New answers tagged

0

Based on RAW, each infused pouch will work with any of the other infused pouches within 100 miles of it. Therefore, your interpretation of passing notes like that would not work as you're intending. That being said, an Artificer could specialize as an Archivist, infuse the pouches, and then at 6th level use Magical Telephony (description below) to ...


4

As written, they do not combine/stack You can definitely wield two wands, but because of the way the Wand Prototype is written, the +1 effect of an enhanced wand (or wand of the war mage) would not apply. It's possible that because it's UA they didn't vet the language enough and ended up with a weird wording, but it's also possible that they purposefully ...


0

The easiest answer completely within the rules as they are, would be to give it an object that you have used your magical tinkering on to allow the homunculus to tap it and play a prerecorded sound or message to alert people within 10 feet of it.


5

Yes, but it's not perfectly smooth Currently, as described, there are three ways to drop an infusion. You can die, and wait a few days. This will cause you to drop all of them all at once, and also requires you do die and stay dead for a few days. It's not a perfect solution. You can infuse enough items to exceed your maximum, thus causing your oldest to ...


0

No As currently written, the only rule for creating a new infusion when you already have your maximum infusions is to automatically drop the oldest, so you can't simply choose to drop any infusion. This may change if/when the Artificer becomes official in a book release as it requires additional bookkeeping to track the order of infusions, and 5E generally ...


7

Yes, effectively Alchemical Mastery (as of the 2019 v2 Artificer UA) states: When you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1). ...


5

Cure wounds is affected by Alchemical Mastery In general, bonuses stack as long as they are from sources with different names (notable exception for proficiency bonuses): Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the ...


10

Happily, this was directly addressed at about 15:00 in the 6/05/2019 Dragon+ Q&A with Jeremy Crawford. Jeremy Crawford: It says you need to have a free hand to reload a one-handed weapon. Well, it stands to reason that if you don't need to load ammunition, you don't need that free hand to load the nonexistent ammunition. So the short answer is, you ...


15

Repeating Shot causes the crossbow to ignore the Loading property. Therefore, so can we. The Ammunition property states that you need a free hand to load a single-handed weapon, but Repeating Shot makes clear that deciding to "manually load it" is optional. Thus, if you decide not to manually load it, there is nothing in the Ammunition property that would ...


4

It is up to you and your DM, but likely it would be controlled. Iron Defender (UA 11-12): By 3rd level, the tinkering in your free time has borne you a faithful companion, an iron defender. This metallic creature resembles a hound, a cougar, a bear, or another four-legged creature of your choice. It is friendly to you and your companions, and it ...


Top 50 recent answers are included