33 votes
Accepted

One of my players placed their eldritch cannon inside the mouth of an enemy. How should I handle the attack?

If there were actually unusual circumstances that let your player do that with his cannon, then the unusual circumstances should also be granting attack bonuses. For example, if a creature is "...
  • 80.5k
25 votes

Can Arcane Armor replace a missing eye?

An eye is not a limb. “Limb” is not a special game term in the rules. So, we understand it according to its usual English definition. Since we aren’t talking about tree branches, we must be talking ...
21 votes
Accepted

Can a fighter learn to use firearms despite them only recently being invented by another member of the party

This is entirely up to your DM. You answered your question when you wrote: Understandably, however my DM has ruled them to be "Too New" and that I will have to train with our fighter for ...
18 votes
Accepted

When does an artficer regain spell slots?

The first link you provided is a homebrew (non-official) class named artificer. The official artificer (published in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything and Eberron: Rising from the Last War) regains their ...
  • 5,724
18 votes
Accepted

What is the point of the Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender having the Vigilant trait?

The steel defender can take reactions as normal (it doesn’t require the artificer to instruct it), so because it is not surprised, it can also use its Deflect Attack reaction to protect the (surprised)...
  • 1,979
18 votes
Accepted

What spell attack modifier does Eldritch Cannon use when multiclassing another casting class?

Use Intelligence. The rules for attack rolls state: The ability modifier used for a spell attack depends on the spellcasting ability of the spellcaster. (The corresponding section of the PHB adds, &...
17 votes

Can an Artificer, proficient in Mason's Tools, use Fabricate to reconstruct the statue of a petrified person which has been broken or shattered?

A petrified creature is still a creature, and fabricate cannot create a creature. Nothing about the Petrified condition makes the creature not a creature. For a lengthy explanation of this, see this Q&...
16 votes
Accepted

Can an artificer reset an infusion's charges by re-infusing it?

Technically, this works; if the infusion ends and then gets reapplied, then the item is a brand new item. But there's a problem: you can't "let the infusion end". There's no such animal. ...
14 votes

When firing a weapon with the artificer infusion "Returning Weapon" via catapult, does it come back to your hand after the spell's conclusion?

Catapult requires you to use an unattended item. Choose one object weighing 1 to 5 pounds within range that isn’t being worn or carried. You could drop the returning hand axe to meet this ...
  • 326k
14 votes
Accepted

What is the significance of the errata that removed the Artillerist artificer's Eldritch Cannon's immunity to conditions?

I don't think this change affected anything, since conditions only affect creatures. The intro to "Appendix A: Conditions" in the PHB/basic rules begins with this sentence (emphasis mine): ...
13 votes
Accepted

How much damage, on how many creatures can an Armorer Artificer do with Thunder Gauntlets per turn?

Let's build an answer... Artificer attacks follow the same rules as all other classes All PCs get a single attack starting at level 1. Some classes naturally give the character 2 or more attacks as ...
  • 30.2k
12 votes

As an Artillerist Artificer, can I use my eldritch cannons while under an entanglement spell?

You can still fire your cannons, but you have disadvantage on attack rolls. Entangle states: A creature in the area when you cast the spell must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by ...
11 votes
Accepted

Does the All-Purpose Tool improve the save DC of the Artillerist artificer's "Explosive Cannon" detonation ability?

Eldritch Cannon is not an artificer spell. This is pretty straightforward: the all-purpose tool increases the spell save DC for your artificer spells, and your Eldritch Cannon and all of its features ...
11 votes
Accepted

Can an Artificer cast V,S spells with no free hand

One Hand for Both S and M Components You quote part of the rules related to spellcasting: A spellcaster must have a free hand to access a spell's material components - or to hold a focus - but it can ...
11 votes

Can an Artificer cast V,S spells with no free hand

There are no V,S artificer spells As you've observed, the artificer's Spellcasting feature specifies that all artificer spells have a material component. In fact, the parenthetical explaining this was ...
10 votes

Can an Artificer, proficient in Mason's Tools, use Fabricate to reconstruct the statue of a petrified person which has been broken or shattered?

There is no consistent interpretation of the rules which allows this. There are multiple points in this process that could have different interpretations that allow or disallow specific details. ...
10 votes
Accepted

When firing a weapon with the artificer infusion "Returning Weapon" via catapult, does it come back to your hand after the spell's conclusion?

It would not return. Per the UA artificer insert1 (emphasis mine), This magic weapon grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it, and it returns to the wielder’s ...
  • 2,334
10 votes

One of my players placed their eldritch cannon inside the mouth of an enemy. How should I handle the attack?

From the PHB (p6): The DM describes the environment […] The players describe what they want to do. […] the DM listens to every player and decides how to resolve those actions. The DM narrates the ...
  • 2,144
9 votes

Can a Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender be used to hurl Magic Stones?

Yes, it can take any action (as the feature description now clearly states) E:RftLW received an errata in 2020 that updated the description of the Steel Defender feature, which now reads (emphasis ...
  • 994
9 votes
Accepted

Does using the Artificer's Repulsion Shield happen before or after taking damage from a successful hit?

Your artificer takes the damage The rules for repulsion shield reads as follow: A creature gains a +1 bonus to Armor Class while wielding this shield. The shield has 4 charges. While holding it, the ...
  • 25.1k
9 votes
Accepted

Do the “Master Scrivener” and “Magic Item Adept” features stack?

These should stack if the conditions are met The Artificer's "Magic item adept" 10th level feature contains this text: If you craft a magic item with a rarity of common or uncommon, it ...
  • 25.1k
9 votes
Accepted

Arcane Propulsion Armor — can it give the wearer limbs they never had?

No, from context. In this particular case "missing" means that you do not have something any more. This interpretation is supported by the other verb in the description (emphasis mine): If ...
  • 13.1k
8 votes

One of my players placed their eldritch cannon inside the mouth of an enemy. How should I handle the attack?

There are no hidden rules. The cannon works as normal. In general, in DnD 5e, there are no hidden rules. The rules in the book are what they say they are. If the player shoves the end of their ...
  • 12.8k
8 votes
Accepted

If my artificer imbues a staff with the Enhanced Weapon infusion, and then a druid casts the Shillelagh spell on that staff, do their effects stack?

Yes, it's legal (...if it's the Druid holding the staff or club) The description of infusing an item says: Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a non-magical object and imbue it with one of ...
  • 30.2k
7 votes

Can the Artificer: Artillerist's Arcane Cannon (tiny hand sized variation) be used with Sneak attack?

An Artillerist Cannon is not a weapon, hence it does not qualify for Sneak Attack. The rules for Sneak Attack says (emphasis mine): Beginning at 1st level, you know how to strike subtly and exploit a ...
  • 13.1k
7 votes
Accepted

Can the Artificer: Artillerist's Arcane Cannon (tiny hand sized variation) be used with Sneak attack?

No. It isn't the size of the cannon that counts... it is how you use it. The cannon has 3 types of activation and the one you are probably thinking of is Force Ballista, which says: Make a ranged ...
  • 28.4k
7 votes
Accepted

Are the separate pieces from the Armorer Artificer's "Armor Modifications" still considered "A suit of armor" for infusions?

Only the “armor (the chest piece)” counts as armor for the purpose of infusions requiring armor. The helmet is a helmet, the boots are boots, the special weapon is a simple weapon, and the chest piece ...
7 votes

Does the Artificer's Homunculus Servant infusion have any tool proficiencies?

No. The servant's proficiencies are Perception and Stealth. The Homunculus Servant has no tool proficiencies. If it did, they would be listed in the infusion description or the servant's stat block, ...
7 votes

Do constructs like Steel Defenders require sleep?

The Steel Defender need not sleep It is immune to exhaustion, it can stay up all night and party like a steel rock star. Not only that, it should make a reasonably good night sentry, since it has ...
  • 28.2k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible