The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.
147

CO2 extinguishers are not safe to use on people or in a room full of people. Exit temperatures of the CO2 is -52°C in gaseous form and -78°C in snow form, enough to cause frostbite if it touches the skin. If that happens, it is recommended to remove most of it without rubbing it in and then seek medical advice. It can also cause respiratory problems, ...


63

In answer to your question on the safety of using a CO2 extinguisher as a breath weapon effect at a Live Roleplaying Event: NO, for exactly the reasons stated in the other answers - extreme cold, hypoxia, and CO2 poisoning. I don't think your insurers would be too pleased about that particular course of action, either. From the point of view of a someone ...


45

A dragon's breath shouldn't be able to pass through I agree with other answers that RAW a dragon's breath can pass through the Hut. However, I believe that in this case, sticking to a RAW ruling can hurt your game. Consistency In any other situation, the Hut prevents just about anything, any attack from passing through. The dragon breath is an edge case ...


34

DISCLAIMER: I am not a medical or safety professional. They can be very dangerous I would not recommend doing this. CO2 Fire extinguishers present 2 basic hazards. Cold Burns Do Not Touch the horn (the part that sprays CO2) when spraying a CO2 Fire extinguisher. The horn of a CO2 fire extinguisher becomes extremely cold during use, and can cause cold ...


31

Fire Breath is not a valid use of Haste Haste specifically says... That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action. Source The Dragonborn Race's breath weapon says... You can use your action to exhale destructive energy. Source Thus, to use your Breath Weapon, you are taking ...


26

Yes. Per Jeremy Crawford on Sage Advice: Q: Could a dragonborn druid use breath weapon while wildshaped into, like, a wolf? A: The dragonborn's Breath Weapon trait requires exhalation. No anatomy is specified. Does your beast form have a mouth? You can exhale.


22

The dragon's breath is extinguished A fire-breathing dragon breathes actual fire If you look at red dragons' breath weapon ability - for instance, a red dragon wyrmling's Fire Breath action - it says: The dragon exhales fire in a 15-foot cone. Fire and flame are synonymous, thus if you had some sort of effect that continuously extinguished flame, a ...


21

Dragons have a special gland which generates the breath weapon According to the D&D 3rd edition sourcebook Draconomicon (2003), chapter 1, a true dragon's breath weapon is produced by an organ in the chest known as the draconis fundamentum. The draconis fundamentum (7) is a gland possessed only by true dragons. Attached to the heart, it is the ...


20

Here is the relevant text from tiny hut All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it. Since dragon breath is not magical (not a magic item, a spell, spell attack, and no mention of being magical in its description), not an object (it is not ...


17

No, an anti-magic zone would not affect dragon's breath The dragon is a magical creature, but the dragon's breath weapon is not listed as a magical effect. Therefore, an anti-magic zone would not affect it nor nullify it. Source: WoTC, Sage Advice Compendium, v 2.3 (2019), p. 17-18. Ask yourself these questions about the feature: Is it a ...


16

Neither - Readied actions come after their triggers The character Readied an action to draw the weapon and set the trigger to be when breathed upon with a breath weapon by the dragon. Unfortunately for the character, readied actions happen after their triggers. When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes ...


16

Currently, not possible While it is difficult to prove a negative, the Dragonborn's Breath Weapon isn't a magical effect, so does not benefit from any feats that affect magic. There are feats that affect Dragonborn specifically, but the only one that relates to breath weapons simply allows you to expend your Breath Weapon's use to create a fear effect.


15

You're correct, Elemental Affinity applies specifically to spells. Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, add your Charisma modifier to that damage. This is probably just an oversight on the part of whoever wrote the character sheet. With that said, the DM is free to rule that ...


14

I think this is balanced Using the example in your comment: So like if you are in a dungeon with hallways, you could burn straight down the hallway or if you are in a room, you could toast the room. Since you can only use it once per short rest anyway, you can't do both without resting in between. Each case taken in isolation, then, this is no ...


13

It is honestly fine. I've played and am currently planning a campaign where Dragonborns can breathe how they want, and honestly, the world hasn't crumbled in itself, It is better for helping dragonborns be more versatile to a skill that you honestly don't have the ability to spam for starters. Overall it won't really unbalance anything much, at least in my ...


13

Leomund's Tiny Hut blocks three classes of things: Creatures, Spells/Magical Effects, and Objects. Let's treat these in turn: Dragon Breath is not a creature. This is not in dispute. Dragon Breath is not a Spell or Magical effect, on the basis of this Sage Advice which is a bit long and florally worded to reproduce, but draws a distinction between the ...


12

No. Looking at the wording of haste it says that you must use an Attack action, which can be one ranged or one melee attack. The racial Breath Weapon trait uses your action, meaning it can not be used as part of the Attack action. You could strike twice, action surge breath weapon, haste strike once.


12

RAW - No, it only affects creatures The Dragonborn race feature breath weapon is specific in what things it damages (my emphasis): When you use your breath weapon, each creature in the area of the exhalation There is no language in this that suggests it would affect objects. You can compare this against spells like fireball which state: It ignites ...


12

The Dragonborn's Breath Weapon has similar verbiage: When you use your breath weapon, each creature in the area of the exhalation must make a saving throw, the type of which is determined by your draconic ancestry. ...[snip]... A creature takes 2d6 damage on a failed save, and half as much damage on a successful one. Per a strict reading of RAW, the ...


12

Use spells to turn into a dragon Using true polymorph you can turn yourself into any creature whose CR is equal to or less than yours. Even at level 1 this would enable you to turn into a dragon with a breath weapon. With true polymorph, the caster concentrating on the spell for an hour would allow you to remain as a dragon until the spell is dispelled. ...


12

A dragon cannot use both multiattack and its breath weapon on the same turn I've used the statblock from an Adult Black Dragon when answering this questions - as its available actions match your description. Not all dragons do have those exact options. Like PCs, NPCs are generally limited to perfoming one action per turn (exceptions include a Fighter's ...


12

The entire Hydra is affected, but it can activate the spell only once per turn and can only make one cone at a time A Hydra (or any monster) has only one action per turn and nothing in its statblock somehow grants it multiple actions. Creating a cone using dragon's breath is its own action as the spell requires a creature to "use an action to exhale energy"....


11

No, it wouldn't The Spell Sniper feat (PHB p. 170) includes this ability: When you cast a spell that requires you to make an attack roll, the spell's range is doubled. The dragonborn's Breath Weapon trait (PHB p. 34) is not a spell. If it were a spell, it would either refer to an existing spell (in italics, typically) or explicitly say it is a spell. (...


9

Technically, Epic Boons are completely official (though optional), and can do all sorts of things. This would be for particularly high level play only, and entirely at the discretion of the DM, but Epic Boons are basically "DM hands you some appropriate power that fits your character and develops your story." There is no Epic Boon specifically about dragon ...


9

No. Dragon Shape says: You can take on the form of some of the world’s most fearsome creatures. Add the forms listed in dragon form to your wild shape list. Whenever you’re polymorphed into another form using wild shape, you gain resistance 5 to your choice of acid, cold, electricity, fire, or poison. If we look at Dragon Form it says: Breath Weapon ...


8

Jeremy Crawford gave his input on the question over on Sage Advice: Do Dragonborn Druids retain breath & resist in Wildshape? Can a caster use 2 spells in surprise round with the ready action? Stating: "I would allow a dragonborn druid to retain those traits in beast form." Given this, I would say that you can do it.


7

Because of their recharge and shape. The Draconic Bloodline breath weapon is more powerful (70 average damage vs 54) because it can only be used 3 times per day and affects a smaller area. The Form of the Dragon breath weapon can be used every 1d4 rounds, and affects a 50' cone or 100' line, versus the bloodline breath weapon's 30' cone or 60' line. Note ...


7

Breath weapons are not natural attacks. If you refer to the universal monster rules, you can see that Breath Weapons and Natural Attacks are listed separately; though the description of natural attacks does only include the "most common" kinds of natural attack as examples and allows for other options, breath weapons are separately described as their own ...


7

Use a water spray gun Both CO2 and smoke have issues with displacing air and risking suffocation or frostbite. Water, on the other hand, doesn't displace air, is almost completely safe to use on both humans and the things one would normally wear at a LARP event, can easily be cleaned up and gives a good indication of who is hit by a spell effect (check who ...


7

As I mentioned in the comments, JC's tweets on twitter are considered as advice, not official rulings. However, as per the Sage Advice Compendium: Official rulings on how to interpret rules are made here in the Sage Advice Compendium by the game’s lead rules designer, Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford on Twitter). So the process is that people ask JC for ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible