New answers tagged

0

According to RAW, objects in 5e can explicitly be attacked, regardless of whether they are worn or not, and its not up to the gm as not only do spells specify whether they target objects or not, but its baked into the rules of attacking. This is the entry for making an attack: Whether you’re striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or Making ...


1

Do weapons with this description provide a free trip attempt after a successful attack (Dealing Damage), or is one just using the weapon instead of the unarmed attack hitting the touch AC, dealing no damage? The latter—you can use the weapon to perform a trip attack, but the only differences from performing it unarmed and with such a weapon are those ...


2

No, it being a spell attack makes no difference The additional attacks in a monster's statblock are distinct actions. It doesn't matter whether it's ranged or melee, spell or weapon attacks, or requires a saving throw, as written they are distinct actions. Those special attacks not being part of the Attack action is covered in: Do named actions in monster ...


-1

"Special" means "neither weapon nor spell" when talking about attacks There are two categories of attacks in 5e: Weapon attacks Spell attacks Either can be melee or ranged. A "special melee attack", though, is a melee attack which does not fall into either category. It is a melee attack which is neither a weapon nor a spell ...


4

You quoted the related rules about Critical Hits: let's have a look have them with some insights (emphasis mine): When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack's damage against the target. Roll all of the attack's damage dice twice and add them together. Then add any relevant modifiers as normal. To speed up play, you can roll all ...


1

So the discussion in the examples you provide seem to revolve around the intention of the wording of: When you take the Attack action and whether or not this means the forgone attack must be explicitly part of the attack action or could be a byproduct of taking it. The good news is that in your quandry, the attack in question is explicitly stated to be ...


-1

Yup. The feat mentions just melee attack, and melee spell attacks are melee attacks. For it not to work it must have specified melee WEAPON attack. In that case it would also exclude unarmed strikes as well


8

A melee spell attack is a melee attack The Player's Handbook and Basic Rules have the following description in the Combat section on melee attacks (emphasis mine): Used in hand-to-hand combat, a melee attack allows you to attack a foe within your reach. A melee attack typically uses a handheld weapon such as a sword, a warhammer, or an ax. A typical monster ...


12

A melee spell attack is considered a melee attack, even if it is done via a spell. The PHB/basic rules describe melee attacks as follows (emphasis mine): Used in hand-to-hand combat, a melee attack allows you to attack a foe within your reach. A melee attack typically uses a handheld weapon such as a sword, a warhammer, or an axe. A typical monster makes a ...


Top 50 recent answers are included