Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
13
votes
2answers
478 views

Does a large creature take damage moving through a Wall of Fire?

Here's the situation, a large creature moves next to a Wall of Fire. W CCW CCW W Next it moves into the wall, taking damage W CC CC W Then it moves again W CC CC W Does ...
13
votes
1answer
703 views

Portent and spell preparation: which comes first?

Both the dice rolls for the 2nd-level School of Divination Wizard class feature Portent and a Wizard's spell preparation occur "when you finish a long rest". Which comes first - or can a Wizard PC ...
13
votes
1answer
4k views

Wizard's Spell Mastery & Arcane Ward Synergy?

At 18th Level, Wizards of all Schools gain the "Spell Mastery" feature: At 18th level, you have achieved such mastery over certain Spells that you can cast them at will. Choose a 1st-level wizard ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I swap my cantrips known for new ones from scrolls?

I understand the table in the PHB that shows number of Cantrips Known at a specific level. I'm playing a Wizard and also using Hero Lab, which is pretty good about keeping you honest. However, in my ...
13
votes
2answers
368 views

Dungeon World: can a Druid multi-class through Ranger to Wizard?

Can my Druid in Dungeon World, through use of the Hunters Brother move and Stalkers Sister move, take the following two Ranger moves: Animal Companion and Special Trick. We are accepting as a given ...
13
votes
1answer
461 views

An enemy successfully makes a check against an illusion. Does malleable illusions require a new check?

Malleable illusion: Starting at 6th level, when you cast an illusion spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can use your action to change the nature of that illusion (using the spell’...
13
votes
4answers
1k views

How far does a Lore Wizard/Tempest Cleric's lightning-damage Magic Missiles push the target back?

Per the Tempest cleric's Thunderbolt Strike ability (PHB, page 62), lightning damage can push some targets back: At 6th level, when you deal lightning damage to a Large or smaller creature, you ...
12
votes
5answers
4k views

Can a multiclassed Warlock's Book of Shadows double as their Wizard spellbook?

Can the Book of Shadows from a Warlock pact double as a Wizard's spell book if the character has multiclassed? If the Book of Shadows was lost and the character summoned a new one, would the ...
12
votes
2answers
5k views

Benign Transposition on an unwilling creature

One of the Arcane Traditions of a wizard is the School of Conjuration, which grants unique spell-like abilities. Benign Transposition (PHB p.116) Starting at 6th level, you can use your action ...
12
votes
3answers
3k views

Can Wizards hit themselves with AoE?

I had thought this to be obvious, but it has caused some discussion in my group. When a Wizard casts an area-of-effect spell and puts themselves in the effect area, does it affect themselves too? I ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a wizard keep a cockatrice as a familiar?

I have a wizard character who has a pet cockatrice. Although the animal is not on any list of familiars, is there an official or unofficial way to make my petrifying chicken into a familiar? (Also, ...
12
votes
4answers
1k views

How can a Level 1 Mage be useful to the group?

In MERP, Level 1 characters can only cast Level 1 spells, which are quite limited (projecting light, making an object vibrate, and such). This in turn makes the wizard unable to gather XP as fast as ...
12
votes
2answers
751 views

When a Stinking Cloud is moved onto a creature, does the creature take damage immediately?

In a recent session of D&D 4e, a Stinking Cloud was moved onto a creature who was outside of it. Stinking Cloud Effect: ...Creatures that enter the zone or start their turns there take ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Is an Illusory Dragon a creature?

The Illusory Dragon spell creates a "tangible" illusion that "occupies its space as if it were a creature". But is it actually a creature for mechanical purposes? If it is a creature, that opens up a ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a necromancer True Polymorph to get an arbitrary CR 9-or-less companion?

According to If you True Polymorph a zombie you create via Finger of Death, does it remain under your command? after a necromancer polymorphs an undead they control, it is still under their control. ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

Using an acquired spellbook

The rules for copying spells from other spellbooks are rather clear: you need time and money. However, in case you acquire a new spellbook, things are more fogged. Can a wizard use two spellbooks at ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Using Portent on Initiative Rolls

Say 4 goblins ambush a level 2 party, everyone is surprised but the Wizard decides to use his Portent feature to influence the initiative roll of the enemy. One of his portents is a natural 1, and he ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Using a found spellbook as a Sorcerer-Wizard multiclass [duplicate]

I have a Divine Soul Sorcerer 6 (with INT 13) playing in a published adventure. I just found a spellbook with 11 spells in it of varying levels. All are wizard spells, and some of the spells are ...
12
votes
1answer
506 views

Does a monster that casts spells as a wizard need to prepare its spells from a spellbook?

Some driders (Monster Manual 89-90) can "cast spells as 6th-level… wizards," and a red ethergaunt (Monster Manual II 66-7) and other ethergaunts "can cast arcane spells as a… wizard." Must these ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Lore Mastery Arcane Tradition let me have my Unseen Servant fetch things from farther away?

Lore Mastery (as described in the Warlock & Wizard Unearthed Arcana document) grants this ability at Wizard level 6: Alchemical Casting At 6th level, you learn to augment spells in a ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a wizard using an arcane focus quarterstaff and a shield still cast somatic component spells?

If there is a wizard that, by some means, has acquired proficiency in the use of shields, can said wizard use his shield in one hand and his arcane focus quarterstaff in the other and still cast ...
12
votes
1answer
8k views

Now that my wizard is a dragon, can I do the following things? [closed]

In a campaign as a wizard at 17th level, I have accomplished turning into an adult gold dragon with variant innate spell casting. My DM and I agreed the dragon can cast spells, but then the following ...
11
votes
3answers
7k views

What is the purpose of the Evocation wizard's Potent Cantrip feature?

The School of Evocation wizard's Potent Cantrip feature (PHB, p. 117) says: Starting at 6th level, when a creature succeeds on a saving throw against your cantrip, the creature takes half the ...
11
votes
3answers
5k views

Can the Wish spell overcome the post-casting time requirements of the Clone spell

Per the Wish spell: Wish You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect. Per the Clone spell: Clone This clone ...
11
votes
1answer
39k views

Can wizards learn spells that are not on their class list from scrolls?

Aside from multi-classing and taking the Magic Initiate feat I know you are generally limited to the class list. But what about scrolls? It says in the PHB that you can learn spells that are found ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a Wizard/Artificer teach spells to himself?

So I have this Wizard1/Artificer3 multiclass character. Can I craft, say, a scroll of Cure Light Wounds taken from the Bard's spell list and then, as it is an arcane scroll, adding it to my spellbook? ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Where do my known spells come from?

I'd like to take some levels as a Wizard; in-game, the Wizard in my party teaches me some magic so that I can become a practicing Wizard. But, I haven't come up with a reason why I don't have exactly ...
11
votes
5answers
2k views

Ex-wizard that pretends he still is a wizard

I am pondering creating an epic-level wizard character, who through excessive use of Mordenkainen's Disjunction on artifacts has permanently lost all casting ability as well as all his class levels ...
11
votes
4answers
3k views

How can I get my wizard to cast low-level spells spontaneously?

Okay, I have this idea for a character (DnD, 3.5e) who has some innate magical talent, but simply fails in developing it intuitively, so he goes on to invest his intelligence in studying and learning ...
11
votes
3answers
3k views

Can I copy prepared Cleric spells that are also on the Wizard spell list into my spellbook?

I'm multiclassing as a Wizard2/Cleric3. I'm wondering if it's possible to prepare a spell from the cleric spell list and then if it's also found in the Wizard spell list, would I be able to write it ...
11
votes
2answers
33k views

Do Wizards have to pay to learn new spells as they level?

I have long been conflicted on this point: do Wizards need to pay to write spells they learn for leveling into their spellbook, or just when copying from a scroll or another spell book? It seems that ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the Abjuration wizard's Improved Abjuration feature apply when casting sufficiently high-level spells from scrolls?

Inspired by this question on how to improve the chances of casting spells from scrolls. Improved Abjuration, the School of Abjuration wizard's 10th-level feature, states (PHB, 115): Beginning at ...
11
votes
3answers
87k views

What is the broad overview of the differences between Wizard and Sorceror in D&D 5e?

What are the differences between Wizards and Sorcerers in D&D 5e, in broad overview terms? Really, I'd like to know this from two perspectives. One I have a somewhat idea about from reading the ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

How can I make a wizard swear something in a way that will bind them to their word?

I want to make an neutral evil wizard swear to be my teacher in exchange for saving his life. Is there a spell or something to make him keep his word? Are there options if he is from another magic ...
11
votes
2answers
648 views

Can Hypnotic Gaze be used through Resilient Sphere?

Can the Enchantment Wizard's level 2 ability Hypnotic Gaze be used through a Resilient Sphere? The ability seems to only required the Wizard to see the target, and the target to see or hear the ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a wizard with multiple spellbooks use any spell in any spellbook with a bonded item?

Suppose a wizard whose Arcane Bond is a bonded item. Suppose the wizard owns multiple spellbooks. A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Can wizard's staff of defense class feature stack with Wizard Utility 2 Shield on the same triggering effect?

Staff of Defense class feature: ...once per encounter as an immediate interrupt, you gain a bonus to defense against one attack equal to your Constitution modifier. You can declare the ...
11
votes
1answer
472 views

If I fail the check to copy a spell from a scroll, is the gold needed to copy the spell spent anyway?

I am playing a wizard. I was reading the PHB and saw that you could copy spells into your spellbook for a cost (50 gp + 2 hours of work, per spell level). My question regards when copying the spell ...
11
votes
1answer
788 views

Can the Necromancy wizard's Command Undead feature be used on the Nightwalker from Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes?

The School of Necromancy wizard has the Command Undead feature (PHB, p. 119): Starting at 14th level, you can use magic to bring undead under your control, even those created by other wizards. As ...
11
votes
2answers
12k views

How many undead of each type can you control at one time?

With a 20 wizard necromancer, all magic items allowed (with the exception of sentient items) with the three attuned as usual, by RAW: How many undead can you maintain control over with a 100% success ...
11
votes
1answer
353 views

Can I use Spell Accuracy on a Wall of Fire?

The epic level feat Spell Accuracy from the PHB says: Benefit: You can omit a number of squares from the area of effect of any of your area or close wizard powers. This number can’t exceed ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a level 2 Wizard with 1st Level Spells use a Spell Scroll with a 3rd Level spell?

We are just starting out, and our level 2 Wizard acquired a scroll of Leomund's Tiny Hut, a 3rd level spell. Given that she is nowhere near being able to use this right now under normal circumstances, ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

To what extent would a wizard be able to combine feats to learn to mimic unknown spells?

Searching for how to give a rogue I'm building a sort of eidetic memory, I came across many posts throughout the net about using the feat Keen Mind as a way for wizards to negate having to worry about ...
10
votes
6answers
5k views

Can a glass eye be an Arcane focus?

Let's say a player's wizard character has lost their eye in some event and replaced it with a glass eye. Would they be able to use that glass eye for an Arcane focus while it is in their head?
10
votes
5answers
7k views

From what items can a wizard learn his spells?

I'm now wondering after googling for a while, what are the different sources a Wizard can learn his spells from? Is it only limited to scrolls and tomes, or can a Wizard learn spells from other magic ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

How does a wizard read another wizard's spellbook?

To prepare spells from another wizard's spellbook you have to be able to read it. Since there is no read magic spell (like in previous editions), how does a wizard read another wizard's spellbook?
10
votes
4answers
767 views

What reasons would a powerful wizard ally have for not sharing his entire spellbook with the party? [closed]

In my campaign there is a wizard who is, for the purposes of comparison, a higher level than the party, and capable of casting quite powerful spells. He trusts the party, maybe not completely but ...
10
votes
1answer
977 views

Can a wizard delay learning new spells from leveling up, and instead learn different spells later?

Can a wizard delay learning new spells from leveling up, and instead learn different spells later? For example, can a 2nd-level wizard choose to skip adding two new spells to their spellbook from ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

In the Dragonlance setting, can a dragon recognize that a player character is a wizard?

In the Dragonlance setting, can a dragon recognize that a player character is a wizard, if they are a 2nd-level wizard trying to hide that fact?
10
votes
5answers
627 views

How to Distribute Wizard Spells Without Pitting the Party Against Wizards?

I'm running an AD&D 2e campaign, and one of my players is a wizard. The party is currently first-level (ranger/wizard/cleric/rogue) and has recently arrived in a fairly major city. I don't want to ...