24 votes
Accepted

Would it harm game balance to allow potions to be self-administered with a bonus action?

I've seen potions houseruled to be available as a bonus action, and I've houseruled this myself on occasion. The answer to your question is: It depends on the availability of potions In the early game,...
Dan B's user avatar
  • 89.6k
20 votes

How does the Amulet of Betrayal magic item interact with the Stunned condition?

You aren’t missing anything here. As written, it just doesn’t work. And before anyone suggests “specific beats general” makes it work since it says “you can use a bonus action”, that would mean that ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
13 votes
Accepted

What bonus actions are available to all characters, regardless of class, race, feats, background, or other specific features?

Core Rules Two-Weapon Fighting: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
12 votes

If you use two Scimitars of Speed, do you get 2 bonus action attacks?

Answer is no though not for the reasons given (trick question?) The point is made moot due to attunement issue. The scimitar of speed is an attunement required item (per item description) and ...
Rondo's user avatar
  • 121
12 votes
Accepted

Can I spend additional ki points to make additional attacks with my Flurry of Blows bonus action?

You can make one flurry with two strikes Flurry of Blows is not limited by a number per turn, but by coupling it to taking the Attack action on your turn, and by your available bonus actions: ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
12 votes

How does the Amulet of Betrayal magic item interact with the Stunned condition?

Likely an editing error, but... I agree with Thomas Markov's answer that this is likely a design oversight and failure of the editors to catch. I even agree with his comment that the amulet as ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51k
10 votes
Accepted

Can I use Misty Step during someone else's reaction?

You cannot cast misty step until after the other creature’s reaction is finished. The rules for reactions state: If the reaction interrupts another creature’s turn, that creature can continue its ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
9 votes

Would it harm game balance to allow potions to be self-administered with a bonus action?

It depends ... (my house rule follows) ... like the other answers already explained. Likewise, I'm thinking that drinking a potion as a bonus action is a strong benefit for all potion owners. But I ...
Flynxer's user avatar
  • 764
9 votes
Accepted

Is there a way to grapple as a bonus action without attacking first?

Bigby's Grasping Hand The spell Bigby's hand says: When you cast the spell and as a bonus action on your subsequent turns, you can move the hand up to 60 feet and then cause one of the following ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
7 votes

Would it harm game balance to allow potions to be self-administered with a bonus action?

It can, yes In the first 5e campaign I ran, I had the party find healing berries that could be consumed with a bonus action — effectively healing potions that could be consumed as a bonus action. This ...
Tim Grant's user avatar
  • 25.9k
7 votes

Does Unspoken Agreement stack with multi-attack or cantrips?

You get to use one of the prescribed actions regardless of your main action When the spell says "as part of casting this spell", it is indicating that the bonus action for the spell provides ...
David Coffron's user avatar
6 votes

What are the consequences of changing the rule for casting multiple spells in a turn to "You can spend no more than one spell-slot each turn"?

While your question lists a number of situations buffed by this house rule, there are some situations that were previously possible that are now forbidden by it: Paladins can no longer Divine Smite ...
StephenTG's user avatar
  • 2,793
6 votes
Accepted

Druid, Circle of Stars "Archer Starry Form" and Lvl 10 Twinkling Constellations form change: How many Luminous Arrow attacks can you make in one turn?

You can make one attack as a bonus action each turn To change into your starry form normally requires a bonus action to expend one use of your Wild Shape feature. When Starry Form says When you ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
6 votes

Would it harm game balance to allow potions to be self-administered with a bonus action?

This won't necessarily ruin your game, but it does make it more difficult to challenge players who keep a ready supply of consumables, and it definitely increases their power. As a lower end example ...
TheFallen0ne's user avatar
  • 4,408
4 votes

Does Unspoken Agreement stack with multi-attack or cantrips?

This works (if it would work) The sequencing of this spell seems to not be worded that well: a spell’s effect only happens when the spell has been successfully cast. Here the effect is to allow ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
4 votes

Flurry of Blows has to be done after the action. Why?

You got the main impact There are some additional implications for allowing the attacks with Flurry to happen first, depending on your monk subclass. For example: As you say a Way of the Open Hand ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
3 votes

What bonus actions are available to all characters, regardless of class, race, feats, background, or other specific features?

Epic Level Boons These are not selected by the player during character development, they are granted by the DM and are not generally dependent on class, race, feats nor are they magic items. The boon ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
3 votes
Accepted

Flurry of Blows has to be done after the action. Why?

Contingent Effects Our friendly Hobgoblin's answer includes lots of valid interactions that might apply to the specific special abilities granted one subclass or another. SeriousBri's comment points ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51k
3 votes

Is there a way to grapple as a bonus action without attacking first?

[This would not require an Action / Bonus Action to perform, but...] you could always command an allied summoned creature (e.g. Giant Constrictor Snake, Crocodile, Giant Crab) to perform an attack ...
Raxy's user avatar
  • 81
3 votes

Would it harm game balance to allow potions to be self-administered with a bonus action?

From my own game, allowing using a Potion on yourself (not others) as a Bonus Action not only aided the desire to use Potions at all (because they didn't waste a turn) but has even led to epic moments ...
Jarie Suisen's user avatar
3 votes

Ready Action and Bonus Action

You seem to misunderstand what bonus actions and readied actions are. The action economy at first can be fairly confusing, but once you understand it it makes things move much smoother. One thing to ...
TheLittlePeace's user avatar
3 votes

Ready Action and Bonus Action

Both because you are unsure of the rules and timing, and because your description is a bit vague, it is not always clear whether the sequence you described followed the rules or not. I have made an ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51k
2 votes

Does the Tasha's Mind Whip spell prevent bonus actions if you take away an action?

The breakdown as stated in the primary answer is solid from an analytical standpoint, but there is a simpler answer that is technically closer to being correct concerning rule analysis. "Specific ...
Redwing12's user avatar
1 vote

Ready Action and Bonus Action

If you're in initiative order, you can only use an action and a bonus action during your turn. Once it's somebody else's turn, you usually can't do anything. Now, Ready is a special rule. As an action ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
1 vote

Ready Action and Bonus Action

You can take one of each type of action per round It is pretty simple: Barring special features like Action Surge, each character (or NPC) has one action, one bonus action, and one Reaction per round, ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
1 vote

Does the Tasha's Mind Whip spell prevent bonus actions if you take away an action?

Tasha's mind whip reduces the number of options that can be taken during one's next turn. In combat, during one's turn, there are three main options to take: Action Bonus Action Movement and ...
Eddymage's user avatar
  • 28.7k
1 vote

Can the Polearm Master bonus attack only be used after the main attack?

Much of the rational for disallowing these types of bonus actions to occur before completing the requisite action rests on the consideration that some circumstances may remove the qualifying action ...
Noggin Noddlebright's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible