The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Hot answers tagged

52

Jeremy Crawford deemed it to not work So, a few minutes after I posted this question, I found some information from Jeremy Crawford which explained how it didn't work. One of his answers here says that it says "a Medium creature", which does not include creatures on top of other creatures: Twitter user: Just so you know, the #DND hive mind has already ...


39

This is answered directly by the box text at the beginning of every single Unearthed Arcana article: This Is Playtest Content The material here is presented for playtesting and to spark your imagination. These game mechanics are in draft form, usable in your campaign but not refined by final game design and editing. They aren’t officially part of ...


38

As of the 2018 Errata, the Athlete feat has been changed Athlete (p. 165). The third benefit should instead say climbing doesn't cost you extra movement. —Errata: Player's Handbook, 2018 Because of this change, the Athlete feat would allow a Centaur to ignore all extra costs associated with climbing. The technicality of ignoring "halved" movement ...


34

Yes, but so can a halfling AFAIK, this is the only use of the word “animal” as opposed to “beast” anywhere in the rules. Assuming this was a deliberate choice (rather than a mistake) then the authors intended it to mean something different. As such, it should be given a broad reading as encompassing anything in the animal kingdom - beasts, humanoids, ...


28

Many small consequences, some with class features, others with spells. Mechanically speaking, yes, the only consequence of them having the Fey trait is that they cannot be affected by spells and effects that target humanoids, and can be affected by spells and traits that target fey. Humanoid-targeting features are a lot to list (some that come to mind are ...


28

Unclear, but I'd say No, the Centaur cannot turn itself The class feature you are referring to is this one (PHB, pg. 87): Turn the Faithless. You can use your Channel Divinity to utter ancient words that are painful for fey and fiends to hear. As an action, you present your holy symbol, and each fey or fiend within 30 feet of you that can hear you must ...


18

No. Or, to unpack it a little: The Use Magic Device feature is there to avoid magical racial (or class/level) restrictions - if you've got a magic item that is designed to "only work for dwarves" even though it is, say, a hammer, then Use Magic Device allows the thief to "fool it" and use it anyway. But what we have here isn't a "racial restriction"; ...


18

There are some descriptions in official lore, but nothing really showing the actual anatomy. There is, however, an article in Dragon Magazine #103, describing (But not showing) the anatomy. Rules Cyclopedia (1991) gives the following description (and this description is repeated in several sources): A centaur is a creature with the head, arms, and upper ...


17

One Character, One Creature My player considers his lower body to be the mount while his upper body as the rider. The player is fishing for benefits where none are provided by the rules. A centaur is a single creature. He is not his own mount, and there is nothing in the rules to support this "consideration". Ruling in this player's favor gives him more ...


16

It only happens once. The ability triggers when you hit the target, and once you use it, you can't use it again. That means you will only be able to double the damage for one swing. It doesn't have to be the first one though, as you get to decide whether you want to use an ability or not. So if the first attack hits but you don't feel like using it, you don'...


16

A creature is only considered mounted if it is riding something The rules for mounted combat (Player's Handbook, p. 198) say: A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount, using the following rules. So, the centaur is not considered mounted if it isn't riding something. His racial ...


15

In Unearthed Arcana: Centaurs and Minotaurs, Centaurs have the following trait: Equine Build. […] Finally, a Medium or smaller creature can ride on your equine back if you allow it. In such a situation, you continue to act independently, not as a controlled mount. As to answer your question while mounted centaurs are not considered to be controlled ...


14

Yes, a centaur (or any other creature capable of affixing horseshoes) can make use of these items with a DC 25 UMD check by using Emulate a Race. They cannot make use of them without the check. As a sensible houserule the race requirement could be waived.


14

The game doesn’t say; this is beneath its abstraction level. Basically, the game assigns all items a weight which represents how much it encumbers you (and in some cases, an item’s “weight” is higher than its actual physical weight, because it is particularly cumbersome). Then you have a limit on how encumbered you can get before being penalized, based on ...


13

Animal is not a creature type Going pure RAW, the centaur is a fey creature and not a beast. Now, 'animal' isn't a game term and speaking from a biological point of view, we're all animals (assuming mythical fey count as part of the animal kingdom) - but if we look at most draft animals with their 'beast' type in 5e, then we can separate out the fey from ...


13

There is nothing that prevents it; however, if the centaur uses Stealth and the rider doesn’t, the centaur will be detected immediately (barring specific circumstances where the rider is only visible from the waist up) and vice-versa. The two must perform a Group Check (p. 175 of the Player's Handbook): When a number of individuals are trying to ...


12

Generally, yes The equine weakness only prevents you from wearing armor that goes on the legs. Pants are not, generally speaking, armor. And the general rule for magic items is In most cases, a magic item that's meant to be worn can fit a creature regardless of size or build. Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they magically adjust ...


10

Not unless the DM rules that the intended mount has "an appropriate anatomy" The rules on mounted combat state (emphasis mine): A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount, using the following rules. Now, finding a creature that's at least one size larger is pretty easy. The ...


9

You are immune to spells and class features that target humanoids, but vulnerable to those that can target fey. Class features that can target fey creatures are the Ranger's Favored Enemy and Primeval Awareness, the Oath of the Ancients Paladin's Turn the Faithless, among others. You are immune to spells like Hold Person, that target humanoids specifically,...


7

Technically speaking, no. Mounted is a specific situation, and you don't count as mounted unless you are actually mounted or have a special ability that says you count as mounted. A DM might decide to allow this. However, if they do, the lance becomes by far the best weapon for a centaur. It has weaknesses (in the disadvantage for fighting within 5 feet), ...


7

I don't see why not. Ultimately, what your gear-carrying-gear looks like is really just fluff. But Centaurs are quadrapeds, which means they have much higher carrying capacity than ordinary creatures of their size and explaining that by them having saddle packs seems perfectly reasonable. Although they might have trouble removing gear from their own ...


7

"Creature Type" is a larger restriction than "Race" I know you didn't want "it's up to the DM" answers, and only wanted RAW. Unfortunately, I'm afraid that "it's up to the DM" is the RAW answer. I'll explain: The Use Magic Item rules state that (PHB, p. 97): You ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items. But how do we ...


4

Homebrew races require homebrew adjudications Use Magic Device feature says: You ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items. "Equine Weakness" homebrew trait says: you are unable to wear humanoid armor below the belt Strictly saying, race is not creature type. Moreover, there are no armor in 5e, which description ...


4

A centaur, of any class could wear magical pants. The DMG states (emphasis mine): In most cases, a magic item that's meant to be worn can fit a creature regardless of size or build. Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they magically adjust themselves to the wearer. DMG p140 Thus, the only requirement for magical pants is two ...


4

Yes. Here is the rule for effective character levels, from the SRD: To determine the effective character level (ECL) of a monster character, add its level adjustment to its racial Hit Dice and character class levels. Your centaur is effectively a 6th level character before taking any class levels. If they do take a class, they treat their "6 levels" of ...


4

Yes, from the Advanced Race Guide The Pathfinder RPG: Advanced Race Guide splatbook features expanded rules on modifying and creating races, and includes a playable Centaur race as one of the examples - as can be seen here in the Pathfinder SRD. (Unhelpfully, you will need to refer to rules on this page to figure out all the Centaur's actual properties - ...


3

No, There are no such limitations. That said, this is Unearthed Arcana material and requires even more finishing than regular 5e material to be ready for play. Simple solutions include making Centaurs Large (I mean, horses are Large and regular Centaurs are large so...), generally prohibiting Towers of Rage by ruling that mounted creatures cannot ...


2

I would say that two creatures sneaking together in this way are not really a "group check" because you are not doing the same thing -- one is walking while the other is riding on him. Therefore you have to both make Stealth checks individually, so, that means not just the centaur but also his/her rider. The PHB says "Make a Dexterity (Stealth) check when ...


1

You become a mountain goat and essentially have the best climbing in the natural world. Athlete (p. 165). The third benefit should instead say climbing doesn't cost you extra movement. ~ 2018 PHB Errata


1

One attack only At least, that is my interpretation. It says "a melee weapon attack", emphasis on 'a'. Plus it uses lowercase 'attack', as opposed to specifying the Attack (capital A) action, which is used elsewhere if an effect is meant to affect every attack within the Attack action (*citation needed).


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible