18

The rules on page 94 specifically say "The first time you rest each day...", "The second time you rest each day..." and so on. This means you have to take the rests in that order.


14

From page 21 of The Strange Core: Remember that if you gain a skill that you’re already trained in, you become specialized in that skill. Because skill descriptions can be nebulous, determining whether you’re trained or specialized might take some thinking. For example, if you’re trained in lying and later gain a benefit that grants you skill with ...


14

No. The Player's Guide is an abridged version of the core book that presents only the player-facing material. It's the same stuff, presented differently.


13

"Free intrusion" is not a game term and no other rules reference it. Thus beside the rules written on p.88 there are no other restrictions. The general rules for negating intrusions, from p.18: the player can refuse the GM intrusion. If he does so, he doesn’t get the 2 XP from the GM, and he must also spend 1 XP that he already has. If the player has ...


10

Cyphers require an attack, usually Int-based (with a few exceptions). From the Numenera Corebook, p84: Each character gets one turn each round. On a character’s turn, she can do one thing—an action. All actions fall into one of three categories: Might, Speed, or Intellect (just like the three stats). Many actions require die rolls—rolling a d20. Every ...


10

From the margin notes of p26 of the Cypher System Rulebook: Might defense: Used for resisting poison, disease, and anything else that can be overcome with strength and health. Speed defense: Used for dodging attacks and escaping danger. This is by far the most commonly used defense task. Intellect defense: Used for fending off mental attacks ...


10

The answer to the title question is a simple "No." Not according to the rules, as written. You need to refer to the section on Actions (p198): Anything that your character does in a round is an action. It’s easiest to think of an action as a single thing that you can do in five to ten seconds... Putting away your bow and pushing a heavy bookcase ...


10

I contacted the author of that cheat sheet through e-mail and they directed me to page 349 of the Numenera core book: As a general rule, for every four creatures working together, treat them as one creature with a level equal to the highest of them plus 1, with a minimum of a +2 damage bonus. So a level 4 bandit who has three level 3 allies ...


9

Page 88 of the core rule book lists Knock Down as a possible major effect (it's listed again in optional rules on Page 113). About that, it says: The foe is knocked prone (see Position, page 95). It can get up on its turn if it wishes. So getting up takes an action. In the spirit of the sort of cinematic adventure I like, I'd call it "Moving a Short ...


8

Don't have the book where I can reach it at the moment, so I'll try to update this when I'm at home, but: Yes, you have to take your rests in sequence. This is spelled out (at least in the Cypher System Core Rules book, which I have) where it talks about taking multiple rests in immediate sequence (for instance, rolling all your recoveries in an overnight ...


8

Intrusions are indeed used to create some extra difficulty or spice the story but only in response to a character's action whether the player rolled for said action or not. Thus you can make up a scene with whatever you like. As soon as your players' describe what their character does, you can create an Intrusions. Alice meets a bar tender. She likes what ...


8

While the game mechanics are the same - it's the Cypher System -, the game worlds and settings could not be more different from another. So it effectively depends on what kind of adventures you want to play and what kind of atmosphere you want at the game table. The world of Numenera provides a wide variety of possible settings already and you could ...


7

The Numenera Corebook on p280 says: [Using a cypher that is not identified] is usually an Intellect task using the cypher's level. And then: Identified cyphers can be used automatically. Therefore, there is no test for activating the cypher in the way it's supposed to be activated. If the cypher does something like make the character breathe water or ...


7

The one thing The Strange Player's Guide has that isn't in the corebook are 6 pre-generated characters, including a pre-chosen version of those characters if they translate to Ardeyn.


7

Page 20 in the corebook states Once you’ve selected a focus for a particular recursion, it doesn’t change Contrariwise, as Caleb points out, a sidebar in page 55 offers Each time you return to a recursion, your GM might offer you the choice of picking a focus that’s different from one you had last time you visited. As for draggable foci, page 52 ...


7

Note in advance that there is no published reference to exactly how this should be treated (that I can find) - this is based purely on the otherwise published intent of the experience system of the game (and how I interpret it). Also note that the Numenera core rulebook as written does feature many ambiguous and seemingly unpolished rules, so are often open ...


7

Yes. A focus should grant at least one ability each tier. Foci published in the core rules don't have "dead levels." Thus, any homebrewed focus should similarly grant an ability at each tier in order for it to be competitive with existing options.


6

The simple answer is "whatever the GM says". It sounds like what you want to create is a powerful artifact, the rules for which are described on page 106 of the Numenera corebook. Based on what a full "Iron Man" suit entails, I'd say it's at least a level 8 item which the rules say would take many years to create if you aren't reducing the difficulty much. ...


6

There is no rule establishing a maximum number of artifacts. There doesn't need to be a rule which says that something isn't true. You can find the rules for artifacts on pgs.298-299 of the Numenera core rules. There is no rule describing a limit on the number of artifacts a person may have. You can scour other sections, other books, or other games if you ...


5

Page 296 mentions in an aside GM Intrusion: A swarm of twelve ordinary rats—each level 1, but acting like a level 3 swarm—is summoned by the high- pitched squeaking of a giant rat. But otherwise no, the text is not to be found (I searched my PDF for "swarm" and other relevant phrases, like "group of"). You'd have to ask @Montecookgames why, but given ...


5

If you want to design & build an artifact (like Iron Man's suit) that mimics one or more existing abilities, check whatever rulebooks you have for examples. Numenera only has a few examples of flight (the "Controls Gravity" and "Rides the Lightning" foci in the core rulebook, and the foci "Becomes Energy" and "Manipulates Force" in Character Options 2)...


5

Numenera Discovery, p.23: When something requires you to spend points from a stat Pool, your Edge for that stat reduces the cost. and p.23 These abilities are called enablers. Using one of these abilities is not considered an action. Enablers either function constantly [...] or happen as part of another action So: Phase Sprint is declared as an ...


5

This post from MCG details a possible way of thinking about creature design and gives a brief overview of MCG's design philosophy: One of the main reasons I love GMing the Cypher System is the low prep time needed to create a memorable encounter. While preparation in most games focuses on stat blocks, Cypher System preparation focuses more on cool ideas, ...


4

That said, this was a world shattering experience for them: nothing outside the vault was familiar. It was all weird, strange, and frightening. From their points of view, the world has changed. It is not longer the same. Hell, there's no ceiling! How scary is that?... So, you've been generous: It is not a problem. Remember, most XPs in Cipher are spend to ...


4

The wording you quote is "you can", not "you must" -- therefore you have the choice of using Effort for either effect, or neither (if you choose not to use Effort at all). I would further read this as, if you have two or more Effort available, you could split the Effort to use some for each of the two effects. In your example, by my reading, you could use ...


4

The only rules I can find are on page 57 of the core, under the Tier 5 ability Flight of the "Controls Gravity" focus: You can float and fly through the air for one hour. For each level of Effort applied, you can affect one additional creature of your size or smaller. You must touch the creature to bestow the power of flight. You direct the other ...


4

Yes - By Interpretation and by RAW The answer is right there in the explanation of Might Defense on p.30 of the Numenera core book - emphasis mine: Might defense: Used for resisting poison, disease, and anything else that can be overcome with strength and health Are you going to block a poison dart or dodge a stunning ray with Might? No. It doesn't make ...


4

You apply all of them This is explained under Multiple Uses of Edge and Effort (Cypher System Rulebook, pg.17): You can use Edge for a particular stat only once per action. For example, if you apply Effort to a Might attack roll and to your damage, you can use your Might Edge to reduce the cost of one of those uses of Effort, not both. If you spend 1 ...


4

Unmovable, not Unkillable The ability allows remaining in place so long as one is upright and able to take actions, but doesn't seem to help against being made un-action-able (such as by death). That implies that such a character will die before budging (e.g. from the damage done by a boulder's impact or the hydraulic press' crush).


4

Iotum is a cypher system shorthand for "special ingredients." According to this Monte Cook Games page it covers a broad range of salvage items, including "responsive synth, pliable metal, quantium, psiranium, and lots more." One could easily claim that iotum is just another name for handwavium, or takes the same place in the game as "material components" ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible