22

Immediately after finishing a long rest. This language is clarified in the Sage Advice Compendium concerning preparing spells. The Wizard's spellcasting feature says: You can change your list of prepared spells when you finish a long rest. The SAC goes on to clarify what this means: Can spellcasters prepare spells not all at once, but prepare spells at ...


22

No, this won't work All of the infusions that apply to weapons have the restriction: Item: A simple or martial weapon... A part of a sword isn't a sword and therefore isn't a viable item to have a weapon infusion placed on it.


19

You can have both a Homunculus Servant and a Steel Defender. There's nothing that prevents an artificer with the Steel Defender feature to also choose the Homunculus Servant as one of their infusion known and make use of it.     The only mechanic you have "against" you is: you only get one bonus action on each of your turns; therefore you can only ...


17

Only one infusion per object The rules in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (where the Artificer is introduced) say on page 13 (emphasis mine): You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. It also goes on to say what happens if you ...


16

Yes, it counts. The number of infused items available to the artificer at one time is always equal to half the number of infusions the artificer knows. For 2nd through 5th level, the artificer knows 4 infusions, but can only infuse two magical items. This is easily seen on the “Infusions Known” and “Infused Items” column of the Artificer class table. The ...


15

Touch and Self are entirely separate ranges for spells The section on "Range" states: [...] Most spells have ranges expressed in feet. Some spells can target only a creature (including you) that you touch. Other spells, such as the shield spell, affect only you. These spells have a range of self. [...] The ranges are entirely separate, and though ...


11

Yes, this works. There is nothing in the feature description that says otherwise, so you may do this. The Replicate Magic Item feature reads (E:RftLW, pg. 63): You can learn this infusion multiple times; each time you do so, choose a magic item that you can make with it, picking from the Replicable Items tables below. Each time you learn the infusion, you ...


11

The Artificer class table lists the limit on the number of infused items you can have at any given time. The rules for infusions in the description of the artificer's Infuse Item feature state (TCoE, p. 12-13; ERftLW, p. 57; WGtE, p. 79): You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the ...


11

Yes Enhanced defense requires: A suit of armor or a shield, and says A creature gains a +1 bonus to Armor Class while wearing (armor) or wielding (shield) the infused item. The bonus increases to +2 when you reach 10th level in this class. Repulsion Shield requires: A shield and an attunement slot, and says: A creature gains a +1 bonus to Armor Class ...


10

A 9th level Armorer can have 3 infused items plus 2 additional infusions on their Arcane Armor, for a total of 5 infused items. Consulting the Artificer class feature table, we see that a 9th level Artificer can have up to 3 items bearing infusions: Level Proficiency Bonus CLASS Features Infusions Known Infused Items 9th +4 Artificer Specialist Feature 6 3 ...


9

RAW, you can do this, but it’s definitely an oversight. You have correctly observed: spellwrought tattoos are very similar to spell scrolls. Replicate Magic Item says: Alternatively, you can choose the magic item from among the common magic items in the game, not including potions or scrolls. You cannot replicate spell scrolls using the feature, and since ...


9

Your allies have to manually attune to any new items you create. When an infusion ends, the item is no longer magical, even if you immediately re-infuse that item with a new infusion. Any attunement to it ends when that happens, and anyone other than yourself will have to take the time to re-attune to the updated item. You are correct that there is no method ...


9

It's viable under RAW ... ... as discussed in this Q&A. Beyond that, any ruling on how to avoid the attack falls into a host of situationally dependent details. It's difficult to arrive at a general answer that fits all situations. Turn order can influence the success of this tactic One significant issue will be the initiative score of the two ...


7

As the text says, you take those actions at the moment the long rest ends, not at some future point after the end of the long rest. Effects that happen "when you finish a long rest" generally are either things that just automatically happen when you are rested and fresh, such as recovering spell slots, or are abstracting out specific activities ...


7

We can definitely make gauntlets having both properties. The 9th level Armorer Artificer feature Armor Modifications states: You learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your Arcane Armor. That armor now counts as separate items for the purposes of your Infuse Items feature: armor (the chest piece), boots, helmet, and the armor’s ...


7

First, I agree with your interpretation: You can't infuse magic armor, whether it's your Arcane Armor or not. However, since it says the chestpiece counts as the "armor" part for the purpose of infusion, I would rule that you can't infuse the chestpiece, but you can infuse the gauntlets, boots, etc. Naturally, if you ever donned a new suit of armor ...


6

A mundane weapon can be Infused and then bonded into a pact weapon The Artificer's Infuse Item feature states: At 2nd level, you gain the ability to imbue mundane items with certain magical infusions. The magic items you create with this feature are effectively prototypes of permanent items. [...] Notably, you can only imbue mundane items and they become ...


6

You can apply infusions to the weapons of your Arcane Armor after you obtain that feature. For reference, the relevant excerpts, emphasis mine. Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't holding anything in it, and it deals 1d8 thunder damage on a hit. A creature hit by the gauntlet has disadvantage on attack rolls ...


5

It should work... Here's why: Thunder Gauntlets. Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't holding anything in it, and it deals 1d8 thunder damage on a hit. A creature hit by the gauntlet has disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you until the start of your next turn, as the armor magically emits a ...


5

No, the Steel Defender does not benefit from these bonuses. All-Purpose Tool states: While holding this tool, you gain a bonus to the spell attack rolls and the saving throw DCs of your artificer spells The All-Purpose Tool only increase your spell attack modifier when you are casting an artificer spell. Enhanced Arcane Focus Infusion states: While ...


5

Breastplate is fully compatible I don't know whether everyone will agree with my reasoning, but I believe the Arcane Propulsion Armor infusion explicitly guarantees that gauntlets are provided. Here is the relevant text: The wearer of this armor gains these benefits: [...] The armor includes gauntlets My interpretation is that entirely explicitly, Arcane ...


5

Bonus actions are not actions This can be concluded through the following two examples: The Fighter's Action Surge feature states: [...] On your turn, you can take one additional action. [...] Meanwhile, the Sage Advice Compendium clarifies what this means: Q. Does the fighter’s Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an ...


5

A bonus action is an action “the only action it takes on its turn” includes bonus actions because bonus actions are actions: Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action. You must take a bonus action on your turn to command the homunculus “to take another (bonus) action”.


4

Immediately after a long rest According to Merriam-Webster, the definition of "whenever" is: at any or every time that So when the text reads "Whenever you finish a long rest", it means "Every time that you finish a long rest". Basically, at the end of a long rest, the Artificer can infuse an item.


4

It's up to the DM to use common sense. "Use common sense" is exactly the guidance given in the Dungeon Master's Guide (p. 141), under "Multiple Items of the Same Kind": Use common sense to determine whether more than one of a given kind of magic item can be worn. A character can’t normally wear more than one pair of footwear, one pair of ...


4

Yes. The College of Creation Bard's Performance of Creation ability states that they can create a non-magical item that lasts for a number of hours equal to their proficiency bonus; that is, it will last for between 2 and 6 hours, depending on the level of the Bard. The Artificer's Infuse Item ability states the following: Whenever you finish a long rest, ...


3

They probably shouldn't "stack" For the record, the text of the two abilities in question is reproduced here. Guardian Armor comes with Thunder Gauntlets: Thunder Gauntlets. Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't holding anything in it, and it deals ld8 thunder damage on a hit. A creature hit by the gauntlet ...


3

The crystal Arcane Focus is a special item, but your DM may allow this. The rules for arcane focuses state: An arcane focus is a special item — an orb, a crystal, a rod, a specially constructed staff, a wand-like length of wood, or some similar item — designed to channel the power of arcane spells. Not just any old crystal will work. You need a crystal ...


2

Allowing self spells to be considered touch spells would be unbalancing. Spell casters are already very versatile and powerful characters. The downside is often the risk of exposure to melee combat. Increasing the versatility of the self range spells and decreasing the risk to the caster would allow the character to outshine others. Improves the uses of ...


1

The all-purpose tool definitely doesn't work. Since the tool only grants a bonus to the spell attack rolls "of your artificer spells", and your Steel Defender's melee attack is not an artificer spell, it definitely doesn't apply. The Enhanced Arcane Focus infusion might work. Since the enhanced focus infusion says "while holding this item, a ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible