The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.
Search type Search syntax
Tags [tag]
Exact "words here"
Author user:1234
user:me (yours)
Score score:3 (3+)
score:0 (none)
Answers answers:3 (3+)
answers:0 (none)
isaccepted:yes
hasaccepted:no
inquestion:1234
Views views:250
Sections title:apples
body:"apples oranges"
URL url:"*.example.com"
Favorites infavorites:mine
infavorites:1234
Status closed:yes
duplicate:no
migrated:no
wiki:no
Types is:question
is:answer
Exclude -[tag]
-apples
For more details on advanced search visit our help page
Results tagged with Search options answers only user 4563

For questions about multiclassing, the practice of advancing more than one character class on a single character either simultaneously or serially.

9
votes
It depends on the rules your DM wants to use. The Player’s Handbook is ambiguous, but most tables seem to do the simplest thing and just read the values from the two tables and add them together. Sinc …
answered Apr 13 '17 by KRyan
4
votes
Unearthed Arcana gives a somewhat-strange suggestion that you might, in some cases, be able to multiclass between two variant classes, taking levels of each. This is somewhat awkward, and personally i …
answered Oct 28 '14 by KRyan
7
votes
It is; variant multiclassing uses up your feats, and does not care what your “actual” class levels are doing. The one caveat is that you cannot take actual levels in the class you choose for variant m …
answered Jan 24 '17 by KRyan
7
votes
Nonproficiency in armor means that you take the armor’s armor check penalty as a penalty to all sorts of things it wouldn’t normally affect, including attack rolls. By virtue of being a rogue, though …
answered Aug 21 '14 by KRyan
9
votes
Yes and no. You can make this trade. You could trade the Barbarian’s Path of Destruction for the Ranger’s Professional Soldier, for example. However, you gain the circles from the new track at the s …
answered Oct 11 '12 by KRyan
20
votes
No, the Class Skill bonuses are a one-time-only (per skill) thing.1 See the PFSRD: Class Skills In addition, each class has a number of favored skills, called class skills. It is easier for y …
answered Oct 10 '13 by KRyan
5
votes
You can do it, but the character would be nearly useless You miss out on all high-level features, all ASIs, and as Derek Strucki’s answer points out, to meet all the other ability score requirements …
answered Jul 17 '18 by KRyan
7
votes
The rules for multiclass meldshapers are found on page 20, in the heading cunningly titled “Multiclass Meldshapers.” The introduction to the classes chapter, rather than the incarnum chapter in genera …
answered Sep 25 '17 by KRyan
10
votes
At the druid’s option, she may have any spell (but not any spell-like ability) she casts upon herself also affect her animal companion. At the master’s option, he may have any spell (but not …
answered Nov 24 '15 by KRyan
7
votes
You add the spells found on the bard, paladin, or ranger spell list to your existing class’s spell list. So if you are a cleric/prestigious-paladin, you would consider bless weapon a 1st-level cleric …
answered Aug 17 '17 by KRyan
11
votes
First, it must be said: monk is a weak class. The best number of monk levels you can have is zero, and unarmed swordsage would be literally strictly-superior. I am assuming, per the question, that the …
answered Oct 24 '14 by KRyan
2
votes
Yes, prestige classes can be progressed by other prestige classes Simply said, nothing says you can’t. No prestige class (to my knowledge) specifies base class for this kind of thing. But the chosen …
answered Apr 29 '15 by KRyan
10
votes
In many cases, these concerns are unnecessary—characters are not their class(es), and multiclass characters may not even recognize, in-character, that the new level is “different” from what it “would …
answered Jul 27 '18 by KRyan
10
votes
First of all, 3.5 and Pathfinder are really in the same place here as far as the rules are concerned—this was never allowed. I have never heard of it before as a houserule either, but that’s neither h …
answered Jun 18 '17 by KRyan
9
votes
Yes, your first class has the advantage of a maximized HD, which none of the following classes share. At worst, this is a difference of 6 hp—if you were choosing between a d6 and a d12—which isn’t tha …
answered Nov 30 '17 by KRyan

15 30 50 per page