Podcast #128: We chat with Kent C Dodds about why he loves React and discuss what life was like in the dark days before Git. Listen now.

Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
0answers
325 views

Sorcerer, mage, wizard, magician, what's the difference? [closed]

Sorcerer, mage, wizard, magician, what's the difference? I'm a non-native english speaker.
2
votes
3answers
240 views

Are there mechanics for a PC to pull a levitated PC?

The wizard class of dnd 4e has a lv6 spell called levitate, see below for excerpt from the ddi compendium: Levitate You rise off the ground a short distance. Daily Arcane ...
-4
votes
2answers
3k views

Can Wizards wear cloaks and capes instead of robes?

Can wizards wear cloaks or capes instead of robes? I know armor is not allowed because it prevents the movement needed to perform spells but a cloak or a cape is not specified in the PHB, at least not ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens to a wizard who loses his/her memory?

So I'm a fairly new GM (at least to 3.5e), and I have a NPC who was a wizard but now has lost his memory and possessions. Of course, as GM I can do whatever I like with this character, but I was ...
4
votes
1answer
981 views

Can you use Versatile Evocation (Su) with Rime Spell (Metamagic)?

A player of mine wants to play to take Admixture which is a focused school under Evocation. He wants to combine take Versatile Evocation (Su) which comes under Admixture to cast Fireballs (for example)...
2
votes
2answers
986 views

How can a wizard maximize the area of bursts and blasts?

I'm hoping to build a power play wizard (or hybrids) with large bursts. Is there any way to Enlarge Spell more than once (like with the talent "Enlarge Spell")? In short, I would love to know how to ...
3
votes
2answers
6k views

How many spells can a wizard have in 4e, and how do they work?

Sorry, I'm just a bit confused on this. I'm making a half-elf wizard for my first campaign and though I really want to play a wizard, I'm a bit confused on the spellbook mechanic. I'm also a bit ...
4
votes
2answers
612 views

How viable is a Wizard with 10 levels in Rainbow Servant as a melee combatant?

Going with the conservative Wizard 5/Rainbow Servant 10/Wizard 5 build, you can cast spells from both the Wizard and the Cleric spell lists. But what I am interested in is if there are enough spells ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a sorcerer write their own spells into a wizard's spellbook in 3.5?

I have a sorcerer who found a wizard's spellbook. She cast read magic and wanted to put some of her spells into the book for the wizard. Is this possible?
4
votes
2answers
1k views

How to generate a monster with levels in wizard?

I read in a Pathfinder book about a monster (intellect devourer) that had nine levels in Wizard. How would I be able to create an NPC character sheet for such a thing? The monster without any wizard ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Is there a limit on the volume of material that can be affected by the Minor Alchemy class feature?

PHB Page 119, Wizard, School of Transmutation, Minor Alchemy: For each 10 minutes you spend performing the procedure, you can transform up to 1 cubic foot of material. After 1 hour, or until you ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Could a wizard multiclassed with a sorceror spontaneous cast all their wizard spells?

In D&D 3.5e, if I multiclass my wizard with a sorcerer, would I be able to spontaneously cast my spells like a sorcerer and still get the rest of the spells that a wizard gets? Or is that not ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Build a social assassin

I'm trying to trick a PC into killing someone in a duel with Merciful pistols. Suppressing the Merciful enchantment ought to be enough, but it helps to be sure, so I'm trying to build a level 8-ish ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Do drow elf wizards need to sleep

I know Drows as a race do not need to sleep but have to do a 4 hour trance to stay rested but is that enough for a drow wizard to memorize their spells or do they still need to sleep for 8 hours?
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a Wizard/Artificer teach spells to himself?

So I have this Wizard1/Artificer3 multiclass character. Can I craft, say, a scroll of Cure Light Wounds taken from the Bard's spell list and then, as it is an arcane scroll, adding it to my spellbook? ...
23
votes
3answers
5k views

Can a Specialist Wizard multiclass to cast spells from his prohibited schools?

I've had DMs rule both ways on this..I haven't seen any official RAWs on this so I was hoping someone here could point me in the right direction? If a Wizard specializes (giving him 1-2 prohibited ...
36
votes
6answers
8k views

How would a 7th level wizard defend his shop?

