The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.
Search type Search syntax
Tags [tag]
Exact "words here"
Author user:1234
user:me (yours)
Score score:3 (3+)
score:0 (none)
Answers answers:3 (3+)
answers:0 (none)
isaccepted:yes
hasaccepted:no
inquestion:1234
Views views:250
Sections title:apples
body:"apples oranges"
URL url:"*.example.com"
Favorites infavorites:mine
infavorites:1234
Status closed:yes
duplicate:no
migrated:no
wiki:no
Types is:question
is:answer
Exclude -[tag]
-apples
For more details on advanced search visit our help page
Results tagged with Search options user 19464

For questions about specific manifestations of magic that can be generically called "spells". Use the [magic] tag for more generic questions about magic, and [spellcasting] for questions specifically about the process of spellcasting.

7
votes
1answer
Feeblemind can, on a failed save, reduce a creature's intelligence and charisma to 1. That's a -5 modifier. Every 30 days, the target can repeat this save. Does the character save with their current …
asked Oct 15 '15 by Premier Bromanov
1
vote
The spell is unclear... (DM's decision) The spell indicates that the servant is a "shapeless force" and that it can interact with objects and do simple tasks. However, the spell does not indicate how …
answered Feb 13 '16 by Premier Bromanov
14
votes
1answer
Perhaps put another way, can you lie with a spell? For instance, I could cast Dimension Door on myself and one willing creature. I may tell him we're going across that gorge, but in reality, we're goi …
asked Apr 25 '15 by Premier Bromanov
10
votes
fireball if they're trained; spells aren't guarantees, so the result isn't always telling about whether it was worth it over another spell. From a straight combat perspective, Stinking Cloud isn't a … , assuming you're not targeting rats. Preventing a bunch of creatures from attacking or casting spells for one round can give your party enough time to kill 1 or 2 (or more) of them. Finally, no spell …
answered Oct 13 '16 by Premier Bromanov
5
votes
No, it doesn't require line of sight to the triggering entity The triggering circumstance can be as detailed as you like, though it must be based on visual or audible conditions that occur within …
answered Jun 16 '18 by Premier Bromanov
13
votes
applies for spells, any time you make a spell attack roll, you're doing an instance of damage. Spells that add to your attack damage, like smite spells, add on to the initial damage, so that damage is … a crit as well for the first attack. For things like Magic Missile, I've written an answer on another question that may be helpful. For spells without attack rolls, you need to look at it on a case …
answered Apr 5 '16 by Premier Bromanov
8
votes
spell--called the contingent spell--as part of casting contingency, expending spell slots for both, but the contingent spell doesn't come into effect. Under Spells, Cantrips are considered level 0 … spells. (Source) A cantrip’s spell level is 0. Thus, a cantrip can be used. The requirement to expend a spell slot is merely "double checking" that you are indeed casting both spells. Read again …
answered Jun 18 '18 by Premier Bromanov
9
votes
1answer
Slow states that On its turn, [a creature] can use either an action or a bonus action, not both. Haste gives an affected creature a second action. Assuming we're not talking about taking the att …
asked Jun 13 '16 by Premier Bromanov
1
vote
Yes, it should be truncated Per the spell, there are no limitations to what you can say. This is contrasted by other spells, like Sending, that have a strict limit on what you can say. But, even …
answered Jul 10 '16 by Premier Bromanov
5
votes
1answer
I've been using Spiderclimb occasionally in my escapades to climb onto walls and ceilings and cast spells from a safe position. It never really occurred to me until just now of how that looks or … works. But now I wonder, if I'm potentially using my hands to climb or "stick" to walls, does that limit my ability to cast spells with somatic components? …
asked Jul 1 '15 by Premier Bromanov
7
votes
1answer
Spell sniper indicates that it gives all spell attacks double range. While "touch" does not have a range to double, I'm curious if attacking with a Shillelagh-ified weapon counts as a spell attack or …
asked Apr 2 '15 by Premier Bromanov
6
votes
2answers
The banishment spell allows me to send a creature to another harmless plane of existence, where it is incapacitated. Assuming that all of the creature's equipment travel with it, what other non-equi …
asked Oct 7 '15 by Premier Bromanov
15
votes
3answers
From the PHB entry for shillelagh: Components: V, S, M (mistletoe, a shamrock leaf, and a club or quarterstaff) The wood of a club or quarterstaff you are holding is imbued with nature's powe …
asked Mar 3 '15 by Premier Bromanov
13
votes
Rules as Written, No Flame Blade has a specific action that uses a melee spell attack. It is not an attack action. An attack of opportunity only requires a melee attack, not the attack action, so tha …
answered May 25 '16 by Premier Bromanov
20
votes
If it takes damage, it gets a saving throw Damage from allies is not automatically distinguished in D&D 5e, so yes you could damage your own allies to break a spell. Unless the spell specifically sta …
answered Jun 10 '18 by Premier Bromanov

15 30 50 per page