The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
10
votes
2answers
2k views

To what extent would a wizard be able to combine feats to learn to mimic unknown spells?

Searching for how to give a rogue I'm building a sort of eidetic memory, I came across many posts throughout the net about using the feat Keen Mind as a way for wizards to negate having to worry about ...
17
votes
3answers
533 views

How does the Melf's Minute Meteors spell interact with the Evocation wizard's Sculpt Spells feature?

The evoker wizard feature Sculpt Spells is worded thusly: Beginning at 2nd level, you can create pockets of relative safety within the effects of your evocation spells. When you cast an ...
4
votes
1answer
471 views

Can a UA Lore Mastery wizard use the Spell Secrets or Alchemical Casting features to modify spells cast through wands or staffs?

My friends and I are playing D&D 5e. Our DM has allowed me to use the Arcane Tradition of Lore Mastery from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard. I have a question regarding its Spell Secrets ...
4
votes
1answer
165 views

Can a wizard use the spell Levitate on a target and shoot him with attacking spells that don't require concentration?

Can a wizard use the spell Levitate on a target and shoot it with attacking spells that don't require concentration or can somebody else shoot the target?
2
votes
0answers
63 views

Can an Arcane Trickster/Wizard multiclass write down AT spells into its spellbook? [duplicate]

It is said, AT are half-wizards who know their spells so well they don't need a spellbook to cast them. Wizards can read and write down spells, make Scrolls or copy them. Can these perfect entities ...
5
votes
3answers
426 views

How many spells does my Bard 6/Wizard 1 know? [duplicate]

This is my first time multiclassing a character. I wanted to multiclass my bard with something, and I wanted to make sure I have the rules for multiclassing correct - because with my understanding, ...
3
votes
0answers
2k views

At level up, can a sorcerer learn spells of a level granted by slots he has from any class? [duplicate]

The sorcerer's spells known feature says: You know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the sorcerer spell list. The Spells Known column of Table: The Sorcerer shows when you learn more ...
10
votes
1answer
960 views

Can a wizard delay learning new spells from leveling up, and instead learn different spells later?

Can a wizard delay learning new spells from leveling up, and instead learn different spells later? For example, can a 2nd-level wizard choose to skip adding two new spells to their spellbook from ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a multiclassed wizard start with a spellbook?

If I multiclass into Wizard, do I automatically begin with a spellbook? I'm looking for support within the written rules. Designer intent is a consideration, but their intent should be well supported ...
7
votes
1answer
456 views

Does my multiclassed Eldritch Knight fighter/War wizard now have to prepare his spells as an Eldritch Knight?

I am building an Eldritch Knight fighter/War wizard multiclass character for D&D 5e. The eldritch knight has a limited pool of spells known, but does not have to prepare them; the wizard, on the ...
14
votes
1answer
912 views

How does the Divination wizard's Expert Divination feature work when you upcast a divination spell?

The School of Divination for a wizard has the feature Expert Divination at level 6 (PHB, p. 116): Expert Divination When you cast a divination spell of 2nd level or higher using a spell slot, ...
3
votes
2answers
155 views

Is it possible for a wizard to learn a spell from a bard (or other classes) if it is on the wizards spell list? [duplicate]

I know it isn't possible to learn a spell through words alone, it has to come in a written form. So would it be possible for a Bard to create a spellscroll and then let the wizard learn it? Assuming ...
14
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens to a wizard's magic when they are swallowed by a tarrasque?

I was watching this video about the Tarrasque when I saw that its stomach fluids strip magic. I was wondering if a Wizard is swallowed by a Tarrasque, does the wizard lose his innate magic or is it ...
18
votes
1answer
2k views

Can someone break into a Leomund's Tiny Hut via the Ethereal Plane?

I've got players who rely heavily on Leomund's Tiny hut for a "safe" night time rest. I'm alright with them using it to help, but it gets irritating having a wrench thrown into my nighttime attacks. ...
16
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a fluid substance (a beer), created with Minor Conjuration, disappear from one's body after drinking it when this class feature is used again?

Context In our game my wizard frequently casts Minor Conjuration to create a beer (in a mug) for our dwarf barbarian, as a friendly gesture. Every six seconds I would do the same thing, and he would ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Can “Minor Conjuration” be used to create food?

Let's say a wizard of second level has gotten themselves out in the middle of nowhere with no sources of food. Could they use minor conjuration to summon a loaf of bread, or a cookie? Or would taking ...
4
votes
0answers
54 views

What happens if two Divination Wizards try to affect a roll? [duplicate]

Does this interact like Lucky, wherein both Portent rolls cancel each other out and the original, untampered roll is used, or would the diviner that replaces the roll later, override the other that ...
54
votes
4answers
4k views

Would forcing armour on a wizard using an illusion spell and Illusory Reality 'harm' them?

A wizard wearing armour that they are not proficient in is unable to cast spells. Would it be possible to force a wizard into armour using a combination of Illusion and Illusory Reality? For example, ...
9
votes
1answer
426 views

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spellbook?

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spellbook? First, I’m thinking that copying a spell from a scroll is similar to copying a spell from my ...
8
votes
1answer
165 views

If I animate a corpse made real by the Illusory Reality ability, does it become an illusion after 1 minute?

To better explain my question, the process follows as such step by step (assuming the caster is of a level to cast and use all proposed abilities): Spellcaster casts Major Image to create a corpse on ...
7
votes
3answers
921 views

Arcane Tradition and Cost Efficiency: Learn spells on level-up, or learn them from scrolls/spellbooks?

Each Wizard's Arcane Tradition subclass gives them a "Savant" feature: Beginning when you select this school at 2nd level, the gold and time you must spend to copy a [school] spell into your ...
20
votes
4answers
2k views

When must the wizard choose to overchannel?

The Evocation specialist wizard's overchannel ability says: When you cast a wizard spell of 5th level or lower that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with your spell. Does the "that deals ...
5
votes
0answers
79 views

Is Overchanneling announced before or after determining if a spell hits? [duplicate]

School of Evocation Wizards in 5E gain Overchannel at level 14. It states: When you cast a wizard spell 1st through 5th level that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with that spell. The ...
2
votes
1answer
187 views

3-level cleric dip as a Wizard [closed]

I am currently playing a level 9 divination wizard in a campaign and I am focusing on battlefield control. I am the only player in my group that values crowd control, and that's why I am focusing on ...
9
votes
2answers
560 views

Is my adaptation of the Battle Master as a Wizard subclass balanced relative to other Wizard subclasses and to the original Battle Master?

Background Motivation I wanted to create a subclass for Wizard that uses an expendable die resource to augment its magic and benefit its allies, similar to how the Battle Master Fighter expends ...
0
votes
1answer
182 views

Can the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature be used to pass through a Wall of Force or Forcecage?

This is a follow-up to another question of mine: Can Nolzur's Marvelous Pigments be used to open a hole or door through a Wall of Force or Forcecage? Illusionist Wizards get the Illusory Reality ...
15
votes
4answers
2k views

If an Illusion wizard casts Phantasmal Force on themselves, can they use the Illusory Reality feature to make things only they can see real?

Here's the intent: an Illusionist Wizard casts Phantasmal Force on themselves. Assuming they fail their own save, they proceed to make illusions of things only they can see. For example, a bridge to ...
8
votes
1answer
243 views

How can a character gain additional Wizard Schools?

Is there a way for a character to gain access to Wizard School Specialization Powers? Similar in a way to the Eldritch Heritage line? Failing this is there a way for a wizard to gain access to a ...
6
votes
4answers
340 views

What wizard spells can create cover for allies without preventing them from moving or attacking? [closed]

Cover is great when you can get it. The +2 bonus to AC/saves for ½ cover and +5 bonus to AC/saves with ¾ cover can be godsends with bounded accuracy when fighting against spellcasters and archers. ...
12
votes
2answers
922 views

Using a found spellbook as a Sorcerer-Wizard multiclass

I have a Divine Soul Sorcerer 6 (with INT 13) playing in a published adventure. I just found a spellbook with 11 spells in it of varying levels. All are wizard spells, and some of the spells are ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

How does a wizard read another wizard's spellbook?

To prepare spells from another wizard's spellbook you have to be able to read it. Since there is no read magic spell (like in previous editions), how does a wizard read another wizard's spellbook?
4
votes
2answers
440 views

How many spells would a 1st-level Wizard be able to prepare per day?

If I have a 1st level wizard with an Intelligence modifier of +3 (and therefore 6 spells known in my spellbook, plus all the cantrips for my chosen school of magic), exactly how many spells could I ...
-8
votes
2answers
180 views

Can a Wizard gain more spell slots by having multiple spell books?

Can a Wizard gain more spell slots by having multiple spell books? If I had two or more spell books each with different spells, does that increase the spell limit?
1
vote
1answer
118 views

Can you conjure a small version of a vehicle with Minor Conjuration and use Enlarge/Reduce to grow it into a copy of the original vehicle?

Say your friend allowed you to take apart and see the internal workings of a nice SUV you liked. If you studied everything outside and inside the car intensively, could you create a hotwheels-esque ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it possible to prohibit all prohibitable schools of magic with a single character?

It is well known there are seven prohibitable schools of magic, of which the Focused Specialists can prohibit three. I'm unsure of how these stack (in other words, can you ban the same school twice?), ...
13
votes
3answers
4k views

Can a Wizard identify the spells in another spellbook without copying them into their own?

If a Wizard finds the spellbook of the evil Wizard they discovered, how does the process of finding out which spells are in the spellbook work? (Assume the evil Wizard didn't simply write the spells' ...
6
votes
1answer
645 views

Can a wizard copy a spell without first identifying it?

Let's say a Wizard finds a trove of spell scrolls. Rather than spending an hour per scroll identifying and then additional time and money copying it into their spellbook, can they simply copy the ...
18
votes
2answers
4k views

Why does the Starter Set wizard have six spells in their spellbook?

One of the characters in the Starter Set is a 1st-level high elf wizard with an Int mod of +3. How does this character have 6 spells? I understand that one is a ritual, but it has 5 more and not 4? ...
16
votes
5answers
29k views

Does a multiclass Sorcerer/Wizard have something that a single-class Wizard or Sorcerer doesn't have?

I have a character concept (for roleplaying reasons primarily) of a Sorcerer who started to study the Arcane in an intellectual way and gained a few levels as a Wizard. He is Sorcerer 3 / Wizard 3 now....
3
votes
1answer
204 views

Do Artificers, Archivists, and similar classes have any way to exploit the transmuter's Spell Versatility?

From Unearthed Arcana, specialist transmuters can gain the following: Spell Versatility (Ex) A 5th-level transmuter using this variant can adapt magic of other schools to his own style of ...
15
votes
1answer
190 views

What happens if the Intelligence of an undead affected by the Necromancy wizard's Command Undead feature changes after it gets controlled?

This question asked about the impact of Feebleminding an undead before using the School of Necromancy wizard's Command Undead feature; it seems that this would be an effective tactic for making an ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

If a spell is cast using a higher-level spell slot, can it be overchanneled by an Evocation wizard?

If my level 14 Evocation wizard were to cast a fireball using a seventh level spell slot, would he be able to maximise the damage with overchannel despite the overchannel feature indicating that the ...
23
votes
4answers
8k views

How does the Evocation wizard's Potent Cantrip feature interact with an enemy rogue's Evasion feature?

A 7th-level Evocation wizard hits a 7th level rogue with a cantrip that requires a Dex saving throw, like acid splash. The wizard has the Potent Cantrip feature that means any creature that succeeds ...
24
votes
3answers
44k views

What is the value of a low-level Necromancer in a party?

I'm having difficulty understanding how Necromancers (as in the Wizard subclass) can pull their weight at lower levels. Necromancy spells are few, vary in ranges (often require melee range), provide ...
1
vote
2answers
655 views

Can a wizard's bonded object be a sheathed weapon?

In Pathfinder, wizards are often required to have a bonded item which is in the form of a amulet, ring, staff, wand or weapon. I was reading a guide to wizards which lamented about the loss of the ...
6
votes
1answer
339 views

How would the UA Theurgy wizard's Channel Arcana: Divine Arcana feature work for a concentration spell?

The UA Theurgy Wizard can the apply their Divine Arcana Channel Arcana option to grant themselves a +2 to the attack roll or spell save throw DC of a spell. If they apply Divine Arcana to a ...
22
votes
2answers
7k views

Does whether a Wizard can maintain the spell Polymorph upon themselves depend on the form they change into?

The level 4 spell Polymorph requires concentration to maintain. The subject retains their personality and alignment, but they have the mental statistics of the new form, which must be a beast and ...
29
votes
5answers
27k views

How does the Evocation wizard's Empowered Evocation feature work with the Magic Missile spell?

The Evocation wizard's Empowered Evocation feature (PHB 177) reads: Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to the damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast I have ...
22
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the time required to copy a spell into a spellbook have to be consecutive, or is that just the cumulative time required?

I was unclear from the 5e PHB if the time needed to copy a spell into my spellbook needed to be consecutive (like my character sat down and just dug in), or if he could practice a little here and a ...
14
votes
4answers
2k views

Can a creature tell when it has been affected by a Divination wizard's Portent?

Consider the following situation (from my perspective as the DM): One of my PCs casts a spell on an NPC (or monster etc.) which forces the target to make, say, a Wisdom save, or else be frightened. ...