So my players have been hired by a wizard to recover 3 copies of a spell he created. Three other wizards have copied the spell into secondary spellbooks (which required them to break a copy-...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a wizard memorize spells in the middle of the adventuring day?

I know I have to get 8 hours of sleep and study my spell book for an hour to study and use spells. If I only study a certain number of spells and kept a few unstudied, can I prepare one later on when ...
1
vote
2answers
7k views

What skills should a Wizard pick? [closed]

Wizards have a somewhat limited pick of really useful skills: Concentration and Spellcraft are of course mandatory, Decipher Script and Knowlege (arcana) are good ideas as well, but what about the ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Evocation Savant feature apply to evocation spells copied into backup spellbooks?

The normal cost of copying a foreign spell into your spellbook is 2 hours and 50 gp per spell level. If you are copying spells from one of your spellbooks to another of your spellbooks (to keep ...
11
votes
5answers
2k views

Ex-wizard that pretends he still is a wizard

I am pondering creating an epic-level wizard character, who through excessive use of Mordenkainen's Disjunction on artifacts has permanently lost all casting ability as well as all his class levels ...
13
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a wizard use wands and scrolls of spells from his prohibited schools of magic?

Can a wizard use wands and scrolls of spells from his prohibited schools of magic? i.e: Can an abjurer who banned evocation and enchantment use a wand or scroll of fireball (an evocation spell) ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

When a wizard is damaged below zero hit points from lethal damage, does he lose the spells that he has prepared?

When a wizard is brought below zero hit points from lethal damage, does he lose the spells that he has prepared? I have always played this way. The 3.5e PHB states under Injury and Death that: A ...
11
votes
4answers
3k views

How can I get my wizard to cast low-level spells spontaneously?

Okay, I have this idea for a character (DnD, 3.5e) who has some innate magical talent, but simply fails in developing it intuitively, so he goes on to invest his intelligence in studying and learning ...
8
votes
5answers
3k views

Can my wizard conjure a bedroll so that I don’t have to carry a sleeping mat?

Is there a spell I can use to create a bedroll each night? A magic item would be suitable as well. The spell should be of a low level, i.e. 1 or 2.
4
votes
1answer
220 views

How does Wizard spell preparation deal with non-spell powers?

How do non-spell powers work with Wizard preparation? Say, for example, I made a Tiefling Wizard with the Grim Isolation racial daily power — how would this work with regards to choosing my ...
2
votes
2answers
532 views

How can I add psychic damage to wizard powers?

If I want to add the psychic keyword to my wizard powers, the only thing I can come up with is to get heavy blades as an implement, and use a Githyanki Silver Sword. Are there any other ways to get it?...
3
votes
2answers
7k views

How many spells can a level 1 human Wizard have in 4e?

I'm new to D&D and roleplaying games in general, so I thought I'd ask here. On page 29 of the Player's Handbook for 4th edition, it says I get the class features, racial traits, 1 feat, 2 at-will ...
6
votes
2answers
6k views

Should I prepare a 0th level spell twice to use it twice?

My question is about how much and what spells I can use, I'm new to Pathfinder and unclear on a few points about how much I can use spells, for example, say I can cast 4 level 0 spells a day and I can ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Evard's Black Tentacles affect the spell's caster?

Recently in a game the issue arose of whether a Wizard is affected by his/her own casting of the Evard's Black Tentacles spell. We all agreed that both enemies and allies alike that are located within ...
4
votes
1answer
20k views

How does the Wizard spellbook work?

How do I determine what spells are in my spellbook when creating a character? Do I simply have a spellbook with all Pathfinder spells? Or if I'm creating a level 6 wizard, do I start knowing all level ...
13
votes
3answers
5k views

Is a Fighter/Wizard/Thief viable in Pathfinder?

I'm looking for a decent build for a Fighter/Wizard/Thief in Pathfinder. The goal is to have a "jack of all trades" PC. I'd like to enhance these aspect if possible: Fighter: melee dps Wizard: ...
3
votes
1answer
128 views

Does Arcane Reach work through walls

Arcane reach simply says that the origin square of a close blast or burst is two squares away from you--it does not specify line of sight or effect. The clost blast/burst determines line of effect ...
1
vote
2answers
321 views

What counts as entering the zone of Grasping Shadows? [duplicate]

The Wizard Spell Grasping Shadows says in its description: Effect: The burst creates a zone or writhing shadows that last until the end of your next turn. Each creature that enters the zone takes ...
3
votes
3answers
1k views

I'm looking for advice on Wizard status effect powers. Anyone have good advice?

After studying up on the wizards forums and reading the class 'handbooks' there (as well as getting pummeled to near death in the last few combat encounters in my group), I've begun to consider using ...
2
votes
1answer
216 views

Does Swordmage Warding benefit a multiclassed wizard's summoned creatures?

Okay, I looked around online and read both Forgotten Realms and Arcane Power, but am unclear on if Swordmage Warding benefits a Wizard's Summoned creatures. I'm a wizard who has the Blade Initiate ...
14
votes
3answers
4k views

Is a Dwarf Wizard (Mage) Viable?

I'm starting with a new group, and I would like to make a Dwarf Wizard. However, I don't want to be a drag on the group and I want to pull my own weight - is this possible? I want to go the ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

Are there Wizard alternatives to Arcane Bond and Familiar?

My player don't want to use this mechanic because he believes that it make his character vulnerable. His PC in my opinion now is much more weaker. Is there any mechanic that I can use instead Arcane ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Summoned creature outside of combat, how long does it last?

Specifically the wizard daily spell, summon fire warrior: if I use this spell in combat, he will last until the end of the combat (assuming I don't dismiss it early or it drops to zero hit points). ...
12
votes
2answers
751 views

When a Stinking Cloud is moved onto a creature, does the creature take damage immediately?

In a recent session of D&D 4e, a Stinking Cloud was moved onto a creature who was outside of it. Stinking Cloud Effect: ...Creatures that enter the zone or start their turns there take ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Where does the stereotype that wizards can't wear armor come from? [closed]

Why are wizards and their ilk so restricted in their choice of personal armor in most fantasy roleplaying games? (...let alone novels etc.) Sure, learning takes up a lot of time, especially about ...
13
votes
2answers
422 views

Can you double move a stinking cloud?

In D&D 4e, a creature can perform a move action instead of a standard action, allowing them to perform two move actions in a turn. Stinking Cloud allows you to create a zone and furthermore says: ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Can wizard's staff of defense class feature stack with Wizard Utility 2 Shield on the same triggering effect?

Staff of Defense class feature: ...once per encounter as an immediate interrupt, you gain a bonus to defense against one attack equal to your Constitution modifier. You can declare the ...
13
votes
2answers
478 views

Does a large creature take damage moving through a Wall of Fire?

Here's the situation, a large creature moves next to a Wall of Fire. W CCW CCW W Next it moves into the wall, taking damage W CC CC W Then it moves again W CC CC W Does ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Why can't I pick the Staff of Defense option for my Wizard?

I am using the dnd insider to create my level two Wizard (Mage - enchanter) and I'm noticing that I certain abilities, feats or spells that were recommended I take in the Wizards handbook (such as the ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Level 2 Wizard powers and Spellbook question

I am a little confused on how a wizard's spellbook works.. I used the dnd insider to help me create my character so I am assuming it knows what it's doing.. anyway, it's allowing me to take 3 at ...
7
votes
1answer
658 views

Can a Hypnotism target be forced to move before its attack?

I have just created a Wizard (Mage) who specializes in enchantment. I have a question about the Hypnotism spell.. The power states that the target creature can be forced to attack another enemy (...
10
votes
1answer
334 views

Does a creature take damage from Wall of Fire if it is moved before its turn?

Here's the scenario: A wizard is separated in initiative order from his target by one or more creatures/PCs. The wizard creates a Wall of Fire which occupies the space of his target creature. Prior ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

With Arcane Reach, can you Thunderwave yourself?

Arcane Reach allows you to target a close burst or blast starting 2 squares away from you. Thunderwave pushes each target in a close blast 3. The wizard chose his origin square and wanted the ...
6
votes
1answer
366 views

Do damage modifiers affect the damage dealt by a sustainable zone?

A player's wizard that I DM for has picked up the Ice Sceptor from the Cairn of the Winter King adventure. The Ice Sceptor has the following property: Property: You gain a +2 item bonus to the ...