Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
2answers
62 views

Does the UA Lore Mastery wizard's Master of Magic feature create a prepared spell?

According to the wording of the UA Lore Mastery wizard's capstone, it says: At 14th level, your knowledge of magic allows you to duplicate almost any spell. As a bonus action, you can call to mind ...
6
votes
1answer
112 views

Is this proposed change to the Transmutation Wizard's Master Transmuter class feature balanced for a setting without resurrection? [Version 2]

In my previous iteration of this question, I proposed a replacement for the Master Transmuter option Restore Life. the feedback I received identified that it was too powerful, so I have a new, much ...
3
votes
2answers
119 views

What happens when you target a creature attuned to a cursed magic item with something that removes curses?

The remove curse spell states: At your touch, all curses affecting one creature or object end. If the object is a cursed magic item, its curse remains, but the spell breaks its owner's attunement ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a wizard learn spells written in an unfamiliar language using the Comprehend Languages spell?

If a wizard finds a spell book in an unfamiliar language, which he can understand via the Comprehend Languages spell (but not otherwise), can he transcribe these spells in his own spell book?
4
votes
1answer
162 views

Is this proposed change to the Transmutation Wizard's Master Transmuter class feature balanced for a setting without resurrection?

The School of Transmutation wizard archetype has a feature at level 14 called Master Transmuter. It can allow such a wizard to, once per long rest, destroy their transmuter's stone and do one of a ...
5
votes
1answer
469 views

What can an Invisible PC do to take the “Help” action and remain invisible?

My wizard ally wants to go invisible and use the "Help" action to help attacks while remaining invisible. My DM ruled that physical interaction with the enemy would constitute an action that breaks ...
4
votes
1answer
232 views

Can a multiclassed Evocation wizard/rogue use the Overchannel feature on the Shadow Blade spell and maximize Sneak Attack dice as well?

A level 14 Evocation Wizard with 3 levels in Rogue, uses their Overchannel ability on a 5th level Shadow Blade spell and lands an attack against a creature dealing 4d8 + Dexterity modifier + 2d6 sneak ...
9
votes
3answers
889 views

Would the Life Cleric's Disciple of Life feature work with the Necromancer Wizard's Grim Harvest feature?

The Life Domain cleric's Disciple of Life feature (PHB, p. 60) says: Also starting at 1st level, your healing spells are more effective. Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher to restore ...
11
votes
2answers
648 views

Can Hypnotic Gaze be used through Resilient Sphere?

Can the Enchantment Wizard's level 2 ability Hypnotic Gaze be used through a Resilient Sphere? The ability seems to only required the Wizard to see the target, and the target to see or hear the ...
8
votes
2answers
198 views

Can I use the Enchantment wizard's Instinctive Charm feature after seeing the die roll?

Multiple abilities can be used "after seeing the roll, but before knowing whether it hits or misses" (examples: a Lore bard's Cutting Words or a Valor bard's Combat Inspiration). However, in the case ...
6
votes
1answer
548 views

Can a wizard copy a wizard spell into their spellbook that they aren't high enough level to cast?

In 5e D&D, can a wizard discern and copy a wizard spell into their spellbook that they aren't high enough level to cast? If they found a dead archmage's book, or stole their own master's, prior to ...
33
votes
3answers
3k views

Does a resurrected wizard remember their prepared spells?

Imagine that a wizard died in a fire, and their spellbook burned, too. They were in the afterlife for about a month and after that resurrected. They no longer have a spellbook. Do they remember ...
0
votes
0answers
35 views

Arcane Trickster(9)/Wizard(2) Multiclass Unlocked Spell Levels [duplicate]

This is something that came up at my last game, hoping someone can set the record straight. I'm a Lvl 9 AT Rogue who has just dipped 2 lvls in Wizard. According to the Multiclassing spell slot rules,...
2
votes
0answers
63 views

Can a wizard with cleric levels scribe wizard spells he had prepared from the cleric class in his spellbook? [duplicate]

There's been a debate on a D&D discord server that's caused me a lot of trouble. Here is the question: if a wizard 2/cleric 2 has a wizard spell prepared from being a cleric, rather than from ...
2
votes
0answers
46 views

3.5 D&D Mystic Theurge Specialist Wizard banned spells [duplicate]

If one is playing a Mystic Theurge in 3.5 and the Wizard side has school specialization, would the banned schools also be affected on the cleric side. If you had banned Enchantment and Illusion would ...
2
votes
1answer
60 views

Does multiclassing into Specialist Wizard need you to pick at character level 1 or wizard level 1?

Okay, I want to create a Mystic Theurge in 3.5, going Cleric/Wizard 3/3. I would start with 3 levels of Cleric and then do 3 levels of Wizard. On the Wizard side I also want to be a Wizard with ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens to a Bladesinger reincarnated as a Human?

The Bladesinging subclass (Sword Coast Adventurer Guide, p. 141) of the Wizard class is restricted to Elves. If a High-Elf with 4 levels in the Wizard (Bladesinging) class dies and is reincarnated in ...
7
votes
2answers
195 views

Does a familiar count as an ally? [duplicate]

If a hobgoblin wizard had a familiar summoned, would that familiar count as an ally, thus boosting the Saving Face ability? Saving Face: Hobgoblins are careful not to show weakness in front of ...
-1
votes
1answer
120 views

Haunted Heroes Pact Wizard may cause a favored spell combo to be even more broken?

I've been looking at the Pact Wizard archetype from Haunted Heroes Handbook and noticed a feature they pick up at 10th level that states that when metamagic feats are applied to spells learned via ...
16
votes
3answers
744 views

How does an Evocation Wizard's Overchannel ability interact with Chaos Bolt?

With the release of Guildmaster's Guide to Ravnica, characters were given new background options. Some of these options add spells to a character's spellcasting classes. One of these is the Izzet ...
4
votes
1answer
164 views

Is the 2nd-level ability of a transmutation wizard under-powered when compared to other wizard subclasses' 2nd-level abilities?

The text for the transmutation wizard's Minor Alchemy feature (PHB, p. 119) is as follows: Starting at 2nd level when you select this school, you can temporarily alter the physical properties of ...
26
votes
4answers
5k views

How can I curtail abuse of the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature?

I'd like to know some methods of curtailing the abuse of the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature in a game. Right now I have a player here running roughshod over the other GMs in the group by ...
8
votes
2answers
146 views

Can a wizard transcribe prepared spells from multiclassing? [duplicate]

Say you're a 1st-level wizard and also a 1st-level druid. Could you, as a druid, prepare spells that both classes have, like Detect Magic and Ice Knife, then, since they're now "prepared" for you, ...
3
votes
2answers
238 views

8th-level drow wizard got Wild Talent—what can I do with it?

So basically my DM gave my 8th-level drow wizard the Wild Talent feat after meeting some old elven dudes and communicating with them via telepathy. I'm wondering if I can make something cool out of ...
0
votes
0answers
41 views

Can you True Polymorph your simulacrum into your original self? [duplicate]

It's pretty much all up there in the question... But just to clarify, You (a wizard of great power): Make a simulacrum of yourself. Cast True Polymorph on it to make it a real human/elf/whathaveyou. ...
0
votes
0answers
108 views

Can I embed a spellcasting focus into a shield, like a paladin or cleric? [duplicate]

I want to multiclass either cleric/wizard or paladin/wizard and I was wondering whether i can use my holy symbol as a spellcasting focus for my wizard spells and if not, can I embed my arcane focus ...
2
votes
3answers
451 views

Can I make an exact copy of myself and my equipment using True Polymorph on a simulacrum?

More wizard shenanigans! If I create a simulacrum of myself and true polymorph the sim into me, assuming the simulacrum has the same CR/level as I do, can I essentially create an exact copy of myself ...
1
vote
1answer
87 views

If a wizard has a familiar and the feat Eldritch Heritage for the Arcane bloodline, what level do you use to determine the powers of the familiar?

If a wizard has a familiar and the feat Eldritch Heritage for the Arcane bloodline, what level do you use to determine the powers of the familiar? The bloodline grants: ...you gain an arcane bond, ...
1
vote
0answers
102 views

Does a simulacrum'd creature's statblock include its personality and knowledge/memories? [duplicate]

Basis: In the clone spell, it states clearly that The clone is physically identical to the original and has the same personality, memories, and abilities, but none of the original’s equipment. ...
6
votes
2answers
382 views

In AL, can an evocation wizard protect themself from their own spell with the Sculpt Spells feature?

At 2nd level, a Wizard of the Evocation School gains the Sculpt Spells feature (PHB p 117). Beginning at 2nd level, you can create pockets of relative safety within the effects of your evocation ...
8
votes
1answer
194 views

If the Simulacrum spell is cast on a Divination Wizard that currently has Portent rolls stored, does the Simulacrum also have those Portent rolls?

Essentially, I'm not sure "where" stored Portent rolls "exist" while not in use. The simulacrum spell description says: It appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature's ...
5
votes
1answer
133 views

Can the Wizard's “Spell Blending” Arcane Thesis be used to convert spell slots of one tradition to another?

For example, if a Wizard takes Cleric Multiclass Archetype feats to gain Cleric spell slots, can he use the Spell Blending Arcane Thesis to transform the Cleric spell slots into Wizard spell slots of ...
3
votes
1answer
101 views

How can a high level mythic wizard “bond” items to be usable only by himself?

My party has reached the end of our campaign and my level 20 mythic wizard has crafted a few things to help complete his "final form" so to speak. A ring, a cloak, and some legendary bracers. My ...
6
votes
3answers
271 views

Can non-wizards decipher a wizard's spellbook?

In the wizard's class description, it says that When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Can more than one wizard copy a spell from a spellbook?

In the PLAYER'S HANDBOOK you can copy a spell into your own spellbook. In the DMG (p200) if a spell is copied from a scroll, the scroll is destroyed. If a spell is copied from a spellbook however, ...
4
votes
2answers
425 views

How many spells can a level 1 wizard learn?

I’m kind of new to the game and I want to make a wizard, but I can’t understand the part of the hero’s handbook (pg.29) where it says: “Pick a number of spells from this page equal to 3 + INT” I have ...
-1
votes
1answer
107 views

If I multiclass a Wizard and a Sorcerer with Arcane Bloodline, can I choose a familiar for both?

If I multiclass a Wizard and a Sorcerer with Arcane Bloodline, can I choose a familiar for both? Or can I have a familiar from one class and a bonded object from the other?
6
votes
3answers
327 views

Can you use Bladesong while you’re Wildshaped and Vice-Versa?

Looking over the Bladesinging wizard subclass, I came to realize that the Bladesong feature (SCAG, p. 142) doesn’t list any requirements outside of a Bonus Action. Starting at 2nd level, you can ...
7
votes
2answers
402 views

Can a Simulacrum of a wizard use the wizard's spellbook?

Suppose a wizard casts Simulacrum on their self, creating a duplicate who has all the same spells prepared and has all the same spell slots (minus the 7th level slot used to cast Simulacrum, of course)...
2
votes
1answer
425 views

What are the options for animated undead for a Necromancer?

I have just moved to 5e from 3.5e. I've read up about the Necromancy Wizard subclass in 5e, and from what I have seen so far there are only three possible undead that they can possibly animate: ...
6
votes
1answer
183 views

If a Contingency spell has been cast on a creature, does the Simulacrum spell transfer the contingent spell to its duplicate?

Simple premise: If I cast simulacrum on an entity that has a contingency spell cast on it, does that contingency transfer to the simulacrum?
1
vote
1answer
228 views

Is there a balancing issue giving a Wizard a wand capable of casting Illusory Script once per day?

Wizard expressed a desire for a magical wand that could cast the ritual spell Illusory Script without burning a spell slot/ritual slot. I though about giving a wand that can cast the spell once per ...
3
votes
2answers
229 views

If a dragon under my control uses Change Shape to turn into an Evoker, can I choose the Evoker's race, and benefit from its racial traits?

Nuanced questions about True Polymorph and spellcasting: I have a wizard who has a simulacrum. Wizard TP's the sim into an adult bronze dragon, which can then Change Shape into a humanoid or beast of ...
6
votes
1answer
136 views

For a multiclassed Wizard/Sorcerer, do the Wizard school features benefit sorcerer spells?

If I'm primarily a sorcerer and multiclass into a wizard of the school Evocation/Admixture, with this effect: Versatile Evocation (Su): When you cast an evocation spell that does acid, cold, ...
1
vote
1answer
162 views

What spells are available to a low-level Wizard to deal with intelligent undead?

What spells are available to low level Wizards (8th or lower) to deal with intelligent undead? Black Tentacles is great, but it is great against everything corporeal and not too large Direct damage ...
3
votes
1answer
177 views

Can the Versatile Spellcaster feat be used to cast Wizard spells?

Every time Ultimate Magus is mentioned on a forum, someone adds that Versatile Spellcaster would be great with it. I do not see how. The Versatile Spellcaster feat (Races of the Dragon, p. 101) says: ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a 14th level Theurgy Wizard with the Arcana Domain cast their 8th/9th level spells after picking up three levels in another Full Caster class?

The Theurgy Wizard from UA: Wizard Revisited gets to choose a Cleric Domain at 2nd level. At 14th level they get the Arcane High Priest feature, which grants them the 17th-level benefits associated ...
9
votes
1answer
185 views

How much time does the “Restore Life” property of a Transmuter's stone take?

Transmutation Wizards get the Master Transmuter feature at 14th level. You can use your action to consume the reserve of transmutation magic stored within your transmuter's stone in a single burst. ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Is a 10th-level Transmutation wizard considered a shapechanger for the purpose of effects such as Moonbeam?

Spells such as Moonbeam specifically affect creatures with the "Shapechanger" tag, such as lycanthropes. As per this previous question, the ability to change one's shape through class features is not ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

To what extent would a wizard be able to combine feats to learn to mimic unknown spells?

Searching for how to give a rogue I'm building a sort of eidetic memory, I came across many posts throughout the net about using the feat Keen Mind as a way for wizards to negate having to worry about ...