votes
1answer
379 views

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spellbook?

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spellbook? First, I’m thinking that copying a spell from a scroll is similar to copying a spell from my ...
8
votes
3answers
17k views

Does copying a spell from a scroll into your spellbook consume the scroll?

The text on page 32 of the Basic Rules that talks about copying spells does not explicitly state that the process consumes the scroll. Does it?
8
votes
1answer
7k views

Can a multiclass Wizard/Fighter (Eldritch Knight) add EK known spells to the wizard spellbook?

When intending to play a Fighter (Eldritch Knight) I was dissatisfied with the spell restrictions so I devised a plan to increase my spell versatility: Start with 1 wizard level to have a spellbook ...
8
votes
2answers
711 views

Who can create copies of spells that can subsequently be copied into spellbooks, etc?

Character A finds a spell written on a wall and copies it. He takes the copy to character B who copies it into her spellbook or Book of Shadows for her future use. Assume the spell is one B can ...
5
votes
1answer
966 views

Does Grim Harvest trigger when my Teleport causes a death?

Prompted by Does Grim Harvest trigger when my minions kill something? I Teleport a large, flat rock into the air some dozens of feet above an enemy. My DM rules that the rock falling does damage, and ...
49
votes
8answers
15k views

My Wizard is conjuring a piece of the sun. How will this affect my setting?

In my game there is a high level wizard conjurer. He wants to cast a force wall around himself and the party, then use minor conjuration to create 10 pounds of the center of the sun, which he scried ...
24
votes
2answers
34k views

How does an Fighter (Eldritch Knight) 20 compare to a Fighter 10/Wizard 10 for both damage dealt and durability?

With the release of the PHB we have the Eldritch Knight fighter archetype as an innate, class-driven way for the fighter to compete with the wizard in the AoE department. This prompted a discussion ...
30
votes
4answers
3k views

Can Yew Wands be used as a focus for both druids and wizards?

As I was developing a level 4 character for a 5th edition D&D campaign I was playing with my friends, I settled on a multi-class character using the Druid and Wizard classes. When I went to choose ...
17
votes
2answers
3k views

“Tele-fragging” with Illusory Reality

The 14th-level Illusion Wizard feature, Illusory Reality, allows you to make an object in an illusion real (PHB p. 118): Illusory Reality. By 14th level, you have learned the secret of weaving ...
13
votes
3answers
5k views

Is a Fighter/Wizard/Thief viable in Pathfinder?

I'm looking for a decent build for a Fighter/Wizard/Thief in Pathfinder. The goal is to have a "jack of all trades" PC. I'd like to enhance these aspect if possible: Fighter: melee dps Wizard: ...
19
votes
4answers
1k views

When must the wizard choose to overchannel?

The Evocation specialist wizard's overchannel ability says: When you cast a wizard spell of 5th level or lower that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with your spell. Does the "that deals ...
12
votes
1answer
484 views

Does a monster that casts spells as a wizard need to prepare its spells from a spellbook?

Some driders (Monster Manual 89-90) can "cast spells as 6th-level… wizards," and a red ethergaunt (Monster Manual II 66-7) and other ethergaunts "can cast arcane spells as a… wizard." Must these ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Can Illusory Reality be reused on the same object that is part of the same spell?

Based on this question. Illusory reality (PHB p. 118) When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and ...
5
votes
1answer
934 views

Does a Grease spell affect the caster?

Does a grease spell affect where the caster is standing, or the caster in general when cast on itself? I've read of some rules about AOE spells not affecting the point of origin or something... but ...
4
votes
2answers
707 views

How can Illusion Magic be effective against True Sight?

I am starting a new campaign and decided to play a wizard this time around. I was looking through the different schools available and reading guides (Treantmonk's among others) and saw illusion as one ...