149

CO2 extinguishers are not safe to use on people or in a room full of people. Exit temperatures of the CO2 is -52°C in gaseous form and -78°C in snow form, enough to cause frostbite if it touches the skin. If that happens, it is recommended to remove most of it without rubbing it in and then seek medical advice. It can also cause respiratory problems, ...


62

In answer to your question on the safety of using a CO2 extinguisher as a breath weapon effect at a Live Roleplaying Event: NO, for exactly the reasons stated in the other answers - extreme cold, hypoxia, and CO2 poisoning. I don't think your insurers would be too pleased about that particular course of action, either. From the point of view of a someone ...


48

A dragon's breath shouldn't be able to pass through I agree with other answers that RAW a dragon's breath can pass through the Hut. However, I believe that in this case, sticking to a RAW ruling can hurt your game. Consistency In any other situation, the Hut prevents just about anything, any attack from passing through. The dragon breath is an edge case that ...


43

An elf is not immune to the Dragon's Sleep Gas Jeremy Crawford has clarified in a tweet that Fey Ancestry only protects against magical sleep. Nonmagical sleep gas/poison/etc. can knock an elf unconscious, unless its description says otherwise. He also clarified in another tweet that a Dragon's breath is not magical. The breath weapon of a typical dragon ...


34

DISCLAIMER: I am not a medical or safety professional. They can be very dangerous I would not recommend doing this. CO2 Fire extinguishers present 2 basic hazards. Cold Burns Do Not Touch the horn (the part that sprays CO2) when spraying a CO2 Fire extinguisher. The horn of a CO2 fire extinguisher becomes extremely cold during use, and can cause cold burns ...


32

Fire Breath is not a valid use of Haste Haste specifically says... That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action. Source The Dragonborn Race's breath weapon says... You can use your action to exhale destructive energy. Source Thus, to use your Breath Weapon, you are taking the &...


26

Yes. Per Jeremy Crawford on Sage Advice: Q: Could a dragonborn druid use breath weapon while wildshaped into, like, a wolf? A: The dragonborn's Breath Weapon trait requires exhalation. No anatomy is specified. Does your beast form have a mouth? You can exhale.


26

This is explained under "Limited Usage" on page 11 of the Monster Manual or here in the basic rules on D&D Beyond: Recharge X–Y. [...] At the start of each of the monster's turns, roll a d6. If the roll is one of the numbers in the recharge notation, the monster regains the use of the special ability. The ability also recharges when the monster ...


25

The Green Dragon's breath is described as: Poison Breath (Recharge 5-6). The dragon exhales poisonous gas in a 90-foot cone. Each creature in that area must make a DC 22 Constitution saving throw, taking 77 (22d6) poison damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. It is "poisonous gas" the Dwarf gets advantage on the save....


24

Dragons have a special gland which generates the breath weapon According to the D&D 3rd edition sourcebook Draconomicon (2003), chapter 1, a true dragon's breath weapon is produced by an organ in the chest known as the draconis fundamentum. The draconis fundamentum (7) is a gland possessed only by true dragons. Attached to the heart, it is the ...


24

No, holding your breath won't save you The language of the ancient green dragon's Poison Breath is (MM, p. 284; emphasis mine): The dragon exhales poisonous gas in a 90­-foot cone. Each creature in that area must make a DC 22 Constitution saving throw, [...] All it says is that there is a poisonous gas, and anyone in its cone is affected. If holding your ...


22

The dragon's breath is extinguished A fire-breathing dragon breathes actual fire If you look at red dragons' breath weapon ability - for instance, a red dragon wyrmling's Fire Breath action - it says: The dragon exhales fire in a 15-foot cone. Fire and flame are synonymous, thus if you had some sort of effect that continuously extinguished flame, a dragon'...


21

Here is the relevant text from tiny hut All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it. Since dragon breath is not magical (not a magic item, a spell, spell attack, and no mention of being magical in its description), not an object (it is not discrete ...


19

No, an anti-magic zone would not affect dragon's breath The dragon is a magical creature, but the dragon's breath weapon is not listed as a magical effect. Therefore, an anti-magic zone would not affect it nor nullify it. Source: WoTC, Sage Advice Compendium, v 2.3 (2019), p. 17-18. Ask yourself these questions about the feature: Is it a magic item? Is it ...


18

The books do not appear to specify exactly what effects count as 'poison' for the purposes of Dwarven Resilience. However, the Monk has a similar feature: Purity of Body At 10th level, your mastery of the ki flowing through you makes you immune to disease and poison. And Crawford has stated in a Sage Advice column that this makes the Monk immune to both ...


16

You're correct, Elemental Affinity applies specifically to spells. Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, add your Charisma modifier to that damage. This is probably just an oversight on the part of whoever wrote the character sheet. With that said, the DM is free to rule that ...


16

Currently, not possible While it is difficult to prove a negative, the Dragonborn's Breath Weapon isn't a magical effect, so does not benefit from any feats that affect magic. There are feats that affect Dragonborn specifically, but the only one that relates to breath weapons simply allows you to expend your Breath Weapon's use to create a fear effect.


16

Neither - Readied actions come after their triggers The character Readied an action to draw the weapon and set the trigger to be when breathed upon with a breath weapon by the dragon. Unfortunately for the character, readied actions happen after their triggers. When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ...


15

Gust of wind nullifies the green dragon's breath weapon I would side with the players on this one. It is quite clear from the wording of the spell that the "gust" is quite strong. From the description of the gust of wind spell (emphasis mine): A line of strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose for the ...


14

No (mostly) Breath attacks that aren't based on gas or wind would be unaffected. A red dragon's flaming breath attack is not harmful because it's windy or gassy, it's harmful because it's fire. Similarly a blue dragon's lightning “breath” and a black dragon's acid breath are harmful because they spit streams of lightning and acid, not because they're ...


14

"It states in the book that the PC would only get 1" - I think there's your answer. Should you wish to wander into the realms of homebrew I'm sure a DM could find a way of allowing a dragonborn to gain an extra use of breathe weapon - perhaps instead of a skill increase at level 8. If you want to stay more true to RAW then I believe potions of fire breath ...


14

I think this is balanced Using the example in your comment: So like if you are in a dungeon with hallways, you could burn straight down the hallway or if you are in a room, you could toast the room. Since you can only use it once per short rest anyway, you can't do both without resting in between. Each case taken in isolation, then, this is no different ...


14

Leomund's Tiny Hut blocks three classes of things: Creatures, Spells/Magical Effects, and Objects. Let's treat these in turn: Dragon Breath is not a creature. This is not in dispute. Dragon Breath is not a Spell or Magical effect, on the basis of this Sage Advice which is a bit long and florally worded to reproduce, but draws a distinction between the ...


13

It is honestly fine. I've played and am currently planning a campaign where Dragonborns can breathe how they want, and honestly, the world hasn't crumbled in itself, It is better for helping dragonborns be more versatile to a skill that you honestly don't have the ability to spam for starters. Overall it won't really unbalance anything much, at least in my ...


13

No. Looking at the wording of haste it says that you must use an Attack action, which can be one ranged or one melee attack. The racial Breath Weapon trait uses your action, meaning it can not be used as part of the Attack action. You could strike twice, action surge breath weapon, haste strike once.


13

A dragon cannot use both multiattack and its breath weapon on the same turn I've used the statblock from an Adult Black Dragon when answering this questions - as its available actions match your description. Not all dragons do have those exact options. Like PCs, NPCs are generally limited to perfoming one action per turn (exceptions include a Fighter's ...


12

Use spells to turn into a dragon Using true polymorph you can turn yourself into any creature whose CR is equal to or less than yours. Even at level 1 this would enable you to turn into a dragon with a breath weapon. With true polymorph, the caster concentrating on the spell for an hour would allow you to remain as a dragon until the spell is dispelled. Of ...


12

Yes. There are 5 magic items in Tyranny of Dragons that if the user has a breath weapon that recharges on a rest it has recharge of 6.


12

The Dragonborn's Breath Weapon has similar verbiage: When you use your breath weapon, each creature in the area of the exhalation must make a saving throw, the type of which is determined by your draconic ancestry. ...[snip]... A creature takes 2d6 damage on a failed save, and half as much damage on a successful one. Per a strict reading of RAW, the ...


12

RAW - No, it only affects creatures The Dragonborn race feature breath weapon is specific in what things it damages (my emphasis): When you use your breath weapon, each creature in the area of the exhalation There is no language in this that suggests it would affect objects. You can compare this against spells like fireball which state: It ignites ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible