Skip to main content
16 votes
Accepted

Would raging break the concentration of a Wild Shaped Druid?

Yes, it would break concentration. Your character is able to cast spells, they just can't cast any at that moment. The same applies to a paladin out of spell slots, a wizard who only prepared verbal ...
Shivers's user avatar
  • 5,365
16 votes
Accepted

Can you use Mage Hand to make a caster lose concentration?

Mage Hand cannot break concentration Firstly, because if mage hand could do so without dealing damage, it would need to specifically say so, and secondly there are only three general ways to break ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
15 votes
Accepted

Interaction between reaction attacks and concentration spells

You cannot cast shield in response to enervation Shield’s casting time is: Casting time: 1 Reaction* * which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell Enervation ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
14 votes

Is a concentration check required when temporary hit points absorb all the damage?

Yes, the concentration check is required even if you have temporary hit points. A concentration check is required in any case the caster takes damage: The following factors can break concentration: [....
Eddymage's user avatar
  • 30.3k
9 votes
Accepted

At what level does average incoming damage exceed 21?

CR 11 and CR ≥ 15 I've constructed this table from this spreadsheet of Monster Manual data. Using a pivot table, I show the average, max, and standard deviation within each CR of the average damage ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
9 votes

Would a Lich/Wizard casting Globe of Invulnerability, Prismatic Wall, and Shield (as needed) be "invincible"?

Probably not, a simple dimension door might do it You can simply teleport there with dimension door through Globe of Invulnerability, which does not block it. Wether Prismatic Wall would stop you is ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
7 votes

Would raging break the concentration of a Wild Shaped Druid?

The whole "If you are able to cast spells," qualifier isn't intended that way, as other answers explain. The best way to avoid this misinterpretation would be to simply write "You can'...
Peter Cordes's user avatar
  • 3,009
6 votes

Can you use Mage Hand to make a caster lose concentration?

It's up to the DM According to the PHB (p. 203): The following factors can break concentration: Casting another spell that requires concentration. You lose concentration on a spell if you cast ...
Olorin's user avatar
  • 3,260
6 votes

In Pathfinder 1e, does damage accumulate for the purpose of calculating Concentration Checks with Injury

No, it does not accumulate. Instead, the added difficulty is represented by having to make multiple checks. If he fails any of the checks, the spell also fails. If you take damage while trying to ...
Gloweye's user avatar
  • 2,692
5 votes
Accepted

Ready an attack to disrupt spellcaster + attack of opportunity?

Yes, both readied action and attack of opportunity would be triggered, and so the caster would be attacked twice in a row. No, they wouldn’t be “simultaneous,” that basically isn’t a thing within the ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 354k
4 votes

Would raging break the concentration of a Wild Shaped Druid?

Yes By my count, the PHB uses the phrase "if you are able" all of twice. Once is in the Blindsense class ability of Rogues: ...if you are able to hear, you are aware of the location of any ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 53.5k
3 votes

Ready an attack to disrupt spellcaster + attack of opportunity?

You make two separate attacks As per the rules on Attacks of Opportunity An attack of opportunity "interrupts" the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
3 votes
Accepted

Can the damage taken from Blood Channeling cause you to lose concentration on the spell it's paying for?

You do not have to make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The following sentence implies that the damage is taken before the spell is fully cast: If this damage reduces you ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
2 votes

In Pathfinder 1e, does damage accumulate for the purpose of calculating Concentration Checks with Injury

Each source of damage causes a separate concentration check The rules say: If you take damage while trying to cast a spell, you must make a concentration check with a DC equal to 10 + the damage ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
1 vote

Does a wizard need to read their spellbook to ritual cast from it?

You don't need to read a spell from your spellbook in order to ritual cast it. You have already listed the requirements of ritual casting, and reading the spell from your spellbook is not one of them.
Lovell's user avatar
  • 5,657

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible