43

This Isn't a New Problem... The Acid does a number of damage to the objects following what the rules say. This damage is no different from a weapon damage, game wise. This question is the same as asking "My barbarian smashes everything". In that regard, this might be a duplicate, except this is playtest material instead of a core class. Acid in DnD isn't ...


42

Tomb Dwarves. The hook trivializes many of the traps, yes. The party is not alone in the tomb. Withers can scry the party's movements, direct tomb dwarves and communicate with other legendary monsters, and is not above playing unfair. Yes, your grappler can get the party, one by one, past many of the traps. And there's a moment there where the party's ...


40

Your player won't perfectly negate these threats Yes, your player's PC has an ability that could perfectly negate these traps. However, your player doesn't have perfect knowledge of these traps and can't strategise the way you just did. They don't have the necessary knowledge to fit their grappling hook solution perfectly through the puzzle of these threats....


35

Ask yourself: "why does not every person I know (in real life) carry lots of acid? It seems so handy!" Your answers to that, which may include: acid doesn't actually melt everything*; acid that melts things can be very hard to control in application; acid that melts things is hard to store, transport, and handle; acid can take much longer to deal with ...


31

Artisan Tools function more-or-less the same for Artificers as they do for other classes; with a few perks Any character with proficiency in Artisan's Tools is able to use those tools to craft items, magical or non-magical. The non-magical rules are introduced in the Players's Handbook, expanded upon to include magical items in the Dungeon Master's Guide, ...


28

Yes, but it has almost-nothing to do with the bonus feats. The bonus feats that the artificer gets are mostly fixed, and mostly don’t really combine—they just allow you to make a variety of items. They don’t really build on one another, as few items require more than one of them, so you are always using one at a time. That many bonus feats is certainly good,...


28

Yes, artificers can be counterspelled Although the "flavoring" is different, artificers' spells have the same kinds of components that other spellcasters do. In essence, rather than drawing on some innate magic or some eldritch power, or manipulating the Weave through studied techniques or through music, artificers instead cast spells by infusing magic into ...


26

The Good If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead. (PHB 125). That would imply that you could pick the proficiency as artificer, swap out the racial copy to something else, and thus get Tinker's Tools as a 'class proficiency'. The Bad ...


25

No. A firearm isn't a crossbow. Feats, like all character features, only do what they say they do. So as written, Crossbow Expert only allows you to ignore the loading feature of crossbows, not any other missile weapons. Furthermore, of the firearms detailed in the DMG (pp. 267-268) and the Artificer UA playtest material, only two (the Renaissance pistol ...


21

No, a wizard cannot cast a bard spell, even if it is on an arcane scroll that he copies into his spellbook. The first sentence of the Wizard class ability entry for "Spells" is: A wizard casts arcane spells which are drawn from the sorcerer/wizard spell list. If the spell isn't on the list or a unique spell you've researched and gained DM permission for, ...


20

The ability is broken up into two parts: Creating the Draught through the ability (Action) Drinking as a potion, as normal (Action) The rules for drinking potions are previously established and well-understood as an Action to consume/apply. Normally, retrieving a stowed object can be done as a free interaction. Since you don't actually have to already ...


20

First, I don't think it's really that big a deal. Compare this ability to an innate or easily-activated fly (or in some cases, climb) power plus a rope, or a simple rope with a grappling hook. If the players could get through the trap with relative ease by means of getting a rope from here to there, then this ability isn't really a big deal. Climbing a rope ...


18

From my experience, one of the most useful tools for an artificer is a Dedicated Wright (ECS p. 285). Get one of these and carry it around in a cart, or later a portable hole or something, and it can build stuff for you as you adventure. The Exceptional Artisan feat cuts the time by 25%, but personally, I'm not a fan of it, as the Wright covers most of the ...


18

You could take the UA Wonder Maker feat Since you are already using Unearthed Arcana content, you could try taking the Wonder Maker rock gnome racial feat from Unearthed Arcana: Feats for Races. Among other benefits, this feat includes: When you make a check using your proficiency with tinker’s tools, you add double your proficiency bonus to the check. ...


18

A player is handing you a campaign-spanning objective loaded with adventure seeds This seems like more of an opportunity than a problem. The player needs to: Find out what the clouds actually are Why they are there How they can be stopped Gather the required materials Overcome the people who don’t want home to succeed because reasons Succeed Find out the ...


17

Nope. An ally is "a companion of the power's user." [Rules Compendium, 106] Powers that can affect the caster too usually bear a "You or an ally" target line.


15

You cannot use the wand more than once per turn with these two features Using a wand is a special action defined by the wand's description. The prototype wand says: As an action, you can cause the magic wand to produce the cantrip [...] You cannot produce a cantrip from a wand with the Attack action. When you take the Attack action, Arcane Armament ...


15

Repeating Shot causes the crossbow to ignore the Loading property. Therefore, so can we. The Ammunition property states that you need a free hand to load a single-handed weapon, but Repeating Shot makes clear that deciding to "manually load it" is optional. Thus, if you decide not to manually load it, there is nothing in the Ammunition property that would ...


14

No, this would not work. Assuming that this is referencing the Artificer UA Additional barrels will not affect the game mechanics of the thunder cannon. No where in the description of the thunder cannon is the number of barrels a factor nor is it specified. The description of Thunder Cannon: At 1st level, you forge a deadly firearm using a combination ...


14

Generally speaking, no, because the feature says: it can look however you like, as long as its form is appropriate for its statistics And whenever you feel the need to change statistics (or attacks) to fit the form, that's a clear sign you picked something that isn't appropriate for the chosen statistics.


14

In terms of the Balance of the class, I'd say you don't have a ton to worry about. Artificers only gain access to spells up to spell-level 4, and even then they only gain access to those spells around level 19 anyways, so regardless of which lists they can pull spells from, they're not going to get tremendously powerful magicks irrespective of their level. ...


14

Nope It depends on the wand, but usually, it is not an Attack action. For instance, the Wand of Magic Missiles requires you to "use an action", not "take an Attack action": This wand has 7 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the magic missile spell from it. Even if the wand's spell requires you to ...


14

These features should be compatible, though there is some awkward wording The first important thing to note is that the Enhanced Wand infusion doesn't require you to actually use the wand to do anything, it requires only that you are holding the wand when you cast a spell: While holding this wand, a creature gains a +1 bonus to spell attack rolls. It's ...


12

Strictly as written, your read of its abilities is correct. The line about distance doesn't apply if two pairs of pouches are very far apart from each other. With the distance clause, though we can make some well-educated guesses about the intended mechanics of the pouch: The likely intention is that pouches must be near to other pouches (1), but can be ...


11

Ok, I found a negative by RAW. From the Eberron Campaign Setting Errata: "Magic items created by an artificer are considered neither arcane nor divine". Since scrolls are magic items, they won't be arcane scrolls, so a Wizard won't be able to add one to his spellbook.


11

You're better off having him choose a different creature As GM it's always at your discretion that you can houserule such things, but generally it's a no. As your quote states, you take the stats as they are written. There's also a small issue with your example of the creature your player likely desired. A Giant Elk is Huge, that's one whole size above ...


11

This subclass is extremely weak, and in need of further Iterating The biggest issue I see right now is that the War Body, which the entire archetype seems to be built around, does not appear to scale with level. It start with 11 hitpoints, 22 if you assume all damage will be resisted (and that's not a safe assumption), and never gains significant durability ...


11

They are not attacks or spells, so you stay invisible. We have a question that discusses what counts as an attack. In short, something is an attack if it is called an attack or you make an attack roll with it. These special options granted to the Artificer meet neither of these requirements, so the actions are not attacks. Contrast this to the standard use ...


11

Unless the particular construct is described as not needing air - it needs air In the Monster Manual p.6 it says: Certain spells, magic items, class features, and other effects in the game interact in special ways with creatures of a particular type. However, that is a feature of the particular "spells, magic items, class features, and other effects"...


11

(5 * level) + INT mod Because no parentheses or other mathematical indicators are given in the Hit Points section of the Homunculus stat block, Hit Points equal to five times your level in this class + your Intelligence modifier directly translates to "HP = 5 * [your level in this class] + [your Intelligence modifier]", which in turn means "HP = (5 * [...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible