37

Cantrips do not count against the two spells you learn when you level up The Wizard's Spellcasting feature states: Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free [...] However, it is important to note that this is under the section "Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher", which tells us that ...


36

Cover is concerned with what is between you and your target, nothing more, so it doesn't matter if eldritch blast shoots straight or wibbly wobbly. The rules for cover state: Walls, trees, creatures, and other obstacles can provide cover during combat, making a target more difficult to harm. A target can benefit from cover only when an attack or other ...


35

Mending doesn't create new bond; it restores a broken one The answer by Medix2 already covers the basics: Mending repairs a single break in a single object, not multiple breaks in multiple objects. However, I want to answer the part of your question about affixing two objects together by first gluing them, then breaking the joint and fixing it with Mending. ...


33

It depends on the actual wording of the Unusual Club The magic items in the DMG (and elsewhere) have effects described by rule sentences, rather than simple shorthand (as is given in the example). Now, there are different ways to have a magic1 club deal 2d4 damage: Attacks with this club deal 2d4 bludgeoning instead of the normal 1d4. Such a wording would ...


32

No Cantrips are not prepared like the rest of your leveled spells. From the Druid Spellcasting class feature section: Cantrips At 1st level, you know two cantrips of your choice from the druid spell list. You learn additional druid cantrips of your choice at higher levels, as shown in the Cantrips Known column of the Druid table. Preparing and Casting ...


32

It makes time pressure more important Unless the party has a Warlock who can cast Detect Magic at will, the party will have to make a choice. Do we use a ritual and take 10 minutes, or do we use a spell slot to know the answer right away? I've had players who are absolutely paranoid and will try to keep Detect Magic active at all times, just in case some ...


29

No, shillelagh can only be active on one weapon at a time. The shillelagh spell description says: The wood of a club or quarterstaff you are holding is imbued with nature's power. [...] The spell ends if you cast it again or if you let go of the weapon. (emphasis mine) It says the wood of a club or quarterstaff, which is only one. At the end of the spell ...


28

Probably not Under the usual proviso of "spells only do what they say they do", then there is no indication in the spell description that the mage hand is visibly connected to the caster. As you quoted yourself: A spectral, floating hand appears at a point you choose within range. There is no reason to believe there is any other visual effect. (Though ...


28

Two eldritch blasts is fine. Step 1: Cast eldritch blast using Quickened Spell to make its casting time a bonus action. You can do this. Step 2: Flip to PHB p. 203's "Casting Time" section and review the "Bonus Action" subsection: You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. ...


27

What they were referring to was probably Cantrip Versatility, which first appeared in Unearthed Arcana: Class Feature Variants in November 2019. This is not errata, but rather playtest content. The playtest document grants Cantrip Versatility to clerics, druids, and wizards (the spellcasting classes in the PHB that prepare spells). For instance, the cleric'...


26

No, you can not. The rules for Metamagic contain this line You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted. Neither the Quickened Spell nor the Twinned Spell metamagic have exceptions allowing them to be used with other metamagics, so in the absence of other features allowing you to use multiple metamagics on ...


26

As a Readied Action One of the problems that melee combatants face once they get Extra Attack is that Extra Attack is only usable on your turn. As such you cannot use Extra Attack as a readied action. What you can do, however, is ready Booming Blade and take advantage of the extra attack damage at higher levels. To encourage the enemy to deal with you If ...


25

Yes, because zephyr strike does not require the Attack action. The Attack action is one type of action you can use in combat. There are other ways to make weapon attack rolls. For further explanation, see these related questions: What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? What counts as an attack? The cantrip green-flame blade is ...


25

If Your DM Says It Does, It Does One of the advantages (haha) of Advantage is that it can be granted circumstantially, as per the rules on Advantage: The GM can also decide that circumstances influence a roll in one direction or the other and grant advantage or impose disadvantage as a result. So if the DM says that using Thaumaturgy grants Advantage ...


25

Sculpt Spells states that: The chosen creatures automatically succeed on their saving throws against the spell, and they take no damage if they would normally take half damage on a successful save. (PHB 117) So even if the spell is affected by Potent Cantrip, Sculpt Spells would still negate all damage to a chosen creature.


25

No. We know for sure that the mage hand is physical, since it can interact with objects and for that it has to "collide" with them. It doesn't state anywhere that it can become ethereal (much like ghosts), so we can only assume that it isn't possible for it to phase through solid surfaces. The hand is not incorporeal. "Spectral" refers to its appearance.


24

No, because timing is a harsh mistress Round 1: Action: I cast Prestidigitation to make trinket, this trinket is a glass. Free action: I use the glass and fill it was swamp water. Round 2: Action: I cast Prestidigitation to instantaneously clean the object (water filled glass) and I have clean water. And then... watch the glass disappear... ...


22

You can cast the two cantrips Cantrips are spells. Therefore, unless specified otherwise, they follow all the rules that apply to spells in general. The status of cantrips as spells is often forgotten because many rules specifically refer to "spells of 1st level or higher", but unless so excluded they do count as spells. This is specified in the ...


21

Zero The rules for damage state: Damage Rolls Each weapon, spell, and harmful monster ability specifies the damage it deals. You roll the damage die or dice, add any modifiers, and apply the damage to your target. Magic weapons, special abilities, and other factors can grant a bonus to damage. With a penalty, it is possible to deal 0 damage, but never ...


20

It's just 1d8 lightning damage, without any modifier Though a "melee spell attack" is still a melee attack, it never assumes you make a melee attack with your weapon. Moreover, since the spell has a somatic component, you need at least one free hand to perform it. You don't add your weapon damage to it — it deals as much damage as its description says, no ...


19

No, the image doesn't reference mage hand and the spell doesn't describe it working like this. I honestly never would have thought this an option before seeing that picture. The written description seems clear (see below) and the illustration shown in the question doesn't say what spell/ability it is depicting. It has no title, no label, no description. ...


19

The racial cantrip that some races get (including Dancing Lights for Drow) is in addition to any cantrips that might be gained as a class feature. The character adds that racial cantrip to the list of cantrips known - it does NOT take one of the known cantrips allowed if cantrips are gained as a class feature.


18

It cannot attach arbitrary objects to each other The mending spell states: This spell repairs a single break or tear in an object you touch, such as broken chain link, two halves of a broken key, a torn cloak, or a leaking wineskin. As long as the break or tear is no larger than 1 foot in any dimension, you mend it, leaving no trace of the former damage. ...


18

Let's say I cast Prestidigitation to make trinket, this trinket is a glass. All good so far. I use the glass and fill it was swamp water. This is, indeed, a function a glass can perform. I cast Prestidigitation to instantaneously clean the object (water filled glass) and I have clean water. No. You have an object (glass) that can be cleaned and a ...


18

Spellcasting Classes A level 1 wizard casting ray of frost deals 1d4 + their spellcasting modifier in damage. As you noted, a cantrip is automatically heightened to 1/2 of the wizard's level, rounded up. A level 1 wizard can therefore heighten something to 0.5*1, rounded up. 0.5 * 1 = 1. Therefore, the cantrip can only be cast as a level 1 spell (it's ...


18

Green flame Blade can't be twinned For a spell to be twinnable it needs to only target one creature. As clarified in the PHB errata: To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell's current level. Green flame blade is able to target two creatures; the one you attack and one next two it. (See also developer tweet ...


17

Almost definitely imbalanced Both of those options still require the caster/attacker to get within melee range. There's a cost risk for using this. Allowing ranged attacks with them removes that cost and vastly increases their power. Additionally, Booming blade triggers off of movement, so being able to use that ranged will almost always guarantee a trigger ...


17

No, Two-Weapon Fighting does not apply. Magic stone is neither a weapon, nor melee, nor light. Two weapon fighting requires that you be using a light melee weapon. Melee weapons can be used to make melee weapon attacks. The magic stone spell creates objects with which you can make a ranged spell attack only. This spell attack uses your spellcasting ...


17

You are right The first effect is an instantaneous effect, thus is not subject to the two active effects restriction. Even the last sentence explicitly describe the restriction only apply to non-instantaneous effect (second and third effect). However, remember that mold earth is only able to excavate loose earth. You might not be able to dig a deep hole with ...


16

No Minor illusion states the following: Physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion, because things can pass through it. "Wearing" an object involves extensive physical interaction with the wearer and, as such, would reveal the illusion.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible