New answers tagged

2 votes
Accepted

Does Swordsage's Insightful Strike Apply to Rolls for Ability Score Damage?

This is only relevant to 3 maneuvers: five-shadow creeping ice enervation strike, hamstring attack, and mind strike. The ability damage dealt by those maneuvers is a damage roll, so yes. It's possible ...
user avatar
  • 46
3 votes

Can a shield guardian be commanded to obey commands from the whole party?

By RAW it’s unclear but I would say that it wouldn’t work Note: My answer is specifically about Shield Guardian since that’s the creature the title of the question references, it does not apply to ...
user avatar
  • 3,082
1 vote

Can a shield guardian be commanded to obey commands from the whole party?

Intelligent minions can carry out complex commands. For Shield Guardian, ask your DM A shield guardian has an Intelligence of 7, only one point below the dumbest player character. There is no official ...
user avatar
7 votes

Can a shield guardian be commanded to obey commands from the whole party?

It's unclear, and therefore up to your DM. With an intelligence score of 7, the shield guardian is certainly "intelligent enough to understand a chain of command," but intelligence isn't the ...
user avatar
  • 551
8 votes
Accepted

Is there a way to add my Strength modifier to my Armor Class?

Nothing In Terms of Official Paizo Material In terms of resources for searching through official Pathfinder materials, the best one is the X to Y (2) google doc (which is the community updated version ...
user avatar
  • 10.4k
8 votes

Is there a way to add my Strength modifier to my Armor Class?

Nothing in Wizards of the Coast or Paizo material The best resource for this kind of question is Person_Man’s X Stat to Y Bonus thread, which covers all official content for D&D 3.5e and PF 1e. It ...
user avatar
  • 323k
21 votes
Accepted

If a sentient item such as Blackrazor maintains concentration on a spell but does not have a Constitution score, can its concentration be broken?

RAW (Rules As Written), Sentient Magic Items cannot lose concentration from Constitution Saving Throws Sentient magic items are often formidable and powerful, and influence the world with wills of ...
user avatar
9 votes

If a sentient item such as Blackrazor maintains concentration on a spell but does not have a Constitution score, can its concentration be broken?

I'll begin my answer with a caveat: I'm not sure this scenario will come up too often. With Blackrazor being the item casting the spell, per the rules on concentration, it would need to cast another ...
user avatar
1 vote

How can I make intelligence less of a dump stat?

Call for an Intelligence check to disarm some traps "It doesn't matter how dextrous your rogue is, your 20 DEX won't answer the question, 'Do I cut the red wire or the blue wire?'" This ...
user avatar
-4 votes

How can I make intelligence less of a dump stat?

In prior additions of D&D, your Int bonus gave you additional skills or proficiencies based on the score. Yes, 1st and 2nd got additional proficiencies (no skill system) and 3rd got an additional ...
user avatar
5 votes

What is the contested ability modifier for a 0 Intelligence?

The ability modifier for a score of 0 is −5. This can be seen in the text immediately following the chart you reference, at the top of the next column (PHB p. 173): To determine an ability modifier ...
user avatar
  • 1,809

Top 50 recent answers are included