Search type Search syntax
Tags [tag]
Exact "words here"
Author user:1234
user:me (yours)
Score score:3 (3+)
score:0 (none)
Answers answers:3 (3+)
answers:0 (none)
isaccepted:yes
hasaccepted:no
inquestion:1234
Views views:250
Sections title:apples
body:"apples oranges"
URL url:"*.example.com"
Favorites infavorites:mine
infavorites:1234
Status closed:yes
duplicate:no
migrated:no
wiki:no
Types is:question
is:answer
Exclude -[tag]
-apples
For more details on advanced search visit our help page
Results tagged with Search options user 38434

This tag covers questions relating to either monstrous antagonists specifically, or all enemies of the player characters generally; which usage is correct varies depending on the traditions of specific games. Use as appropriate for the game in question.

1
vote
The SRD for D&D 3.5e has this under “Movement, Position, and Distance”, but the core rule books for D&D 5e do not.
answered Dec 20 '17 by GcL
4
votes
Yes. Challenge Ratings Are Type Agnostic The basic rules define challenge rating without respect to type: A monster's challenge rating tells you how great a threat the monster is. An appropriate …
answered Aug 27 '18 by GcL
1
vote
Unique Variant or DM Discretion for Tougher Challenge The orc stat block has damage output of 1d12+3, which matches the strength score of 16. Running into an orc that is significantly stronger or to …
answered Aug 23 '18 by GcL
0
votes
Planar binding does not "re-up" a conjure that was ended by broken concentration. tl;dr The elemental disappears after an hour in the case of broken concentration. Planar binding does not extend the …
answered Feb 8 by GcL
12
votes
If armed, roll weapon damage +6 This matches the description of the other ogre varieties e.g.: 1-10 (or by weapon +6) As well as the section describing the monster attributes at the start of th …
answered Nov 20 '18 by GcL
9
votes
The 5e Ecology of Night Hags does not include ritual transformation From the 5e Monster Manual: Monstrous Motherhood. Hags propagate by snatching and devouring human infants. After steali …
answered Jan 25 '18 by GcL
3
votes
No. For 5th edition, you'll have to convert or home brew an Elemental Binding mechanic. The original material lore from the 3.5 Eberron Campaign Setting states the gnomes of Zilargo are the ones wit …
answered Jan 15 by GcL
4
votes
Narrating the Story is up to the DM. The spell effects operate as stated. The interpretation of the stat blocks was correct. What the elemental interprets as "his flesh is rotting" and "his interna …
answered Aug 3 '18 by GcL
6
votes
Location IS given away at the time of the attack. tl;dr Poltergeist gives away location using attack. J.C. bare bones is location of non-actively-hiding invisible creature is known. Invisible but n …
answered Aug 14 '18 by GcL
38
votes
Yes. The rules do not indicate that the thorn whip spell uses a grapple (which the weird would be immune to). The water weird has no immunity to the effect of thorn whip. Very clever use of a spell …
answered Mar 13 by GcL