A message from our CEO about the future of Stack Overflow and Stack Exchange. Read now.

New answers tagged

3

As written, but it’s dumb—the empowering is permanent RAW, you can enter Deadhand Style, and then spend a ki point to empower your unarmed strikes to cause the shaken condition, and that’s it, end of the rules. Nothing there ever ends the empowering of your unarmed strikes—so it’s permanent. Any effect using ki is presumably supernatural, which means this ...


-1

RAW doesn't address it... I don't know of any specific errata that address a clarification of this. The wording, as you've pointed out, is rather vague and undefined. ...but you can likely draw from context... The text does say “While using this style.” It's fair to assume, then, that the effect remains until you spend a swift action to switch to another ...


2

Give them the fight you're paying them for. You played these NPCs by standard companion rules, I'm assuming, and deducted their XP from the encounter payout before you gave it to the PCs. This represents the expected amount that NPC will contribute to the fight. Instead of playing it out, you could just make that assumption directly, and only budget the ...


3

There are default, general rules on stacking “bonuses” as well as combining magical effects that mean that usually, recasting the same spell does nothing more than refresh the duration and provide redundancy in the face of dispel magic. These don’t block fear effects from “stacking,” however: Fear conditions aren’t “bonuses,” though the conditions—not the ...


0

jgn has already succinctly shown that enemies cannot be surprised after combat. However, there are game-impacting effects of being hidden when the new enemy arrives. If the PC is still hiding at the time of the new monster's arrival, you must resolve the following: The value of the hiding PC's initial Dexterity (stealth) roll carries over. This means that ...


-1

Your DM should not have made the hook horror be surprised. A hook horror has the echolocation ability which powers it's blindsight. It doesn't matter how silently you were moving. Unless you were inside of an actual silence spell field it would have detected you since it would would hear the noise it produces bouncing off of you. That's how echolocation ...


17

There are two sets of rules for ship combat, but the ones you link are not both official The first set of rules we get for ship combat appears in the Unusual Environments section of Chapter 5 of the Dungeon Master's Guide: Traveling through the wilderness doesn’t always mean an overland trek. Adventurers might ply the open sea in a caravel or an ...


5

No Surprise Here jgn's answer covers the rules related to Dexterity (Stealth) and Perception (Wisdom), and does it well, so I won't rehash them. Instead, I present an alternative: surprise isn't really a factor in this situation. Trying to be stealthy is all well and good, but we're talking about a forewarned enemy laying in wait for a forewarned party. ...


12

Sanctuary ends if you make an attack Please note that you are using an old version of the wording of the spell. There has been errata released on the PHB which changes the wording on Sanctuary and makes this issue much more clear (errata page 3): The final sentence now reads, “If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, ...


2

Unclear RAW, it's difficult to determine what the or was supposed to mean. It could mean: If the warded creature (makes an attack or casts a spell) that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends. In which case, Sanctuary would not end if you attack a door. If attacking an illusion of an enemy creature counts as attacking an enemy creature is something ...


2

Not really, but sort of Why not: In my experience, Epic Spells are eschewed in favor of normal spells not because those spells are difficult to cast but rather because they are difficult to put in items. Epic Level play is an environment I have found generally amiable to levels of optimization other circles frequently scorn, so most Epic level games I ...


1

No, you cannot. Shadow Jaunt requires a standard action to use. (But you could use Shadow Stride). Yes, provided you hadn't used your standard action for anything else. No you cannot. Shadow Stride requires a move action to use. (Though Shadow Blink is a swift action.) So you could do a Stride (move action) attack (standard) Blink (swift) but it would ...


6

The Advanced Combat System makes combat not just a question of distance between two fighters, but a whole situation of where everyone is, which direction they are facing, where walls, fallen bodies, and other obstacles are, and so on. It makes combat into a full interesting tactical boardgame. It seems to me pretty hard to do justice to more than a one-on-...


10

My answer will focus on 4e, since it's the current edition, and since it has a higher support in terms of FAQs and general clarifications, because it's somewhat more streamlined/cleaned up, and finally because I stopped engaging with over a decade ago. Long-Reach PoV If the Halberdier is in Close Combat (i.e. same hex with the enemy), he needs to step back ...


Top 50 recent answers are included