New answers tagged

-2

Very overpowered with multiclassing A paladin with some warlock levels is already a powerful character; giving a paladin the same scaling attacks as a fighter while making them entirely Charisma based is way too powerful. Now, Eldritch Blast is already incredibly powerful for multiclass dips, so maybe this level of power is fine by you. It is a cool thought ...


2

I'd be wary. A character built around this is likely to be overly fragile. First, is it overpowered? No. As a warlock, giving up Eldritch Blast is a big deal, and the numbers you're pulling out of the result aren't all that terrible. Damage compared to a standard (non-hexblade, non-Blade Pact) Warlock: Your damage output is near-identical overall, except ...


8

The spell seems balanced. The invocations do not. There is nothing inherently wrong with the cantrip. It is quite simply eldritch blast but melee range with some two-handed flavor/mechanics. It has the downsides of not being able to use your pact-weapon and needing a free hand to cast it initially (unless you have the War Caster feat). The invocations though,...


1

Consider using the multiclassing variant rules instead All classes are fairly narrow in focus, however with the multiclassing variant rule you can create classes that fit your specific fantasy. By combing warlock with other classes, and especially archetypes, you can fulfill your idea of "a magical melee warrior" without using the hexblade ...


4

This does not look balanced to me This single cantrip (with a few of your invocation slots) basically makes half of Pact of the Blade and half of Hexblade pointless, while providing a more powerful benefit. It also grants you a default 4 attacks per turn, which is the Fighter's most powerful and unique feature on top of essentially being a full caster. The ...


6

There's no such thing as gray light. You can't make a light source that's nearly black or even just gray, but to explain why I need to go into a little detail about how colors work. There are a lot of ways to define the term 'color'. The most useful one in this context is, I feel, the HSL system, or "hue, saturation, luminance". Without going into ...


6

Darkness is by definition the absence of light. Unfortunately, a spell called light cannot create darkness. From the description: Until the spell ends, the object sheds bright light. No reasonable reading of this statement can say “this spell creates darkness”. Further, allowing light to produce darkness more or less emulates the effect of the 2nd level ...


9

Cantrips are spells, so green-flame blade is a spell and you can reroll its fire damage To quote the feat: When you roll fire damage for a spell you cast, you can reroll any roll of 1 on the fire damage dice, but you must use the new roll, even if it is another 1. So the question is whether green-flame blade is a spell. To quote the rules on "...


3

Green-flame Blade triggers Flames of Phlegethos The feat Flames of Phlegethos, pertinent text: When you roll fire damage for a spell you cast, you can reroll any roll of 1 on the fire damage dice, but you must use the new roll, even if it is another 1. Whenever you cast a spell that deals fire damage, you can cause flames to wreathe you until the end of ...


13

Flames of Phlegethos works for cantrips too. There is no spell level restriction mentioned in the feat description, so Flames of Phlegethos works just the same for cantrips as it does for leveled spells; the feat description says: for a spell you cast And whenever you cast a spell Cantrips are spells - from the rules for cantrips (PHB, pg. 201): A ...


11

No, sacred flame will not hurt the hostage The description of sacred flame reads (PHB, p. 272; emphasis mine): Flame-like radiance descends on a creature that you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or take 1d8 radiant damage. The target gains no benefit from cover for this saving throw. The spell hits the target, and ...


-9

Yes, the bonus action from a Haste spell can be used to cast a second spell as long as the spell requires an attack roll. The rules are quite clear that any spell that requires an attack roll is classed as an attack and is covered as an attack action. The second paragraph of the description of the Attack Action states (PHB, page 192): With this action, you ...


19

When you cast the spell, or as an action on a later turn, you can hurl the flame at a creature... The spell produce flame allows you to do one of two things: Cast the spell and hold the flame as a light source, potentially throwing it as an action on a later turn, or Cast the spell and immediately hurl the flames, making your attack as part of the same ...


7

The ranged spell attack can be made using your reaction after readying the spell. Produce flame says (emphasis mine): You can also attack with the flame, although doing so ends the spell. When you cast this spell, or as an action on a later turn, you can hurl the flame at a creature within 30 feet of you. Make a ranged spell attack. On a hit, the target ...


4

Booming Blade is limited by the weapon's reach Booming Blade states: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails. The melee attack must target a creature within the range of the spell but that does not affect the reach of the melee weapon. ...


16

The range of the spell doubles, but trivially so. The first bullet of Spell Sniper says: When you cast a spell that requires you to make an attack roll, the spell’s range is doubled. This answer goes into detail about the interaction between Spell Sniper and booming blade. The short verion is, as Rubiksmoose writes: Spell sniper will work because booming ...


4

The accepted answer above is pretty good, but I'd like to debate just the dot point on ice and snow (which might be better if I could instead answer the specific question Does the Shape Water cantrip work on snow or ice?, but that is closed and redirects back here). You choose an area of water that you can see within range and that fits within a 5-foot cube....


2

Yes, as long as they are not plant creatures The Plant type description says, in part: Plants in this context are vegetable creatures, not ordinary flora. Most of them are ambulatory, and some are carnivorous. The quintessential plants are the shambling mound and the treant. Fungal creatures such as the gas spore and the myconid also fall into this category....


Top 50 recent answers are included