28 votes

How can I play an adventuring alchemist in D&D 5e?

I play an alchemist myself. Here's how I did it: Choose the Guild Artisan background. Select Alchemist as your Guild Business. Select Alchemist Tools as your tool proficiency. Play a wizard, and ...
Tim Grant's user avatar
  • 25.9k
20 votes

How can I play an adventuring alchemist in D&D 5e?

There is an Alchemist in Unearthed Arcana Since this question was asked, there has been an Unearthed Arcana released that contains the Artificer class, with an alchemist subtype: Artificers pursue a ...
Icyfire's user avatar
  • 63.6k
20 votes
Accepted

Can you throw back a bomb thrown by an alchemist with Snatch Arrows?

You can catch them, but you cannot use them. Alchemist's bombs cannot be used or carried by anyone else other than the alchemist who created them: An alchemist’s bomb, like an extract, becomes ...
ShadowKras's user avatar
  • 61.5k
17 votes
Accepted

Can I drink more than one potion in one round?

There is no such rule that I can find, and I tend to think that I would have heard of it if it existed. It certainly isn’t to be found anywhere in the potion rules, which is where such a rule should ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 352k
15 votes
Accepted

Can Vestigial arms grant Natural attacks

The Official Pathfinder FAQ explicitly has covered this discovery (and the use you are suggesting) and has stated that: At no time can you make a left hand weapon attack, a right hand weapon attack, ...
Cellion's user avatar
  • 4,149
14 votes
Accepted

Closest non-Homebrew class to Potions Master / Salve-Maker?

Artificer: Alchemist from Unearthed Arcana... ... is probably the closest you're going to get that resembles an "official" class of character. You can create a handful of concoctions out of your ...
Jesse Cassino's user avatar
13 votes
Accepted

Is there anything preventing a first-level alchemist from buying a sixth-level alchemical formula?

You might be able to buy the formula, but can't craft it with Advanced Alchemy or Quick Alchemy The class features "Advanced Alchemy" and "Quick Alchemy" both allow you to craft an ...
Patta's user avatar
  • 9,736
12 votes

What’s the right calculation for the Homunculus’s hit points for the 2019 UA Alchemist Artificer?

(5 × level) + INT mod Because no parentheses or other mathematical indicators are given in the Hit Points section of the Homunculus stat block, Hit Points equal to five times your level in this class ...
Blake Steel's user avatar
  • 7,202
12 votes
Accepted

Is Alchemical Alacrity a mistake?

It really is (mostly) that situational Speaking with another player in my high-level campaign, whose character is an Alchemist, he can think of no other use for that ability than Quickened Bomber ...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 43.2k
12 votes
Accepted

Does Munitions Crafter stack with the Alchemist Dedication?

Alchemical Archetypes Don't Stack If you gain infused reagents from more than one source, you use the highest number of reagents to determine your pool rather than adding them together.
brandon's user avatar
  • 14.7k
11 votes
Accepted

How to make Alchemist able to create homunculus, as RAW as feasible, in Pathfinder?

Any alchemist can take the Promethean Disciple discovery at level 6. It gives you the Craft construct feat for free and the ability to use your ranks in Craft (alchemy) skill to meet the caster level ...
MACN's user avatar
  • 6,428
11 votes
Accepted

What can the 2019 UA Artificer's Alchemical Homunculus do outside of combat?

This answer is based more on interpretation, than rules as written. The first thing to note is this: The homunculus is friendly to you and your companions, and it obeys your commands. The second ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.6k
10 votes

Does sniper's eye allow sneak attack damage with splash damage?

No, splash weapons are explicitly denied precision damage. Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as sneak attack). The rogue talent Sniper's Eye only removes the prohibition ...
Karelzarath's user avatar
  • 3,148
9 votes
Accepted

Can a Tumor Familiar have an Archetype?

It's unclear You could argue that it counts as a familiar, but if that quote was enough, we wouldnt have a FAQ item saying that Tumor Familiars cannot be Improved Familiars: tumor familiars, as ...
ShadowKras's user avatar
  • 61.5k
9 votes

Can you throw back a bomb thrown by an alchemist with Snatch Arrows?

Yes The "ranged weapon" denomination in Deflect Arrows covers thrown weapons (that's not clear but considering that Snatch Arrow have a special section for thrown weapons it seems intended). It's not ...
Anne Aunyme's user avatar
  • 21.2k
9 votes

How do the formulas for alchemical items from the basic crafting book interact with the alchemical formulas from the Alchemist class?

They Don't The basic crafting book was updated in a later printing to no longer grant alchemical formulas. Is an Alchemist's Formula Book Specific? Many alchemist class abilities reference 'your ...
brandon's user avatar
  • 14.7k
9 votes

How can I effectively deal with an incorporeal enemy as an alchemist? Are alchemist's bombs considered magical?

Bombs are not magical, but you do not really need that If you do not have a Ghost Charge or other special bomb, the incorporeal creature indeed has double resistance. If you play the Wraith apocalypse ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.3k
8 votes

Closest non-Homebrew class to Potions Master / Salve-Maker?

Artificer is an official class as of 2019. With the release of Eberron: Rising from the Last War, Artificer was canonized as a complete class available to players. In terms of mechanics and concept, ...
MikeQ's user avatar
  • 31.5k
8 votes
Accepted

Would an Alchemist Artificer apply their Alchemist Savant feature once or twice in a given scenario?

Alchemical Savant applies once per eligible spell Each time you cast a spell that satisfies the requirements of Alchemical Savant, you get to add the damage bonus. In your example, the transmuted ...
Ryan C. Thompson's user avatar
8 votes

Alchemist's Fire and Burn it! Critical damage

Splash damage doesn't crit; increasing it doesn't change this Gaining a bonus to splash damage does not change the basic rules for it; the bonus is an increase to the splash damage, so it doesn't ...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 43.2k
7 votes

Does the UA starter spell Healing Elixir use up the Alchemist's supplies listed as components?

The supplies are not consumed Components are only consumed when it expressly says so: Material (M) If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must ...
daze413's user avatar
  • 28.6k
7 votes
Accepted

Can an Alchemist permanently have a potion buff?

Yes Eternal elixir lets you take an [infused] [elixir] alchemical item, and make the duration indefinite. Improbable Elixir says you can Craft a number of potions as alchemical items with the [elixir]...
Delioth's user avatar
  • 3,319
7 votes
Accepted

Can I surprise enemies with bottled oozes?

The rules are simply not going to answer all of your questions here, unfortunately. Some things you will have to ask your GM to rule on for your own game. You can avoid a lot of headaches, though, and ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 352k
7 votes
Accepted

Can alchemists prepare alchemical items without reading their formula book?

In general - crafting requires a formula, but not a formula book Let's start more generally than the alchemist. Crafting an item requires that you have the item's formula (Core Rulebook, pg. 244): ...
indigochild's user avatar
  • 19.1k
7 votes
Accepted

What is the point of Bestial Mutagen?

The unarmed attacks of Bestial Mutagen are 'your attacks' (as opposed to Battle Forms); they can be modified by character abilities and, most notably, Handwraps of Mighty Blows (specifically the ...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 43.2k
7 votes
Accepted

PF2: Can alchemist poison his bombs?

Bombs can be Poisoned The rules for Injury poisons under Method of Exposure of alchemical poisons covers this: Injury: An injury poison is activated by applying it to a weapon or ammunition, and it ...
brandon's user avatar
  • 14.7k
6 votes

Alchemist's Bombs and Vital Strike: What is "bonus damage?"

The bonus damage are the dice added every odd Alchemist level. The bomb has base weapon damage, the 1d6, adding Int to the roll as additional damage. Class level adds bonus dice, much like sneak-...
Chemus's user avatar
  • 12k
6 votes
Accepted

Does the Alchemist feat apply to the UA Artificer healing draught?

The Alchemist feat does not apply the Artificer's healing draught. The Alchemist feats says: Over the course of any short rest, you can temporarily improve the potency of one potion of healing... ...
Purple Monkey's user avatar
6 votes
Accepted

Are there issues with a tiny alchemist having a tiny tumor familiar?

The familiar is a tumor while inside your body, not a creature . So, unlike equipment, which are carryed or wielded, the creature is part of your character as much as your arms and legs. Which means ...
ShadowKras's user avatar
  • 61.5k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible