Search type Search syntax
Tags [tag]
Exact "words here"
Author user:1234
user:me (yours)
Score score:3 (3+)
score:0 (none)
Answers answers:3 (3+)
answers:0 (none)
isaccepted:yes
hasaccepted:no
inquestion:1234
Views views:250
Code code:"if (foo != bar)"
Sections title:apples
body:"apples oranges"
URL url:"*.example.com"
Bookmarks inbookmarks:mine
inbookmarks:1234
Status closed:yes
duplicate:no
migrated:no
wiki:no
Types is:question
is:answer
Exclude -[tag]
-apples
For more details on advanced search visit our help page
Results tagged with
Search options user 10443

For questions about the wizard, a traditional character class in RPGs that learns and casts arcane magic through study.

9
votes
1answer
The Evocation Wizard feature Evocation Savant halves the cost of copying evocation spells into your spellbook. …
asked Aug 4 '14 by Dyndrilliac
1
vote
As a Wizard, your allies will expect you to spend your turns doing your best to disable enemies completely with a single action. … If you multiclass and combine the Wizard with Beguiler, you can get most of the best enchantment spells for free to cast spontaneously, as well. …
answered Jan 21 '14 by Dyndrilliac
3
votes
In fact, multiclassing when done properly can allow a specialist Wizard much more flexibility than they might have as just a pure Wizard (specialist or not) with some small trade-offs. … Some might say that the effective loss of a few Wizard levels is simply too great a sacrifice, but I believe that as long as you are capable of casting 9th level Wizard spells the addition of essentially …
answered Jan 20 '14 by Dyndrilliac
10
votes
3answers
The text on page 32 of the Basic Rules that talks about copying spells does not explicitly state that the process consumes the scroll. Does it?
asked Aug 2 '14 by Dyndrilliac
19
votes
Yes! The DMG states: Whether the check succeeds or fails, the spell scroll is destroyed. (DMG 200) I tweeted the question to Mike Mearls, and he confirmed that as far as he knows spell scrolls are i …
answered Aug 2 '14 by Dyndrilliac
6
votes
The way this works in games I have participated in is thus: First, pick spells for the cantrips (level 0 spells), free 1st-level spells (3+INT), and 2 free spells per level up. Once that is out of the …
answered Jan 20 '14 by Dyndrilliac
6
votes
2answers
Recently in a game the issue arose of whether a Wizard is affected by his/her own casting of the Evard's Black Tentacles spell. … In the interest of avoiding conflict and saving time, we decided to put the issue on the back-burner and allowed the Wizard to avoid the tentacles, however it would be helpful in future games to have a …
asked Jan 21 '14 by Dyndrilliac
74
votes
Yes. Any character who is proficient with a particular type of armor can cast spells while wearing that type of armor with no penalty. There are two primary reasons for this. There are better ways fo …
answered Aug 22 '14 by Dyndrilliac