New answers tagged

54

A petrified character weighs 10 times their normal weight This is answered in the first bullet point of the petrified condition (emphasis added): A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or carrying, into a solid inanimate substance (usually stone). Its weight increases by a factor of ten, and it ceases aging....


9

You would have neither advantage nor disadvantage. You have already quoted all relevant rules yourself except the following, which is taken from the section Advantage and Disadvantage on page 173 of the Player's Handbook: If circumstances cause a roll to have both advantage and disadvantage, you are considered to have neither of them, and you roll one ...


2

Whose turn is it? The saving throw is made “at the end ... of its turns”, not at the start of the next creature’s turn. So, while it makes the saving throw it’s turn is still ongoing. Therefore an effect that lasts “until the end of its next turn” is still in effect. The turn doesn’t end until all the things that happen in the turn are resolved - the saving ...


8

The DM decides the order Borrowing heavily from this answer, in Xanathar's Guide to Everything there is an optional rule for exactly this situation. On page 77, it contains a section entitled "Simultaneous Effects": In rare cases, effects can happen at the same time, especially at the start or end of a creature's turn. If two or more things happen at the ...


1

Spells do what they say they do The creature uses its action to make a melee attack ... They must make a “melee attack”; the spell requires nothing else. Therefore the details are up to the character - if they are targeting a friend they can make an unarmed strike to minimize damage, if they are targeting an enemy they can go all out.


1

Not necessarily Much depends on the circumstances that led to the restrained condition in the first place. Restrained is a higher level status condition than Grappled. Not only is movement impeded, but actions too. Some abilities impose just the grappled condition, and others impose restrained in addition to, or on top of grappled. Only in a case where ...


3

Depends on how they're restrained. Since you've clarified that the creature is trapped in the coils of a giant snake, no, they won't get released. Repelling Blast throws the snake backward; this won't untangle whatever is wrapped up in it. But the Grappled condition says... The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the ...


-1

A restrained creature will be free. Grappler feat (Players Handbook pg 167.) gives a character the ability to restrain another. Spells do what they say they do and the repelling blast would cause the creature targeted (grappler) to be moved as that is the effect of the feature. In this case, the creature (being held) who was not a target of the effect, ...


1

There is no language stating that the effect is due to emotion. You assume that Fred will be enraged and feeling hatred towards Clarence. But this is never stated in the effect. It may well be that Fred's feelings towards Clarence doesn't change. In your example Fred may be crying and repeatedly shouting "I'm sorry Clarence" as his is compelled to bash his ...


4

I would say no. The key part of the alternate use of calm emotions is that it makes the targets indifferent to creatures they are hostile towards. The bloody fervor effect doesn't make the creatures hostile towards each other, it just compels them to attack a target who passed their save. This is more akin to mind control like the Dominate Monster spell.


1

The grapplee can only do something if they succeed their Int save. On a success, they would have the option to attempt to escape the grapple as an action, or do some other ability that removes them from the grapple (eg teleportation or forced movement such as misty step or thunderwave). But on a failed save, they're utterly doomed unless someone else can ...


-1

A speed of 0 means that you can't make use of your movement abilities eg. walking, flying, climbing, burrowing. The move action lets you move a distance up to your speed. You can use the dash action to increase the distance you can move via your speed. Having a speed of 0 doesn't mean you can't move at all though, you just can't do it via a move action. You ...


7

Those terms are descriptive, and do not explain where the mechanical difference between them lies. Inclusion of either phrase is not "the reason" the effects they describe exist. When looked at overall, I think the distinction becomes pretty clear. In the entire Appendix A of the 5e PHB, there are exactly four occurrences of the phrase can't move: A ...


8

They aren't different in the sense of "tactical movement", but they're very different concepts from the narrative perspective. If your speed is reduced to zero, you can't move around (i.e. change which square you're standing in), but you can still move your body around, like waving your arms or looking around. If you can't move, you literally can't move; ...


22

Under some conditions, a speed that has "become zero" can be increased magically, as discussed in this question. If you "can't move", then changes to your base speed have no effect. Also, "can't move" does not imply "can't take an action". This is indicated by the fact that all conditions that use the phrase "can't move" include the condition Incapacitated ...


5

I think 'can't move' means you literally can't physically move at all, so you can't struggle or attack. Whereas 'speed becomes zero' means you can't Move in the technical sense, but you can still attack, attempt to break free etc.


15

Interestingly, it does seem to be the case that a Vampire cannot charm a Blind target, or any creature that cannot see the Vampire You have correctly quoted the Vampire Charm ability as stating: The vampire targets one humanoid it can see within 30 feet of it. If the target can see the vampire, the target must succeed on a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw ...


13

The rules for monster telepathy specifically cover this case: A telepathic monster can initiate or terminate a telepathic conversation without using an action, but while the monster is incapacitated, it can't initiate telepathic contact, and any current contact is terminated. A monster that is paralyzed is also incapacitated, so it can't use its ...


Top 50 recent answers are included