Podcast #128: We chat with Kent C Dodds about why he loves React and discuss what life was like in the dark days before Git. Listen now.

Questions tagged [wizard]

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
10
votes
3answers
574 views

Arcane Ward and vampire bite

A vampire's bite action deals piercing and necrotic damage to a target. It also has this effect (Monster Manual, p.297): The target's hit point maximum is reduced by an amout equal to the necrotic ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Do objects made real by Illusory Reality persist (briefly) after the end of the spell?

The 14th-level School of Illusion wizard feature, Illusory Reality, can make an object in an illusion spell real for one minute (PHB, p. 118): When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher,...
10
votes
3answers
952 views

Is there a way to make a true Vancian Wizard?

Perhaps this has been answered already: searching returns only the opposite question, how to bypass a vancian system. I quite like the idea of preparing spells. As in, you have 2 fireballs and 3 ...
10
votes
1answer
448 views

If I fail the check to copy a spell from a scroll, is the gold needed to copy the spell spent anyway?

I am playing a wizard. I was reading the PHB and saw that you could copy spells into your spellbook for a cost (50 gp + 2 hours of work, per spell level). My question regards when copying the spell ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

Do Elemental Affinity and Empowered Evocation Stack?

A 6th level Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer gets the Elemental Affinity feature, which states: ...when you Cast a Spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, you can add ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a Wizard learn to cast Cure Light Wounds from a bard scroll?

If a bard were to scribe Cure Light Wounds into a scroll, would it be possible for a Wizard to write it into his spellbook given that it's the arcane version of the spell? I know about Can a Sorcerer ...
10
votes
1answer
334 views

Does a creature take damage from Wall of Fire if it is moved before its turn?

Here's the scenario: A wizard is separated in initiative order from his target by one or more creatures/PCs. The wizard creates a Wall of Fire which occupies the space of his target creature. Prior ...
10
votes
1answer
758 views

What determines what kind of wood is produced by transmutation?

I've recently started playing 5e (as my and most of the players' first DnD game) and at one point my Transmutation specialist Wizard used the Minor Alchemy class ability (PHB, p. 119) to turn some ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Curse of Strahd and wizard spell costs

So in Curse of Strahd, Does this mean a wizard needs to purchase to copy a spell into their spellbook? Or am I misreading something here?
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Does “Devour Intellect” reduce a wizard's spell save DC and Spell Attack bonus?

Intellect Devourers have the devour intellect ability. This means that if you fail a save your intelligence is reduced by a certain amount. If a wizard with a 20 intelligence, at level 10, he would ...
9
votes
2answers
6k views

Can the Portent ability of a Diviner Wizard negate a critical hit?

This question was inspired by the Question "Can Cutting Words cancel a critical hit?" According to a tweet by Jeremy Crawford, the Bardic inspiration ability cannot negate a critical hit. In fact he ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Given enough time, can a wizard transmute a living creature?

As a DM, I was involved in running a couple of one offs with a large group of people who were new to D&D. The group consisted of a couple of DMs who each ran there own little session with a couple ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a controlled ghast be a leader of a pack of ghouls?

I'm creating a necromancer wizard player character and searching for the most optimal amount of undead to control. I searched for the lore of the monsters, and found that Ghasts tend to be leaders in ...
9
votes
4answers
8k views

Can a wizard change his spell school? [duplicate]

Are there any rules to facilitate a character who wants to change his emphasis within the same class? My specific issue now is a wizard who has figured out that the spell school he began with is not ...
9
votes
2answers
18k views

Can a wizard's level-up spells choices be from outside their school?

Does a wizard have to choose spells from their school? I understand scrolls or other methods could come in to play to learn specific spells through interaction with the world. But what are the ...
9
votes
1answer
904 views

How does the Necromancy wizard's Inured to Undeath feature work with the Death Curse in the Tomb of Annihilation adventure?

I am running Tomb of Annihilation for a group of players. They all wanted to bring in older characters (levels 9-11) from another campaign we had run a while back. I did not allow the players to look ...
9
votes
2answers
293 views

Should non-human transmuter wizards be allowed?

I recently joined a group about to start a new adnd-2e campaign. As I am new to D&D in general, I only learned after the fact that I made a mistake during character creation, resulting in a ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a Character Dual-Wield Bucklers, and Enjoy More AC Bonuses and Enchantments?

For wizards it's fairly standard practice to get a mithral buckler and enchant it with something (Death Ward, Energy Immunity, etc). My question is: is it possible to have a mithral buckler on both ...
9
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a wizard add Raise Dead to their spellbook?

The Restore Life effect of Master Transmuter on PHB119 reads: You cast the raise dead spell on a creature you touch with the transmuter's stone, without expending a spell slot or needing to have ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you use Magic Initiate to cast a spell you already know, and still learn another spell?

I have a wizard PC who wants to gain the feat Magic Initiate and use free 1st level spell to use mage armour once a day. He already knows Mage armour, so: Can he use the Feat to gain a free casting ...
9
votes
1answer
635 views

Do these spellcasting foci from Xanathar's Guide to Everything have to be held in a hand?

I see that, for example: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an arcanist choose an Arcane discovery in place of a feat, or must it be with the exploit?

I've had a fierce discussion with a friend regarding the Arcanist. He insists that for everything he counts as both a sorcerer and a wizard, in regards to qualifying for it. Feats, etc. I am ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

Melee Necromancer feats?

So, per my previous question, I am taking Miniman’s advice and making a mountain dwarf necromancer with Heavily Armored and a focus on vampiric touch. I have come to dub this concept a “...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Evocation Savant feature apply to evocation spells copied into backup spellbooks?

The normal cost of copying a foreign spell into your spellbook is 2 hours and 50 gp per spell level. If you are copying spells from one of your spellbooks to another of your spellbooks (to keep ...
9
votes
1answer
459 views

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spellbook?

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spellbook? First, I’m thinking that copying a spell from a scroll is similar to copying a spell from my ...
9
votes
1answer
8k views

Can a multiclass Wizard/Fighter (Eldritch Knight) add EK known spells to the wizard spellbook?

When intending to play a Fighter (Eldritch Knight) I was dissatisfied with the spell restrictions so I devised a plan to increase my spell versatility: Start with 1 wizard level to have a spellbook ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

Are a Wizard's “spells known” what they have in their spellbook or what they can prepare?

I'm unclear on what a wizard's “spells known” means. Namely, are they the spells they can prepare, or the spells in their spellbook? This is probably really obvious, but I'm just not figuring it out. ...
9
votes
2answers
10k views

Is blasting a suboptimal strategy for 5e Wizards?

In D&D 3.5e, blasting was known to be a comparatively weak strategy for a Wizard to adopt. On the other hand, in D&D 5e, there have been a number of changes that potentially render it more ...
9
votes
3answers
623 views

Dropping an object on an enemy using Mage Hand

My DM wasn't sure how to handle this so I figured I'd ask here and see what people think. I used Mage Hand to pick up a burning log from a fire and drop it on an enemy. Because it was a magical attack,...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

As a Theurgy wizard with the Life Domain, can I use the Preserve Life feature?

If I choose the Theurgy subclass (from Unearthed Arcana: Wizard Revisited) as a wizard and pick the Life Domain for my Divine Inspiration, will the Channel Divinity: Preserve Life feature work for me ...
9
votes
1answer
811 views

Does feeblemind change the effect of Command Undead on high intelligence targets?

The School of Necromancy wizard has the 14th-level feature Command Undead (PHB, p. 119): Starting at 14th level, you can use magic to bring undead under your control, even those created by other ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

How does True Sight interact with illusions made real?

Related to my other question about illusions and true sight, the third comment on this answer here brings up a question on how true sight interacts with illusory reality. Illusory Reality: At 14th ...
9
votes
1answer
342 views

Are familiars supposed to live as long as their masters?

How long does a caster's familiar live? Some familiar options are from very short-lived species, and on campaigns with long downtimes, they might be dead from old age next session. Is it implied the ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Wizard Theurge Tradition use Int instead of Wis?

According to the Theurge tradition in Unearthed Arcana, you gain the Channel Divinity and other abilities of the Cleric domain you are mimicking. Several of these specify to use your "cleric level" or ...
8
votes
5answers
3k views

What Is The Role-Play Justification for Named Wizard Spells?

Some Wizard spells are named after the particular famous wizard who created them, like Mordekainen or Bigby. I find it hard to understand how a convention like this could come about, considering how ...
8
votes
5answers
3k views

Can my wizard conjure a bedroll so that I don’t have to carry a sleeping mat?

Is there a spell I can use to create a bedroll each night? A magic item would be suitable as well. The spell should be of a low level, i.e. 1 or 2.
8
votes
3answers
18k views

Does copying a spell from a scroll into your spellbook consume the scroll?

The text on page 32 of the Basic Rules that talks about copying spells does not explicitly state that the process consumes the scroll. Does it?
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Is Arcane Recovery overflow wasted, or can I use the remaining slots on a later short rest?

Is the Arcane Recovery feature something you can only use once per long rest to recover up to a number of slots, with the overflow wasted? (Similar to how healing magic works) Or, alternatively, is ...
8
votes
3answers
11k views

School of Abjuration Arcane ward feature and ritual abjuration spells

Regarding the Arcane Ward wizard class feature it states Whenever you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, the ward regains a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Are the other wizard arcane traditions not part of the SRD?

The 5e SRD mentions all eight schools as possible for the wizard's Arcane Tradition feature. But later on it only describes evocation. Does this mean the other seven (as described in the PHB) are ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it possible to prohibit all prohibitable schools of magic with a single character?

It is well known there are seven prohibitable schools of magic, of which the Focused Specialists can prohibit three. I'm unsure of how these stack (in other words, can you ban the same school twice?), ...
8
votes
1answer
872 views

A wizard's character wealth

The wizards spell book can actually get pretty expensive pretty quickly. Even if you only take the spells earned by level, compared to ink investment and scroll access. At level five your book should ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Getting a new familiar with Improved Familiar

I'm a level 2 Wizard, soon-to-be level 3. I have a Hawk familiar, and I'm very interested in the idea of getting the feat Improved Familiar at level 3. I'm interested in a Celestial Hawk or Owl, which ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

If a spell is cast using a higher-level spell slot, can it be overchanneled by an Evocation wizard?

If my level 14 Evocation wizard were to cast a fireball using a seventh level spell slot, would he be able to maximise the damage with overchannel despite the overchannel feature indicating that the ...
8
votes
2answers
935 views

Can a wizard cast the same spells on the following day without a spellbook?

I am a lvl 6 wizard/rogue about to go arcane trickster. One of my companions and myself were captured and all of our stuff taken. I had some spells left and then I used them. My question is, if I keep ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Grim Harvest trigger when my minions kill something?

The Necromancy School's Grim Harvest ability restores HP when you kill an enemy with a spell of 1st-level or higher. Does this apply when minions created by a spell, such as Animate Dead, or Conjure ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I permanently raise the dead before reaching wizard level 5?

I have been searching for a way to get Animate Dead or similar sooner than level 5 on a wizard. I am playing in a game where we level quite slowly and I want to play a necromancer but with how ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does killing a creature with a Shadow Blade trigger the Necromancy Wizard's Grim Harvest feature?

School of Necromancy wizards get the Grim Harvest feature at level 2 (PHB p. 118): At 2nd level, you gain the ability to reap life energy from creatures you kill with your spells. Once per turn ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

When a transmuter uses his Master Transmutation/Restore Life feature, does he have to supply the material component of raise dead too?

A 14th level transmuter wizard has this feature: Master Transmutation Starting at 14th level, you can use your action to consume the reserve of transmutation magic stored within your ...
8
votes
1answer
280 views

Adding fire resistance to a Level 5 Wizard

I have a Half-Elf Level 5 Wizard character, who is quite the pyromaniac. His school is that of Illusion. I'd like to find a way to make him fire-resistant, in such a way that it will be persistent. ...