All Questions

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
0answers
8 views

What happens when Polymorph is cast on a creature already affected by Polymorph?

What happens when a caster casts Polymorph on a creature that is already Polymorphed by a different caster?
0
votes
0answers
15 views

Does a broken masterwork item retain its masterwork quality if enough Mending cantrips were cast on it?

I'm trying to repair a masterwork longsword a friend has in game; it had the broken condition. Does a broken masterwork item retain its masterwork quality if enough Mending cantrips were cast on it?
1
vote
1answer
34 views

If the Shillelagh cantrip is applied to a club with non-standard damage dice, what is the resulting damage dice?

Let's suppose, for the sake of argument, this weapon exists in a campaign: Unusual Club of Unusualness Simple Melee Weapon (Club), rare Weight: 2 lbs. Damage: 2d4 bludgeoning ...
1
vote
1answer
40 views

Can multiple characters have the same familiar using the Find Familiar spell?

Is there anything RAW that would prevent two different characters using the Find Familiar spell from intentionally gaining the service of the same familiar spirit? I am aware that if 1 familiar was '...
1
vote
0answers
24 views

Can a character or monster move a grappled enemy to another space in its reach without dragging them? [duplicate]

The rules on "Grappling", specifically the "Moving a Grappled Target" section of the PHB (page 195) reads: When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is ...
1
vote
0answers
41 views

How can a high level mythic wizard “bond” items to be usable only by himself?

My party has reached the end of our campaign and my level 20 mythic wizard has crafted a few things to help complete his "final form" so to speak. A ring, a cloak, and some legendary bracers. My ...
2
votes
1answer
137 views

If someone uses the Command spell and says “drop”, what happens?

If someone uses the spell command and says "drop", would you drop your backpack as well and all its contents, or just what's in your hands?
6
votes
0answers
55 views

How do I pronounce the “Taol” coin from Waterdeep?

In the city of Waterdeep, there's a coin called a "Taol" worth 2 gp. I find the description of the coin in Waterdeep: Dragon Heist on page 169, but it's not on the pronunciation guide on page 4. I'm ...
-2
votes
0answers
48 views

What “feat” should I pick as a Triton tank (Oath of Ancients Paladin)? [on hold]

We are doing Princes of the Apocalypse (D&D 5th edition), and the DM is starting us off at level 1. Spells and classes will be kept strictly to PHB, but races outside of it are allowed. The DM, ...
10
votes
2answers
165 views

If two Lore Bards used the Cutting Words feature on an ability check or attack, would they stack?

Let's say the party had two Lore Bards, and both used Cutting Words on a creature who tried to attack. Does that stack, since they are separate penalties and not enduring effects (like bless)? Or ...
2
votes
1answer
31 views

What's the Cap on Minion Summoning?

just screwing around with Character Creation again in Mutants and Masterminds. I'm just a little confused with how the Summon power functions, specifically its limits. I know that each attack and ...
0
votes
1answer
53 views

Is it possible to obtain limitless HD?

I've been reading the ever-reliable D&D Wiki and there seem to be some disagreement on whether or not Pun-Pun can attain limitless HD. It doesn't go in to much detail, but it's got my interest. Is ...
3
votes
1answer
67 views

How much can a grappler with reach move a grappled creature inside its reach?

This is a follow up from this question about whether a grapple can be released by the grappler at any distance within its reach. A creature with a 15' reach is grappling a creature with a 5' reach. ...
1
vote
1answer
51 views

can a grapple be released by the grappler at any distance within it's reach [on hold]

I have a creature that has a 15' reach. It's attack can also grapple. Currently it's grappling a creature with a 5' reach. I have several questions about this situation. Can the grappled creature ...
3
votes
1answer
136 views

Which book is the Murderer's Gloves magic item from?

Which book is the Murderer's Gloves magic item from? I tried googling it, but no luck. It is supposed to be good for rogues.
7
votes
1answer
80 views

Who should roll damage for failed saving throws?

I'm a new DM, and I'm running two groups of people (one group has complete newbies, and the other has experienced players). Long story short: both groups have players with the Create Bonfire spell. ...
7
votes
2answers
164 views

How do the Etherealness and Banishment spells interact?

The etherealness spell states: You remain in the Border Ethereal for the duration or until you use your action to dismiss the spell... I am aware that the spell does not allow you to go back and ...
-1
votes
0answers
51 views

Generally, what do you think when you are about to create a character? [on hold]

This question is not just about the system, after all, creativity is also complicated for some people and there is nothing better than reading reviews from someone who plays it a lot. In principle, I ...
6
votes
1answer
152 views

Can a Shadow Magic sorcerer control a Hound of Ill Omen as they would any other mount?

Say I am a Small-sized Shadow Magic sorcerer. I summon a Hound of Ill Omen, I mount it, and I attempt to control it. Does it move as I direct it, choosing only between Dash, Disengage, and Dodge? Or ...
1
vote
1answer
55 views

campaigns spanning long time [on hold]

In my experience, campaigns often span a relative short amount of time, and i'd like to change this. On one side, this is because downtime is often hard to play and justify and make meaningful: you'...
2
votes
1answer
67 views

Can a PC activate a Broom of Flying and remain in flight indefinitely?

The Broom of Flying's description includes the following: [...] you stand astride it and speak its command word. It then hovers beneath you and can be ridden in the air. It has a flying speed of 50 ...
6
votes
1answer
109 views

Can my 2019 UA Artificer hit 4 times in a turn by combining the Arcane Armament feature with the Dual Wielder feat?

I'm having an argument with the DM as usual. My UA Artificer (2019) reached level 8, and I have a new set of goodies. I want to dual-wield maces. Looking at the Arcane Armament feature I received at ...
2
votes
1answer
181 views

How game-breaking would a house-rule letting spellcasters prepare new spells at any time be?

Spellcasters that prepare spells have nearly identical rulings when and how they can do so (emphasis mine): You can change your list of prepared spells when you finish a long rest. Preparing a ...
-1
votes
0answers
39 views

Divine and Arcane Archetypes [on hold]

Would creating divine and arcane archetypes for Clerics and/or Wizards (within the basic ruleset) cause balance issues? I drew up a few for a game, but I am not sure if this will put too much power ...
4
votes
1answer
89 views

Can this multiclassed character build combine the Symbiotic Entity feature with unarmed strikes?

I accidentally stumbled upon what seems like an incredibly resource-heavy but incredibly powerful monk build. The mechanics seem to work together, but I want to get clarification on whether I’m ...
2
votes
1answer
67 views

How far into the Ethereal Plane does the See Invisibility spell let you see?

This question was inspired by comments on this question: "Does the Robe of Eyes extend your vision while on the Ethereal Planes?". Page 48 of the DMG states: The Ethereal Plane is a misty, fog-...
2
votes
0answers
102 views

Messing with cell phone during D&D sessions [on hold]

There are lots of questions on this site about players using their phones (the phone being a symbol for not keeping their eyes on the game -- it could be a magazine, a tv, or the bird feeder at the ...
4
votes
1answer
117 views

Can you variant multiclass as your primary class?

Can you VMC into the same class you're taking as a primary class to 'focus on your class' at the expense of feats and gain increased benefit or uses from class features, or to be able to choose from ...
5
votes
1answer
78 views

Does the Robe of Eyes extend your vision while on the Ethereal Planes?

Normally the following rules on the Ethereal Plane apply (DMG page 48): Visibility in the Border Ethereal is limited to 60 feet. The plane's depths comprise a region of swirling mist and fog called ...
6
votes
2answers
162 views

Is this “Fae Ancestry” homebrew sorcerer subclass balanced?

Continuing my current planar obsession I have made this Fae Ancestry sorcerer subclass. To me (I may be biased), it looks mostly fine except for Fae Charm, but I can't tell which is the reason I am ...
7
votes
2answers
96 views

Can a Magic Mouth spell activate a Mirror of Life Trapping?

In previous editions a Magic Mouth spell could not be used to trigger an object, but in 5e it's not quite as clear. I'm designing a scenario where a crew of thieves enter a Mirror of Life Trapping, ...
5
votes
1answer
74 views

Can the Robe of Eyes let you see into the Material Plane whilst on the Ethereal Plane?

I am running a home campaign and one of my characters is in possession of a robe of eyes. Part of the item's ability is that the wearer can see into the Ethereal Plane as they want out to 120 feet. ...
3
votes
0answers
88 views

Is this “Voidtouched” homebrew race balanced?

I have created another race to go along with the Faetouched and Shadetouched. This race is designed to be a (former) human, elf, dwarf, etcetera that was melded with some of the spirit of insanity ...
6
votes
0answers
40 views

Am I misreading the effect-cancelling part of Warforged Juggernaut's Crag of Steel power, or is it meant to be extremely limited?

Warforged Juggernaut's Level 20 Daily Power is Crag of Steel; a stance that gives you a bunch of stuff, but the part of the power I'm interested in here is: "Until the stance ends, you gain resist ...
6
votes
3answers
168 views

Can non-wizards decipher a wizard's spellbook?

In the wizard's class description, it says that When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can ...
13
votes
3answers
810 views

Can a Rogue PC teach an NPC to perform Sneak Attack?

Important Note: I am aware of this post regarding NPC training but it failed to answer my question and the top answer has some holes. I want to run a heavily player-based, sandbox campaign (I am ...
4
votes
1answer
110 views

Do the extra spells from the XGtE ranger archetypes expend a spell slot when cast?

In XGtE the Ranger Archetypes are awarded additional spells at specific levels. For example the Monster Slayer archetype receives Protection from Evil and Good at 3rd level. XGtE states The spell ...
6
votes
4answers
265 views

What happens if you Teleport into a wall?

A Wizard casts the Teleport spell, and the DM rolls "Off-Target" such that the destination moves to be in a wall, or other solid obstruction. What happens? Is the Wizard Instantly killed? Shifted ...
0
votes
1answer
33 views

How is the damage divided when using the Elemental Spell metamagic feat with Flame Strike?

How is the damage divided when using the Elemental Spell metamagic feat with Flame Strike? Elemental Spell says: Choose one energy type: acid, cold, electricity, or fire. You may replace a spell’...
5
votes
1answer
125 views

Could a spellbook be destroyed/emptied by being viewed by someone else?

In my first ever game of D&D (this was many years ago), I joined an existing game, and at the table, I was sitting beside a player playing a wizard (or "Magic User" to use the parlance of the time)...
5
votes
1answer
87 views

Can you sustain a spell multiple times per turn?

For example, if I sustain the Flaming Sphere spell, I can use it to damage an opponent. Can I sustain it 3 times per turn, to deal damage 3 times?
3
votes
1answer
77 views

Does using the Silent Spell metamagic change the action cost for a spell?

Silent Spell costs 1 action, but allows you to waive the spell's verbal component. Does waiving the verbal component reduce the spell's action cost by 1, thus producing no net change in the number of ...
11
votes
1answer
821 views

Can more than one wizard copy a spell from a spellbook?

In the PLAYER'S HANDBOOK you can copy a spell into your own spellbook. In the DMG (p200) if a spell is copied from a scroll, the scroll is destroyed. If a spell is copied from a spellbook however, ...
13
votes
1answer
205 views

When a creature runs away from combat, when can it trigger surprise again?

I understand how surprise works, but one thing I’m curious about is clarification on when combat “ends”, if it doesn’t resolve in the defeat of either side. This might make a little more sense with ...
8
votes
2answers
227 views

What harmful effects is the second benefit of the Shield Master feat useful against?

One of the benefits of the Shield Master feat in 5e (PHB, p. 170) reads: If you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Is there any method of inflicting the incapacitated condition and no other condition?

From reading through conditions such as paralyzed (PHB 291) or unconscious (PHB 292), I realized that incapacitated seems to act largely as shorthand so each condition that inflicts it (paralyzed, ...
17
votes
9answers
4k views

Are the players on the same team as the DM?

I need an answer because I am a beginner. And I got the players handbook and it does not say a thing about this.
11
votes
2answers
223 views

Is this change to the Magic Initiate feat unbalancing?

The Magic Initiate feat states: Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class's list. In addition, choose one 1st level ...
2
votes
1answer
124 views

Can a Pact of the Tome warlock scribe a scroll from their ritual book that they don't otherwise know?

Say I’m a Pact of the Tome warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation. I have Detect Magic in my Book of Shadows as a ritual spell. I otherwise don’t know Detect Magic. Can I make a scroll ...
1
vote
1answer
104 views

Are non-class hit dice included in a PC's character level? If so, which ones?

In a recent comment chain, I asserted that a character who had 6 class levels and 2 non-class hit dice would be a level 8 character; this was based on my recollection that "character level" and "total ...

15 30 50 per page