21

This is largely up to the DM to determine, but it's probably worth talking about the reason for that clause. In general, sections like these are just meant to tell everyone involved what the options are: "you become large" or "you don't grow bigger". It implicitly tells the DM and player that you can't use this power to grow large and ...


19

Movement speed doesn't have any scaling or multiplier based on size Movement doesn't scale based on size/space - no matter how big the creature is, if it has a movement speed of 30 feet, it can only travel up to 30 feet (six squares at the standard grid scale), so if for instance it travelled in a straight line the front of it would be 30 feet from where it ...


17

Larger creatures are typically stronger than smaller ones Physical strength is determined by strength score. This is represented both by the increased likelihood to succeed at strength-based tasks, as well as in the raw ability to lift things: a creature's carrying capacity is its strength score multiplied by 15 (in pounds) (PHB p.176) Creatures larger ...


16

RAW, it would seem that any creature becomes a medium zombie The spell's description does not place any restriction on the target regarding creature type or size, and yet it does specifically say that they are raised as a zombie, pointing the player/DM to the zombie entry in the Monster Manual. It seems that a RAW reading would imply that any creature of any ...


13

Nothing in the descriptions of the magic weapons in the DMG mention anything about changing size. Since the DMG does say this about magical armor and worn gear, the lack of such a property suggests they cannot. The Sword of Zariel is an artifact. Not only are artifacts more powerful that the "average" magic weapons, it is not unusual for them to have special ...


13

As far as I can find there is no official ruling. As you have stated all the applicable rules, and the RAW are still ambiguous (no clear RAI), I would say with a fair amount of confidence that this is a individual DM rule decision on the interpretation of the phrase: If you lack the room to become Large Mechanically there is no end difference to becoming ...


9

Enlarge does increase the size of object you can turn the creature into, and large it will remain. tl;dr the effect of true polymorph is to turn the target into a large object. That effect is still ongoing after the effect of enlarge ends. The effect of enlarge makes the creature valid for turning into a large object. True polymorph "transform the ...


9

Ask the GM, the rules are not precise and exacting There are no exacting dimensions on the biggest medium creature or the smallest small creature and whether the first could squeeze into a space the size of the latter. You'll have to ask the GM. That said, there are rules: If you are not using a grid Then a creature can squeeze into a space that it ...


8

No. Consider the situation: Here, our big red creature moves five feet south. I repeat, our big red creature moves 5 feet south. If the creature had 30 feet of available movement before the move, the creature has 20 feet of available movement after the move (movement cost is doubled for difficult terrain). No one is going to argue that (30-20)/2 is ...


8

The class feature description has everything you need to know. The feature description for Giant’s Might is complete - you don’t have to look elsewhere to learn its effects: As a bonus action, you magically gain the following benefits, which last for 1 minute: If you are smaller than Large, you become Large, along with anything you are wearing. If you lack ...


8

If possible, the creature grows and is squeezing. When it grows, its weapons grow accordingly. Let's say a Medium creature is in a 5ft-wide tunnel, and is Enlarged. Then it is now Large and squeezing: A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it. Thus, a Large creature can squeeze through a passage that'...


7

The enlarged player would attack with extra damage The Heavy property for a weapon reads (emphasis mine): Creatures that are Small or Tiny have disadvantage on attack rolls with heavy weapons. A heavy weapon's size and bulk make it too large for a Small or Tiny creature to use effectively. As mentioned in other answers, the enlarge section of Enlarge/...


7

Trap yes, safely release into the wild, not so much The key here, is the nature of the demiplane spell. It creates a door to a demiplane and the door is sized for medium creatures. Thus a creature polymorphed into a medium sized creature can be dragged, shoved, pushed, or launched through exactly the same as it can through any other door. However, the ...


7

No, as the mounted creature is still a Medium creature Being mounted does not change the size of the mounted creature (see the rules on Mounted Combat; PHB, p. 198), so if the Hunter ranger targeted the mounted creature with an attack (taking your example of a human on a horse), the mounted creature (the human) is still Medium and therefore would not qualify ...


7

Yes, yes they do Does it make sense? Not really, except from a mechanical balance and ease of management perspective. The spell is specific in the quotes you provided in that the target rises up as a zombie and to use the stats for said zombie. As the zombie is medium sized, then any target killed by the spell will rise as a medium zombie. Other sizes While ...


7

A grappling Redcap is considered Medium regardless of its size You have quoted the relevant text. Outsize Strength is unconditional. If the Redcap were instead made Tiny (through the Reduce part of enlarge/reduce), it would still be considered to be Medium while grappling. For an example that does synergize with enlarge/reduce, we have the goliath race (EEPC,...


6

Carried? Yes, as cargo. As a mounted rider? No. A reasonably strong Centaur should have no issue physically carrying a Medium creature.1 With only a Strength score of 10, a centaur has a carrying capacity of 300 pounds, increasing by 30 pounds for each point added to their Strength score. But being carried in this way does not confer the benefits of having ...


6

Since you can't treat a creature of your size or smaller as a mount, trying to mount them would result in them just carrying you. The benefits of mounting a qualifying creature is that you would get access to mounted combat feats and use of the Ride-skill to do X, Y, and Z. You will not get those benefits mounting a creature of your size or smaller. Since ...


5

It's not moving past, it's moving through at 3 feet for every 1 foot It's a bit weird to imagine, but you've basically described that there is a Small and Medium creature 'blocking' a 10' wide space. The rules around moving through other creatures are found in Chapter 9 of the PHB under Movement and Position You can move through a nonhostile creature's ...


5

Overrun adds a totally new way to move through an enemy space. Overrun is listed in the "Action Options" section of the DMG (p. 271-272). It doesn't replace or (partially or fully) "override" any existing rules; rather, it supplements them by adding an additional way to move through an enemy space. The general rule The rule on moving around other ...


5

The squeezing rules are not about passing through narrow openings The squeezing rules are about movement in combat, nothing more. They are specifically in the Combat section of the rules. To adjudicate a creature passing through a small opening or tunnel, the DM has to make a ruling: doable, impossible or doable with an ability check.


5

In the interests of balance and simplicity, some flexibility is lost Pathfinder 2e removes the capability for Small/Medium ("Standard") creatures (read: PC-like) to wield particularly odd-sized equipment. There are no rules whatsoever about Tiny/Large/Huge/Gargantuan creatures because the GM's should be making their best judgement regarding them. ...


5

There's a little table in the Monster Manual, in the first chapter that explains how stats work. It also gives the space that monsters take up on the battlefield. It's on page 6 of the book. The spaces are as follows: Tiny: 2.5 by 2.5ft Small: 5 by 5ft Medium: 5 by 5ft Large: 10 by 10ft Huge: 15 by 15ft Gargantuan: 20 by 20ft or larger. In the case of ...


5

Consult the Size Categories Table in the Monster Manual (p. 6) or the Player's Handbook (p. 191). The Monster Manual defines creature size as: how much space a creature of a particular size controls in combat. Size Space Tiny 2.5 × 2.5 ft Small 5 × 5 ft Medium 5 × 5 ft Large 10 × 10 ft Huge 15 × 15 ft Gargantuan 20 × 20 ft or larger A creature's ...


4

I've looked up as many different rules about vision and lighting as I can find, and none of them covered the scenario you have laid out. I started off with Vision and Light under game mastering, but had nothing on size. So I moved to Vision and Light under exploration, also nothing. So I went to the best source of information when it comes to size, the space,...


4

Not for a ranged weapon build, especially not with the Biohacker class. In terms of ability scores and HP, the Raxilite's size is baked into the mechanics of the race in a balanced way. You pretty much enumerate the relatively few mechanical advantages and disadvantages associated with tiny size. Note that not having a reach basically makes combat maneuvers ...


4

The creature expands into the space of the other creatures A medium creature surrounded by 8 small/medium creatures will occupy its original space and the spaces of 3 of the surrounding creatures in one of the corners. The rules state: Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space. There is no prohibition on ...


3

I think there's something that most of these answers are missing, but, unless I'm wrong (in which case please correct me), aren't the 5x5, 10x10, 15x15, etc. not the size of the creature, but how much space it controls? I mean, no human is 5ft wide, and I'm pretty sure this has been explained as them controlling that 5x5 square. I.E. Nothing can stay within ...


3

Improved Natural Attack doesn’t do anything to your size, it just increases your damage die size one step—which is an unusual operation in D&D 3.5e, so the authors “helpfully” make an allusion to a more-common operation, size increase, to give the reader an example of the kind of thing that is meant. It does nothing to your size, and therefore has no ...


3

RAW, it only fills “up to 5 feet by 5 feet,” and this means effectively nothing at all. The buffs from cape of wasps aren’t really mechanically tied to the actual swarm at all. It grants retributive damage and concealment, or flight, as effects of the spell. RAW, the actual swarm that is summoned is effectively fluff in most situations—it only matters if ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible