Skip to main content
46 votes
Accepted

How do I prevent a homebrew Grappling Hook feature from trivializing Tomb of Annihilation?

Your player won't perfectly negate these threats Yes, your player's PC has an ability that could perfectly negate these traps. However, your player doesn't have perfect knowledge of these traps and ...
SevenSidedDie's user avatar
46 votes

How do I prevent a homebrew Grappling Hook feature from trivializing Tomb of Annihilation?

Tomb Dwarves. The hook trivializes many of the traps, yes. The party is not alone in the tomb. Withers can scry the party's movements, direct tomb dwarves and communicate with other legendary monsters,...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k
45 votes

Artificer melting everything with acid!

This Isn't a New Problem... The Acid does a number of damage to the objects following what the rules say. This damage is no different from a weapon damage, game wise. This question is the same as ...
J. A. Streich's user avatar
36 votes

Artificer melting everything with acid!

Ask yourself: "why does not every person I know (in real life) carry lots of acid? It seems so handy!" Your answers to that, which may include: acid doesn't actually melt everything*; acid that ...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k
36 votes

What happens to a net with the Returning Weapon artificer infusion after it hits?

The rules simply don’t cover this case; it is entirely up to the DM to decide what happens. Four possibilities spring to my mind: The net returns, without the target, making the endeavor pointless. ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
35 votes

How can I give my Iron Man Artificer build sustained flight without wings?

Your Artificer can fly without (large) wings at level 10 I don't know of any way for an artificer to gain sustained flight without any wings at all, but if you're willing to accept some small wings on ...
Ryan C. Thompson's user avatar
33 votes
Accepted

How creative should the DM let an artificer be in terms of what they can build?

Artisan Tools function more-or-less the same for Artificers as they do for other classes; with a few perks Any character with proficiency in Artisan's Tools is able to use those tools to craft items, ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.7k
33 votes
Accepted

Can I use Flash of Genius on an initiative roll?

You can take reactions outside of combat. As evidence of being able to take a reaction in response to a relevant trigger outside of combat, consider the spell feather fall: Choose up to five falling ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
33 votes
Accepted

One of my players placed their eldritch cannon inside the mouth of an enemy. How should I handle the attack?

If there were actually unusual circumstances that let your player do that with his cannon, then the unusual circumstances should also be granting attack bonuses. For example, if a creature is "...
Dan B's user avatar
  • 90.2k
29 votes
Accepted

Does a Hand Crossbow with the Repeating Shot Infusion still require a Free Hand to use?

Repeating Shot causes the crossbow to ignore the Loading property. Therefore, so can we. The Ammunition property states that you need a free hand to load a single-handed weapon, but Repeating Shot ...
Ben Barden's user avatar
  • 25.6k
29 votes
Accepted

Does an Arcane Armor replace the legs of the Centaur?

There's nothing to say a centaur's armor does not cover the horse part of the body, so presumably any armor the centaur wears effectively covers the body however it needs to in order to accomplish the ...
Ingleheimer's user avatar
28 votes
Accepted

Is the artificer gamebreaking?

Yes, but it has almost-nothing to do with the bonus feats. The bonus feats that the artificer gets are mostly fixed, and mostly don’t really combine—they just allow you to make a variety of items. ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
28 votes

Is there a way for a Rock Gnome Artificer to have double proficiency with Tinker's Tools?

The Good If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead. (PHB 125). That would imply ...
ThanosMaravel's user avatar
28 votes

Is it possible to counterspell the revised Artificer?

Yes, artificers can be counterspelled Although the "flavoring" is different, artificers' spells have the same kinds of components that other spellcasters do. In essence, rather than drawing ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 50k
28 votes
Accepted

How does multiclassing work for an artificer?

Eberron: Rising from the Last War has rules for multiclassing as an artificer on page 54: Optional Rule: Multiclassing If your group uses the optional rule on multiclassing in the Player’s Handbook, ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
27 votes
Accepted

Does Dispel Magic destroy Artificer Turrets?

No, dispel magic will not remove the turrets Arcane Turret says: At 3rd level you learn how to create a magical turret. With your smith's tools in hand you can take an action to magically summon a ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
27 votes
Accepted

When did Artificers make their first appearance in D&D, and how do they differ between editions?

1996—AD&D 2e, but it wasn’t a separate class As another answer of mine discusses, the 1996 Player’s Option: Spells & Magic for AD&D 2e introduced “artificer” as a “kit” (kind of like 5e’s ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 353k
25 votes

Does Crossbow Expert apply to firearms?

No. A firearm isn't a crossbow. Feats, like all character features, only do what they say they do. So as written, Crossbow Expert only allows you to ignore the loading feature of crossbows, not any ...
Marq's user avatar
  • 27.4k
25 votes

Can Arcane Armor replace a missing eye?

An eye is not a limb. “Limb” is not a special game term in the rules. So, we understand it according to its usual English definition. Since we aren’t talking about tree branches, we must be talking ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
24 votes
Accepted

When can an artificer use the Infuse Item feature to imbue an item with an artificer infusion?

Immediately after finishing a long rest. This language is clarified in the Sage Advice Compendium concerning preparing spells. The Wizard's spellcasting feature says: You can change your list of ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
23 votes

Can I combine two parts of a sword, each with a separate infusion?

No, this won't work All of the infusions that apply to weapons have the restriction: Item: A simple or martial weapon... A part of a sword isn't a sword and therefore isn't a viable item to have a ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 12.8k
22 votes
Accepted

Does the item you apply the Replicate Magic item infusion change its shape to fit the magic item you chose?

To infuse an item, you need the nonmagical version of that item. The artificer's Infuse Item feature states (TCoE p. 12, E:RftLW p. 57, WGtE p. 179; emphasis mine): At 2nd level, you gain the ability ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 50k
22 votes
Accepted

Is the unofficial Arcane Puppeteer subclass balanced in relation to official subclasses?

It is unbelievably broken, will be a nightmare to DM, and will almost certainly create unnecessary conflict with the other players at your table. Let's start by examining the worst offender in the ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
21 votes

How do I prevent a homebrew Grappling Hook feature from trivializing Tomb of Annihilation?

First, I don't think it's really that big a deal. Compare this ability to an innate or easily-activated fly (or in some cases, climb) power plus a rope, or a simple rope with a grappling hook. If the ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
21 votes

Does a Hand Crossbow with the Repeating Shot Infusion still require a Free Hand to use?

Happily, this was directly addressed at about 15:00 in the 6/05/2019 Dragon+ Q&A with Jeremy Crawford. Jeremy Crawford: It says you need to have a free hand to reload a one-handed weapon. Well,...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
21 votes

Can the 2019 UA Artificer's Returning Weapon and Radiant Weapon infusions stack on the same weapon?

No, they don't. You can infuse only nonmagical items and an infusion turns an item magical. From page 5 of the Artificer Returns document: Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a ...
ZwiQ's user avatar
  • 22.2k
21 votes
Accepted

When does an Artillerist's Cannon have disadvantage?

The Artificer makes the attack. The Eldritch Cannon states: If it is forced to make an ability check or a saving throw, treat all its ability scores as 10 (+0). [...] Flamethrower. The cannon exhales ...
Ruse's user avatar
  • 18.2k
21 votes

Is the Artificer friendly to new players?

Not really. The Artificer is one of the most complex classes available. They have two features in particular that have an exceptionally large list of options. Infuse Item: At 2nd level, you gain the ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
21 votes
Accepted

Can a fighter learn to use firearms despite them only recently being invented by another member of the party

This is entirely up to your DM. You answered your question when you wrote: Understandably, however my DM has ruled them to be "Too New" and that I will have to train with our fighter for ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible