Skip to main content
107 votes
Accepted

Sentinel Raven uses too much awesome magic

Yes, you are missing something; an incapacitated creature cannot maintain concentration: Being incapacitated or killed. You lose concentration on a spell if you are incapacitated or if you die. (...
daze413's user avatar
  • 28.7k
58 votes
Accepted

Does dealing 0 damage to a concentrating spellcaster require a saving throw?

No saving throw is triggered I found two relevant Q&A twitter posts from Jeremy Crawford (the Lead Designer and Managing Editor for DnD 5e) that shed some light on this. However, Jeremy's tweets ...
Dacromir's user avatar
  • 10.3k
58 votes
Accepted

When exactly can a caster stop concentrating on a spell?

You can end concentration at any time (no action required). As it says above, you can end it at any time, no action required. It means you don't need to use a reaction, so you can elect to just end ...
Lino Frank Ciaralli's user avatar
56 votes
Accepted

Should casting Confusion centered on yourself from Wild Magic Surge be trivial to end because it's a concentration spell?

No Wild Magic spells use concentration The wild magic surge feature (PHB p. 103; added in Errata 1.1) includes: If that effect is a spell, it is too wild to be affected by your Metamagic, and if it ...
Someone_Evil's user avatar
  • 48.5k
55 votes
Accepted

Can a concentration spell be cast without actually concentrating on it for an "instant" effect?

No. Casting a concentration spell immediately breaks any existing concentration. One of the rules clarifications in Xanathar's Guide to Everything (pg. 5) addresses this issue directly: As soon as ...
Icyfire's user avatar
  • 63.7k
53 votes

What happens if a caster is surprised while casting a spell with a long casting time?

The caster continues casting the spell. Taking the same quotes from @Xirema's answer, we have the following for casting spells with a long casting time: Certain spells (including spells cast as ...
Willem Renzema's user avatar
53 votes
Accepted

Unlisted effects of Incapacitated Condition

This answer only lists the otherwise unlisted effects of each condition that could apply to practically any character (that I could find, of course). It does not include class-specific examples, race-...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.3k
51 votes
Accepted

Can I cast a no-concentration spell while concentrating on another?

Things that end Concentration, as per page 203 of the PHB: Casting another spell that requires concentration. Failing the constitution saving throw when you take damage. Being incapacitated ...
Purple Monkey's user avatar
50 votes
Accepted

Does a concentrating caster damaged by Ice Knife require two concentration checks?

The target would need to make up to two saves. The short answer: Since Ice Knife deals damage twice, the target would indeed make up to two saves. The long answer: The rules for Concentration say (...
Lauren Moylan's user avatar
48 votes

What are the impacts of permitting casters to concentrate on 2 spells?

The Dungeon Master's Guide strongly recommends against this. Dungeon Master's Guide, p.263: Beware of adding anything to your game that allows a character to concentrate on more than one effect at ...
Quadratic Wizard's user avatar
48 votes
Accepted

Is there any reason to concentrate on the Thunderous Smite spell after using its effects?

If you are a War Mage A wizard of the War Magic tradition gets the Durable Magic feature: Beginning at 10th level, the magic you channel helps ward off harm. While you maintain concentration on a ...
Szega's user avatar
  • 61.6k
47 votes
Accepted

What happens if a caster is surprised while casting a spell with a long casting time?

Rules as Written, the Spellcaster would lose the spell This is relatively straightforward. The rules for spellcasting state unambiguously that a caster casting a spell with a long casting time must ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.7k
46 votes
Accepted

Which feat, Resilient (Con) or War Caster, improves the chances of maintaining concentration more?

The proficiency bonus is the primary factor I made a graph to compare Resilient and War Caster. How to read the graph. The horizontal axis is the save DC, the vertical axis is the chance of success, ...
Ruse's user avatar
  • 18.2k
44 votes
Accepted

How can my wizard cast Levitate, Invisibility and Magic Weapon and have them all active at the same time before a battle?

Use glyph of warding If you cast glyph of warding and choose the option Spell Glyph: You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The ...
Szega's user avatar
  • 61.6k
42 votes
Accepted

Can you maintain concentration through a short rest?

Yes, you can maintain concentration Concentration is ended by (PH chapter 10): Casting another spell that requires concentration. Taking damage. Being incapacitated or killed. Or "The DM might also ...
Derek Stucki's user avatar
  • 27.7k
41 votes
Accepted

Does being stunned interrupt concentration?

Being Stunned ends concentration by inflicting the Incapacitated condition One of the effects of the Stunned condition is this: A stunned creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can't move, ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.3k
41 votes
Accepted

Why shouldn't one make changes to concentration in homebrew?

I wouldn't say that "all changes to concentration are inherently overpowered", but I would say that all changes to concentration are inherently suspect. You'll need to playtest the heck out ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
38 votes

Does dealing 0 damage to a concentrating spellcaster require a saving throw?

No concentration saving throw is required. Fifth Edition strives to use natural language whenever possible. This was a stated design philosophy from the writers of the game. From the D&D Podcast, ...
keithcurtis's user avatar
  • 32.1k
38 votes

Why shouldn't one make changes to concentration in homebrew?

It potentially affects every concentration spell... ...and how that interacts with every concentration spell, and how that interacts with every concentration spell, etc. There are currently 237 ...
Red Orca's user avatar
  • 18.8k
36 votes
Accepted

If I readied a spell with the trigger "When I take damage", do I have to make a constitution saving throw to avoid losing Concentration?

Yes, you do The Readied action doesn't trigger until after your trigger completes: When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
34 votes
Accepted

Can monsters using innate spellcasting have their concentration broken?

Innate Spellcasters have the same requirements for concentration as other spellcasters The rules for innate spellcasting (MM, p. 10) do not describe any unusual interactions between innate ...
Gandalfmeansme's user avatar
33 votes

Can you maintain concentration through a short rest?

The only things that break concentration are listed in the PHB, the PHB says on 203-204: Normal activity, such as moving and attacking, doesn't interfere with concentration. The following factors can ...
J. A. Streich's user avatar
33 votes

If Invisibility ends because the original caster casts a non-concentration spell, does Invisibility also end on other targets of the original casting?

The additional end condition affects creatures separately This is what The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell. means. If this addendum was not there, it would mean that the ...
Szega's user avatar
  • 61.6k
33 votes
Accepted

How does Dispel Magic work against Stoneskin?

Dispel Magic ends Stoneskin Your original ruling was partially correct - here's how it should have gone down: Dispel Magic states (emphasis mine): Choose one creature, object, or magical effect ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
33 votes
Accepted

Can elves maintain concentration in a trance?

Yes Elves are able to maintain concentration during a long rest if they use their Trance trait. Concentration is only broken by: Casting another spell that requires concentration. You lose ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
33 votes
Accepted

Does quickening a spell change the kind of action it grants?

Quickened Spell only affects the initial casting of the spell; it has no effect on actions granted by the spell The Quickened Spell Metamagic, as you quoted, does exactly what it says: it changes the ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.7k
32 votes

When exactly can a caster stop concentrating on a spell?

You can end concentration at any time (no action required) but: The DM will decide how it affects already declared actions. Rule of Cool may let you use this trick once or twice to avoid attacks - but ...
Bash's user avatar
  • 2,749
32 votes
Accepted

How many concentration saving throws does a spellcaster moving through Spike Growth need to make?

We can ignore a lot of the context here and boil down the situation to a more direct question: Does spike growth deal 2d4 damage after each five feet of movement, or does it let you finish your ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
31 votes
Accepted

What do I add to the D20 roll of a Concentration Check?

Technically there's no such thing as a "concentration check" in 5e. A "concentration check" is actually a constitution saving throw. From page 203-204 of the PHB: Taking damage. Whenever you take ...
Purple Monkey's user avatar
31 votes
Accepted

Do magic item spells require concentration?

That depends on if it is casting a spell, or granting a spell-like-effect. To cast an actual spell from an item, it requires your concentration. This is specified on page 141 of the DMG [...] The ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.7k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible