Skip to main content
54 votes
Accepted

If you use two Scimitars of Speed, do you get 2 bonus action attacks?

No. You can only ever take one bonus action on a turn. The scimitar of speed lets you use your bonus action to make an attack, regardless of what you do with your action: In addition, you can make ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 49.9k
54 votes
Accepted

Can an incapacitated character still use bonus actions?

No, an incapacitated character cannot take bonus actions. From the rules for bonus actions: anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action. ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
42 votes
Accepted

Which uses of Bonus-Action spellcasting are legal?

The table is entirely correct Action Surge does not interact in any way with the bonus-action spell rule (other than being limited in the same way as other spells if you use a bonus action spell). ...
David Coffron's user avatar
36 votes
Accepted

If your bonus-action spell is counterspelled, are you still restricted to casting a cantrip that turn?

RAW is unclear Based on the language use of interrupt and spell fails and has no effect, there can easily be confusion in interpreting the final effect of a cast or uncast spell. This question covers ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
35 votes
Accepted

How can a rogue use Dash as a regular action, if actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable?

Dash is normally an action. The Cunning Action rogue class feature says (in part): You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, ...
indigochild's user avatar
  • 19.1k
28 votes
Accepted

Can you continue the movement of a Bonus Action Dash granted by Expeditious Retreat if your Concentration is broken mid-move?

You can continue the movement after losing concentration Expeditious Retreat allows you to take the Dash action as a bonus action. When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the ...
Tiggerous's user avatar
  • 25.1k
27 votes

Are actions and bonus actions interchangeable?

This has been officially answered in the Sage Advice Compendium: Q: Can a bonus action be used as an action or vice versa? For example, can a bard use a bonus action to grant a Bardic Inspiration die ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
27 votes

When can you use a bonus action?

You can only take bonus actions when you could take an action on your turn The PHB says this on page 189: Bonus Actions Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
26 votes
Accepted

Can you make a bonus-action attack from Two-Weapon Fighting before you take your action?

You can't take the bonus-action attack before the Attack action, because the bonus-action attack is conditional upon you taking that action. You can't take the bonus-action attack before the Attack ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 49.9k
24 votes

Can a Bladesinger wizard cast a Bonus Action spell and still use their Extra Attack feature to cast a cantrip on the same turn?

Yes, for most cantrips The wording of the bonus action spell rule only requires the cantrip have a casting time of 1 action, and the bladesinger rule doesn't specify the casting time actually changes. ...
vonBoomslang's user avatar
  • 8,051
24 votes
Accepted

Would it harm game balance to allow potions to be self-administered with a bonus action?

I've seen potions houseruled to be available as a bonus action, and I've houseruled this myself on occasion. The answer to your question is: It depends on the availability of potions In the early game,...
Dan B's user avatar
  • 89.8k
23 votes

Shield Master - Can the shield push be taken before an attack?

No, it can't. You can't take the bonus action attack before the Attack action, because the bonus action attack is conditional upon you taking that action. Jeremy Crawford addressed this exact ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 49.9k
23 votes
Accepted

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

You can add your ability modifier to damage from the bonus action attack The general rule for damage rolls is: When attacking with a weapon, you add your ability modifier--the same modifier used for ...
Tiggerous's user avatar
  • 25.1k
23 votes
Accepted

Can a Bladesinger wizard cast a Bonus Action spell and still use their Extra Attack feature to cast a cantrip on the same turn?

Yes, for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action The casting time is an attribute of the spell, not of the action you use to cast the spell. Unless a feature you use explicitly tells you it is ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
22 votes

Does the Tasha's Mind Whip spell prevent bonus actions if you take away an action?

You may choose to take a bonus action. Notably, the Tasha's mind whip spell (TCoE, p. 114) does not deprive you of your ability to take an action: Moreover, on its next turn, it must choose whether ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
21 votes
Accepted

Rogue Holding Bonus Action to disengage once attacked

You cannot ready a bonus action, but more importantly, readying Dash and Disengage wouldn't make sense anyway. Your general question of "can you do this" is addressed here: Can you ready a ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
20 votes
Accepted

Does a Thief rogue's Fast Hands allow you to drink a potion as a bonus action?

A Rogue cannot use Fast Hands on any magical potion Magic items do not require the Use an Object action to be activated, but a separate action entirely The following quote directly addresses how this ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
20 votes

How many times can a Lvl 17 Astral Self (UA) Monk attack, including bonus action

Extra Attack does not mean you take the Attack action multiple times The Attack action This is simply an action available to anybody and it allows the Monk to make one attack. Extra Attack Beginning ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
20 votes

Is it possible to cast a quickened Fireball as a bonus action, and also use a bonus action to make an attack with Spiritual Weapon on the same turn?

There can be only one Bonus Action On your turn you can only take one bonus action: You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
20 votes
Accepted

Can the Poisoner feat let you activate a Dagger of Venom as a Bonus Action?

Technically, probably not, but once per day isn't going to be a problem. It seems pretty clear that the poisoner feat is referring to poisons like those created with the poisoner's kit. And ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
20 votes

How does the Amulet of Betrayal magic item interact with the Stunned condition?

You aren’t missing anything here. As written, it just doesn’t work. And before anyone suggests “specific beats general” makes it work since it says “you can use a bonus action”, that would mean that ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
19 votes

Can you use a bonus action before a held readied action?

Your reaction happens immediately in response to the trigger. The rules for Ready state: When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
19 votes

Can a Steel Defender attack in every round with the cost of only one Bonus Action?

You need to use your bonus action each round The relevant paragraph from the Battlesmith section states: (emphasis mine) In combat, the defender shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 12.7k
18 votes
Accepted

Can you use a wand to cast a spell after casting a spell as a bonus action?

Not if the spell being cast is 1st level or higher. Per the spellcasting rules (p202 PHB), if a spell is cast using a bonus action, only a cantrip may be cast using your action. BONUS ACTION A ...
Nesbitto's user avatar
  • 1,840
18 votes

Can I make an attack as my action, and cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action as my bonus action?

tl;dr - no You cannot use your bonus action to cast a spell - unless it is explicitly stated that the spell's casting time is one bonus action. On any given turn, you may take one Action and One ...
Bazza491's user avatar
  • 481
18 votes
Accepted

Does the monk's Step of the Wind ability allow them to double their jump distance without using Dash or Disengage as a bonus action?

To benefit from Step of the Wind, you must use your bonus action. Step of the Wind says: You can spend 1 ki point to take the Disengage or Dash action as a bonus action on your turn, and your jump ...
Daveman's user avatar
  • 6,409
18 votes
Accepted

Does the Swift Quiver spell let you make 2 extra attacks with a bonus action on the same turn you cast it?

You can only take one bonus action per turn. The rules for bonus actions state: You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
17 votes

How can a rogue use Dash as a regular action, if actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable?

Anyone can Dash as an action. This is the general rule. Rogues can also use Cunning Action to Dash as a bonus action. Nothing says they lose the ability to Dash as a normal action. You said: It is ...
Adeptus's user avatar
  • 28.5k
17 votes

How can a rogue use Dash as a regular action, if actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable?

You can Dash twice on your turn with Cunning Action You say: It is specified in Cunning Action that the Dash can only be used with a bonus action. It doesn't say that. What it does say is that the ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 12.7k
17 votes
Accepted

Balancing around Eldritch Cannon's use as a bonus action

This is already how the cannon works. The rules for the subclass already allow what you describe: A Small eldritch cannon occupies its space, and a Tiny one can be held in one hand. An artificer ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible