Are there any rules that preclude this action?

I know weapons with the Ammunition property are treated as improvised weapons per this line and [this question](https://rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/119291/using-a-ranged-weapon-with-the-ammunition-property-for-a-melee-attack):

> If you use a weapon that has the ammunition property to make a melee attack, you treat the weapon as an improvised weapon .

... but what about darts and nets? Am I forced to use them as an improvised weapon to make this melee attack or can I simply make an attack with the ranged weapon (including any properties therein)?

Keep in mind, I am almost certain this isn't the intended result, but what is RAW?