28

I play an alchemist myself. Here's how I did it: Choose the Guild Artisan background. Select Alchemist as your Guild Business. Select Alchemist Tools as your tool proficiency. Play a wizard, and specialize in Transmutation. Use the Minor Alchemy ability whenever appropriate — crafting an iron weapon into a silver one can be handy through the lower levels, ...


20

There is an Alchemist in Unearthed Arcana Since this question was asked, there has been an Unearthed Arcana released that contains the Artificer class, with an alchemist subtype: Artificers pursue a variety of specializations. The two most common ones, alchemy and engineering, are presented here. ... An alchemist is an expert at combining exotic reagents to ...


20

You can catch them, but you cannot use them. Alchemist's bombs cannot be used or carried by anyone else other than the alchemist who created them: An alchemist’s bomb, like an extract, becomes inert if used or carried by anyone else. This means you can deflect and even catch a bomb, but you cannot throw it back and expect it to explode (it won't). If ...


16

There is no such rule that I can find, and I tend to think that I would have heard of it if it existed. It certainly isn’t to be found anywhere in the potion rules, which is where such a rule should be found. And even if the rule existed, a mutagen is not technically a potion in any event, and wouldn’t interfere with that rule. The only way you could ...


15

they were in an area of magical darkness and were blind. This is correct; the vision rules state that being inside darkness without a way to see through it is equivalent to being blind. we ruled that he was attacking an invisible creature. Technically incorrect; based on the rules for the Blinded condition, the creature had Total Concealment from them. ...


15

The Official Pathfinder FAQ explicitly has covered this discovery (and the use you are suggesting) and has stated that: At no time can you make a left hand weapon attack, a right hand weapon attack, and a vestigial hand weapon attack on the same turn because the vestigial arm discovery says it "does not give the alchemist any extra attacks or actions ...


14

It seems to me that your question is two fold. I may be wrong but you seem to be looking not only for a technical point of view but also from a role-play point of you. The technical aspect is quite easy to answer: You will need two items to produce your concoctions(extracts, mutagens and bombs): Kit, Alchemy Crafting Price 25 gp; Weight 5 lbs. ...


14

I've seen this question before and wondered if a good house rule would be to treat the target as helpless. A helpless character is not defending, and in the case of a willing ally, in a similar fashion, they are not defending either. There is no bonus to the attack roll for a ranged attack, but the defender loses any Dexterity bonus to AC and, their ...


14

You've misunderstood how Shatter works. You only have one of two options when casting the spell: 1) Area of Effect: Used as an area attack, shatter destroys non-magical objects of crystal, glass, ceramic, or porcelain. All such unattended objects within a 5-foot radius of the point of origin are smashed into dozens of pieces by the spell. Source (PFSRD) ...


14

Artificer: Alchemist from Unearthed Arcana... ... is probably the closest you're going to get that resembles an "official" class of character. You can create a handful of concoctions out of your alchemist's satchel, and you can infuse an item with a spell, allowing another character/creature to hold that item for 8 hours and use that spell. It's not ...


12

This would mostly be up to your DM and how he wants to interpret the rules and if one supersedes the other. Personally I would say the rule stating a mutagen "becomes inert when another is made" supersedes everything. There is also already a mechanic for creating extra mutagens via the Discovery Infuse Mutagen. When the alchemist creates a mutagen he ...


12

If I learn a spell, do I add it the number of spells I know, or do I replace a spell I already know with it? You add it to the formulae you “know,” but alchemists don’t really “know” formulae (and wizards don’t “know” spells) the way a sorcerer for example does. The so-called “spontaneous” spellcasters, like sorcerer, gain a very limited number of spells ...


12

(5 × level) + INT mod Because no parentheses or other mathematical indicators are given in the Hit Points section of the Homunculus stat block, Hit Points equal to five times your level in this class + your Intelligence modifier directly translates to "HP = 5 × [your level in this class] + [your Intelligence modifier]", which in turn means "...


12

You might be able to buy the formula, but can't craft it with Advanced Alchemy or Quick Alchemy The class features "Advanced Alchemy" and "Quick Alchemy" both allow you to craft an alchemical item of your level or lower: For Enhanced Alchemy: Your advanced alchemy level is equal to your level. For each batch of infused reagents you spend,...


12

It really is (mostly) that situational Speaking with another player in my high-level campaign, whose character is an Alchemist, he can think of no other use for that ability than Quickened Bomber Alchemists. They further point out that, since it still does splash damage on a non-critical miss (and potentially hit or crit on a nat 20), it's not a complete ...


