We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

New answers tagged

0

Using the Oriental Adventures rules, a 13th level small star shuriken specialist could throw six shuriken per round, just like darts, except that the shuriken do d4 damage, like daggers. A potion of speed or haste spell would double that. There are various items that could produce haste on command, so that it might seem to be constantly available: a ring of ...


0

No, but you can still hurt people The spell does not say you can make an attack, so you cannot make an attack. However you can still do things that cause damage. If you picked up a 1000 pound rock and dropped it on someone, it would hurt. If you slammed 1000 pounds of tree trunk into someone, it would hurt. It is up to the DM to decide how to resolve your ...


-2

Yes. It takes an action to exert your control on the object. As such, it is happening over only a portion of your turn since you still have bonus action and movement. Since the main argument against it is how long it takes, the fact that it is taking the same amount of time as 1 normal attack nullifies that. And since the speed of it is solved, the only ...


3

The weapon properties: Ammunition section specifically says that using ammunition (or a loaded sling) as a melee weapon makes it count as an improvised weapon. That's probably the right way to handle it any time you're using a weapon in a way that was not intended (or at least not the primary intended way). That should apply to throwing a sword, using a ...


44

You can use the rules for Improvised Weapons Sometimes characters don't have their weapons and have to attack with whatever is at hand. An improvised weapon includes any object you can wield in one or two hands, such as broken glass, a table leg, a frying pan, a wagon wheel, or a dead goblin. Often, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon ...


10

RAW, no, but a DM might allow it Rules as Written, the longsword does slashing damage, and there are no rules that suggest otherwise (i.e. no weapon property that allows a different damage type), so it cannot deal bludgeoning damage. However, if it seems reasonable to your DM, they might allow it. If I were your DM, I might allow it if your character had ...


-2

What I read is your sacrificing your reaction for that round to take an action during someone else’s turn. An action allows you to choose to attack a monster. You would not also be able to use your reaction but based on the text you can use your bonus action and standard action. Including 2 attacks. But it should always be up to what the DM thinks is fair. ...


6

Yes, because eldritch blast consists of multiple attacks. The rules on making an attack are as follows: Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or making an attack roll as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure. Choose a target. Pick a target within your attack's range: a creature, an object, or a ...


-1

Poking yourself isn't an attack Poking yourself with a needle and the effects thereof are not covered by the rules. You can make a reasonable guess about how it would work, but you will need your DM to sign off. Q1: Is poking yourself with a needle an attack? An attack is an aggressive and violent action against a target which can or will defend ...


4

You can poke yourself with a needle without attacking but it won't do hit point damage. Hit points are an abstraction designed for combat, and represent getting worn down by enemy attacks. They don't represent bodily injury as such. The average human has four hit points and yet can survive childbirth. A 10th-level fighter with 100 hit points still can't ...


2

I would say 'no' ... but there are other arguments that I would consider. First of all, I would say 'no' since I am 100% convinced that I'm able to draw blood on myself with a needle without fail every time. That seems logical but D&D is not always logical so in my opinion we need to look at this from both a logical and illogical point of view. So as a ...


8

RAW: A self-attack requires the Attack action Starting with the Other Activity on Your Turn section, we are told what sorts of activities we can take for free. I've excluded the irrelevant parts: Other Activity on Your Turn Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move. ... You can also ...


2

No, you cannot use your Move action to attack. There is no ability, even in Mythic rules, to perform an attack action by spending a move action. There is generally a hierarchy of power in actions Full Actions should be the "most powerful" and consume a Standard and Move action (usually your only Standard and Move, unless you are granted bonus actions) ...


6

Only the first target would influence the attack roll Against the first target, you either have advantage, disadvantage, or neither. You roll to hit them. The result of the roll is still one number, even if you applied advantage or disadvantage to determine that number. From "Making an Attack" (cut down for brevity): 1. Choose a target. Pick a target ...


5

The rules on Advantage and Disadvantage state: Sometimes a special ability or spell tells you that you have advantage or disadvantage on an ability check, a saving throw, or an attack roll. When that happens, you roll a second d20 when you make the roll. Use the higher of the two rolls if you have advantage, and use the lower roll if you have disadvantage....


2

Agreed with the above, advantage just means roll two dice and use the higher number, that means if they are doing a spell save roll against your magic they have a better chance of avoiding it maybe, but they don't take half damage off the bat like with resistances as that's different. If you tried to hit some one with a fireball for example they might have ...


3

You may make 3 attacks, but there seem to be other points of confusion This is more or less going to be a walkthrough of the following terms: the Attack action, Two-Weapon Fighting, the Two-Weapon Fighting Style, and finally Horde Breaker. The Attack action The "Actions in Combat" section starts off: When you take your action on your turn, you can take ...


35

Resistance and advantage are two separate mechanics Advantage has to do with rolling the dice, resistance has to do with reducing damage in half. Easy illustrative example is a Dwarf Dwarven Resilience. You have advantage on saving throws against poison, and you have resistance against poison damage (explained in chapter 9). {Basic Rules, p. 15} ...


-3

I believe that we are all forgetting something here. Mages can (potentially) fly to an infinite high (warlock and catnap) and simply use the creation spell to conjure massive rocks, which, after falling, would do huge amounts of damage (ask the dinosaurs). This would (potentially) allow us to do near-infinite amounts of damage (if we can assume crits we can ...


8

You make 3 attacks. The key here is Once on each of your turns On one of your attacks (your attack action, or your bonus attack with off-hand), you perform an additional Horde Breaker attack.


0

It seems you can use a jump as part of a move action and attack as a separate standard action in 3.0/3.5 First, let's look at the 3.5 jump skill Jump (relevant parts) If you have ranks in Jump and you succeed on a Jump check, you land on your feet (when appropriate). If you attempt a Jump check untrained, you land prone unless you beat the DC by 5 ...


1

No, this doesn't work. The reason why has nothing to do with "double advantage", like some of the answers here claim, since your proposed process involves gaining advantage, losing advantage, and then gaining it again; at no point do you actually have Advantage twice. Instead, it's because there's no time between choosing to activate Rapid Strike and the ...


-7

By RAW, all 9 attacks get advantage First, lets establish that the rules do what they say they do, and there are no secret rules. The Rules for Advantage say: If multiple situations affect a roll and each one grants advantage or imposes disadvantage on it, you don't roll more than one additional d20. If you have advantage from 2 sources, you do not ...


15

No, you either get an additional attack or advantage on the first roll If you use Fighting Spirit before taking your first Attack action, your first attack would have advantage applied from two sources. But advantage and disadvantage don't stack. That is, you can't have "double advantage." If multiple situations affect a roll and each one grants ...


-1

Only the first attack is at advantage. The description of the spell True Strike states (PHB, page 284; emphasis mine): On your next turn, you gain advantage on your first attack roll against the target, provided that this spell hasn't ended. As such, only the first attack will have advantage, and any afterwards would not. This is because attacks are ...


5

The only things it could effectively use are magic items You are correct that Life Drain is the only option in the Specter's statblock but it still has all the options that every creature has, including (but not limited to): unarmed strikes, improvised weapons, magic items, and grapple/shove. Unfortunately the Specter has a -5 Strength modifier so it will ...


4

Nothing says you cannot be mid-air when attacking. That rule simply doesn’t exist. So if you are mid-jump—i.e. mid-air—nothing says you can’t attack. So you can, provided you meet all the requirements that the rules do have for attacking (actions, armament, reach, and so on). Note that you must have some way to attack mid-movement in order to actually ...


1

There are a couple of different ones: Pathfinder 1e has the Leaping Strike, which is a 3rd party feat requiring a charge attack: You can leap to attack enemies from unexpected directions. Prerequisite: Medium size, Acrobatics 5 ranks, BAB +5. Benefit: You may make an Acrobatics check as part of a charge attack. The DC of this check is 16 if the ...


8

No Eldritch Blast is a single ranged spell attack that happens to be able to cast multiple beams at higher levels. The fact that there are multiple attack rolls does not change the fact that it is a single ranged spell attack. The spell Slow prevents the extra attack feature and limits the creature to use either an action or a bonus action but not both. The ...


2

Class Features Battle Master's Maneuvers This feature option allows an attack to damage a second creature. The attack only has one target, but its attack roll is used to determine whether the second creature takes damage. Sweeping Attack. When you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to attempt to damage another ...


5

You can accomplish seven attacks in a turn while still raging. You mention you wanted to keep the theme of a barbarian, so I took that as you had to be able to employ the attacks during a Rage if available (i.e. no spells or concentration). With that restriction, your intuition to use monk is a solid one. The best build is as follows: The Character Carlos ...


0

Arcane Armament procs off the Attack Action. The additional attack from two-weapon fighting is a bonus action. (The Dual Wielder feat does nothing for your case except let you dual-wield maces.) A bonus action and the Attack action are not interchangeable, even if the bonus action in question is an attack. It's still a bonus action, and the Attack action ...


8

The poison damage always applies This is due to two reasons: The piercing damage and the poison damage both occur on hit. They are separate, but simultaneous. The fact that one is affected by a saving throw does not change this (all this means is that the saving throw must be rolled before the total damage can be determined). So the ordering goes: a. you ...


5

Unless a Weapon Attack is Specified as Part of It, No You have it right at the end of your question. A few spells make a melee weapon attack as part of the attack (Booming Blade for example), but otherwise a melee spell attack is not a weapon attack. However, the Ability in Question is Not a Spell Attack in Any Case Abilities, even magical ones, are not ...


1

Generally speaking, a weapon attack has to be made with a weapon. Booming blade (SCAG, p. 142), I will note, does not call for a melee spell attack. It calls for a weapon attack as part of the spell.


2

People seem to agree that you can't have what you want without compromise. Either you turn your weapon to wood for shillelagh, or you actually keep a few levels warlock, or you accept a homebrew. Here's a different option for a compromise: Pretend Shocking Grasp Is a Weapon If you take 6 levels in draconic bloodline sorcerer, and your draconic color is ...


-3

One that immediately comes to mind is Eldritch Blast: The spell creates more than one beam when you reach higher levels: two beams at 5th level, three beams at 11th level, and four beams at 17th level. You can direct the beams at the same target or at different ones. Make a separate attack roll for each beam. This is one spell attack that could target ...


6

Yes this is possible, following the precedent on opportunity attacks from the Sage Advice Compendium First I will point out the similarity to the wording of the "Opportunity Attacks" section: To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. Compare this with the Whirlwind Attack feature: ...


1

Yes, but only if the familiar already qualifies for Pack Tactics Basically, since the find familiar rules treat the spell as if it was cast by the familiar, it needs to have yet another allied creature in contact with the target to gain an advantage from Pack Tactics. That said, if both you and your familiar are in contact with the target, it's beneficial ...


1

You probably cannot make attacks with two weapons and slam as well with a vampire. The rules are a little unclear what exactly constitutes a slam attack because it is the Natural Attack that is granted to creatures with no appendages. However it also seems to be the Natural Attack granted to creatures with arms but not Claws. This is supported by the ...


13

Yes There is a big difference between the Attack action and attack in dnd-5e (see What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?). The Roll20 version you quote from capitalizes attack in "it can't make more than one attack on its turn"; the Monster Manual (p.170) does not - it is referring to an attack, not the Attack action. Roll20 ...


2

Without a DM Fiat, there is no reasonable way* to salvage this character using offically published materials. In my play experience, removing a players agency to continue progressing as the class they set out with (and likely had long-term plans for) has ALWAYS been grounds for either an amicable retiring of a character or a complete respec (including ...


2

Yes, you can attack empty spaces From the rules for Making an Attack: Choose a target. Pick a target within your attack's range: a creature, an object, or a location. Attacks against empty squares automatically miss From the rules for Unseen Attackers and Targets: [When guessing the target's location] If the target isn't in the location you ...


8

Yes, but you need to make a Charisma saving throw I totally agree with jgn's answer (I mean, I even copied their title) but I feel like there's a simpler way to prove it. Forcecage states : If the creature tries to use teleportation or interplanar travel to leave the cage, it must first make a Charisma saving throw. The Horizon Walker Ranger ability ...


2

Yes (with limits), if you multiclass into an Illrigger1. You've put limits at Unearthed Arcana, but I wanted to share my experiences with a homebrew class. One of my players was in a similar situation: his character was abandoned by his patron, and he lost all his Warlock (Old One) powers after dying to a Roper. Around that time I've come to know about the ...


1

I think before asking that question you should look more at the way the Warlock works: A warlock is defined by a pact with an otherworldly being. Sometimes the relationship between warlock and patron is like that of a cleric and a deity, though the beings that serve as patrons for warlocks are not gods. A warlock might lead a cult dedicated to a demon ...


43

One niche method of doing this is the shillelagh cantrip The shillelagh spell states: The wood of a club or quarterstaff you are holding is imbued with nature's power. For the duration, you can use your spellcasting ability instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of melee attacks using that weapon, and the weapon's damage die becomes a d8. ...


5

I am about 95% certain the direct answer to your question is “no, there is no other class that offers Charisma to attack and damage.” The only thing remotely similar that I’m aware of is the battle smith artificer, which gets a similar feature—but for Intelligence—at 3rd level. Aside from that, it’s all Strength or Dexterity. Considering the widely-discussed ...


8

Yes, they can attempt to teleport as part of their Attack action. The Horizon Walker's Distant Strike lets them teleport when they take the Attack action. As part of making an attack, they can choose to attack a nearby enemy, or if there are none nearby, they can "attack" an empty location. Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at ...


12

If something requires you to take the Attack action, you can simply attack the ground or empty space or anything else The Attack action states: [...] With this action, you make one melee or ranged Attack. See the “Making an Attack” section for the rules that govern attacks [...] And the "Making an Attack" section in term states: [...] An Attack has a ...


Top 50 recent answers are included