Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
12
votes
3answers
14k views

How many undead of each type can you control at one time?

With a 20 wizard necromancer, all magic items allowed (with the exception of sentient items) with the three attuned as usual, by RAW: How many undead can you maintain control over with a 100% success ...
10
votes
4answers
805 views

When would someone in a Sculpt Spell's 'pocket of safety' take damage?

According to an Evocation Wizard's Sculpt Spell class feature, they can create pockets of safety that allow the chosen creatures to: ...automatically succeed on their saving throws against the ...
16
votes
3answers
986 views

If I fail the check to copy a spell from a scroll, is the gold needed to copy the spell spent anyway?

I am playing a wizard. I was reading the PHB and saw that you could copy spells into your spellbook for a cost (50 gp + 2 hours of work, per spell level). My question regards when copying the spell ...
5
votes
1answer
196 views

Do pact archetype wizards have full curse progression?

I'm pretty sure that I can't be reading this right, but the pact wizard archetype from 5th level says you gain an oracle curse and you count your oracle level as half your wizard level. Looking up the ...
5
votes
1answer
152 views

Telegraphing Encounter and Obstacle Characteristics for Preparation Casters

(Note: I feel that this question is sufficiently different from this one to justify a new post, as my question is about specific information informing Wizard spell preparation) (Additional note: ...
42
votes
4answers
38k views

Can a spell be prepared once and cast multiple times?

Our group had some confusion about preparing spells for a Wizard and Cleric. The rules say that you prepare a number of spells from your list and that you tick off spell slots when you cast a spell. ...
21
votes
4answers
13k views

Limitations on the Conjurer's Minor Conjuration ability

There are some clearly defined limitations already on the Wizard School of Conjuration's Minor Conjuration feature, however... Does normal "wear and tear" count as damage? (e.g. I'm in a fight ...
4
votes
2answers
273 views

RAW can a Eldritch Knight 9/Wizard 2 multiclass cast/learn 3rd level spells? [duplicate]

Title is the main question, loosely an extension of a previous question I'd asked about Eldritch Knight/Wizard multiclass and their access to spells. Note: I'm NOT asking if the proposed character of ...
7
votes
2answers
879 views

How many levels of wizard does my player need, from 7 levels of eldritch knight, to be able to action surge fireball?

I'm DMing for a group that has a player who is an eldritch knight level 7 and wants to multiclass into wizard to expand his spellcasting abilities. The short version of my question is as given in the ...
3
votes
1answer
152 views

Can you benefit from Bladesong while Shapechanged into a Marilith?

Shapechange allows you retain your Intelligence & class features, while taking up your new forms' physical stats. In theory, this means that a Bladesinger could change into a Marilith and get 7 ...
1
vote
0answers
44 views

Can a “staff arcane focus” also act like a Quarterstaff? [duplicate]

Can I use a Quarterstaff as an Arcane Focus (Staff)? In my opinion it would make sense. They both even have the same weight! The reason I'm asking this is because I'm making a wizard and it would ...
3
votes
1answer
152 views

Does the Order of the Scribes ability Awakened Spellbook change the damage type of cantrips

On the newest UA Subclass Revisited, the Wizard gains the ability to change the damage type of spells they cast for the damage type of other spells they have in their book. Is this applicable to ...
2
votes
1answer
207 views

How can a wizard add their ability mod to Magic Missile's damage at a lower character level than the Empowered Evocation feature?

The Evocation wizard's 10th-level Empowered Evocation feature allows them to add an ability modifier to a spell damage roll. I'm trying to find a way to get an effect like that of Empowered Evocation ...
11
votes
1answer
632 views

How long does it take a wizard to change just one of their prepared spells?

Suppose my 10th-level wizard wakes up from a good night's rest and, using all 20 points of his Intelligence, he realizes that he needs to change his spell list a little. It's time to retire Magic ...
4
votes
1answer
51 views

Are wizards with the Improved Familiar Attunement and the Enhanced Familiar feat restricted to only picking familiar abilities?

From PF2E Core Rulebook p. 218: Familiar and Master Abilities Each day, you channel your magic into two abilities, which can be either familiar or master abilities.... Which is fine and makes ...
2
votes
2answers
72 views

Does the School of Transmutation wizard's Transmuter's Stone need to be held in hand to gain its benefit?

The School of Transmutation wizard gains the Transmuter's Stone feature at 6th level. Does the transmuter's stone need to be held in hand to benefit from it? Or can I gain its benefit even if it's in ...
3
votes
2answers
119 views

In the Forgotten Realms, how does a Wizard cast spells when away from their plane?

In the Forgotten Realms, how does a Wizard cast spells when away from their plane? That is, how exactly do they wield magic when they have no access to the Weave? Can a Wizard still cast if he is ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Can reaction spells be used as an action?

I was wondering if spells like Shield wizard spell could be used as an action instead of as a reaction in response to some trigger? Shield spell gives protection until the start of casters next turn, ...
1
vote
2answers
109 views

Learning or preparing a spell over Telepathic Bond?

Just wondering... Would a telepathic bond spell cast on my helper npc (another wizard of equal or greater level; stationed in a magic library) allow them to "stream" my spellbook's contents to me as ...
6
votes
1answer
112 views

How does the Evocation wizard's Sculpt Spells feature interact with creatures attached to the target?

The Evocation wizard's Sculpt Spells feature says you can create "pockets of relative safety" in the area of your evocation spells, allowing the chosen creatures to automatically succeed on saving ...
1
vote
1answer
173 views

Is it possible for a Wizard to be immortal and still become a lich?

Could a level 20 Wizard with the Immortality Arcane Discovery turn himself into a Lich?
9
votes
1answer
558 views

Interaction between potent cantrip and sculpt spell: Thunderclap

According to DnD 5e wizard evoker subclass lvl 2 feature Sculpt Spell, you could prevent 1 friendly adjacent creature from taking damage from a Thunderclap cast by your evoker (it would automatically ...
2
votes
3answers
111 views

Does using an arcane focus reduce the cost of adding a spell to your spellbook?

The material explanation in chapter 10 of the Players Handbook states that: 'A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a ...
0
votes
1answer
254 views

Is the Graviturgy Magic wizard's Adjust Density feature overpowered?

In the Explorer's Guide to Wildemount, there are two new arcane traditions for wizards: Graviturgy Magic and Chronurgy Magic. The Graviturgy Magic wizard gets the Adjust Density feature at 2nd level ...
3
votes
1answer
77 views

The UA Psionics wizard subclass feature Psionic Devotion modifies the Friends cantrip; how does it work?

I am playing a wizard, and I am looking at choosing Psionics (from Unearthed Arcana: Fighter, Rogue, Wizard) as my Arcane Tradition. The Psionic wizard subclass gets the Psionic Devotion feature at ...
4
votes
0answers
72 views

Can a Wizard write spells in something other than a spellbook? [duplicate]

So basically I have a bard that I am about to multiclass into a wizard. I’d like to know if it’s possible to not need a grimoire specifically, but be able to say write my spells by writing them on or ...
3
votes
2answers
117 views

Is playing a specialist Enchanter with a hoard of possessed enemies viable?

I'm aware that the typical advice for playing a Focused Specialist Enchanter is "just play a Beguiler instead". Regardless, I've still been reading up on it. It seems like the theory for such a build ...
7
votes
1answer
654 views

How many spells per day does a wizard/necromancer multiclass get?

I'm looking for a clarification in spells known per full heal-up. I'm looking at a 1st level wizard/necromancer multiclass as an example. A first level multiclass wizard gets 4 1st level spells per ...
5
votes
0answers
106 views

What on Earth does the wizard's “Familiars” feature do?

DCC Core Rulebook pg. 49 Familiars: More than one wizard has found comfort in the company of a black cat, hissing snake, or clay homunculus. A wizard may utilize the spell find familiar to obtain ...
1
vote
0answers
33 views

Fighter (Eldritch Knight)/Wizard multiclass spell known [duplicate]

I'm about to start a campaign and I wish to play an Eldritch Knight/Wizard multiclass. I've read the chapter 6 part for spellcasting: You determine what spells you know and can prepare for ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens if a Divination wizard uses the Portent feature to replace an enemy's initiative roll, when the DM rolls once for a group of enemies?

Say 4 goblins ambush a level 2 party, everyone is surprised but the Wizard decides to use his Portent feature to influence the initiative roll of the enemy. One of his portents is a natural 1, and he ...
64
votes
7answers
17k views

How are Fighters Linear but Wizards Quadratic?

The phrase "Linear Fighters, Quadratic Wizards" gets bandied about a lot, but I've found I don't have a good way to explain it to newer players. The tier system post has some examples of how wizards ...
7
votes
4answers
17k views

Alternatives to rest for restoration of spell slots

Is there a mechanism (established in the rules) for restoring the spell slots of an arcane caster (particularly interested in Wizard) that does not involve rest? The method must be external to the ...
13
votes
3answers
11k views

What is the purpose of the Evocation wizard's Potent Cantrip feature?

The School of Evocation wizard's Potent Cantrip feature (PHB, p. 117) says: Starting at 6th level, when a creature succeeds on a saving throw against your cantrip, the creature takes half the ...
11
votes
3answers
849 views

Can a Divination Wizard use the Portent feature on themself while blinded?

The blinded condition states (emphasis mine): A blinded creature can't see and automatically fails any ability check that requires sight. [...] Meanwhile the Divination Wizard's Portent feature ...
1
vote
1answer
77 views

Can UA Lore Mastery's Spell Secrets feature change the damage type of a spell that does not deal damage immediately?

For UA Lore Mastery, Spell Secrets states the following: At 2nd level, when you cast a spell with a spell slot and the spell deals acid, cold, fire, force, lightning, necrotic, radiant, or thunder ...
18
votes
2answers
1k views

Can the Chronurgy wizard's Convergent Future feature result in a die roll above 20?

In the new Explorer's Guide to Wildemount, we are introduced to a new wizard Arcane Tradition called Chronurgy Magic, whose 14th-level feature Convergent Future says: You can peer through possible ...
13
votes
1answer
995 views

Does a cantrip need to be learned like level 1-9 spells as a wizard?

Upon hitting level 4, Wizards go from possessing 3 cantrips to 4. Additionally, "Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free." (from the ...
10
votes
2answers
378 views

If the Simulacrum spell is cast on a Divination Wizard that currently has Portent rolls stored, does the Simulacrum also have those Portent rolls?

Essentially, I'm not sure "where" stored Portent rolls "exist" while not in use. The simulacrum spell description says: It appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature's ...
0
votes
0answers
59 views

What role does the school of necromancy play in the world of 5e? [duplicate]

The school of necromancy subclass states: The School of Necromancy explores the cosmic forces of life, death, and undeath. Which doesn't sound inherently evil. Obviously a Necromancer makes a ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a multiclassed wizard start with a spellbook?

If I multiclass into Wizard, do I automatically begin with a spellbook? I'm looking for support within the written rules. Designer intent is a consideration, but their intent should be well supported ...
12
votes
1answer
155 views

When did familiars stop giving bonus hit points?

When I first started playing D&D, familiars used to give their Wizard bonus hit points equal to the familiar's own hp. For instance, if your familiar had 2 hp, you got a bonus 2 hp. However, if ...
4
votes
2answers
257k views

Calculating Wizard spell casting ability and spell attack bonus

How do you determine the Spellcasting ability and the spell attack bonus? I've tried searching for it in the player's handbook and searched for answers here, but I haven't found anything.
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can Bladesingers combine: Bladesong + Double-Bladed Scimitar + Revenant Blade feat?

Can Bladesingers combine: Bladesong + Double-Bladed Scimitar + Revenant Blade feat? I won't detail it heavily, but can an Elf and/or Half-Elf Wizard (Bladesinger) combine all these for enhanced ...
5
votes
1answer
173 views

Can you use animate dead on something that was previously animated by the same spell? [duplicate]

If a zombie or skeleton that you have animated with Animate Dead is reduced to 0 hit points, can you reanimate it using Animate dead? The spell description only says: Choose a pile of bones or a ...
6
votes
1answer
252 views

Can a multiclassed Wizard/Bard scribe a spell scroll for a spell they know as a bard, then copy it into their spellbook (if it's on both spell lists)?

I'm playing a multiclassed wizard 6, bard 1. I know that you can't copy non-wizard spells into your spellbook. What if I copied one of the 1st-level spells I have access to as a Bard that is also on ...
4
votes
1answer
205 views

Can a multiclass Warlock/Wizard add spells known from Warlock to the Wizard spellbook?

I have a Pact of the Chain Warlock/Evocation Wizard character. All of my current Warlock spells are also on the Wizard spell list, except Eldritch Blast of course. I've found a related question ...
7
votes
2answers
756 views

Can a Wizard 14/Bard 3 copy bard scrolls into the wizard spellbook?

Since I have levels in Bard, can I copy (for example) mass cure wounds (a level 5 bard spell that isn't also a wizard spell) from a bard scroll into my spell book? Could I do this idea with 3 levels ...
7
votes
1answer
129 views

Can you use Arcane Bond to cast a spell with a long casting time?

The Drain Bonded Item action says: During your turn, you gain the ability to cast one spell you prepared today and already cast (Core 205) Does this mean that you cannot use this to cast any ...
4
votes
2answers
96 views

Can a multiclassed Wizard enchant an arcane bonded weapon by qualifying with a second casting class?

Suppose that I want to have a first-level wizard school ability, and that I took an arcane bond with a weapon. Say that for whatever reasons, I take the rest of my levels in a different casting class. ...

1
2 3 4 5
13