11

quoted from here(d20pfsrd, same page as you link to), quoting this(pathfinder FAQ): What kind of action is it to use an extract, mutagen, or throw a bomb? It is a standard action to use an extract, mutagen, or throw a bomb. This action includes retrieving the necessary materials from the alchemist's supplies, in the same manner as retrieving a material ...


11

An Alchemist throwing a Confusion Bomb is not the same as a spellcaster actually casting confusion on a target. It's just that the effect is the same. Instead, like every Alchemist Discovery, a confusion bomb is a Supernatural (Su) ability. Therefore, Spell Save DCs do not apply here. The DC is instead given in the description of the Discovery Class Feature: ...


11

Any alchemist can take the Promethean Disciple discovery at level 6. It gives you the Craft construct feat for free and the ability to use your ranks in Craft (alchemy) skill to meet the caster level requirements, and to use that skill to craft the golem regardless of the golem requirements. The discovery also grants the alchemist the ability to use ...


11

This answer is based more on interpretation, than rules as written. The first thing to note is this: The homunculus is friendly to you and your companions, and it obeys your commands. The second thing to note is this: The Alchemical Homunculus's mental stats are... Int: 10 WIS: 10 For comparison, these are the same mental stats a Commoner ...


10

I don't think I ever saw a rule about this, and I'd be happy of being proven wrong. If there's really no rule, it's all in the GM's hands, and this is how I'd rule it: Some of those bonuses - dexterity, dodge, insight - represent the character actively dodging incoming attacks. It makes sense that the character is not using them against your attack, if they'...


10

No, splash weapons are explicitly denied precision damage. Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as sneak attack). The rogue talent Sniper's Eye only removes the prohibition against precision damage if the target benefits from concealment. It doesn't change the way that splash weapons work or affect anything other than the bolded parts ...


9

Unfortunately, there's no other feat to retrain the Throw Anything feat to At level 1 the vivisectionist alchemist gets the class feature throw anything that grants the alchemist the bonus feat Throw Anything. The Retraining rules say If the old feat is a bonus feat granted by a class feature, you must replace it with a feat that you could choose using ...


9

RAW: No In short - extracts are not spells. An alchemist does not have "spells", despite the many similarities extracts have to spells. The RAW answer is a no. Note that the alchemist's extracts are also not potions. So although metamagic could be applied to potions, that isn't meaningful here. From the Creative Team: No If that answer doesn't satisfy ...


9

It's unclear You could argue that it counts as a familiar, but if that quote was enough, we wouldnt have a FAQ item saying that Tumor Familiars cannot be Improved Familiars: tumor familiars, as lumps of flesh in the shape of animals, can’t become Improved Familiars. This answer seems to claim that tumor familiars are not actual familiars. In other ...


9

Yes The "ranged weapon" denomination in Deflect Arrows covers thrown weapons (that's not clear but considering that Snatch Arrow have a special section for thrown weapons it seems intended). It's not a "massive ranged weapon" (unless thrown at a very small monk) neither it's "generated by natural attack or spell effects": Deflect Arrows should work. Snatch ...


8

If a level 1 alchemist has Int 11, he can create 1 1st-level Extract Per Day. If a level 1 alchemist has Int 12-19, he can create 2 1st-level Extracts Per Day. If a level 1 alchemist has Int 20-29, he can create 3 1st-level Extracts Per Day. But, barring other influences (e.g. archetypes, feats, magic items, special abilities, traits), that's all he can ...


8

After a thorough search, I've determined that no, there is no requirement for the Alchemist to rest to prepare extracts. If you don't need to sleep, the day begins when you feel like it! Generally what you consider most convenient, be it midnight, mid-afternoon, dusk, or when your allies begin prepping for adventure.


8

That rule as written conflict with the example of the Iconic Alchemist. Without clarification from Paizo, a DM has to rule based on what makes the most sense to them. As written...there are odd inconsistencies. It's not just True Strike either. Fly requires a wing feather as a focus. Duplicate Familiar requires a familiar as a focus. Analyze Dweomer needs "...


8

No, not with just this feat. From the Explosive Missile feat: As a standard action, the alchemist can infuse a single arrow, crossbow bolt, or one-handed firearm bullet with the power of his bomb, load the ammunition, and shoot the ranged weapon. He must be proficient with the weapon in order to accomplish this. All three 'actions' (infusing, loading, ...


8

Artificer is an official class as of 2019. With the release of Eberron: Rising from the Last War, Artificer was canonized as a complete class available to players. In terms of mechanics and concept, it is very similar to the Unearthed Arcana artificer class from 2019, and less similar to the Unearthed Arcana artificer from 2017. The artificer can produce ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible