Episode #125 of the Stack Overflow podcast is here. We talk Tilde Club and mechanical keyboards. Listen now

New answers tagged

10

TL;DR Yes, a monster is considered a member of that class, having that number of levels in that class, but no, that monster does not have any feature from that class not found in its stat block. Caster level number is used for cantrips, and for each and every game rule that calls for level of the caster, however infrequent such rules may be. From the basic ...


4

The MM p10 states: A monster with the Spellcasting special trait has a spellcaster level and spell slots, ... The spellcaster level is also used for any cantrips included in the feature. The spellcaster level is intended to be used as an equivalent to the character class level when interpreting the damage caused by a cantrip. For example: The Mage (MM ...


7

Yes, but you need to make a Charisma saving throw I totally agree with jgn's answer (I mean, I even copied their title) but I feel like there's a simpler way to prove it. Forcecage states : If the creature tries to use teleportation or interplanar travel to leave the cage, it must first make a Charisma saving throw. The Horizon Walker Ranger ability ...


0

No, transforming metal items into coins using that ability will get you 50% of its value in gold. According to the crafting section of the PHB (p. 187), half the value of a non-magic item is the materials used, so a 10gp solid metal weapon is made using 5gp of metal. On the other hand, coins are worth exactly as much as the metal they're made from. 50 ...


6

Yes, they can attempt to teleport as part of their Attack action. The Horizon Walker's Distant Strike lets them teleport when they take the Attack action. As part of making an attack, they can choose to attack a nearby enemy, or if there are none nearby, they can "attack" an empty location. Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at ...


33

Yes, but you need to make a Charisma saving throw Distant Strike states that you: gain the ability to pass between the planes in a blink of an eye. When you use the Attack action, you can teleport up to 10 feet before each attack to an unoccupied space you can see. Forcecage states that: If the creature tries to use teleportation or interplanar ...


1

Cutting Words applies after resistance because it is not damage reduction, it is subtraction with unique and explicit behaviour. The text of Cutting Words: When a creature that you can see within 60 feet of you makes an attack roll, an ability check, or a damage roll, you can use your reaction to expend one of your uses of Bardic Inspiration, rolling a ...


8

You have a homebrew character concept where the DM may have different interactions in mind You've got some houserule/homebrew in here with your character concept. The below represents a rules-based answer to support how it should work, but your DM may think otherwise based on how they constructed your character concept. If they say something else happens, ...


3

Minor nitpick, but it sounds more like this Character has Tremorsense than Blindsight. On to the question: Since it says you can't use any of your special senses unless the new form has them, then no, you would not keep Blindsight unless the new form also has it. That being said, if the new form can see, then they would be able to as long as they are ...


18

Conjured animals would gain temporary hit points The Bear Spirit option of the Shepherd Druid's Spirit Totem feature states (XGtE, p. 23): The bear spirit grants you and your allies its might and endurance. Each creature of your choice in the aura when the spirit appears gains temporary hit points equal to 5 + your druid level. In addition, you and your ...


-3

Polymorph is a concentration spell. If you lose your class and spellcasting features you can't concentrate on a spell you're not capable of casting in the first place.


-2

Firstly Attack action is the same of Offesive acction not Attack. Another point is related to the wand mechanics For example, the barbarian class is not able to cast magic and don't have slots. If a Barbarian use a Wand of magic detection (no attunement restriction), but when he uses a wand, it spends a charge to cast the magic. the magic is performed ...


5

RAW: Most likely not, however it would be up to the DM. The Forge Domain cleric's Artisan's Blessing Channel Divinity says (XGtE pg. 19; emphasis mine): You conduct an hour-long ritual that crafts a nonmagical item that must include some metal: a simple or martial weapon, a suit of armor, ten pieces of ammunition, a set of tools, or another metal object (...


-7

Well... Of course you can use an wand more than once. Wands are like fire guns, the difference is the attack action produce a magic attack, you trigger the weapon and the weapon fires magic. look wand have charges like guns and D&D 5e doesn't have a skill for Use Magic Device, so as long as an item doesn't have an attunement restriction, anyone can use ...


2

There are two ways that a creature might know you enchanted them. First, like friends or charm person, the spell might outright let them know when it wears off. Secondly, even if the spell itself doesn't automatically let them know you used it, they might figure it out from the fact that you chanted some spell words while stroking your arcane focus, and ...


3

It's a good ruling Either your GM didn't know the RAW ruling at the time, in which case he came up with a ruling off the bat that he thought would be balanced, coherent and believable, or he did know the RAW answer and chose to ignore it, as I would have. The problem I have with the RAW ruling is that it clashes with my view of the scene. A strong NPC is ...


9

It's definitely against the rules, but not unreasonable The scenario as presented is fairly reasonable, but the ruling isn't RAW, and if this irritated you it's completely justified. Plainly put, forced movement breaks grapples, and it doesn't care which creature is moved. PHB pg. 290 under conditions, Grappled: The condition also ends if an effect ...


1

Is it reasonable to make Water Whip a tug of war, requiring a Strength saving throw against my characters' Ki Save DC, in situations where a target is being restrained? The specific ruling is probably not RAW, but could be entirely reasonable IMO. There is good precedence in the case that a target is only grappled, then any forced movement should still take ...


6

No The description of the unconscious condition says: can't move or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings If there were some ambiguity around awareness with being unconscious, these rules quell that ambiguity by stipulating that a creature that is unconscious is also unaware. It is likely the word “unaware” is used because many creatures in D&...


5

It isn't clear if they count as humans for the Favored Enemy feature, but they are likely separate races. Ask your DM. The Ranger's Favored Enemy feature says: Choose a type of favored enemy: [...] you can select two races of humanoid (such as gnolls and orcs) Neither example race is present within the Player's Handbook, but both are present in the ...


20

Yes: At 5th level, extra attack includes the Longbow The Fighter, Barbarian, Monk, Ranger and Paladin all get Extra Attacks at fifth level. None of them specify "melee" or "ranged" therefore there is no limitation per the rules as written. All of them read the same way. Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take ...


25

Half-elf and half-orc are their own separate races. In D&D 5e, the general principle is that a rule says what it says, and no more. Everything else is up to the DM. The ranger's favored enemy states: Alternatively, you can select two races of humanoid (such as gnolls and orcs) as favored enemies. Since half-elf and half-orc are both humanoid races ...


1

Martial Arts • You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon. This die changes as you gain monk levels, as shown in the Martial Arts column of the Monk table. Polearm Master This attack uses the same ability modifier as the primary attack. The weapon’s damage die for this attack is a d4, and it deals ...


12

Yes you can make one additional attack with it (emphasis added) the extra attack is also part of your Attack action, and thus: you can teleport up to 10 feet before each attack applies to it.


7

The resistance does not last for the rest of your turn The Spectral Defense feature states: At 15th level, your ability to move between planes enables you to slip through the planar boundaries to lessen the harm done to you during battle. When you take damage from an attack, you can use your reaction to give yourself resistance to all of that attack's ...


14

No, there is no water in the flask The Decanter (DMG, 161) description heavily suggests that there isn't any actual water in it when not in use(emphasis mine): This stoppered flask sloshes when shaken, as if it contains water. The use of "as if it" suggests that the item itself is just a decanter. There is no water in it when not in actual use, and the ...


-1

Yes they can be replaced The Lore Bard's Additional Magical Secrets feature states: At 6th level, you learn two spells of your choice from any class. A spell you choose must be of a level you can cast, as shown on the Bard table, or a cantrip. The chosen spells count as bard spells for you but don’t count against the number of bard spells you know. ...


0

Yes “Rolling damage” means rolling all the dice. The extra dice from spell bombardment are just “dice” and can be rerolled with empowered spell. Similarly, the rerolls from empowered spell are just dice and subject to spell bombardment.


0

A non-rules based option: It's fine to let it work. The Empowered Spell metamagic option is weak, especially when compared to something like Quickened Spell, and it averages out at something like 2-3 additional points of damage. There may be little in the way of rules-based support for this, but on the scales of balance I don't see a problem in allowing it. ...


11

Comparing just the 2nd level abilities to each other, without reference to the other wizard subclass abilities at other levels or even to class features like Spellcasting or Arcane Recovery which might synergize better with some than others is... going to be difficult to make meaningful sense of. Part of the problem is that D&D has a history of some ...


5

Empowered Spell is a one-time choice. The Empowered Spell metamagic option is a one-time choice. When you roll damage for a spell, you can choose to spend a sorcery point to reroll a number of the resulting damage dice equal to your Charisma mod. It doesn't matter whether additional damage is added by other features after the fact; you choose the dice to ...


3

This doesn't work because Empowered Spell's rerolls all happen simultaneously I believe that Empowered Spell only lets you reroll damage dice that you just rolled. The feature states: When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one) [...] I read this as ...


11

No. Once you Sudden Strike, you may no longer use Sneak Attack that turn. Sneak Attack is usable once per turn: Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack [...] That is always true. But Sudden Strike grants you a bonus action attack and let's you ignore the once-per-turn limitation for that attack only: ...


4

Sudden Strike allows you to apply Sneak Attack if you've already used it. Nothing in Sudden Strike says using it for a Sneak Attack doesn't count as using Sneak Attack. So in the case you've outlined, any attacks subsequent to your Sudden Strike would see that you already used Sneak Attack that round and would not be eligible for further sneak attacks. ...


4

Balance isn't really of concern when all the power does is give information. I have never had total cover block the power, or seen it block the power and that is a good thing. If knowing what is around can break a quest or campaign then something went wrong long ago, but knowing something is under the old church can lead to new adventure. A Paladin will ...


4

I had the party camping in the countryside, and I planned a Mud Mephit ambush. So I had them do Perception checks, and told them they felt watched and they could feel something was wrong... but then only saw mud, and never rolled high enough to see the mud actually moving towards them. So the paladin says "this looks fishy", and uses Divine Sense. Welp. He ...


17

If you have doubts about balance, keep in mind that ultimately that depends on how you as a DM build the campaign and possible encounters where this ability could be used. If you allow your player to by-pass total cover and then you consider that some parts of the adventure would be "ruined" by that, you're free to change it a bit to avoid that problem. If ...


4

Balance can easily be a thing of opinion, so at the end of the day it's up for you as a Dungeon Master to assess the situation and decide, "does this give the player an advantage they shouldn't already have?". Personally, yes, it can have a metaknowledge-esque effect as the player will know information that a Paladin would not normally know. They would be ...


8

The ability uses the word "attack" in the strict rules sense. See What counts as an attack? for a summary of that, but essentially provided you are not using abilities that require you to resolve an attack roll or that are called out as being attacks or damaging in the rulebook, all is good for maintaining the charm. Unfortunately, what you cannot do is ...


16

Unfortunately, No The introduction to Xanathar's Guide to Everything (page 5) reiterates a rule about concentration: As soon as you start casting a spell or using a special ability that requires concentration, your concentration on another effect ends instantly. Therefore, any spells/abilities that require concentration to maintain end when another ...


14

Divine Sense can be very useful in particular campaigns/social situations I have played in a number of campaigns where Divine Sense was useful. The most prominent of which was when I ran Curse of Strahd. It was used so much that the paladin player was often running out of uses. Helping the rampant use of this ability is the fact that unlike a spell it has ...


28

It's not as useful as detect evil was in 3e, but it still has niche uses. Divine Sense is basically the 5e version of the 3rd edition Paladin's detect evil, which could be used at will. It penetrated some barriers, detected lingering auras, identified evil NPCs, and helped find hidden enemies. The problem was that 3e paladin used detect evil on every ...


-1

This actually does work, but instead of a Maul, you pick up a Glaive. Now you have reach and don't need to take opportunity attacks. This also opens you to taking PAM in order to get opportunity attacks against anyone who tries to follow you. Alternatively, grab mobile with that maul. The benefit of the Charging Barbarian is that you don't have to stay in ...


5

Natural Explorer does not apply to Avernus Natural explorer works in a natural environment. You are particularly familiar with one type of natural environment and are adept at traveling and surviving in such regions. Choose one type of favored terrain: arctic, coast, desert, forest, grassland, mountain, or swamp. (SRD, Ranger, p. 36) (Emphasis ...


5

The benefit of the feat Improvisation says, in part, "You gain a +2 bonus on all skill checks for skills you have no ranks in." The description of the extraordinary ability master armorer, an advanced armor training ability, says, in part, "The fighter substitutes his total base attack bonus… for his ranks in [the Craft (armor)] skill…." This reader ...


17

Limitations of Illusory Reality Illusory Reality states: By 14th level, you have learned the secret of weaving shadow magic into your illusions to give them a semireality. When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that object real. You can do this on your ...


2

Your Cleric spell cast as a Wizard would use the Wizard's Spell slot and Int for the DC, resulting in the DC 17. The Combining Spells class feature includes this line at the end of it's first section, which dictates this answer The components of these spells do not change, but they otherwise follow the rules for the spellcasting class used to cast the ...


0

Even if this interpretation of Illusory Reality worked (RAW), potential answers to the question are resistance to the effect and a tactical response to the effect. Up front, this is a questionable use of Illusory Reality. It's not obviously permitted from the feature's description as written, and interpreting it in a way that allows these uses starts ...


12

Avernus is a desert The best descriptions of Avernus I've found are in the Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus adventure, under the "Paradise Lost" heading in the introduction (p. 9): Before the Blood War reduced it to a blasted wasteland, Avernus was a honey trap created by Asmodeus, a paradise of infinite delights designed to lure and enrapture mortals....


31

Your specific descriptions of the Wizard's use of Illusory Reality is not supported by RAW By 14th level, you have learned the secret of weaving shadow magic into your illusions to give them a semireality. When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that ...


Top 50 recent answers are included