44

You have a few options: You could tell your player "If you want to disarm enemies, you need to be a Battlemaster (or take the Martial Adept feat) and use the Disarming Attack manuever." This is probably the simplest option - you stick to the rules in the PHB and if that doesn't work for your player, that's just too bad. You could allow the player to use the ...


43

The closest thing to a general rule I can see is the sidebar in the section on Grappling/Shoving a Creature (Basic Rules p.74): Contests in Combat Battle often involves pitting your prowess against that of your foe. Such a challenge is represented by a contest. This section includes the most common contests that require an action in combat: ...


40

Yes, an unarmed strike is a melee weapon attack. From the official Sage Advice Compendium on page 10, under What does “melee weapon attack” mean: a melee attack with a weapon or an attack with a melee weapon?: For example, an unarmed strike counts as a melee weapon attack, even though the attacker’s body isn’t considered a weapon. As another answer ...


40

When another's attack would do more damage/be more impactful than yours. Not going to lie: I don't feel like going through your party and doing the math, but suffice it to say that there are times--even when playing a Great Weapon Master--that someone else's attack is expected to do more damage. Like when you can direct your Sharpshooting ranger to take a ...


39

No Both of them requires reaction to use. You only have one reaction per turn, so you can only use either, but not both.


38

Grabbing it is easy but... It is easy to grab it back on their next turn, but you could also grab the weapon as your free object interaction (maybe even on the turn you disarm them!), assuming you have a hand free. Separate them from it You could also knock them away with another action (like bull rush) or a spell (like Thunderwave) if you can't grab it, ...


37

When it comes to DM rulings, they are ultimately always correct by the rules as intended: the intention is that, as the DM, you have the final say in these matters. So that one's easy. It's not correct by RAW, as the Mage Hand spell does not state anywhere that it causes Disadvantage, nor do Ogres list anything about having Disadvantage because they get ...


34

Consider a house rule: Novel improvised actions are more effective, repeat improvised actions are less effective We've only played with this house rule for two weeks explicitly but it pretty well captures something that has been our convention for much longer. We've called it, "Show Me Something New". New Rule: Show Me Something New When a character uses ...


33

No, unarmed strikes aren't considered weapons. An official erratum has stated that Weapons (p. 149). Unarmed strike doesn’t belong on the Weapons table. But Jeremy Crawford has clarified via Twitter that ...[The melee attack errata] lets melee weapon attacks use unarmed strikes, despite those strikes not being weapons. So when using a Melee Weapon ...


33

The problem is this part of the falling rules: The creature lands prone, unless it avoids taking damage from the fall. You are suggesting you give the PC advantage on the attack and no damage when they really should be landing prone after taking damage. The question then is whether negating the damage is fair or not. The problem with the falling rules ...


32

No, you can't provoke opportunity attacks this way. From the Player's Basic Rules, page 74: You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an opportunity attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or ...


31

It is neither RAW nor RAI. Only 2 classes have abilities that allow a PC to use the help action at range. The effect you are describing is the Arcane Trickster's 13th level ability Versatile Trickster At 13th level, you gain the ability to distract targets with your mage hand. As a bonus action on your turn, you can designate a creature within 5 ...


28

No, not with a "single strike", which the PHB would call an attack. Quoting from the Player's Handbook, p.73 (emphasis mine): Many maneuvers enhance an attack in some way. You can use only one maneuver per attack. If you have additional attacks, from a feat, from the Extra Attack class feature or from some other source, you can use one additional ...


24

PHB says, regarding Maneuvers that: You can use only one maneuver per attack. In regards of two-weapong fighting, PBH says: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. So RAW, ...


23

So this question sort of ultimately comes down to "does shove use my weapon?" - the answer to which is unfortunately clouded and probably up to your DM more than it is governed by the rules. I think in my games, I'd probably not allow it, as "shove" seems more like a body to body effect (or shield if you're using one) rather than a weapon push, but I'd be ...


22

PCs have no reason to move during combat unless you give them one In my game experiences, I have seen very little movement by creatures during combat that wasn't forced upon them. There really isn't any incentive to change position (mostly because moving away/out of reach generates Opportunity Attacks.) What you need to consider are environmental or other ...


22

Take the Martial Adept feat The key is in the wording of the feat and the Battle Master maneuvers section. The first bullet of Martial Adept says (PHB, p. 168, emphasis mine): You learn two maneuvers of your choice from among those available to the Battle Master archetype in the fighter class. [...] The second paragraph of the Battle Master maneuvers ...


22

Neither the description of shoving enemies nor of the prone condition have any mention that a prone enemy can't be shoved. So going by the letter of the rules, it is indeed possible to shove a prone creature. (Though given circumstances of what is supposed to happen in the action of the adventure, GMs are entirely in their right to overrule such an outcome ...


21

From the Errata: Melee Attacks (p. 195). The rule on unarmed strikes should read as follows: “Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons). On a hit, an unarmed strike deals bludgeoning damage equal to 1 + your Strength ...


21

This is one of those times the DM needs to ignore the rules. A DM has huge leeway to ignore the rules and do whatever feels right. In this case you would tell the DM what you want to do "I grab his arms, player B grabs his legs and player C sits on top of him as we pull him to the ground" and the DM decides if it works and what checks are needed (I would ...


20

You deal damage PHB page 194: Resolve the attack. You make the attack roll. On a hit, you roll damage, unless the particular attack has rules that specify otherwise. Some attacks cause special effects in addition to or instead of damage. Stunning strike does not say you do not do damage. PHB page 79: Starting at 5th level, you can interfere with the ...


20

No. Disarming Attack isn't useless. Here's my reasoning: To determine if the Disarm option makes the Disarming Attack battlemaster maneuver useless, we need to compare a situation where either one or the other could be used — that is, whether a fighter who can make a Disarming Attack is always better off attempting a Disarm instead. I took some stats for ...


20

Not dead yet As you've quoted, the Maneuver is added on the hit and then you add the superiority die to the damage and resolve the save. Damage hasn't yet been rolled, so you don't know if the regular hit killed a creature. This does mean that you may expend the resource with no additional gain.


19

Impossible to say We have, effectively, three points of information. First, the entry on the disarm variant rule states that A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. and the entry on the battlemaster’s disarming attack lets you When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can [...force...] it ...


19

Lunging Attack can only be used on melee attacks, and nets are ranged weapons The description of the Battle Master fighter's Lunging Attack maneuver says ((PHB, p. 74; emphasis mine): When you make a melee weapon attack on your turn, you can expend one superiority die to increase your reach for that attack by 5 feet. If you hit, you add the superiority ...


19

The grappled ally will be moved, breaking the grapple if that takes them out of the grappler's reach As written, the manoeuvre doesn't require the ally to be willing, personally able to move or even conscious in order to be the target of the Bait and Switch technique; they merely have to exist and be adjacent to the fighter. Being grappled reduces their ...


18

The key here is whether the "special attack" requires the attack action or just a melee or weapon attack. An opportunity attack is a melee attack. It is not an attack action. Therefore, special attacks which require an attack action cannot replace it, whereas special attacks which require only a melee attack can. No for Grapple and Shove From Sage Advice: ...


17

Yes, shields can be disarmed. There are only two methods of disarming in the game at present - the variant rule in the DMG, and the Battlemaster Fighter's Disarming Attack. Both of these can disarm someone of a shield. The variant rule in the DMG says: Disarm A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. ...


17

Evasive Footwork protects against all opportunity attacks The alternatives you list only protect against opportunity attacks from a single creature. In contrast, you could use Evasive Footwork to run past a whole group of enemies, and all of their opportunity attacks will be against your increased AC. Evasive Footwork doesn't require a roll to succeed A ...


16

On the d20SRD, next to the "pick up an item," there is a FAQ linked that covers this. You can pick something up within your reach (which seems to qualify in this case) and it provokes an AoO. Notice that reaching into a threatened square doesn't provoke, just reaching while someone threatens you. So you don't have to be in their square, just be able to ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible