The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

New answers tagged

-2

Firstly Attack action is the same of Offesive acction not Attack. Another point is related to the wand mechanics For example, the barbarian class is not able to cast magic and don't have slots. If a Barbarian use a Wand of magic detection (no attunement restriction), but when he uses a wand, it spends a charge to cast the magic. the magic is performed ...


-7

Well... Of course you can use an wand more than once. Wands are like fire guns, the difference is the attack action produce a magic attack, you trigger the weapon and the weapon fires magic. look wand have charges like guns and D&D 5e doesn't have a skill for Use Magic Device, so as long as an item doesn't have an attunement restriction, anyone can use ...


8

Reading over the infusion and the description of firearms and that they have their own proficiency, it looks like the Repeating Shot is not able to be put on the firearm. The infusion has listed for its requirements, "Item: A simple or martial weapon with the ammunition property (requires attunement)". The problem here isn't with the ammunition property, but ...


0

The Reload property of the Firearms, while included in the Gunslinger's description, refers to items (weapons) and as such you could argue it's not part of the class itself. The Artificer's infusion allows the creation of a magic item so you'd be effectively using a different item with different properties. If you find that to be unbalanced, though, you ...


11

It's unclear if there’s any official answer, but likely works based on DM discretion. UA generally isn't balanced for multiclassing, and Matt Mercer's stuff isn't canonical, so WotC wouldn't consider it when designing their own content, so there probably won't be a canonical answer for this from WotC. That said, however, it would be reasonable for it to ...


2

By default, artificers are capable of making magic items in three main ways. Certain subclasses gain additional methods for making specific magic items (e.g. the Artillerist gains the ability to make a specific variety of magic wands with their Wand Prototype class feature) detailed in their class features, but these are applicable to all Artificers: First, ...


0

The nuance between these two items is the difference between an item casting a spell and the item having a spell-like effect. The first effect you bring up is casting the Heroism spell once a day through the armor. This follows all the mechanics of Heroism, including duration and requiring concentration as per the spell description. The second effect you ...


7

It is up to the DM to decide This is a case where we have a mechanic introduced from Unearthed Arcana that does not mesh clearly with the rules. It's unclear if WotC considered the net when coming up with this, but for whatever reason, that specific interaction isn't addressed – which means it's up to the DM to decide. This is also a case where there isn't ...


2

UA Eberron Arificer states: Returning Weapon: This magic weapon grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it, and it returns to the wielder’s hand immediately after it is used to make a ranged attack So immediately after the net is used to make a ranged attack, it is returned to the owner's hands. D&D Beyond states: A Large or ...


-3

What does "returning" mean to you? The net flies back into the thrower's hand, or it disappears and reappears also in the thrower's hand? If it's the first one, you can make the guy who crafted the returning net feel like a dummy. If it's the latter, you can make him feel super smart. If you feel it's OP you could outright prohibit it, or just right up and ...


7

The net returns to the artificer and the target remains restrained until freed, RAW. There are no special conditions indicated on the returning weapon. In common with other rulings, “it does what it says it does” applies in this case. The weapon returns to the wielders hand immediately after it is used to make a ranged attack. Returning Weapon: This ...


3

Going by the UA RAW, it would appear that the net returns to the thrower regardless of a hit or miss: This magic weapon grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it, and it returns to the wielder’s hand immediately after it is used to make a ranged attack. As per the infusion's description, the ...


35

The rules simply don’t cover this case; it is entirely up to the DM to decide what happens. Four possibilities spring to my mind: The net returns, without the target, making the endeavor pointless. The returning property fails entirely, the net being pinned in place by the target. The target is dragged back to the artificer. The returning is delayed until ...


Top 50 recent answers are included