Podcast #128: We chat with Kent C Dodds about why he loves React and discuss what life was like in the dark days before Git. Listen now.

Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
9
votes
2answers
293 views

Should non-human transmuter wizards be allowed?

I recently joined a group about to start a new adnd-2e campaign. As I am new to D&D in general, I only learned after the fact that I made a mistake during character creation, resulting in a ...
6
votes
1answer
264 views

Can the Minor Illusion spell hide the “visibly magical” nature of an object conjured by the Minor Conjuration feature?

A Wizard who chooses the School of Conjuration at level 2 can use Minor Conjuration (PHB, p. 116) to conjure a smallish non-magical item that they have seen before such as a hammer, a gem, gold coin ...
15
votes
2answers
591 views

Does replacing Metamagic with a delayed Arcane Tradition have glaring balance issues?

In an answer to a related question, linksassin suggests an untested variant rule to apply some wizard flavor to the sorcerer class. I've attempted to formalize this approach and want to verify that I ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

How can my necromancer become a Lich?

My RAW Necromancer (pure Wizard) wants to become a Lich. What's the surest path to becoming one? He is OK to change alignment and spend lots of coins, but not to worship any god or sell his soul ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Can an Illusion wizard use Illusory Reality to create a sun?

An idea came to mind while playing a game that involved vampires to create an illusionary sun or something that creates sunlight so that they fight while in sunlight. So if a 14th-level wizard were to ...
41
votes
4answers
4k views

Can a paralyzed creature targeted by an Evocation Wizard's Sculpt Spells feature actually succeed a Dex save?

Say a friendly barbarian is currently paralyzed. Part of the description of the paralyzed condition says: The creature automatically fails Strength and Dexterity saving throws. Its friend, the ...
20
votes
4answers
4k views

Will allowing a wizard to cast spell without preparation be unbalanced?

A wizard complained that preparing spells every long rest seems a very tedious task, and asked me if he could trade his ability to copy new spells with the ability to cast any spells he knows without ...
16
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a familiar with low intelligence report back to its master what it observed when it was more than 100 feet from its master?

According to the Find Familiar spell description, ...the familiar has the statistics of the chosen form... and While your familiar is within 100 feet of you, you can communicate with it ...
1
vote
0answers
365 views

What can a level 10-12 Necromancer do and bring to a party? [closed]

What can a level 10-12 Necromancer do and bring (by himself) to a party? Just asking in general because I'm new to D&D and want to see my necromancer fight hordes of goblins and/or other monsters ...
4
votes
3answers
764 views

What are the benefits of playing an Invoker?

I am about to start a campaign in D&D. I play the second edition with my friends, and unfortunately the AD&D book for the second edition does not offer a lot of information regarding the ...
-1
votes
2answers
385 views

Can an Abjurer wizard use the ability Projected Ward without summoning the Arcane Ward before?

Can an abjurer wizard use the ability Projected Ward without summoning the Arcane Ward before? If yes what would happen to the Arcane Ward after using the Projected Ward ability if it has still some ...
4
votes
2answers
913 views

Can a Magus learn Wizard spells by conducting independent research?

By the rules of non-downtime Independent Research: Independent Research A wizard can also research a spell independently, duplicating an existing spell or creating an entirely new one. The ...
3
votes
1answer
284 views

Is there a limit to how many spells you can add to your spellbook per day?

Basically I was able to purchase seven scrolls of lower level spells (two first, three second, two third) that would be useful to my wizard. Assuming an hour per spell, could I scribe them in all in a ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Does polymorph cancel bladesong?

A wizard is fighting with his bladesong active and decides to cast polymorph upon himself. Will bladesong still be active in the new form (let’s take a giant ape for example)?
6
votes
3answers
2k views

What are the properties of Minor Alchemy materials when used with spells that require special materials?

Consider this Part 2 from What happens to objects, changed while transmuted using Minor Alchemy, after they revert? This is regarding the School of Transmutation wizard's Minor Alchemy feature (PHB, ...
11
votes
1answer
38k views

Can wizards learn spells that are not on their class list from scrolls?

Aside from multi-classing and taking the Magic Initiate feat I know you are generally limited to the class list. But what about scrolls? It says in the PHB that you can learn spells that are found ...
4
votes
1answer
293 views

Why doesn't Acid Arrow go against Spell Resistance?

I've seen and understand that Acid Arrow doesn't go against Spell Resistance, as shown here. But I have no clear idea for a basis of why this would be the case? Even if you were flinging the dart that ...
6
votes
1answer
753 views

Can a Raven familiar learn additional languages?

This is a more specific version of this question which asks, in the general sense, if you could use ranks in Linguistics to teach a language to a familiar. There is some text that seems to suggest ...
5
votes
1answer
149 views

When Smokesight is shared, whose magically created smoke can one see through?

The wizard focused school smoke includes the Smokesight ability (emphasis mine): Smokesight (Su): You can see normally through natural fog and smoke, as well as any fog and smoke that you (but not ...
16
votes
1answer
5k views

Can a Wizard cast a spell as a ritual without physically accessing a spellbook?

Part of the answer to this question what can a wizard do without a spellbook got me wondering. It states that you, as a wizard, can't cast a ritual spell without your spellbook. And I can't help ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does killing a creature with a Shadow Blade trigger the Necromancy Wizard's Grim Harvest feature?

School of Necromancy wizards get the Grim Harvest feature at level 2 (PHB p. 118): At 2nd level, you gain the ability to reap life energy from creatures you kill with your spells. Once per turn ...
-1
votes
1answer
405 views

If you can't see it coming, how do you get a dex save? [duplicate]

So, I was thinking simply fog cloud.. to obscure vision then fireball. Input?
3
votes
1answer
137 views

Does a Pseudodragon's natural spell resistance stack with the spell resistance granted to familiars?

Pseudodragons have spell resistance 12. As a familiar, at level 11, it gains spell resistance 16 that scales with the wizard's level. Do the spell resistances stack?
8
votes
1answer
280 views

Adding fire resistance to a Level 5 Wizard

I have a Half-Elf Level 5 Wizard character, who is quite the pyromaniac. His school is that of Illusion. I'd like to find a way to make him fire-resistant, in such a way that it will be persistent. ...
25
votes
1answer
5k views

Does a Wizard's spellbook need to be a book?

In the PHB under The Book's Appearance the text give two examples of how a spellbook looks like a book and one example with it being just a collection of notes. Does a Wizard's spellbook need to be a ...
3
votes
1answer
164 views

What is a good method of heavyweight logistics transportation for kingdom building that can be tamed, created or built?

In our Kingmaker campaigh, the wizard (who is not too shy with necromancy) is thinking about heavyload transportation, as in all the stone and ore from mines, building materials and whatnot. Typical "...
19
votes
3answers
3k views

Is it reasonable for multiple party wizards to share their spellbooks with each other?

It occurred to me that since wizards in 5e are allowed, upon encountering another wizard's spellbook, to copy spells of a level that they can cast into their own spellbook (at the cost of only time ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

In the Dragonlance setting, can a dragon recognize that a player character is a wizard?

In the Dragonlance setting, can a dragon recognize that a player character is a wizard, if they are a 2nd-level wizard trying to hide that fact?
6
votes
2answers
7k views

Is it possible to change the main stat used by Wizards/Monks in Pathfinder?

I'm starting a gestalt character in Pathfinder, and really want to play a wizard as my main path. Thing is, I also really want to make it work with a monk, but the Intelligence focus vs. Wisdom focus ...
2
votes
2answers
200 views

What does the Gnomish Wizard Favored Class Bonus mean by “+1/2” uses per day?

I'm working on creating a character for Pathfinder, he is a gnomish wizard and the "Alternate Favored Class Bonus" says: Select one arcane school power at 1st level that is normally usable a number ...
13
votes
1answer
695 views

Portent and spell preparation: which comes first?

Both the dice rolls for the 2nd-level School of Divination Wizard class feature Portent and a Wizard's spell preparation occur "when you finish a long rest". Which comes first - or can a Wizard PC ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Do objects made real by Illusory Reality persist (briefly) after the end of the spell?

The 14th-level School of Illusion wizard feature, Illusory Reality, can make an object in an illusion spell real for one minute (PHB, p. 118): When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher,...
23
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a multiclassed Warlock/Abjuration Wizard with Armor of Shadows repeatedly cast Mage Armor to recharge Arcane Ward?

The warlock's Armor of Shadows eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 110) says: You can cast mage armor on yourself at will, without expending a spell slot or material components. The School of Abjuration ...
9
votes
1answer
811 views

Does feeblemind change the effect of Command Undead on high intelligence targets?

The School of Necromancy wizard has the 14th-level feature Command Undead (PHB, p. 119): Starting at 14th level, you can use magic to bring undead under your control, even those created by other ...
5
votes
5answers
9k views

Is there any way to increase the number of spells I can cast per day as a wizard?

I know about the bonus spells per day you get from your INT modifier and the specializing bonus. Is there any other way to get more spell casts per day? Just to make sure I have this right, as a ...
4
votes
1answer
227 views

Truth Domain + Domain Wizard = 2nd level spells?

Truth Domain, from Races of Eberron, has Detect Thoughts (WIZ 2) in the 1st level Domain Spell slot. With Domain Wizard, "a domain wizard automatically adds each new domain spell to her list of known ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a wizard copy arcane spells into his spellbook from other classes?

A fellow DM brought an interesting question to my attention. WE were looking at the wizard class and were wondering if technically the wizard can add spells from other arcane classes to his spellbook ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you use Lucky (feat) followed by Portent to replace a roll that's already been made?

Consider the following scenario: I am playing a Divination Wizard with the Lucky Feat. He is sufficient level to have access to the Portent feature. He rolls his Divination Dice for the day and rolls ...
28
votes
2answers
5k views

Does a wizard need to find and copy spells into spellbook to remain relevant?

I plan to use a wizard in a low magic campaign. The DM told me that magic users are few, so scrolls and spellbooks are very rare. He frankly told me that we might only be able to find one or two ...
17
votes
4answers
4k views

How might my unwitting houseruling of Sculpt Spell affect play?

Sculpt Spells, a class feature for Evocation Wizards, says the following: Sculpt Spells Beginning at 2nd level, you can create pockets of relative safety within the effects of your evocation ...
1
vote
0answers
1k views

D&D 3.5 Wizard Prestige Classes. What are the best options? [duplicate]

I'm a new D&D player (playing for a month exactly) and we're starting a new campaign at lvl 3. I undestand the basics of a wizard since I played a blaster Wiz on my first campaign, but I'm ...
4
votes
2answers
6k views

Does the Detect Magic spell reveal the presence of a wizard? [duplicate]

The detect magic spell description states: For the duration, you sense the presence of magic within 30 feet of you. If you sense magic in this way, you can use your action to see a faint aura ...
26
votes
4answers
17k views

Can a spellbook contain cantrips?

Is it possible for cantrips to be written in a spellbook? Their description suggests not, as well as the fact that the Wizard's cantrips are 'known' rather than being in their spellbook. For example, ...
17
votes
2answers
3k views

“Tele-fragging” with Illusory Reality

The 14th-level Illusion Wizard feature, Illusory Reality, allows you to make an object in an illusion real (PHB p. 118): Illusory Reality. By 14th level, you have learned the secret of weaving ...
8
votes
2answers
749 views

Who can create copies of spells that can subsequently be copied into spellbooks, etc?

Character A finds a spell written on a wall and copies it. He takes the copy to character B who copies it into her spellbook or Book of Shadows for her future use. Assume the spell is one B can ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Can reaction spells be used as an action?

I was wondering if spells like Shield wizard spell could be used as an action instead of as a reaction in response to some trigger? Shield spell gives protection until the start of casters next turn, ...
15
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a wizard use his familiar's senses to enlarge his “you can see” area?

I am thinking about a wizard who has a rat familiar (from the find familiar spell), and has the misty step spell prepared. Can he use his familiar's senses to teleport into another room (where the ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Is an Illusory Dragon a creature?

The Illusory Dragon spell creates a "tangible" illusion that "occupies its space as if it were a creature". But is it actually a creature for mechanical purposes? If it is a creature, that opens up a ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a necromancer True Polymorph to get an arbitrary CR 9-or-less companion?

According to If you True Polymorph a zombie you create via Finger of Death, does it remain under your command? after a necromancer polymorphs an undead they control, it is still under their control. ...
9
votes
1answer
8k views

Can a multiclass Wizard/Fighter (Eldritch Knight) add EK known spells to the wizard spellbook?

When intending to play a Fighter (Eldritch Knight) I was dissatisfied with the spell restrictions so I devised a plan to increase my spell versatility: Start with 1 wizard level to have a spellbook ...