18

Monsters in 5E are not built using the rules for player characters. From the DMG's section on creating monsters: Raise or lower the monster’s Armor Class, hit points, attack bonus, damage output per round, and save DC as you see fit, based on whatever concept you have in mind for the monster. For example, if you need a well-armored monster, increase its ...


17

Though many sources of these bonuses give you a sacred bonus if you are good and a profane bonus if you are evil, there is nothing special about these bonuses, they work like any other type of bonus. If you manage to get both sacred and profane modifiers at the same time, yes, they stack.


15

The magic books that grant inherent bonuses still grant bonuses, and an inherent bonus works just like any other bonus except it applies "to an ability score [and] results from powerful magic, such as a wish spell. A character is limited to a total inherent bonus of +5 to any ability score" (DMG 21). Also, the wish spell has some additional rules that ...


12

A total trait bonus of +2 They don't stack because they are of the same type. They still both apply to Dominate Person, but you only get the largest because they don't stack together.


11

No. The enhancement bonus isn't to your AC, it's to the shield's shield bonus. So what your AC gains is still a shield bonus, not an enhancement bonus (PFSRD, Common Terms, Bonus, Shield Bonus; emphasis mine): A magic shield typically grants an enhancement bonus to the shield's shield bonus This is reiterated in the definition of “enhancement bonus” (...


8

Untyped bonuses stack with everything (except other untyped bonuses originating from the same source). So the character would have a total of +8 from these 2 items. From the SRD: Bonuses are numerical values that are added to checks and statistical scores. Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do ...


7

No As the flawed Amber Spindle states: stacking up to +3 total with other amber spindle ioun stones (flawed or otherwise). Regardless of the amount of Amber Spindles you have of other qualities, the flawed stone will not apply this bonus if the total you already have is +3 or higher. If you had 2 flawed stones, and 1 full stone, you would have a total ...


7

While using aid another successfully on a skill checks grants a circumstance bonus, the name of the bonus granted by the special attack aid another is unclear… yet in both cases it likely doesn't matter The aid another concept comes in two flavors. First, one creature can aid another creature on a skill check. The Player's Handbook in the chapter Skills on ...


7

Yes, it does. Arcane Strike bonus is untyped. As such, it will stack with other bonuses, as long as they are not from the same source (here, the feat) or sources that explicitly call out that won't stack with Arcane Strike (there is none that I know about).


6

Both effects grant inherent bonuses, and those won't stack. However, your Tarrasque has 3 intelligence naturally and could obtain +5 from inherent bonuses, and another +6 from enhancement bonuses, for a total of 14 Int. You will simply have to figure out how to build a bandana (or headband) big enough to fit on its head. To be honest, that is the simple ...


4

Iron Guard's Glare does not stack with itself, the attacker receives a -4 penalty at most. This falls under the general rule of stacking: In most cases, modifiers to a given check or roll stack (combine for a cumulative effect) if they come from different sources and have different types (or no type at all), but do not stack if they have the same type or ...


4

No. On the first successful hit (using a normal weapon attack), Hail of Thorns forces the targets within 5' to make a Dexterity save against the spellcaster's spell DC or else take full damage (half damage on a miss). The spell DC for the character's spells is calculating similarly, but separately form the character's spell attack bonus. Spell casting ...


4

You can use multiple, but they don't stack. So if you use a +1 tome you can still use a +5 tome. In the end, this is the same as having only used the +5 since they don’t stack, so it’s kind of wasteful, but the +1 doesn’t “block” the +5 or anything. Also, the tomes give inherent-typed bonuses, not base stat increases. This is the same sort of bonus that ...


3

To answer your problem rather than your question: Basically what im trying to do overall is make an intelligent Tarrasque, who has Wizard Class levels. The purpose of abomination is for an end boss for a high level Mythic Campaign. Make your Tarrasque whatever you want: you are the DM and it's your world.


3

No The text of Allied spellcaster states that the requirement for getting the benefit of the feat is to be next to an ally that also has the feat. There is no further benefit from having more people with the feat around you as you already met the requirements to get the bonuses. Also, Untyped bonuses never stack from the same source,unless the source ...


3

Your BAB from Inquisitor is +1(.5) Your BAB from Monk is +2(.25) Your BAB from Evangelist +3(.75) Your Monk Flurry of Blows allows that For the purpose of these attacks, the monk’s base attack bonus from his monk class levels is equal to his monk level. For all other purposes, such as qualifying for a feat or a prestige class, the monk uses his normal ...


3

There is no negative bonus, just as there is no positive penalty. This is actually spelled out explicitly for ability scores in the text. From the PRD, under ability scores: Each ability, after changes made because of race, has a modifier ranging from –5 to +5. Table: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells shows the modifier for each score. The modifier is ...


2

Mental Arsenal only applies the bonus to AC, and not to Reflex. As you quote, the rules text explicitly calls out that it applies to AC, and so, presumably, it does not apply to anything else. This is certainly unusual, but they called it out so my presumption would be that it was intentional. I can only speculate as to why exactly it was made a shield ...


1

Yes, you could take the feat, but you would lose the use of the feat if, for whatever reason, you lose the bonus from the item.


1

RAW: no. Wish grants an Inherent Bonus to stats, to a cap of +5 per stat. Miracle doesn't explicitly list that option, nor does it allow the duplication of Arcane spells of 9th level; even if it did (by GM fiat, if nothing else), it would still be an Inherent Bonus and, as such, wouldn't stack with other Inherent Bonuses (since they're the same type). A ...


1

As much as I'd love to see the stats for this thing...unfortunately same-type bonuses don't stack. Both Wish and a Tome of Understanding provide an Inherent Bonus to your Int. And the Wish spell even has this quotation as part of the spell description Note: An inherent bonus may not exceed +5 for a single ability score, and inherent bonuses to a ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible