Episode #125 of the Stack Overflow podcast is here. We talk Tilde Club and mechanical keyboards. Listen now
Search type Search syntax
Tags [tag]
Exact "words here"
Author user:1234
user:me (yours)
Score score:3 (3+)
score:0 (none)
Answers answers:3 (3+)
answers:0 (none)
Views views:250
Sections title:apples
body:"apples oranges"
URL url:"*.example.com"
Favorites infavorites:mine
Status closed:yes
Types is:question
Exclude -[tag]
For more details on advanced search visit our help page
Results tagged with Search options user 33569

For questions primarily about weapons, equipment usable by characters to cause damage to other characters or creatures.

creature can't attune to more than one ring of protection at a time. Magic weapons are no different from other magic items in this regard; you can only be attuned to one copy of a particular magic weapon at once. …
answered Oct 19 '18 by V2Blast
At low/middle levels, weapon damage may be higher than the Martial Arts die At lower levels, the monk's Martial Arts die is lower than most weapons' damage die. As the Monk Table shows, it starts at … 1d4, goes up to 1d6 at level 5, 1d8 at level 11, and 1d10 at level 17. By comparison, the monk weapon options for non-Kensei monks are shortswords and simple melee weapons that don't have the two …
answered Jul 11 by V2Blast
their backup was a warhammer/shield combo). Upon checking the weapons table, I discovered that mauls have the "Heavy" property, which is described as follows in the Player's Basic Rules/PHB/elsewhere … : Heavy. Small creatures have disadvantage on attack rolls with heavy weapons. A heavy weapon’s size and bulk make it too large for a Small creature to use effectively. The player seemed to be …
asked Jan 20 '18 by V2Blast
Meeting either criteria is enough to overcome the immunity The werewolf's damage immunity applies to "Bludgeoning, Piercing, and Slashing from Nonmagical Attacks that aren't Silvered". Let's assume t …
answered Feb 10 by V2Blast
Yes, they're still magical even if you're not attuned; you just don't get any of the other benefits. Crawford has unambiguously confirmed here and here that the answer is "yes" for all magic weapons
answered Nov 13 '18 by V2Blast
attack is a specific kind of ranged attack. You can make ranged weapon attacks with ranged weapons (i.e. weapons on the Weapons table, listed as either simple ranged weapons or martial ranged weapons … , but if you throw a dagger, you can use either your Strength or your Dexterity, since the dagger has the finesse property. Basically, you can make ranged weapon attacks with weapons classified as …
answered Apr 19 by V2Blast
Only as an improvised weapon. From the description of improvised weapons in the rules (PHB, p. 147-148): Sometimes characters don’t have their weapons and have to attack with whatever is close … ? Ranged weapon, melee attack If you use a weapon in a way contrary to its design (melee attack w/ a ranged weapon), see "Improvised Weapons" (PH, 147). DM's call. Improvised dagger then? In …
answered Mar 27 '18 by V2Blast
As you quote in the question, this text appears under the "Improvised Weapons" heading: If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee attack, [...] it also deals 1d4 damage. The fact that … this appears under the "Improvised Weapons" heading should be a clear sign that such a use of a ranged weapon (whether it originally had the "ammunition" property or not) causes it to be treated as …
answered Mar 27 '18 by V2Blast
with it again as a bonus action. You need to be holding two light one-handed weapons (or have one in hand, and draw the other as your free object interaction). They can be shortswords, daggers, handaxes, or any other light weapons, or any combination thereof, but there need to be two of them. …
answered Feb 5 '18 by V2Blast
You can interact with one object for free; any more requires the Use an Object action The "Other Activity on Your Turn" section describes the ability to interact with one object or environmental feat …
answered Sep 7 '18 by V2Blast
leaves your reach. Most melee weapons have a reach of 5 feet, as described in the rules for melee attacks: Most creatures have a 5-foot reach and can thus attack targets within 5 feet of them … work for weapons with a reach of 10 feet, we need to look at the description of the "reach" weapon property: Reach. This weapon adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it, as well as when …
answered May 1 by V2Blast
to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons). On a hit, an unarmed strike deals bludgeoning damage … . This indicates that the design intent, and arguably the rule as written, is that War Caster lets you replace regular opportunity attacks with a spell targeting the creature, not opportunity attacks with reach weapons. …
answered May 1 by V2Blast
unarmed strikes and monk weapons, which are shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property. You gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or … wielding only monk weapons and you aren’t wearing armor or wielding a shield: You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of your unarmed strikes and monk weapons
answered May 24 by V2Blast
It is part of an Attack action The description of the javelin of lightning says (emphasis mine): This javelin is a magic weapon. When you hurl it and speak its command word, it transforms into a …
answered Jan 20 by V2Blast
Yes, this works Weapons with the thrown property still appear on the Weapons table, and are still classified as simple or martial weapons. As such, the arcane weapon spell can channel energy into … weapon, drop it, or throw it. Normally, it might not be very useful to use the spell with thrown weapons, as you wouldn't normally have a way to get the weapon back after you throw other than going and …
answered May 28 by V2Blast

15 30 50 per page