42 votes
Accepted

When is the Battle Master fighter's Commander's Strike maneuver worth it?

When another's attack would do more damage/be more impactful than yours. Not going to lie: I don't feel like going through your party and doing the math, but suffice it to say that there are times--...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k
29 votes

Can a creature that is frightened of you still try to attack you?

The Frightened condition (PHB, pg.290) states: A frightened creature has disadvantage on [ability checks and] attack rolls while the source of its fear is within line of sight. The creature ...
Purple Monkey's user avatar
28 votes
Accepted

Does the Martial Adept superiority dice scale up alongside the Battle Master fighter's superiority dice if you acquire the subclass after the feat?

This was errata'd in 2016 to read... Martial Adept (p. 168). The superiority die is added to any others you have, no matter when you gain them. It was pretty black-and-white (or black-and-yellow, ...
T.J.L.'s user avatar
  • 48.6k
24 votes
Accepted

When two-weapon fighting, can a Battle Master fighter use a maneuver on the Attack action and another on the bonus-action attack?

PHB says, regarding Maneuvers that: You can use only one maneuver per attack. In regards of two-weapong fighting, PBH says: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon ...
Matt DM's user avatar
  • 1,023
23 votes
Accepted

Is there a way for a Battle Master to swap out maneuvers without taking more fighter levels?

Take the Martial Adept feat The key is in the wording of the feat and the Battle Master maneuvers section. The first bullet of Martial Adept says (PHB, p. 168, emphasis mine): You learn two maneuvers ...
Red Orca's user avatar
  • 18.5k
23 votes

Commander's Strike and meaning of 'forgo'

You cannot "forgo" an attack you cannot make The rules for Two-Weapon Fighting state the following : Two-Weapon Fighting: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee ...
Matthieu's user avatar
  • 9,323
22 votes
Accepted

What is the point of the Battle Master fighter's Evasive Footwork maneuver?

Evasive Footwork protects against all opportunity attacks The alternatives you list only protect against opportunity attacks from a single creature. In contrast, you could use Evasive Footwork to run ...
Ryan C. Thompson's user avatar
22 votes
Accepted

Can the Battle Master fighter's Know Your Enemy feature "see through" the Disguise Self spell, shapeshifting, or similar abilities?

You observe the current statistics of the creature Disguise self is an illusion that only changes your visible looks. Your actual game characteristics do not change. There are not even other ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
20 votes
Accepted

Battle Master fighter's Trip Attack when the target is already dead from the regular hit?

Not dead yet As you've quoted, the Maneuver is added on the hit and then you add the superiority die to the damage and resolve the save. Damage hasn't yet been rolled, so you don't know if the regular ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
20 votes
Accepted

When a Battle Master fighter gets a critical hit and uses a maneuver that adds a superiority die to the damage, is that damage die doubled?

Yes "If the attack involves other damage dice" sounds like a pretty solid indicator that "Superiority Dice" would be multiplied, if a maneuver were used that adds the result as damage. While not ...
Doug's user avatar
  • 2,175
20 votes
Accepted

Can you negate disadvantage on throwing a net by using the Lunging Attack maneuver of the Battle Master fighter?

Lunging Attack can only be used on melee attacks, and nets are ranged weapons The description of the Battle Master fighter's Lunging Attack maneuver says ((PHB, p. 74; emphasis mine): When you make a ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 49.9k
20 votes

Can you switch places with your mount using bait and switch?

Probably hilarity Let's just look over the scenario and then the requirements. We have our fighter who is directly above their horse (substitute for any other mount, I'm just specifying for ease). ...
Someone_Evil's user avatar
  • 48.4k
19 votes

How long does the AC increase from the Battle Master fighter's Evasive Footwork maneuver last?

It lasts until the end of your turn Evasive Footwork (PHB p74): ...[add] the number to your AC until you stop moving Movement (PHB p190): On your turn, you can move a distance up to ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.3k
18 votes

Is my adaptation of the Battle Master as a Wizard subclass balanced relative to other Wizard subclasses and to the original Battle Master?

It is overpowered; you steal the best features of the Bard and Sorcerer, and give them to the Wizard, more often You can check my answers, I am usually the guy who says your homerules are fine, even ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.3k
18 votes
Accepted

Can a Battle Master Fighter use a shield to parry?

Yes, the Parry maneuver can be performed without a weapon. Your ruling contradicts how this class feature is written. The Battle Master does not require a weapon (or even a shield) to perform the ...
MikeQ's user avatar
  • 31.5k
17 votes

Can you use Commander's Strike to forgo an attack granted by Horde Breaker?

Yes, you can forgo the additional attack from Horde Breaker and use Commander's Strike. Horde Breaker says: Once on each of your turns when you make a weapon attack, you can make another attack with ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 211k
17 votes

Can a Battle Master Fighter use a shield to parry?

A Battle Master needs no armaments to Parry Nothing about Battle Master, Maneuvers, nor Parry require the Battle Master to be armed. Furthermore, 'parry' is often defined from fencing (the definition ...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 43.2k
17 votes
Accepted

Commander's Strike and meaning of 'forgo'

The attack you give up has to be part of the attack action. The maneuver says "When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks" -- it's talking about ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
17 votes
Accepted

Can you still use Commander’s Strike if the only attack available to forego is an attack against an ally?

Yes I think "you can't forgo an attack you can't make" is a bit too blithe -- the rule is you have to have an attack that you are choosing to give up, not that you need to have an enemy ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
16 votes
Accepted

How long does the AC increase from the Battle Master fighter's Evasive Footwork maneuver last?

It lasts no longer than the end of your turn Per Jeremy Crawford, "The benefit of Evasive Footwork ends when your move ends. It doesn't last from turn to turn." Also, "Evasive Footwork grants its AC ...
Christopher's user avatar
  • 12.2k
16 votes
Accepted

Can the Battle Master fighter's Precision Attack maneuver be used on a melee spell attack?

No, it can't be used on a spell attack Attacks are broken down into weapon attacks and spell attacks. Each of these can be either a melee attack or a ranged attack. So any attack must be one of the ...
Rykara's user avatar
  • 29.5k
15 votes
Accepted

When I move away from an enemy I am flanking and trigger an opportunity attack, do I have advantage on my attack from the Riposte maneuver?

Yes You flank when you are adjacent to an enemy: Flanking on Squares. When a creature and at least one of its allies are adjacent to an enemy and on opposite sides or corners of the enemy's space, ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 68.3k
14 votes
Accepted

Can a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack use the Commander's Strike maneuver after he throws a net?

No. You cannot forgo attacks you can't take You can take only 1 attack Say your character can normally make 2 attacks by using the extra attack feature: Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 94.8k
14 votes
Accepted

How does the Battle Master fighter's Pushing Attack maneuver interact with ranged weapons?

It works And that's really all the game cares about. How you wish the fluff it is up to you and your DM, but as far as the game is concerned, you use a maneuver, it causes the enemy to go flying back ...
Theik's user avatar
  • 36.4k
14 votes
Accepted

Does Know Your Enemy provide all class levels or just fighter levels?

Know Your Enemy provides inexact information about Fighter Levels and unspecified class levels. Know Your Enemy states: The DM tells you if the creature is your equal, superior, or inferior in regard ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
13 votes

Can a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack use the Commander's Strike maneuver before he throws a net?

Yes you can, because Commander's Strike does not count as "making an attack" In the Q/A "How do nets work with Extra Attack?", it was ruled that you cannot attack first with a normal weapon and then ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
12 votes

For the Battle Master fighter's Know Your Enemy feature, what happens if the target's AC changes while the target is being observed?

It's not explicit, but it's likely the end of the minute. It's not explicitly stated in the text of the feature, but it makes sense for you to know the creature's AC at the end of that minute because ...
Icyfire's user avatar
  • 63.6k
12 votes

How long can a creature wait to use its reaction gained from Battle Master's Maneuvering Attack

A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind (PHB 190) You cannot choose to take a reaction just anytime, it has to be triggered. The ability does not state another possible trigger ...
Szega's user avatar
  • 61.6k
12 votes

If you have two superiority dice, one from Superior Technique and another from Martial Adept, can you use both on one attack with two maneuvers?

Every maneuver says you may “expend one superiority die”, and you may only use one maneuver per attack. Every maneuver available contains the phrase: expend one superiority die And the rules for ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

How do the multiple attack rolls of Whirlwind Attack work with Lunging Attack's bonus to the attack's damage roll?

Whirlwind Attack's range does not depend on your reach Whirlwind Attack says you can target "any number of creatures within 5 feet of you". It doesn't matter what the reach of your normal ...
Ryan C. Thompson's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible