19

The racial cantrip that some races get (including Dancing Lights for Drow) is in addition to any cantrips that might be gained as a class feature. The character adds that racial cantrip to the list of cantrips known - it does NOT take one of the known cantrips allowed if cantrips are gained as a class feature.


16

No Minor illusion states the following: Physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion, because things can pass through it. "Wearing" an object involves extensive physical interaction with the wearer and, as such, would reveal the illusion.


16

Green flame Blade can't be twinned For a spell to be twinnable it needs to only target one creature. As clarified in the PHB errata: To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell's current level. Green flame blade is able to target two creatures; the one you attack and one next two it. (See also developer ...


14

No, Two-Weapon Fighting does not apply. Magic stone is neither a weapon, nor melee, nor light. Two weapon fighting requires that you be using a light melee weapon. Melee weapons can be used to make melee weapon attacks. The magic stone spell creates objects with which you can make a ranged spell attack only. This spell attack uses your spellcasting ...


7

No; it's an illusion that's fixed in place unless you recast the spell. The description of the minor illusion cantrip says (emphasis mine): You create a sound or an image of an object within range that lasts for the duration. The illusion also ends if you dismiss it as an action or cast this spell again. [...] If you create an image of an ...


6

Encode Thoughts provides access to a secret communication channel Think of this spell as similar to Thieves' Cant or Druidic: it's a way to communicate with other people that possess the same ability without anyone else being able to listen in, and often without them even knowing that the communication took place at all. The spell is learned only by members ...


4

No, I don't think it would be unbalanced. Here's my experience with it: A hat of wizardry (XGtE, p. 137) is a common magic item for wizards that lets you try to cast any cantrip on your spell list once per day after an Arcana check: [...] While you are wearing it, you gain the following benefits: [...] You can try to cast a cantrip that you ...


4

No. First, drawing from the "spells do what they say they do" guideline, the spell description does not say anything about the image being capable of movement or animation. Second, it's hard to suggest that one object moving in concert with some other object isn't due to a physical interaction. A crown on a person's head moves as that head moves, and a ...


4

10 ft from the caster Presditigitation has a listed range of 10 ft and it says you create one of the following magical effects within range: In its simplest readings, the effect is inside the range. Whether any specific effect is possible is entirely up to the DM (talk with them), but note that the sensory effect is instantaneous, so the rain cloud ...


3

Exploitable uses I'm assuming the intended use of this spell is to sacrifice your own HP to save someone else, and so any use that doesn't result in the caster being depleted of HP is abusive. Recovering the spent HP The basic abuse of this spell is to grant someone a temporary hit point (THP) buffer, then use a healing spell or other source of healing ...


3

No, minor illusion is a static image that cannot be moved The description for the minor illusion cantrip (PHB, p. 260) says this about creating an image: If you create an image of an object–such as a chair, muddy footprints, or a small chest–it must be no larger than a 5-foot cube. The image can't create sound, light, smell, or any other sensory effect. ...


2

I don't think this is a great solution It seems like the player is trying to turn a non-attack power into an attack power. But attacks are blatantly different from hazards on a meta level, and embracing that kind of meta distinction is one of 4e's core design conceits. Which is a roundabout way of saying that that, regardless of the quality of your ...


1

You can’t move it If the spell doesn’t say it, the spell doesn’t do it.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible