Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
209 views

Can a Simulacrum regain health from class features?

My proposed question comes from the School of Necromancy wizard's Grim Harvest feature (PHB, p. 118): Grim Harvest At 2nd level, you gain the ability to reap life energy from creatures you ...
1
vote
2answers
861 views

Can a wizard research an existing spell of a higher level than they can currently cast?

TL;DR - Can a 6th level wizard research (not cast) an existing 4th level spell? As a wizard of the 13th circle, I have a need for some spells of the 4th tier. I have been unable to find scrolls for ...
1
vote
2answers
425 views

What is the number of Temporary HP you get from Wizard's Arcane Ward? [duplicate]

I'm playing D&D 5e as a DM for about a 3-4 sessions now and the math involved in the Wizard's ability Arcane Ward is a little unclear to me. All of my players just reached level 2 and one of the ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Can a Sorcerer/Wizard prepare spells from another person's spellbook? [duplicate]

Sam is a level 8 sorcerer that takes 1 level of wizard for his 9th level. He now has a wizard spellbook and all that. Walter the level 9 wizard has a thought. Walter hands Sam his own spellbook for a ...
1
vote
2answers
7k views

What skills should a Wizard pick? [closed]

Wizards have a somewhat limited pick of really useful skills: Concentration and Spellcraft are of course mandatory, Decipher Script and Knowlege (arcana) are good ideas as well, but what about the ...
1
vote
1answer
158 views

What spells are available to a low-level Wizard to deal with intelligent undead?

What spells are available to low level Wizards (8th or lower) to deal with intelligent undead? Black Tentacles is great, but it is great against everything corporeal and not too large Direct damage ...
1
vote
3answers
142 views

Can a PC apply Dimensional Shackles mid-Dimensional Step?

Gildoragh has Dimensional Shackles. Gildoragh has Dimensional Step. Can Gildoragh apply the shackles to himself mid-step? When he does, where is he?
1
vote
1answer
2k views

I am building a homemade RPG and i want to implement a completely freeform magic system [closed]

I have decided to venture into building a completely tweakable magic system based on a new set of game mechanics entirely of my own making. The system is skill-based (As opposed to stat-based, if you ...
1
vote
2answers
659 views

Can a wizard's bonded object be a sheathed weapon?

In Pathfinder, wizards are often required to have a bonded item which is in the form of a amulet, ring, staff, wand or weapon. I was reading a guide to wizards which lamented about the loss of the ...
1
vote
2answers
20k views

Optimal Wizard build giving a strongest Monk flavor ( touch or cone attack centered )

I am starting playing in a new campaign of 5E, and what I currently have is a first level Wizard. STR 10 DEX 14 CON 12 INT 16 WIS 14 CHA 12 Human ( Chaotic Neutral ) with a Sage ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Level 2 Wizard powers and Spellbook question

I am a little confused on how a wizard's spellbook works.. I used the dnd insider to help me create my character so I am assuming it knows what it's doing.. anyway, it's allowing me to take 3 at ...
1
vote
1answer
74 views

If a wizard has a familiar and the feat Eldritch Heritage for the Arcane bloodline, what level do you use to determine the powers of the familiar?

If a wizard has a familiar and the feat Eldritch Heritage for the Arcane bloodline, what level do you use to determine the powers of the familiar? The bloodline grants: ...you gain an arcane bond, ...
1
vote
1answer
231 views

What are all the ways wizards can learn more spells per level?

I'm trying to find any and every way I can to get a Wizard in Pathfinder to learn more spells every time they level up. I remember quite a few from D&D 3.X but I don't know any for Pathfinder.
1
vote
2answers
695 views

Spellcasting progression of Wizard-only Ultimate Magus

There are ways for a straight Wizard character (for example, via Spontaneous Divination ACF or Uncanny Forethought feat) to get some spontaneous spellcasting capability and enter an Ultimate Magus PrC ...
1
vote
1answer
436 views

How can a low-level wizard prevent damage to his spellbook? [closed]

A low-level wizard is usually too poor to have backup copies of his spellbook, so keeping his lone, precious spellbook safe early on must be a priority, but how does a low-level wizard do that? ...
1
vote
1answer
120 views

Can you conjure a small version of a vehicle with Minor Conjuration and use Enlarge/Reduce to grow it into a copy of the original vehicle?

Say your friend allowed you to take apart and see the internal workings of a nice SUV you liked. If you studied everything outside and inside the car intensively, could you create a hotwheels-esque ...
1
vote
1answer
267 views

Which spells does a spellslinger begin with in their spellbook, and which can they cast?

From the Wizard, Spells: Starting Spells (See Spellbooks below): A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from his opposed schools, if any; see ...
1
vote
0answers
99 views

Does a simulacrum'd creature's statblock include its personality and knowledge/memories? [duplicate]

Basis: In the clone spell, it states clearly that The clone is physically identical to the original and has the same personality, memories, and abilities, but none of the original’s equipment. ...
1
vote
0answers
364 views

What can a level 10-12 Necromancer do and bring to a party? [closed]

What can a level 10-12 Necromancer do and bring (by himself) to a party? Just asking in general because I'm new to D&D and want to see my necromancer fight hordes of goblins and/or other monsters ...
1
vote
0answers
419 views

Can a Wizard prepare spells from other spellbooks? [duplicate]

I was playing as a wizard character in a campaign, and found a spellbook. I was excited at first, but then realized how expensive it would be to copy it into my own. So can I just prepare them ...
1
vote
0answers
1k views

D&D 3.5 Wizard Prestige Classes. What are the best options? [duplicate]

I'm a new D&D player (playing for a month exactly) and we're starting a new campaign at lvl 3. I undestand the basics of a wizard since I played a blaster Wiz on my first campaign, but I'm ...
1
vote
0answers
133 views

High Quality wizard miniatures? (for Ars Magica) [closed]

I would like to buy dozens of different wizard miniatures, to use them in Ars Magica (I know they are not necessary, but I would like to use them any way, to illustrate positioning of the party and ...
1
vote
0answers
538 views

Thinking about PrC Arcane Hierophant [closed]

I'm fairly new to DnD, currently I'm playing with my second party ever. We aren't really power players, we're pretty casual players more concerned with fun than with optimizing builds. I'm a lvl 2 ...
1
vote
0answers
325 views

Sorcerer, mage, wizard, magician, what's the difference? [closed]

Sorcerer, mage, wizard, magician, what's the difference? I'm a non-native english speaker.
1
vote
2answers
321 views

What counts as entering the zone of Grasping Shadows? [duplicate]

The Wizard Spell Grasping Shadows says in its description: Effect: The burst creates a zone or writhing shadows that last until the end of your next turn. Each creature that enters the zone takes ...
0
votes
2answers
943 views

Which spell slots can wizards pick from if they have more spells that can be prepared than they have slots? [duplicate]

Sorry for the horribly worded title. Per the PHB: Wizards can prepare a number of spells equal to their Int Modifier + their wizard level. I have a necromancer who just hit 4th level and used the ...
0
votes
1answer
3k views

Armor for mages? [duplicate]

In 5e whats the ruling about arcane casters wearing armour? Does it impact their spellcasting like in earlier editions? I was looking through the book and didn't see anything but I just wanted to be ...
0
votes
2answers
1k views

Spells attacks on Wizard Spells and saving throws [duplicate]

Sorry for the noob question but i am still learning So far i have been a level 3 wizard in one of the campaigns. Every time i use a damaging spell the DM tells me to roll for attack spell (to see if ...
0
votes
2answers
15k views

Can a wizard cast a prepared spell more than once? [duplicate]

For the purposes of this question, I'll be comparing Wizards and Sorcerers, ignoring Warlocks and Divine spellcasters. So the main differences are that Sorcerers can cast anything they know so long ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

When I multiclass Sorcerer/Wizard do I unlearn a cantrip?

I was thinking of making my level 6 sorcerer part wizard. But at level 6 my Sorcerer knows 5 cantrips and looking at the multiclass spell table, he'd have 4 when he's a 7th level multiclass caster. ...
0
votes
1answer
3k views

How many wizard spells can I cast? [duplicate]

We just started playing D&D we are huge noobs and have problems with the wizard. I'm a level 2 Wizard with 3 level 1 Spellslots. Now the rulebook says: You prepare the list of wizard spells ...
0
votes
2answers
195 views

How big an advantage would wealth confer to the development of a character?

The question is specifically applied to D&D 3.5 and the world of the Forgotten Realms. A little background first. I am designing an adventure where I plan to have one of the NPCs-not exactly an ...
0
votes
1answer
878 views

What is more effective against demons, Enervation or Disintegrate

I will hit level 15 with my archmage wizard in the wotr campaign and would like to take spell perfecion. I am not sure though if I should take enervation or disintegrate against demons both is quite ...
0
votes
1answer
295 views

Is it possible to swap charisma modifier to int or wis when binding outsiders as a wizard?

I want to build a demon-hunting wizard and just read through the rules for binding outsiders. Here I found: Once there, the outsider can pit its spell resistance as a check against the caster’s ...
0
votes
1answer
198 views

Can the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature be used to pass through a Wall of Force or Forcecage?

This is a follow-up to another question of mine: Can Nolzur's Marvelous Pigments be used to open a hole or door through a Wall of Force or Forcecage? Illusionist Wizards get the Illusory Reality ...
0
votes
1answer
82 views

Is there a way for me to use souls to expand my life? [closed]

I have an idea for a wacky D&D 3.5 character. She is a human wizard, but, she is over 1500 years old. Is there any way that she can expand her own life span or make her eternally young? I was ...
0
votes
2answers
3k views

Which is more powerful, an arcanist or an exploiter wizard?

For playing in Pathfinder Society, I'm trying to decide whether to play either a level 1 Arcanist or a level 1 Wizard with the archetype Exploiter wizard. While still adhering to Society guidelines, ...
0
votes
1answer
873 views

Gestalt Factotum//Artificer vs Factotum//Wizard [closed]

So my friend and I are looking at doing a solo gestalt campaign starting at level 8. It's going to be relatively high-wealth, set in Eberron. Basically, the idea is that since our current DM makes a ...
0
votes
0answers
34 views

Arcane Trickster(9)/Wizard(2) Multiclass Unlocked Spell Levels [duplicate]

This is something that came up at my last game, hoping someone can set the record straight. I'm a Lvl 9 AT Rogue who has just dipped 2 lvls in Wizard. According to the Multiclassing spell slot rules,...
0
votes
0answers
41 views

Can you True Polymorph your simulacrum into your original self? [duplicate]

It's pretty much all up there in the question... But just to clarify, You (a wizard of great power): Make a simulacrum of yourself. Cast True Polymorph on it to make it a real human/elf/whathaveyou. ...
0
votes
0answers
105 views

Can I embed a spellcasting focus into a shield, like a paladin or cleric? [duplicate]

I want to multiclass either cleric/wizard or paladin/wizard and I was wondering whether i can use my holy symbol as a spellcasting focus for my wizard spells and if not, can I embed my arcane focus ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

For the Divination wizard's Portent feature, how do “glimpses of the future” manifest? [closed]

The Divination wizard's Portent feature description (PHB, p. 116) begins: Starting at 2nd level when you choose this school, glimpses of the future begin to press in on your awareness. Most of the ...
-1
votes
2answers
372 views

Can an Abjurer wizard use the ability Projected Ward without summoning the Arcane Ward before?

Can an abjurer wizard use the ability Projected Ward without summoning the Arcane Ward before? If yes what would happen to the Arcane Ward after using the Projected Ward ability if it has still some ...
-1
votes
1answer
401 views

If you can't see it coming, how do you get a dex save? [duplicate]

So, I was thinking simply fog cloud.. to obscure vision then fireball. Input?
-1
votes
1answer
110 views

Haunted Heroes Pact Wizard may cause a favored spell combo to be even more broken?

I've been looking at the Pact Wizard archetype from Haunted Heroes Handbook and noticed a feature they pick up at 10th level that states that when metamagic feats are applied to spells learned via ...
-1
votes
1answer
97 views

If I multiclass a Wizard and a Sorcerer with Arcane Bloodline, can I choose a familiar for both?

If I multiclass a Wizard and a Sorcerer with Arcane Bloodline, can I choose a familiar for both? Or can I have a familiar from one class and a bonded object from the other?
-2
votes
3answers
766 views

Can a wizard use a 25gp book as a replacement spellbook?

Or must they use the 50gp spellbook? (PHB pg 150) RAW only, please.
-3
votes
1answer
91k views

How many spells known per level does a level 3 wizard get, and where do you find that info in the PHB? [closed]

On the chart in the wizard chapter, there is only spell slots, not spells known.
-4
votes
1answer
371 views

Can a wizard cast the same spell twice simultaneously?

Could a wizard cast the same spell (utility, non-combat [Tiny Servant]) twice at the same time? Using, obviously, both slots, just dual-cast to save a minute or two? I assume the Somatic components ...
-4
votes
2answers
3k views

Can Wizards wear cloaks and capes instead of robes?

Can wizards wear cloaks or capes instead of robes? I know armor is not allowed because it prevents the movement needed to perform spells but a cloak or a cape is not specified in the PHB, at least not ...