We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
23
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a resurrected wizard remember his prepared spells?

Imagine that some wizard found his death in fire, and his spellbook burned out, too. He was in the afterlife for about a month and after that was resurrected. He no longer has a spellbook. Does he ...
5
votes
1answer
124 views

Can the Wizard's “Spell Blending” Arcane Thesis be used to convert spell slots of one tradition to another?

For example, if a Wizard takes Cleric Multiclass Archetype feats to gain Cleric spell slots, can he use the Spell Blending Arcane Thesis to transform the Cleric spell slots into Wizard spell slots of ...
0
votes
0answers
34 views

Arcane Trickster(9)/Wizard(2) Multiclass Unlocked Spell Levels [duplicate]

This is something that came up at my last game, hoping someone can set the record straight. I'm a Lvl 9 AT Rogue who has just dipped 2 lvls in Wizard. According to the Multiclassing spell slot rules,...
43
votes
5answers
22k views

Can a multiclass Wizard copy any Wizard spell they find into their spellbook?

The Wizard includes the following feature: Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you ...
17
votes
4answers
8k views

Can the wizard in our group prepare a spell from the spellbook of an NPC wizard?

Whether the players killed a mage and got his spellbook(s) or they met with a nice wizard who let him or her learn a spell from his spellbook, can a player prepare a spell from a spellbook that isn't ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

Can I copy prepared Cleric spells that are also on the Wizard spell list into my spellbook?

I'm multiclassing as a Wizard2/Cleric3. I'm wondering if it's possible to prepare a spell from the cleric spell list and then if it's also found in the Wizard spell list, would I be able to write it ...
14
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a multi-class Bard/Wizard write spells known from Bard, into Wizard spellbook?

Can a multi-class Bard/Wizard write spells known from their Bard class, into their wizard spellbook? e.g. they know the Comprehend Languages as a Bard spell, and want to write it directly into their ...
2
votes
0answers
62 views

Can a wizard with cleric levels scribe wizard spells he had prepared from the cleric class in his spellbook? [duplicate]

There's been a debate on a D&D discord server that's caused me a lot of trouble. Here is the question: if a wizard 2/cleric 2 has a wizard spell prepared from being a cleric, rather than from ...
15
votes
3answers
5k views

Will enemies with Wizard spells have spellbooks a PC Wizard can learn from?

I'm aware that Wizards can learn spells from other spellbooks and scrolls they find, as long as they take the time and money to learn it. If there is an enemy, such as a Mage that is listed in the ...
23
votes
2answers
32k views

Where can I find the “Trap the Soul” 8th-level wizard spell?

In the Wizard spell list, under level 8, there is a spell listed as "Trap the Soul". However the spell can not be found in the subsequent spell descriptions. Some people online are saying that the ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens to a Bladesinger reincarnated as a Human?

The Bladesinging subclass (Sword Coast Adventurer Guide, p. 141) of the Wizard class is restricted to Elves. If a High-Elf with 4 levels in the Wizard (Bladesinging) class dies and is reincarnated in ...
2
votes
0answers
46 views

3.5 D&D Mystic Theurge Specialist Wizard banned spells [duplicate]

If one is playing a Mystic Theurge in 3.5 and the Wizard side has school specialization, would the banned schools also be affected on the cleric side. If you had banned Enchantment and Illusion would ...
2
votes
1answer
59 views

Does multiclassing into Specialist Wizard need you to pick at character level 1 or wizard level 1?

Okay, I want to create a Mystic Theurge in 3.5, going Cleric/Wizard 3/3. I would start with 3 levels of Cleric and then do 3 levels of Wizard. On the Wizard side I also want to be a Wizard with ...
6
votes
2answers
165 views

Does a familiar count as an ally? [duplicate]

If a hobgoblin wizard had a familiar summoned, would that familiar count as an ally, thus boosting the Saving Face ability? Saving Face: Hobgoblins are careful not to show weakness in front of ...
11
votes
3answers
5k views

Can the Wish spell overcome the post-casting time requirements of the Clone spell

Per the Wish spell: Wish You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect. Per the Clone spell: Clone This clone ...
6
votes
2answers
11k views

Does a Simulacrum-Wish combo affect the original caster?

I'm in a new high-level campaign which is a continuation of a previous one. I'm an 18th-level wizard, and our DM allowed us to have multiple simulacra at a time in the previous campaign. However, now ...
-1
votes
1answer
111 views

Haunted Heroes Pact Wizard may cause a favored spell combo to be even more broken?

I've been looking at the Pact Wizard archetype from Haunted Heroes Handbook and noticed a feature they pick up at 10th level that states that when metamagic feats are applied to spells learned via ...
16
votes
3answers
712 views

How does an Evocation Wizard's Overchannel ability interact with Chaos Bolt?

With the release of Guildmaster's Guide to Ravnica, characters were given new background options. Some of these options add spells to a character's spellcasting classes. One of these is the Izzet ...
6
votes
3answers
300 views

Can you use Bladesong while you’re Wildshaped and Vice-Versa?

Looking over the Bladesinging wizard subclass, I came to realize that the Bladesong feature (SCAG, p. 142) doesn’t list any requirements outside of a Bonus Action. Starting at 2nd level, you can ...
4
votes
1answer
153 views

Is the 2nd-level ability of a transmutation wizard under-powered when compared to other wizard subclasses' 2nd-level abilities?

The text for the transmutation wizard's Minor Alchemy feature (PHB, p. 119) is as follows: Starting at 2nd level when you select this school, you can temporarily alter the physical properties of ...
26
votes
4answers
5k views

How can I curtail abuse of the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature?

I'd like to know some methods of curtailing the abuse of the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature in a game. Right now I have a player here running roughshod over the other GMs in the group by ...
3
votes
2answers
5k views

What counts as “one object” for the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality and Malleable Illusions features?

I DM for a player who is considering creating a School of Illusion Wizard. They have correctly noted that many things about illusions in the game are open to interpretation, and have asked me to let ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Could a wizard learn every spell on the list?

So in the PHB it states by (a) finding a person willing to teach you the spell or finding it written and (b) spending the corresponding amount of gold and time a wizard can copy a new spell into their ...
8
votes
2answers
143 views

Can a wizard transcribe prepared spells from multiclassing? [duplicate]

Say you're a 1st-level wizard and also a 1st-level druid. Could you, as a druid, prepare spells that both classes have, like Detect Magic and Ice Knife, then, since they're now "prepared" for you, ...
3
votes
2answers
231 views

8th-level drow wizard got Wild Talent—what can I do with it?

So basically my DM gave my 8th-level drow wizard the Wild Talent feat after meeting some old elven dudes and communicating with them via telepathy. I'm wondering if I can make something cool out of ...
2
votes
3answers
426 views

Can I make an exact copy of myself and my equipment using True Polymorph on a simulacrum?

More wizard shenanigans! If I create a simulacrum of myself and true polymorph the sim into me, assuming the simulacrum has the same CR/level as I do, can I essentially create an exact copy of myself ...
0
votes
0answers
41 views

Can you True Polymorph your simulacrum into your original self? [duplicate]

It's pretty much all up there in the question... But just to clarify, You (a wizard of great power): Make a simulacrum of yourself. Cast True Polymorph on it to make it a real human/elf/whathaveyou. ...
0
votes
0answers
106 views

Can I embed a spellcasting focus into a shield, like a paladin or cleric? [duplicate]

I want to multiclass either cleric/wizard or paladin/wizard and I was wondering whether i can use my holy symbol as a spellcasting focus for my wizard spells and if not, can I embed my arcane focus ...
8
votes
3answers
11k views

School of Abjuration Arcane ward feature and ritual abjuration spells

Regarding the Arcane Ward wizard class feature it states Whenever you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, the ward regains a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the ...
1
vote
1answer
75 views

If a wizard has a familiar and the feat Eldritch Heritage for the Arcane bloodline, what level do you use to determine the powers of the familiar?

If a wizard has a familiar and the feat Eldritch Heritage for the Arcane bloodline, what level do you use to determine the powers of the familiar? The bloodline grants: ...you gain an arcane bond, ...
1
vote
0answers
99 views

Does a simulacrum'd creature's statblock include its personality and knowledge/memories? [duplicate]

Basis: In the clone spell, it states clearly that The clone is physically identical to the original and has the same personality, memories, and abilities, but none of the original’s equipment. ...
13
votes
3answers
7k views

Is a long rest required between uses of Arcane Recovery?

The wizard class feature Arcane Recovery can be used "once per day." Arcane Recovery You have learned to regain some of your magical energy by studying your spellbook. Once per day when you ...
6
votes
2answers
363 views

In AL, can an evocation wizard protect themself from their own spell with the Sculpt Spells feature?

At 2nd level, a Wizard of the Evocation School gains the Sculpt Spells feature (PHB p 117). Beginning at 2nd level, you can create pockets of relative safety within the effects of your evocation ...
27
votes
7answers
9k views

I picked the wrong spells as a wizard, how do I recover?

Being a newcomer to DnD (5e), I got invited to a campaign with some friends. It is my first time playing tabletop DnD. Video games like Neverwinter Nights was my only experience with DnD. I now ...
4
votes
1answer
122 views

How to learn Wizard spells without increasing Spellcraft?

I am about to build a Jade Phoenix Mage (Tome of Battle), with Wizard as the base spellcasting class. Wizards need Spellcraft to learn new spells, but it is not a class skill for JPM. I would like to ...
8
votes
1answer
179 views

If the Simulacrum spell is cast on a Divination Wizard that currently has Portent rolls stored, does the Simulacrum also have those Portent rolls?

Essentially, I'm not sure "where" stored Portent rolls "exist" while not in use. The simulacrum spell description says: It appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature's ...
32
votes
2answers
2k views

Dueling Portents

I have a player with a Divination School Wizard. He has used his Portent ability upon the Big Bad several times to great effect. My Big Bad is a smart person however, and is seeking to hire a rival ...
13
votes
1answer
978 views

Can more than one wizard copy a spell from a spellbook?

In the PLAYER'S HANDBOOK you can copy a spell into your own spellbook. In the DMG (p200) if a spell is copied from a scroll, the scroll is destroyed. If a spell is copied from a spellbook however, ...
3
votes
1answer
101 views

How can a high level mythic wizard “bond” items to be usable only by himself?

My party has reached the end of our campaign and my level 20 mythic wizard has crafted a few things to help complete his "final form" so to speak. A ring, a cloak, and some legendary bracers. My ...
6
votes
3answers
242 views

Can non-wizards decipher a wizard's spellbook?

In the wizard's class description, it says that When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Using Portent on Initiative Rolls

Say 4 goblins ambush a level 2 party, everyone is surprised but the Wizard decides to use his Portent feature to influence the initiative roll of the enemy. One of his portents is a natural 1, and he ...
6
votes
2answers
17k views

Can a wizard ever use a shield?

What ways are there for a wizard in D&D 5e to use a shield? The only option I could think of was multiclassing which does not seem worth it.
4
votes
2answers
400 views

How many spells can a level 1 wizard learn?

I’m kind of new to the game and I want to make a wizard, but I can’t understand the part of the hero’s handbook (pg.29) where it says: “Pick a number of spells from this page equal to 3 + INT” I have ...
-1
votes
1answer
97 views

If I multiclass a Wizard and a Sorcerer with Arcane Bloodline, can I choose a familiar for both?

If I multiclass a Wizard and a Sorcerer with Arcane Bloodline, can I choose a familiar for both? Or can I have a familiar from one class and a bonded object from the other?
7
votes
2answers
366 views

Can a Simulacrum of a wizard use the wizard's spellbook?

Suppose a wizard casts Simulacrum on their self, creating a duplicate who has all the same spells prepared and has all the same spell slots (minus the 7th level slot used to cast Simulacrum, of course)...
2
votes
1answer
334 views

What are the options for animated undead for a Necromancer?

I have just moved to 5e from 3.5e. I've read up about the Necromancy Wizard subclass in 5e, and from what I have seen so far there are only three possible undead that they can possibly animate: ...
6
votes
1answer
181 views

If a Contingency spell has been cast on a creature, does the Simulacrum spell transfer the contingent spell to its duplicate?

Simple premise: If I cast simulacrum on an entity that has a contingency spell cast on it, does that contingency transfer to the simulacrum?
1
vote
1answer
226 views

Is there a balancing issue giving a Wizard a wand capable of casting Illusory Script once per day?

Wizard expressed a desire for a magical wand that could cast the ritual spell Illusory Script without burning a spell slot/ritual slot. I though about giving a wand that can cast the spell once per ...
3
votes
2answers
226 views

If a dragon under my control uses Change Shape to turn into an Evoker, can I choose the Evoker's race, and benefit from its racial traits?

Nuanced questions about True Polymorph and spellcasting: I have a wizard who has a simulacrum. Wizard TP's the sim into an adult bronze dragon, which can then Change Shape into a humanoid or beast of ...
6
votes
1answer
135 views

For a multiclassed Wizard/Sorcerer, do the Wizard school features benefit sorcerer spells?

If I'm primarily a sorcerer and multiclass into a wizard of the school Evocation/Admixture, with this effect: Versatile Evocation (Su): When you cast an evocation spell that does acid, cold, ...