Search type Search syntax
Tags [tag]
Exact "words here"
Author user:1234
user:me (yours)
Score score:3 (3+)
score:0 (none)
Answers answers:3 (3+)
answers:0 (none)
isaccepted:yes
hasaccepted:no
inquestion:1234
Views views:250
Code code:"if (foo != bar)"
Sections title:apples
body:"apples oranges"
URL url:"*.example.com"
Bookmarks inbookmarks:mine
inbookmarks:1234
Status closed:yes
duplicate:no
migrated:no
wiki:no
Types is:question
is:answer
Exclude -[tag]
-apples
For more details on advanced search visit our help page
Results tagged with
Search options user 42959

For questions about Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition, an RPG published in 2014 by Wizards of the Coast. D&D 5e is a heroic fantasy RPG inspired by the mechanics and settings of all previous D&D editions. It was previously code-named D&D Next during the playtest period.

18
votes
When the DM describes the outcome An outcome is determined only when the DM describes the outcome, not before. This is built into the fundamental game loop of D&D: DM describes the world, players take …
answered May 16 '18 by Vigil
3
votes
2answers
Spells like Forbiddance or Mordekainen's Private Sanctum cannot be seen once cast. (Not just because they are invisible, but because there is nothing at all to indicate their presence excepting a few …
asked Apr 18 '18 by Vigil
11
votes
2answers
The Broom of Flying does not require attunement, and can be controlled via command words: This wooden broom, which weighs 3 pounds, functions like a mundane broom until you stand astride it and speak …
asked Jun 12 '18 by Vigil
17
votes
Yes Faint: (of a sight, smell, or sound) barely perceptible. If something is barely perceptible, you will only just be able to see it. At a glance, you could miss it. This would not be true if the i …
answered Jun 12 '18 by Vigil
4
votes
2answers
Sort of follow on from my previous question. Shields take an action to don or doff. In the previous question it was discussed that the reason for this might be needing to strap the shield to your a …
asked Jul 14 '18 by Vigil
5
votes
Solars A solar is godlike in its glory and power. On the battlefield, the solar's sword flies into the fray on its own, and a single arrow from a solar's bow can strike a target dead on cont …
answered Jun 11 '18 by Vigil
9
votes
RAW, they are not still linked once one is dead. Here's the relevant passage describing the rules for Hag Eyes: Hag Eye. A hag coven can craft a magic item called a hag eye, which is made from …
answered Jun 20 '18 by Vigil
10
votes
3answers
There are several spells which ward against teleportation, planar travel, or divination spells. But as far as I've been able to find, there isn't anything that would stop the Sending spell from penetr …
asked Sep 29 '19 by Vigil
29
votes
Less character diversity as Feats become less attractive When you get an ASI, often the most useful and powerful thing any character can do with it is boost their primary ability. Most players will n …
answered Aug 27 '18 by Vigil
17
votes
2answers
Magic Circle has the following effect on creatures of a specified type: The creature can't willingly enter the cylinder by nonmagical means. If the creature tries to use teleportation or interplan …
asked Apr 5 '19 by Vigil
4
votes
A lower initiative wouldn't help, as that would just put the Wizard's turn after the end of the orcs' turn. Getting this spell to do its area damage is tricky! Readying the spell might help, though: …
answered Jul 9 '18 by Vigil
9
votes
1answer
A Scroll of Protection, when used, prevents creatures of a certain type from entering a cylinder surrounding you or affecting you in that cylinder. Using an action to read the scroll encloses you …
asked May 17 '18 by Vigil
14
votes
2answers
Shields take an action to "don", i.e. start to receive the benefit of the shield (2 AC for basic shields, other effects for magical shields). Can you pick up a shield and hold it without "donning" i …
asked Jul 3 '18 by Vigil
5
votes
1answer
Say a group of unscrupulous types have a PC captured after knocking him unconscious. They've tied his hands up and gagged him so he can't cast any more spells. Is there anything in the rules stoppin …
asked Jul 31 '18 by Vigil
9
votes
3answers
The Narzugon's Hellfire Lance states: Hellfire Lance. Melee Weapon Attack: +10 to hit, reach 10 ft., one target. Hit: 11 (1d12 + 5) piercing damage plus 16 (3d10) fire damage. If this damage kills …
asked Jun 16 '18 by Vigil

1
2 3 4 5
10
15 30 50 per page