25 votes
Accepted

Can you use Alchemist Supplies to make infinite money?

The game provides no (as written) opportunity to create platinum It's worth noting that the rule quoted isn't actually part of the alchemist supplies; the tools have very meagre rules in the PHB, but ...
Someone_Evil's user avatar
  • 48.4k
20 votes
Accepted

What is a metal, for the purpose of a Forge cleric's Artisan's Blessing ability?

Use common meaning for metal E.g. a common definition: a solid material that is typically hard, shiny, malleable, fusible, and ductile, with good electrical and thermal conductivity (e.g., iron, ...
GcL's user avatar
  • 34.3k
20 votes
Accepted

Can bombs gain weapon runes?

No Runes must be etched onto permanent items, such as armor, weapons, or runestones to grant their benefit. Bombs, while weapons, are not permanent items. They are consumables. See Table 6–4: ...
Linus's user avatar
  • 1,236
17 votes

Is there a reason a Forge Cleric couldn't use Artisan's Blessing to convert metal into currency for profit?

You can convert mundane objects into something more valuable at resale You've discovered the primary issue in selling treasure that the PHB covers on page 144: As a general rule, undamaged weapons, ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
14 votes

Can you use Alchemist Supplies to make infinite money?

You're not understanding the sentence construction. Alchemical Crafting. You can use this tool proficiency to create alchemical items. A character can spend money to collect raw materials, which ...
user2754's user avatar
  • 30.2k
13 votes
Accepted

Is there a reason a Forge Cleric couldn't use Artisan's Blessing to convert metal into currency for profit?

Yes, there is a reason you can't do this you must lay out metal, …, with a value equal to the creation A new sword is worth 15gp (7.5gp used) and weighs 3 lbs - most of which is steel. That is the ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 211k
11 votes

What damage type is a sneak attack with a star candle firework?

The Sneak Attack ability says that: With a weapon that deals nonlethal damage (like a sap, whip, or an unarmed strike), a rogue can make a sneak attack that deals nonlethal damage instead of lethal ...
minnmass's user avatar
  • 18.5k
11 votes
Accepted

Potion Miscibility: does the DM choose the permanent effect?

It's the dungeon master who decides the permanent effect. The Dungeon Master's Guide is instructions to dungeon masters. The introduction to the DMG says: It’s good to be the Dungeon Master! Not only ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 32.1k
10 votes
Accepted

What can I make with Alchemist's Supplies?

Acid, alchemist’s fire, antitoxin, oil, perfume, or soap. We see in Xanathar's Guide to Everything under "Alchemist's Supplies" in the Tool Descriptions section (p. 79): Alchemical Crafting....
Thomas Markov's user avatar
8 votes
Accepted

Potion Miscibility: growth and fire breath

Either effect is going to have repercussions. Exact balance can be hard to determine The two effects can be reduced to damage per round, but that's really not going to tell you much about how it's ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 32.1k
7 votes
Accepted

Can alchemists prepare alchemical items without reading their formula book?

In general - crafting requires a formula, but not a formula book Let's start more generally than the alchemist. Crafting an item requires that you have the item's formula (Core Rulebook, pg. 244): ...
indigochild's user avatar
  • 19.1k
7 votes

What damage type is a sneak attack with a star candle firework?

The rules for the star candle are deficient; there is no such thing as “nonlethal” damage. Nonlethal is an optional modifier on your damage, but damage still needs a type. Is this nonlethal piercing ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 352k
6 votes
Accepted

Do you need to learn recipes first to use Craft (Alchemy)?

By default, a craftsman can use the skill Craft to create any and all alchemical items if he meets the requirements for crafting alchemical items. (Usually, all a craftsman needs to be able to craft ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
6 votes
Accepted

What would happen if I attached Alchemists Fire to an Arrow? Could I Assassinate with it?

Yes, you get assassinate and sneak attack. No, the critical would not apply to the fire damage. Let us assume the DM allows you to craft this contraption, possibly giving it a -2 to hit or something ...
Zac Francis's user avatar
6 votes

How can one qualify for the Imperishable Body ability?

The list of Enlightened Knowledge Abilities on the wiki is not complete. Among the missing abilities are the Wei Tan abilities Craft Alchemical Admixture, Excellent Alchemy, and Poison Use, and the ...
DuckTapeAl's user avatar
  • 48.6k
5 votes

Crafting: Price vs Cost

Crafting Costs Price vs. Cost First, a word on price and cost, and how I'll be using the two terms, as they are very different from each other. You are effectively correct, so this is just me ...
Brandon Olson's user avatar
5 votes
Accepted

Are alchemist's tools required for Infused Reagents & Advanced Alchemy?

No tools are needed for Infused Reagents Infused Reagents provides you some ingredients which you can automatically use to create alchemical items. It does not directly provide any alchemical items. ...
indigochild's user avatar
  • 19.1k
4 votes

Can you use Alchemist Supplies to make infinite money?

This does not work — and if it would, might cause other problems To add to Someone_evils answer, the full optional rule for Alchemical Crafting with Alchemist Supplies from Xanathar's Guide to ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
4 votes

Potion Miscibility: growth and fire breath

Strike a Balance If either of the options seems too powerful for you, negotiate down. Try to find a fun balance that works for both you and the player. For example, the fire breath becomes permanent. ...
Xavon_Wrentaile's user avatar
4 votes

Potion Miscibility: growth and fire breath

Be careful with permanent added powers I agree that the players should get the full win here. A chance of 1 in 100 means taking considerable risk or expense to make the effect happen, and you're right ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
4 votes

What is a metal, for the purpose of a Forge cleric's Artisan's Blessing ability?

Traditionally, this is a matter of interpretation for the DM. D&D 5e lead designer Jeremy Crawford has often stated that words not defined in the game rules should be interpreted to use the ...
Quadratic Wizard's user avatar
4 votes
Accepted

Crafting: Price vs Cost

Yes, Price is different than Cost. Cost is 1/3 price for non-magic stuff, and 1/2 Price for magic, unless specified to be different. Selling price is also generally 1/2 so you make money by crafting ...
Please stop being evil's user avatar
4 votes

Can an alchemist create magic items using its formula?

Alchemist have no Caster Level, and cannot take Craft (magic item) Feats, at all. Based on this FAQ, you cannot even select magic item creation feats, let alone use your Extracts to qualify as the ...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 43.2k
4 votes

Is there a reason a Forge Cleric couldn't use Artisan's Blessing to convert metal into currency for profit?

Not in Adventurer's League. In Adventurer's League play, rather than looting items, you gain your gold rewards through Reward Checkpoints that you earn through play. As a result, any other item cannot ...
nick012000's user avatar
  • 13.9k
3 votes

Is there a reason a Forge Cleric couldn't use Artisan's Blessing to convert metal into currency for profit?

Artisan's Blessing can make coins (but not at a profit) From the rules, I count four criteria an object must meet to be created by Artisan's Blessing. It must be: A simple item. Non-magical. Made ...
Blinky's user avatar
  • 391
3 votes
Accepted

Do non-Medium creatures use differently-sized splash weapons?

They do not scale in cost, weight, damage or size. Rationale: None of the "Special Substances And Items" (from http://www.d20srd.org/srd/equipment/goodsAndServices.htm) have a size markup on them. ...
joedragons's user avatar
  • 2,964
3 votes
Accepted

Questions about Alchemy

Reasonably quick answers. Yes. Any magical spell that requires physical contact is assumed to work through clothing or armor. This is drawn from the description of how a Touch spell works on p281 of ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.6k
3 votes
Accepted

Do alchemy-created alloys confer bonuses to weapons?

In my games, whenever someone wanted Matter based weapons I usually go with the path of artifacts, as described in the storyteller's companion book (chapter 4). Creating an artifact that gives some ...
Random's user avatar
  • 1,842
2 votes

What is the price of an empty alchemical capsule?

Probably 1gp just as a common vial. There is no mention on the capsule as a distinct item, so it is up to the DM. This said, we can speculate on two hypothesis: The empty capsule is part of the ...
Mindwin Remember Monica's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible