21

No, as marking a foe requires concentration. Favored Foe states (emphasis mine): When you hit a creature with an attack roll, you can call on your mystical bond with nature to mark the target as your favored enemy for 1 minute or until you lose your concentration (as if you were concentrating on a spell). "As if concentrating on a spell" ...


16

Because both reactions have the same trigger (the rogue being hit by an attack), the most logical ruling is that they are effectively simultaneous. Xanathar's Guide to Everything gives the following rule for resolving simultaneous effects (on page 77, at the start of the Dungeon Master's Tools chapter): Simultaneous Effects Most effects in the game happen ...


16

Umbral Sight's invisibility is neither magical nor darkness. Nothing in the description of the Umbral Sight feature indicates that it is considered magical. In fact, the description strongly implies the opposite, by saying that your invisibility is a consequence of being "adept at evading creatures that rely on darkvision". However, even if your DM ...


16

There are two possible interpretations. #1. War Magic requires the Cast a Spell action. The first interpretation is that when War Magic says, when you use your action to cast a cantrip, it is referring to the "Cast a Spell" action. With this interpretation, War Magic would not be able to be used with the Bladesinger's Extra Attack cantrip. #2. ...


15

Protection is maintained under all conditions When you cast an evocation spell that affects other creatures that you can see, you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell’s level. The creatures must be affected and you must be able to see them at the time of casting. Even though the previous sentence refers to “pockets of relative safety”, this ...


13

You can use your bonus action to allow the beast to take an action other than the dodge action in which case you'd be using your bonus action to command the beast to attack. Additionally, you can sacrifice one of your attacks when you take the Attack action to command the beast to take the Attack action instead of its standard dodge action. Nowhere is it ...


13

You can't have multiple Eldritch Cannons until level 15. The description of the Artillerist artificer's Eldritch Cannon feature (Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, p. 17; emphasis mine): Once you create a cannon, you can't do so again until you finish a long rest or until you expend a spell slot to create one. You can have only one cannon at a time and can't ...


12

The features have the exact same trigger; ask the GM how it plays out The fire shield spell's effect is activated: [...] Whenever a creature within 5 feet of you hits you with a melee attack [...] Meanwhile, the Cloud Rune is activated: [...] When you or a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is hit by an attack roll [...] These are, effectively, ...


12

Yes, you can. Compare to the Warcaster feat: When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature. You can see that it specifies what type of Cantrip ...


11

No. This is a case of specific beats general. Generally, when you create a pact weapon, this is the rule: You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it. The feature goes on to create an exception to this rule, which is pretty unambiguous: You can transform ...


11

RAW, it prevents reduction of hitpoints from CON reduction. The rules for calculating your maximum hitpoints say: Or if you're 7th level and some effect lowers your Constitution score so as to reduce your Constitution modifier by 1, your hit point maximum is reduced by 7. A reduction of your CON score leads to a reduction of your maximum hit points, which ...


9

Resistance against an instance of damage, not a type The feature refers to that damage meaning that the damage of the triggering event is halved by the resistance given. This means that the feature does not have any duration at all. We can call it instantaneous. Since the qualifying property is that the damage comes from the triggering event - a condition ...


7

The ability works on any Creature. Though the trinket is called a soul trinket, nowhere in the rules does it specify what types of creatures can be claimed for this ability. Various other abilities in the books do clarify that they do not work on Constructs or Undead, such as the spell Blight: ...This spell has no Effect on Undead or Constructs. Or the ...


7

It can only be your gear and only you benefit The description of the primary Rune Carver feature says: You can use magic runes to enhance your gear I admit that the wording that comes later merely says you can choose a number of objects equal to the runes you know, without stating it can only be your equipment. But the description of each individual rune ...


5

Yes, and spellcasting is a different matter That class feature about channel divinity, not spellcasting. The text states you have to touch your holy symbol so that is what you must do. There are other examples in the rules where you need a specific item of value to accomplish something (eg. identify requires a pearl worth at least 100 gold). You won't be ...


5

No You cannot have your cake and eat it. For simplicity, I'm assuming that the 'attack roll' from Cloud Rune is sufficient to hit any creature, and thus treating 'attack roll' as synonymous with 'attack'. I will use 'wizard' to signify the Fire Shield caster, and 'goblin' to signify the new target from Cloud Rune 1. The attack has only one target The chosen ...


4

Reach (the noun) is a game term. The rules for melee attacks say: Used in hand-to-hand combat, a melee attack allows you to attack a foe within your reach. A melee attack typically uses a handheld weapon such as a sword, a warhammer, or an axe. A typical monster makes a melee attack when it strikes with its claws, horns, teeth, tentacles, or other body part....


3

Yes, but only at level 6. Per Manifest Mind: While manifested, the spectral mind can hear and see, and it has darkvision with a range of 60 feet. The mind can telepathically share with you what it sees and hears (no action required). So while it does gain the ability to "communicate in any way", I would argue that it does not gain a language. The ...


3

At level 6, yes The wording of the Awakened Mind text is, to me, quite clear. It describes wat the book can do and nothing there indicates that communication is possible. However, at level 6, Manifest Mind kicks in, which, among other things, does this: (emphasis mine) While manifested, the spectral mind can hear and see, and it has darkvision with a range ...


3

Yes, this can absolutely be true. There are some really powerful feats for a paladin’s special mount. Combine the Devoted Tracker feat with the beastmaster, halfling outrider, Harmonium peacekeeper, and ranger-knight of Furyondy prestige classes (which will consume all your feats to qualify), and you can easily reach nearly 20 HD on your mount while you ...


3

No, Grapple and Shove require the Attack action. Grapple says: When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. Shove says: Using the Attack action, you can make a special melee attack to shove a creature Since these both normally require taking the Attack action, and Giant ...


3

Yes, this works. I actually came to this exact realization a few months ago. In chat I wrote: Whoa, the Chronurgy Wizard can create a quick release Tiny Hut. You have emphasized all of the correct rules concerning the Chronurgy Wizard's Arcane Abeyance feature. If you take the time to cast the spell, the spell is then condensed into the mote, and can be ...


3

Grappling strike is still tied to one specific attack that is made and it's part of that attack. The attack had not yet been resolved because hitting is not the end of the attack process: 3. Resolve the attack. You make the attack roll. On a hit, you roll damage, unless the particular attack has rules that specify otherwise. Some attacks cause special ...


3

It depends on the DM but the book implies that unless you yourself are undead this won't work on the Nightwalker. This is because on page 216 of Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes it states under the "Beings of Anti-life" aspect of the Nightwalker they will never serve living things: Generally, a nightwalker on the Material Plane is attracted to elements ...


3

Yes. First of all, the weapon has been transformed into your pact weapon, so that checks out. But is it "conjured" when you make it appear? Conjuration school of magic includes summoning spells, including spells like Instant Summons and Secret Chest , which kinda do similar things. Also, the plain English meaning of "conjure" is to make ...


3

Essentially, these are two different abilities, so it's a bit confusing that the descriptions overlap. I would allow players to spend one healing die for every ten minutes spent healing. For the first option, the cost is one healing die and one action and the benefit is 1d8 + WIS hp. For the second option, the cost is one healing die and ten minutes (about ...


2

Bonus HD from Dragon Rider probably do not cause your mount to advance age categories. There aren't any errata to the Dragonlance Campaign Setting that I'm aware of, so there's no explicit rule that specifically says this for Dragon Rider mounts in particular. However, there are a couple of fairly strong reasons to think these bonus HD should not contribute ...


2

I think that the way you read the description for Unicorn Spirit can change your interpretation. Personally, when I read this I read the part saying "if you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to any creature inside or outside the aura, each creature of your choice in the aura also regains hit points equal to your druid level" ...


1

Hex Warrior works with any type of Pact Weapon The final part of the Hex Warrior feature states: [...] If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type. Notably, it says that you gain its benefits to every pact weapon, regardless of its type. Unfortunately, ...


1

Yes, any Pact Weapon can benefit from Hex Warrior. The Hex Warrior feature states the following for using it for any Hexblade warlock: Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property. However, it later states (emphasis mine): If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible