Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
15
votes
4answers
4k views

Does Keen Mind feat allows a Wizard to have prepared all his spells?

The question is different from this one. Disclaimer: I want to clarify something. My question is not meant to find a way of breaking the class or whatnot. My question is because I am curious of if it ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Can reaction spells be used as an action?

I was wondering if spells like Shield wizard spell could be used as an action instead of as a reaction in response to some trigger? Shield spell gives protection until the start of casters next turn, ...
15
votes
2answers
4k views

How can the Starter Set wizard have five skills?

I ran out of time making my own Elven character, so I grabbed the pre-made one from the starter set. Then I realized that the skill selection is impossible. The included High Elf Wizard comes with ...
15
votes
3answers
4k views

Can a Wizard take the Magic Initiate feat and select spells from the Wizard list?

If a Wizard takes the Magic Initiate feat (PHB, p. 168), can he select 2 cantrips and a level 1 spell from the Wizard list? Or does he have to take them from a different class?
15
votes
3answers
617 views

How does an Evocation Wizard's Overchannel ability interact with Chaos Bolt?

With the release of Guildmaster's Guide to Ravnica, characters were given new background options. Some of these options add spells to a character's spellcasting classes. One of these is the Izzet ...
15
votes
6answers
3k views

How does nondetection interact with School of Divination's Portent?

As the title suggests, me and some friends had a disussion on this. First, here is the RAW from PHB on Portent (PHB 116): Starting at 2nd leel when you choose this school, glimpses of the future ...
15
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a wizard use his familiar's senses to enlarge his “you can see” area?

I am thinking about a wizard who has a rat familiar (from the find familiar spell), and has the misty step spell prepared. Can he use his familiar's senses to teleport into another room (where the ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a multiclassed wizard start with a spellbook?

If I multiclass into Wizard, do I automatically begin with a spellbook? I'm looking for support within the written rules. Designer intent is a consideration, but their intent should be well supported ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a wizard copy prepared spells into a spellbook?

My spellbook got destroyed by water, and the DM decided that was enough for my spellbook to stop working. This means that my Wizard will need a new spellbook, but I still have several spells prepared. ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Is a 10th-level Transmutation wizard considered a shapechanger for the purpose of effects such as Moonbeam?

Spells such as Moonbeam specifically affect creatures with the "Shapechanger" tag, such as lycanthropes. As per this previous question, the ability to change one's shape through class features is not ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens to a wizard who loses his/her memory?

So I'm a fairly new GM (at least to 3.5e), and I have a NPC who was a wizard but now has lost his memory and possessions. Of course, as GM I can do whatever I like with this character, but I was ...
15
votes
4answers
1k views

Can I command both Ghouls and Zombies/Skeletons with one bonus action?

Let's say I play a necromancer and have raised some Skeletons or Zombies using Animate Dead and some Gouls, Ghasts, Wights or Mummies using Create Undead. When I use a bonus action to command them ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Where does the stereotype that wizards can't wear armor come from? [closed]

Why are wizards and their ilk so restricted in their choice of personal armor in most fantasy roleplaying games? (...let alone novels etc.) Sure, learning takes up a lot of time, especially about ...
15
votes
4answers
2k views

If an Illusion wizard casts Phantasmal Force on themselves, can they use the Illusory Reality feature to make things only they can see real?

Here's the intent: an Illusionist Wizard casts Phantasmal Force on themselves. Assuming they fail their own save, they proceed to make illusions of things only they can see. For example, a bridge to ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

With Arcane Reach, can you Thunderwave yourself?

Arcane Reach allows you to target a close burst or blast starting 2 squares away from you. Thunderwave pushes each target in a close blast 3. The wizard chose his origin square and wanted the ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a 14th level Theurgy Wizard with the Arcana Domain cast their 8th/9th level spells after picking up three levels in another Full Caster class?

The Theurgy Wizard from UA: Wizard Revisited gets to choose a Cleric Domain at 2nd level. At 14th level they get the Arcane High Priest feature, which grants them the 17th-level benefits associated ...
15
votes
2answers
585 views

Does replacing Metamagic with a delayed Arcane Tradition have glaring balance issues?

In an answer to a related question, linksassin suggests an untested variant rule to apply some wizard flavor to the sorcerer class. I've attempted to formalize this approach and want to verify that I ...
15
votes
1answer
188 views

What happens if the Intelligence of an undead affected by the Necromancy wizard's Command Undead feature changes after it gets controlled?

This question asked about the impact of Feebleminding an undead before using the School of Necromancy wizard's Command Undead feature; it seems that this would be an effective tactic for making an ...
14
votes
4answers
2k views

Can a creature tell when it has been affected by a Divination wizard's Portent?

Consider the following situation (from my perspective as the DM): One of my PCs casts a spell on an NPC (or monster etc.) which forces the target to make, say, a Wisdom save, or else be frightened. ...
14
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens to a wizard's magic when they are swallowed by a tarrasque?

I was watching this video about the Tarrasque when I saw that its stomach fluids strip magic. I was wondering if a Wizard is swallowed by a Tarrasque, does the wizard lose his innate magic or is it ...
14
votes
2answers
3k views

Can “Minor Conjuration” be used as often as a wizard wants?

In a new campaign, I'll be playing a wizard that will join the School of Conjuration at second level. PHB 116 states: Minor Conjuration Starting at 2nd level when you select this school, you ...
14
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a monk make a bonus unarmed attack after using shocking grasp?

I'm playing a 5e Wizard/ Monk build. My DM and I are questioning the viability of the cantrip Shocking Grasp. As a monk I can do another unarmed strike as a bonus action after I attack with a melee ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Is it possible for 2 (or more) wizards to share a spell book?

I have a party idea where a group of eager to learn young apprentices leave their masters tower after getting impatient with his method of teaching. But they only remember to take one spell book, and ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Can “Minor Conjuration” be used to create food?

Let's say a wizard of second level has gotten themselves out in the middle of nowhere with no sources of food. Could they use minor conjuration to summon a loaf of bread, or a cookie? Or would taking ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a wizard memorize spells in the middle of the adventuring day?

I know I have to get 8 hours of sleep and study my spell book for an hour to study and use spells. If I only study a certain number of spells and kept a few unstudied, can I prepare one later on when ...
14
votes
1answer
896 views

How does the Divination wizard's Expert Divination feature work when you upcast a divination spell?

The School of Divination for a wizard has the feature Expert Divination at level 6 (PHB, p. 116): Expert Divination When you cast a divination spell of 2nd level or higher using a spell slot, ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens to objects, changed while transmuted using Minor Alchemy, after they revert?

If the form of an object is changed while it's transmuted into another substance with the Minor Alchemy wizard ability, do the changes last after the effect wears off and the object reverts to its ...
14
votes
2answers
802 views

Does a Vampire's Bite heal it even if Maximum Hit Points aren't reduced?

The Vampire's Bite attack says: Hit: 7 (1d6 + 4) piercing damage plus 10 (3d6) necrotic damage. The target's hit point maximum is reduced by an amount equal to the necrotic damage taken, and the ...
14
votes
6answers
5k views

Can a Transmuter/Abjurer with Racial Proficiencies compete in melee?

I like odd (but not completely broken) builds, and am intrigued when I see them, but I do like to see them somewhat balanced. Right now I'm considering whether a melee Wizard build is feasible. I am ...
14
votes
3answers
3k views

Is a Dwarf Wizard (Mage) Viable?

I'm starting with a new group, and I would like to make a Dwarf Wizard. However, I don't want to be a drag on the group and I want to pull my own weight - is this possible? I want to go the ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Is it assumed that Wizards find spells during adventures?

One of the main features of Wizards is that they can have vast numbers of spells in their Spell book. I have not played in Adventure League games, nor run any of the Pre-built adventures, so have no ...
14
votes
3answers
2k views

Are Illusionists subject to their own illusions?

In general, does the caster of a visual illusion experience the full effect of that illusion? For example, Minor Illusion can create an un-moving illusory object that seemingly everyone can see. Would ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

How many “additional” spells can I expect as a wizard in a published adventure?

Wizards in 5e gain 2 spells at each level up -- twice the amount of other arcane casters (bard and sorcerer). This gives them much greater flexibility in what they can do and what roles in the party ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you use Silent Image and Illusory Reality to create a real tarrasque?

In my campaign there is a level 14 illusion wizard who has used the Illusory Reality feature and silent image to create a real mind-controlled tarrasque. Then he used Malleable Illusions to make it ...
13
votes
3answers
5k views

Is a Fighter/Wizard/Thief viable in Pathfinder?

I'm looking for a decent build for a Fighter/Wizard/Thief in Pathfinder. The goal is to have a "jack of all trades" PC. I'd like to enhance these aspect if possible: Fighter: melee dps Wizard: ...
13
votes
2answers
7k views

Do wizards get bonus spell slots from intelligence? [duplicate]

I have only ever played Pathfinder and the way it works in that system is you would get extra spell slots based on how much intelligence you had. So in this table, it shows how many more spells per ...
13
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a wizard use wands and scrolls of spells from his prohibited schools of magic?

Can a wizard use wands and scrolls of spells from his prohibited schools of magic? i.e: Can an abjurer who banned evocation and enchantment use a wand or scroll of fireball (an evocation spell) ...
13
votes
2answers
27k views

Does copying a wizard spell into my spellbook require a prepared spell slot?

Say I am a wizard and I can have a maximum of 3 prepared spells. If I want to copy a spell, say from a scroll, does it count as one of my prepared spells? So for example, if I have 3/3 prepared spells,...
13
votes
2answers
422 views

Can you double move a stinking cloud?

In D&D 4e, a creature can perform a move action instead of a standard action, allowing them to perform two move actions in a turn. Stinking Cloud allows you to create a zone and furthermore says: ...
13
votes
3answers
4k views

Can a Wizard identify the spells in another spellbook without copying them into their own?

If a Wizard finds the spellbook of the evil Wizard they discovered, how does the process of finding out which spells are in the spellbook work? (Assume the evil Wizard didn't simply write the spells' ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the Wizard move “Ritual” be used to create a permanent effect or learn a new move?

In my specific instance, I have an Immolator player that wants to gain the following move: Ogdru Jahad Gain the Wizard move Ritual. The GM will always tell you what you have to sacrifice to ...
13
votes
1answer
940 views

Can more than one wizard copy a spell from a spellbook?

In the PLAYER'S HANDBOOK you can copy a spell into your own spellbook. In the DMG (p200) if a spell is copied from a scroll, the scroll is destroyed. If a spell is copied from a spellbook however, ...
13
votes
2answers
478 views

Does a large creature take damage moving through a Wall of Fire?

Here's the situation, a large creature moves next to a Wall of Fire. W CCW CCW W Next it moves into the wall, taking damage W CC CC W Then it moves again W CC CC W Does ...
13
votes
1answer
671 views

Portent and spell preparation: which comes first?

Both the dice rolls for the 2nd-level School of Divination Wizard class feature Portent and a Wizard's spell preparation occur "when you finish a long rest". Which comes first - or can a Wizard PC ...
13
votes
1answer
4k views

Wizard's Spell Mastery & Arcane Ward Synergy?

At 18th Level, Wizards of all Schools gain the "Spell Mastery" feature: At 18th level, you have achieved such mastery over certain Spells that you can cast them at will. Choose a 1st-level wizard ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I swap my cantrips known for new ones from scrolls?

I understand the table in the PHB that shows number of Cantrips Known at a specific level. I'm playing a Wizard and also using Hero Lab, which is pretty good about keeping you honest. However, in my ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Does my necromancy wizard lose hit points when he gives hit points to his homunculus?

In the 5e campaign I'm playing in, my necromancy wizard just got the spell create homunculus (from Xanathar's Guide to Everything), and one of the features of that spell is: Whenever you finish a ...
13
votes
2answers
343 views

Dungeon World: can a Druid multi-class through Ranger to Wizard?

Can my Druid in Dungeon World, through use of the Hunters Brother move and Stalkers Sister move, take the following two Ranger moves: Animal Companion and Special Trick. We are accepting as a given ...
13
votes
1answer
450 views

An enemy successfully makes a check against an illusion. Does malleable illusions require a new check?

Malleable illusion: Starting at 6th level, when you cast an illusion spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can use your action to change the nature of that illusion (using the spell’...
13
votes
4answers
1k views

How far does a Lore Wizard/Tempest Cleric's lightning-damage Magic Missiles push the target back?

Per the Tempest cleric's Thunderbolt Strike ability (PHB, page 62), lightning damage can push some targets back: At 6th level, when you deal lightning damage to a Large or smaller creature, you ...